Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Bike-friendly cities
“It should be normal for James Bond to ride a bike”

Welcome to Bike City: in Bremen one in four routes travelled are by bike.
Welcome to Bike City: in Bremen one in four routes travelled are by bike. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Bildagentur-online/Schoening

The Hanseatic city of Bremen is high on the list of bike-friendly cities around the world, ranking above even Bogotá and Tokyo. But how do you go about turning a car city into a bike city? Michael Glotz-Richter from Bremen’s municipal authority reveals all.

By Eleonore von Bothmer

As future-proof mobility spokesman for Bremen’s municipal authority, Michael Glotz-Richter has been campaigning for the city to become more bike-friendly since 1996. As future-proof mobility spokesman for Bremen’s municipal authority, Michael Glotz-Richter has been campaigning for the city to become more bike-friendly since 1996. | Photo (detail): © Glotz-Richter/Stadt Bremen Mr Glotz-Richter, Bremen has implemented various measures to make traffic more cycle-friendly over the past few years. Has the strategy been successful?
      
In Bremen lots of people use a bicycle to get around – regardless of whether they are men or women, poor or rich, students or bank directors. One in four routes travelled are by bike, with the figure rising even further in the city centre. However this isn’t new: the city has always had a bicycle culture, which meant that the infrastructure has always been more suitable than in other cities. It’s similar to the nearby Netherlands, where cycling’s completely the norm. 

How does Bremen fare by international comparison?

Bremen is in 11th place in the international Copenhagenize Index, which ranks cities by bike-friendliness. The top places are occupied by Copenhagen and Amsterdam, and France is also ahead of the German cities with Strasbourg, Bordeaux and Paris. The leaders are all European cities – but Bogotá comes directly after Bremen, closely followed by Tokyo.

How does this bike-friendliness influence the city’s character?

There are now plenty of cycle lanes across the entire city centre. Although cars are allowed to drive on them, cyclists take priority. And specific new rules apply, for example the fact that you’re explicitly allowed to ride two abreast. Car drivers just have to adjust to the new speed. But it isn’t about creating a political polarisation between car lovers and haters – it’s simply a different approach to handling things, in which the car doesn’t automatically have right of way. Specific rules apply to cycle lanes: riding two abreast is explicitly permitted. Specific rules apply to cycle lanes: riding two abreast is explicitly permitted. | Photo (detail): © Glotz-Richter/Stadt Bremen What needs to be taken into account when you “convert” a city like this?

There are indeed several things that need to be taken into consideration. Starting with providing enough cycle parking areas; the Bremen bike racks, to which bikes can be locked securely, have proved ideal for this. We’ve replaced cobbles with tarmac for a safer riding surface. We also had to plan crossings for tram routes – which is very complicated in terms of administration, but it’s worth it. Car-sharing from mobility points has been in place for almost 20 years, and that’s also very important as an alternative to car ownership. Furthermore we have several air stations, charging points for e-bikes and even a bike repair café. Germany’s first bike zone was created in Bremen in 2020. All this makes our city bike-friendly, but of course there are plenty more things to do here in Bremen as well.

You’ve been working on making the bicycle the most important means of transport for decades. Why?

Your own car shouldn’t be central anymore – it’s that simple. It’s about climate change and space, but it’s much more than that too. Cars are getting bigger all the time, and they clog up the streets when they park in the cities. At the same time many children no longer play outdoors: there’s barely any space, plus there are traffic hazards. If you use a bike for your regular journeys, it saves time and money. There’s less congestion for everyone. People tend to buy things from the shop around the corner rather than go to a shopping centre, so they’re supporting local traders too. And moving around is just healthy and relaxing, most people don’t do enough of it anyway. The more bike-friendly a city is, the less you need a car of your own.

So is everyone on board with this, or is there resistance as well?

Of course we’re not “everybody’s darling”. Cars are emotionally highly charged in Germany, and therefore many cities dare not to broach the subject. Essentially we’re overturning a paradigm – in contrast to before we’re giving priority to cycles, and that breaks down old privileges. We want the statement “I’m here as a guest in my car” to hold true. Until now it’s usually been exactly the other way around. The most important thing is to have the courage to put these ideas into practice. After all, a lot goes on in people’s heads. There are certain overriding preconceptions of what mobility should be like. We want to distance ourselves from the image mobility had between the 1960s and 1980s and move towards a concept of sustainability for 2030. 

Where do you start with that?

Infrastructure and mobility culture always have something to do with attitudes. And they don’t change overnight. People smoke everywhere in old films as if it was quite normal – today you can barely imagine that. These days, cars are always present in films. When we look at the drama Tatort (i.e. scene of the crime) in 20 years’ time, maybe we’ll shake our heads at the role played by cars in it. One way of improving the image of cycling in this country for instance would be to have the inspectors conducting their investigations on a bike, or using a car share. I’ve already mooted this idea for our Tatort police commissioner here in Bremen, but unfortunately it’s a tough nut to crack. It should be normal for James Bond to ride a bike – that would establish a basis for a future-proof mobility culture. 

Bremen is far ahead – what’s it like in the rest of Germany?

There’s lots happening across the whole country, in cities as well as smaller towns. Berlin already has pop-up cycle lanes, Stuttgart is also trying hard – and they need to if they want to improve air quality. The more bikes there are, the less congestion.

How would you advise other cities to approach this?

Look for role models at a global level. Be bold. Less talk, more action. Exchange ideas with others. Stand your ground, don’t be waylaid by conflict – the truth is that changes of this kind rarely happen without a fuss.

The bike-friendly Bremen project

In Bremen there are two bike districts: an area of older buildings on the edge of the city centre known as Alte Neustadt, as well as a new estate located further towards the outskirts, Ellener Hof. Both neighbourhoods are designed to be bike-friendly. In the Alte Neustadt district, 12 streets totalling around 2.5 kilometres in length became Germany’s first bicycle zone in July 2020.

Bremen is also working on a network of “premium cycle routes” that link the districts together. Cycle routes complement the road network in the suburban districts, and there are places to park bikes everywhere. New build plans must include cycle storage facilities too. Another aspect to this strategy as an alternative to car ownership is car-sharing. Of the approx. 20,000 car-sharers in Bremen, more than 6,000 of them have given up their cars or not bought one in the first place – which removes around 30 km of parked cars from Bremen’s streets.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Fahrradfreundliche Städte
„Es sollte normal sein, dass James Bond Fahrrad fährt“

Willkommen in der Fahrradstadt: In Bremen wird jede vierte Wegstrecke mit dem Rad zurückgelegt.
Willkommen in der Fahrradstadt: In Bremen wird jede vierte Wegstrecke mit dem Rad zurückgelegt. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance / Bildagentur-online/Schoening

Die Hansestadt Bremen steht weit oben auf der Liste der fahrradfreundlichsten Städte der Welt, noch vor Bogotá und Tokyo. Aber wie schafft man es, eine Auto-Stadt zur Fahrrad-Stadt zu machen? Michael Glotz-Richter aus der Stadtverwaltung Bremen erklärt, worauf es ankommt.

Von Eleonore von Bothmer

Michael Glotz-Richter engagiert sich seit 1996 als Referent für nachhaltige Mobilität bei der Stadtverwaltung Bremen dafür, dass die Stadt immer fahrradfreundlicher wird. Michael Glotz-Richter engagiert sich seit 1996 als Referent für nachhaltige Mobilität bei der Stadtverwaltung Bremen dafür, dass die Stadt immer fahrradfreundlicher wird. | Foto (Detail): © Glotz-Richter/Stadt Bremen Herr Glotz-Richter, Bremen hat in den letzten Jahren viele Maßnahmen ergriffen, um den Verkehr fahrradfreundlicher zu gestalten. Hat die Strategie Erfolg gehabt?  
                                                                           
In Bremen bewegen sich sehr viele Menschen per Fahrrad fort, und zwar egal ob Mann oder Frau, arm oder reich, Student*in oder Bankdirektor*in. Jede vierte Wegstrecke wird per Rad zurückgelegt, in der Innenstadt sind es sogar noch mehr. Neu ist dies jedoch nicht: Die Stadt hatte immer eine Radfahrkultur und somit war auch die Infrastruktur immer schon geeigneter als in anderen Städten. Das ist wie in den nahen Niederlanden, wo Radfahren total normal ist.
 
Wo steht Bremen im internationalen Vergleich?

Bremen steht auf Platz 11 des internationalen Copenhagenize-Index, der Städte nach Fahrradfreundlichkeit rankt. Die ersten Plätze belegen Kopenhagen und Amsterdam, auch Frankreich liegt mit Straßburg, Bordeaux und Paris vor den deutschen Städten. Das sind zunächst alles europäische Städte, aber direkt nach Bremen kommt Bogotá und bald darauf auch Tokio.

Wie prägt diese Fahrradfreundlichkeit das Stadtbild?

In der gesamten Innenstadt gibt es inzwischen viele Fahrradstraßen. Diese dürfen zwar auch Autos befahren, aber die Radfahrer*innen haben Priorität. Und es gelten bestimmte neue Regeln, zum Beispiel, dass man ausdrücklich nebeneinander radeln darf. Autofahrer*innen mussten sich erstmal an das neue Tempo gewöhnen. Es geht aber nicht darum, politisch zu polarisieren zwischen Autofreund*innen und Autohasser*innen – sondern einfach um einen anderen Umgang, bei dem nicht automatisch das Auto Vorrang hat. Auf Fahrradstraßen gelten eigene Regeln: Nebeneinander radeln ist hier ausdrücklich erlaubt. Auf Fahrradstraßen gelten eigene Regeln: Nebeneinander radeln ist hier ausdrücklich erlaubt. | Foto (Detail): © Glotz-Richter/Stadt Bremen An was muss man alles denken, wenn man eine Stadt so „umrüstet“?

Tatsächlich gibt es einiges zu berücksichtigen. Das fängt an bei ausreichenden Abstellplätzen für Fahrräder; hier haben sich die Bremer Fahrradbügel bewährt, an denen man das Rad sicher anschließen kann. Für eine bessere Befahrbarkeit haben wir Kopfsteinpflaster gegen Asphalt ausgetauscht. Wir mussten auch Überquerungen an Straßenbahnstrecken planen – verwaltungstechnisch sehr aufwendig, aber es lohnt sich. Seit fast 20 Jahren gibt es an Mobilpunkten Carsharing, auch das ist sehr wichtig als Alternative zum Autobesitz. Außerdem haben wir mehrere Luftpumpstationen, Aufladestellen für E-Bikes und sogar ein Fahrrad-Repair-Café. 2020 wurde in Bremen die erste Fahrradzone Deutschlands eingerichtet. Das alles macht unsere Stadt fahrradfreundlich, aber natürlich gibt es auch hier in Bremen noch einiges zu tun.
 
Sie arbeiten seit Jahrzehnten daran, das Fahrrad zum wichtigsten Fortbewegungsmittel zu machen. Warum?

Das eigene Auto sollte einfach nicht mehr zentral sein. Es geht um Klimaschutz und um Platz, aber auch um vieles mehr. Autos werden immer größer und parken in den Städten die Straßen zu. Zugleich spielen viele Kinder nicht mehr draußen: kaum Platz und dazu Verkehrsgefahren. Wenn man seine Alltagswege auf dem Rad zurücklegt, spart das Zeit und Geld. Es gibt weniger Stau für alle. Man kauft eher im Laden um die Ecke ein als im Einkaufszentrum, unterstützt also zudem den lokalen Einzelhandel. Es ist auch einfach gesund und entspannend, sich zu bewegen, das tun die meisten ohnehin zu wenig. Je fahrradfreundlicher eine Stadt ist, desto weniger braucht man ein eigenes Auto.

Ziehen denn da alle willig mit oder gibt es auch Widerstände?

Natürlich sind wir nicht „everybody´s darling“. Das Auto ist in Deutschland extrem emotional besetzt, viele Städte trauen sich daher kaum, das Thema anzugehen. Im Grunde stellen wir gerade ein Paradigma auf den Kopf – anders als bisher räumen wir dem Radverkehr Vorrang ein und stürzen damit auch alte Privilegien. Wir wollen, dass gilt: „Mit dem Auto bin ich Gast.“ Bisher ist es meist genau andersherum. Das Wichtigste ist, den Mut zu haben, an diesen Vorstellungen zu drehen. Viel findet ja in den Köpfen statt. Es dominieren bestimmte Ideen darüber, wie Mobilität auszusehen hat. Wir wollen weg vom Mobilitätsbild der 1960er- bis 1980er-Jahre und hin zu einem Bild der Nachhaltigkeit für 2030. 

Wo fängt man da an?

Infrastruktur und Mobilitätskultur haben immer etwas mit Einstellungen zu tun. Und die ändern sich nicht über Nacht. In alten Filmen wurde überall selbstverständlich geraucht – heute ist das kaum vorstellbar. Heutzutage ist das Auto in den Filmen immer präsent. Wenn wir in 20 Jahren den Tatort anschauen, schütteln wir vielleicht den Kopf darüber, welche Rolle Autos da gespielt haben. Um hierzulande das Image des Fahrradfahrens zu verbessern, sollte man zum Beispiel im Tatort die Kommissare auch per Rad oder Carsharing-Auto ermitteln lassen. Das habe ich für die Bremer Kommissarin schon angeregt, aber leider habe ich mir daran die Zähne ausgebissen. Es sollte normal sein, dass ein James Bond Fahrrad fährt – dann wäre die Basis für eine zukunftsfähige Mobilitätskultur geschaffen. 

Bremen ist weit vorne – wie sieht es denn sonst aus in Deutschland?

Im ganzen Land tut sich viel, in großen wie in kleinen Städten. In Berlin gibt es bereits Pop-up-Radwege, Stuttgart bemüht sich auch – muss es auch, um die Luftqualität zu verbessern. Je mehr Radverkehr, desto weniger Stau.
 
Wie raten Sie anderen Städten vorzugehen?

Weltweit nach Vorbildern zu schauen. Mutig zu sein. Nicht nur zu reden, sondern zu machen. Sich mit Menschen auszutauschen. Widerspruch auszuhalten, sich durch Konflikte nicht ausbremsen zu lassen – denn solche Veränderungen laufen selten geräuschlos ab. 

Projekt fahrradfreundliches Bremen

In Bremen gibt es zwei Fahrradmodellquartiere: ein Altbaugebiet am Rande der Innenstadt, die Alte Neustadt, sowie ein eher peripher gelegenes Neubaugebiet, den Ellener Hof. Beide Quartiere sind fahrradfreundlich gestaltet. In der Alten Neustadt wurden 12 Straßen mit zusammen rund 2,5 Kilometern Länge im Juli 2020 zur ersten deutschen Fahrradzone. 

Bremen arbeitet zudem an einem Netz von „Fahrradpremiumrouten“, die die Stadtteile verbinden. In den Stadtteilen ergänzen Fahrradstraßen das Netz, überall gibt es Abstellmöglichkeiten für Fahrräder. Bei Neubaumaßnahmen müssen immer auch Fahrradparkplätze vorgesehen werden. Als Alternative zum Autobesitz ergänzt Carsharing die Strategie. Von den aktuell rund 20.000 Carsharer*innen in Bremen haben über 6.000 ein Auto aufgegeben oder gar nicht erst angeschafft – was den Straßenraum in Bremen um rund 30 km abgestellte PKW entlastet.

Top