Halaqat

Halaqat Design Engy Aly

Exploring cultural links between Europe and the Arab World

In the run-up to the summit between the EU and the Arab League in the autumn of 2022, the Goethe-Institut and Bozar are launching the project Halaqat. Europe and the Arab world are two rapidly changing regions, each with specific and varied local social, economic and political realities, but above all with many connections, historical and present. Halaqat – which in Arabic means multiple links and circles – aims to strengthen these entanglements and build bridges between both regions.

Diverse voices of emerging and renowned artists, cultural actors and experts are brought together to approach a number of themes from their own perspective. Going beyond the idea of a simple invitation, Halaqat aims to stimulate the artists from both regions to create art together. With 'Politics of Spaces and Bodies' as their leitmotiv, they tell stories of power, limitation and impact over spaces and bodies, a theme that remains highly topical. What is the place of public and private space in both regions and in the different countries? And how do people deal with this? How will we soon experience physical and digital space? The notion of bodies, in turn, relates to issues of gender, power, bodily contact, mobility and the role of body language. Can we continue to cooperate and listen to each other in this time of pandemic - when mobility is not only limited by visas, but also by all kinds of sanitary measures? These are just some of the topics that Halaqat will be addressing in the coming months, without claiming to have a definitive answer or solution. Each question might give way to a new issue or chapter, which Europe and the Arab world will continue to write together, towards a future influenced by artists from both regions. We invite you to join us at events at Bozar and all over Brussels: from public discussions, film screenings, over concerts and performances, to visual arts exhibitions. A festival in the autumn of 2022 will conclude this inspiring Halaqat project.

Local Halaqat partners in Brussels and in the Arab World:
•        Film: Atelier Graphoui, Cinemaximiliaan and NAAS - Network of Arab Alternative Screens
•        Media arts: IMAL and Cairotronica
•        Music: Werkplaats Walter and Amman Jazz Festival
•        Performance: La Bellone, Théâtre Marni and Studio 8 - Curator : Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi 

The European project Halaqat is implemented by the Goethe-Institut in collaboration with Bozar - Centre for Fine Arts Brussels. Halaqat is co-funded by the European Commission (under the designation: EU-LAS CULTURE), the Goethe-Institut and Bozar.

Flagge der Europäischen Union Co-funded by the European Union
 

Halaqat Media Arts Design Engy Aly

Open Call
Halaqat: Visual Arts Residency

The Goethe-Institut and Bozar, together with iMAL in Belgium and Cairotronica in Egypt, organise a media arts residency programme in spring 2022. We are looking for four artists from the Arab world and from Europe to engage in a 2-week residency in Brussels (Belgium).

Halaqat Design Engy Aly

Please apply online until 15 October 2021
Open Call Halaqat: Audiovisual residency 2022

The Goethe-Institut and Bozar – Centre for Fine Arts Brussels together with Atelier Graphoui, Cinemaximiliaan and Sound Image Culture - SIC start an audiovisual residency programme in 2022 and are looking for four motivated emerging professional filmmakers from the Arab diaspora based in Belgium to meet, exchange ideas and produce individually a short documentary film in Belgium during 2022. 

Bot Bop Bozar

HALAQAT: OPEN CALL FOR THE FIRST MUSIC RESIDENCY

Focus: jazz and electronic music, 29.11 - 05.12.2021 in Brussels

The music residency programme is part of the European project HALAQAT organised by the Goethe-Institut together with Bozar - Centre for Fine Arts Brussels and co-funded by the European Union. Serving as a bridge between both regions, HALAQAT offers a contemporary journey into artistic imaginaries shared by the Arab world and Europe and focuses on the diversity and richness of cultural collaborations today to support and strengthen them in the future.

Halaqat

Erforschung der kulturellen Beziehungen zwischen Europa und der arabischen Welt
 
Im Vorfeld des Gipfeltreffens zwischen der EU und der Arabischen Liga im Herbst 2022 ruft das Goethe-Institut gemeinsam mit dem Bozar das Projekt Halaqat ins Leben. Sowohl Europa als auch die Arabische Welt erleben zurzeit einen rasanten Wandel und zeichnen sich durch spezifische und vielförmige soziale, wirtschaftliche und politische Realitäten aus. Gleichzeitig sind sie über zahlreiche historische und aktuelle Anknüpfungspunkte miteinander verbunden. Mit Halaqat – was im Arabischen für vielfältige Verbindungen und Kreise steht – sollen diese Beziehungen gestärkt und Brücken zwischen den beiden Regionen geschlagen werden.
 
Dafür werden verschiedene Stimmen aufstrebender und berühmter Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffender und Expert*innen gebündelt, die sich aus ihrer ganz persönlichen Perspektive mit verschiedenen Themen auseinandersetzen. Halaqat ist mehr als nur eine Einladung. Das Projekt will die Künstler*innen aus beiden Regionen zum gemeinsamen Kunstschaffen anregen. Ausgehend von einem gemeinsamen Leitmotiv der „Politik der Räume und Körper“ erzählen sie Geschichten von Macht, Einschränkung und Einfluss im Zusammenhang mit Räumen und Körpern und wenden sich auf diese Weise einem hochaktuellen Thema zu. Welchen Stellenwert haben öffentliche und private Räume in beiden Regionen und in den einzelnen Ländern? Und wie gehen die Menschen damit um? Wie werden wir künftig den körperlichen und digitalen Raum erleben? Der Begriff der Körper wiederum bezieht sich auf Themen wie Gender, Macht, Körperkontakt, Mobilität und die Rolle der Körpersprache. Können wir in Zeiten einer Pandemie weiterhin miteinander zusammenarbeiten und einander zuhören – wenn unsere Mobilität nicht nur durch Visa, sondern auch durch unzählige Hygienemaßnahmen eingeschränkt wird? Dies sind nur einige der Themen, denen sich Halaqat in den kommenden Monaten widmen wird, ohne dabei den Anspruch zu erheben, eine endgültige Antwort oder Lösung zu präsentieren. Mit jeder Fragestellung eröffnen sich mögliche neue Themen oder Kapitel, die Europa und die Arabische Welt weiter gemeinsam bearbeiten können, auf dem Weg in eine Zukunft, die von Künstler*innen aus beiden Regionen geprägt wird. Wir laden Sie herzlich zu unseren Veranstaltungen im Bozar und in ganz Brüssel ein, die von öffentlichen Gesprächsrunden über Filmvorführungen, Konzerte und Performances bis hin zu Kunstausstellungen reichen. Mit einem Festival im Herbst 2022 findet das inspirationsreiche Projekt Halaqat seinen krönenden Abschluss.

 
Das Europäische Projekt Halaqat wird vom Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bozar – Zentrum für schöne Künste in Brüssel durchgeführt. Halaqat wird von der Europäischen Kommission (unter der Bezeichnung EU-LAS CULTURE), vom Goethe-Institut und vom Bozar kofinanziert.

Flagge der Europäischen Union Kofinanziert durch die Europäische Union

Bot Bop Bozar

Musikresidenz
HALAQAT: OPEN CALL für die erste Musikresidenz

Fokus: Jazz und elektronische Musik, 29.11. - 05.12.2021 in Brüssel

Im Rahmen des europäischen Projektes HALAQAT suchen wir sechs junge professionelle Musiker*innen aus der arabischen Welt oder aus Europa mit Fokus auf Jazz oder elektronischer Musik. Sie werden sich in Brüssel (Belgien) vom 29.11. bis zum 05.12.2021 treffen, um gemeinsam zu spielen und Ideen auszutauschen.