Tasks and objectives

As the globally active cultural institution of the Federal Republic of Germany, we advocate for understanding between Germany, Europe and the world. The framework agreement with the German Federal Foreign Office is the foundation for this work. Worldwide, we provide information about the cultural and societal diversity of Germany and Europe. 158 Goethe-Instituts in 98 countries together with numerous partner institutions form the basis of our global network. The Federal Foreign Office supports our work institutionally. As a registered charity we operate autonomously on a legally independent basis and are not affiliated to any political party. We generate around a third of our revenue ourselves through income from language courses and examinations. We also receive support from the European Union (EU), further German federal ministries as well as foundations and companies in Germany and abroad.

We contribute to establishing the German language in the educational systems of the guest countries. We support over 100,000 schools worldwide in giving high-quality German tuition, and promote the advanced professional training and qualification of teachers of German. Furthermore, we offer languages courses ranging from general German courses to prevocational language courses and seminars to raise societal and cultural awareness. Our services include online courses and autonomous learning programmes. Every year, more than half a million people sit a German examination at a Goethe-Institut or one of our cooperation partners. With a wide range of educational and information programmes, we support in particular students and skilled workers from abroad on their route to Germany. 

We believe in the potential of international cultural exchange. Our approximately 20,000 cultural events per year take place in partnership with governmental and non-governmental institutions and initiatives from civil society in our guest countries. We qualify, advise and interlink cultural professionals and support the development of sustainable structures in the cultural and creative economy by advanced training measures for cultural entrepreneurs or the internationalisation of creative companies. With our residence programmes, partnerships and co-productions, we promote the networking of cultural professionals around the globe. We offer stakeholders from civil society a protected space and scope for a sincere exchange of views. We do not break off democratic dialogue, even in difficult times. In our work we orientate ourselves towards the values of a democratic, liberal society governed by the rule of law.

Via our digital information and educational programmes in more than 60 languages and a network with 95 libraries, we offer a space to learn, meet up and participate. We use innovative technologies, seize the opportunities of digitalisation and, at the same time, reflect on their implications for people and society. Through diverse formats such as information trips for multipliers, specialist exchange between experts, youth exchange programmes and international festivals we enable communication on a worldwide basis.

The Goethe-Institut in Belgium

We are …

... Germany in Belgium:
The two neighbouring countries have a lot in common: They have been committed together to building the European Union since it was founded. Today, a spirit of friendship defines the political relationship between Belgium and Germany, and they work closely together economically. The Goethe-Institut Brussels wants to strengthen relations in the cultural sphere too through multifaceted exchanges, as well as interest in German, Belgium's third national language.

... more language:
Our language programme offers group and individual courses with intensive and varied language training. In addition to our standard courses for adults, we also have special courses such as German literature, writing workshops and children's courses. All our teachers are highly qualified native speakers. The examinations of the Goethe-Institut for all language levels of the Common European Framework of Reference are recognised worldwide.
Under the "Bildungskooperation Deutsch" (German Educational Cooperation), we support German teachers with further training, for instance. We work together with schools, universities, the German Teachers' Association and educational authorities in Belgium to promote the German language here. We also provide teaching and promotional material.

... More culture:
Experience the current German cultural scene: We make this possible through events in the fields of film, art, literature, music, dance and theatre. Here, art and artists, minds and intellectuals from Germany meet in dialogue with Belgium and Europe. We endeavour to take up and present topical issues.

... more information:
We provide a comprehensive picture of Germany with a special focus on intercultural aspects through a wide range of information. We shed light on current topics from a German and Belgian perspective in special web features. On our website, Facebook and in newsletters we provide information on language and cultural programmes, contacts to German-speaking institutions on site as well as press releases.

... Germany in Europe:
The Goethe-Institut Brussels is located in the heart of the European Quarter. We are active on a European level in three respects:

  • as a member of the EU National Institutes of Culture (EUNIC) we implement joint cultural projects
  • as a liaison office to the European institutions, we represent and support the worldwide network of the Goethe-Institut
  • as a regional institute we manage the work of the 21 Goethe-Instituts in France, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal and Spain from Brussels.

Aufgaben und Ziele

Als das global tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland setzen wir uns für die Verständigung zwischen Deutschland, Europa und der Welt ein. Die Grundlage dafür bildet der Rahmenvertrag mit dem Auswärtigen Amt. Weltweit informieren wir über die kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Vielfalt Deutschlands und Europas. 158 Goethe-Institute in 98 Ländern bilden zusammen mit zahlreichen Partnereinrichtungen unser globales Netzwerk. Das Auswärtige Amt fördert unsere Arbeit institutionell. Als eingetragener Verein agieren wir eigenverantwortlich, parteipolitisch ungebunden und rechtlich selbstständig. Rund ein Drittel unseres Budgets erwirtschaften wir durch Erlöse aus Sprachkursen und Prüfungen selbst. Darüber hinaus unterstützen uns die Europäische Union, weitere Bundesministerien sowie Stiftungen und Unternehmen im In- und Ausland.

Wir tragen zur Verankerung der deutschen Sprache in den Bildungssystemen der Gastländer bei. Mehr als 100.000 Schulen weltweit unterstützen wir bei der Durchführung eines hochwertigen Deutschunterrichts und fördern die Weiterbildung und Qualifizierung von Deutschlehrenden. Darüber hinaus bieten wir Sprachkurse an, die von allgemeinen Deutschkursen über berufsvorbereitende Sprachkurse bis hin zu Seminaren der gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Sensibilisierung reichen. Online-Kurse und Selbstlern-Programme sind Teil unseres Angebots. Pro Jahr legen weltweit mehr als eine halbe Million Menschen eine Deutschprüfung an einem Goethe-Institut oder bei unseren Kooperationspartnern ab. Mit einem breiten Lern- und Informationsangebot unterstützen wir insbesondere Studierende und Fachkräfte aus dem Ausland auf ihrem Weg nach Deutschland.  

Wir vertrauen auf das Potenzial des internationalen Kulturaustausches. Unsere rund 20.000 Kulturveranstaltungen im Jahr entstehen in partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit mit staatlichen und außerstaatlichen Institutionen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen in unseren Gastländern. Wir qualifizieren, beraten und vernetzen Kreative und unterstützen den Aufbau nachhaltiger Strukturen in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft, etwa durch Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen für Kulturunternehmer*innen oder die Internationalisierung von Kreativunternehmen. Mit unseren Residenzprogrammen, Kooperationen und Koproduktionen fördern wir die globale Vernetzung von Kulturschaffenden. Akteur*innen der Zivilgesellschaft bieten wir Schutz- und Freiräume, um einen offenen Meinungsaustausch zu ermöglichen. Den demokratischen Dialog lassen wir auch in schwierigen Zeiten nicht abreißen. Wir orientieren uns in unserer Arbeit an den Werten einer demokratischen, freiheitlichen und rechtsstaatlichen Gesellschaftsordnung.

Über unsere digitalen Informations- und Lernangebote in mehr als 60 Sprachen und ein Netzwerk mit 95 Bibliotheken bieten wir Orte des Lernens, der Begegnung und der Partizipation. Wir nutzen innovative Technologien, ergreifen die Chancen der Digitalisierung und reflektieren gleichermaßen ihre Auswirkungen auf Mensch und Gesellschaft. Durch vielfältige Formate wie Informationsreisen für Multiplikator*innen, den fachlichen Austausch zwischen Expert*innen, Jugendaustauschprogramme und internationale Festivals ermöglichen wir weltweite Begegnungen.

Das Goethe-Institut in Belgien

Wir sind …

... Deutschland in Belgien:
Vieles verbindet die beiden Nachbarländer: Gemeinsam engagieren sie sich seit der Gründung der Europäischen Union für deren Aufbau. Ein Geist der Freundschaft bestimmt heute das politische Verhältnis zwischen Belgien und Deutschland und wirtschaftlich arbeiten sie eng zusammen. Auch im Kulturbereich will das Goethe-Institut Brüssel die Beziehungen durch vielseitigen Austausch stärken, ebenso wie das Interesse an Deutsch, Belgiens dritter Landessprache.

... mehr Sprache:
Unser Sprachkursprogramm bietet Gruppen- und Individualkurse mit intensivem und abwechslungsreichem Sprachtraining. Neben unseren Standardkursen für Erwachsene haben wir auch Spezialkurse wie u.a. Deutsche Literatur, Schreibwerkstatt sowie Kinderkurse. Alle unsere Lehrkräfte sind hochqualifizierte Muttersprachler. Die Prüfungen des Goethe-Instituts für alle Sprachniveaus des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens sind weltweit anerkannt.
In der „Bildungskooperation Deutsch“ unterstützen wir die Deutschlehrer z.B. mit Fortbildungen. Wir arbeiten mit Schulen, Hochschulen, dem Deutschlehrerverband und Bildungsbehörden in Belgien zusammen, um hier die deutsche Sprache zu fördern. Daneben stellen wir Unterrichts- und Werbematerial zur Verfügung.

... mehr Kultur:
Die aktuelle deutsche Kulturszene erleben: Dies ermöglichen wir durch Veranstaltungen in den Sparten Film, Kunst, Literatur, Musik, Tanz, Theater. Hier begegnen sich Kunst und Künstler, Geist und Intellektuelle aus Deutschland im Dialog mit Belgien und Europa. Wir bemühen uns, die Themen der aktuellen Debatte aufzugreifen und vorzustellen.

... mehr Information:
Durch ein breites Informationsangebot vermitteln wir ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild mit besonderer Berücksichtigung interkultureller Aspekte. In speziellen Webdossiers beleuchten wir aktuelle Themen aus deutscher und belgischer Sicht. Auf unserer Website, Facebook und in Newslettern bieten wir Hinweise zu Sprach- und Kulturprogramm, Kontakte zu deutschsprachigen Einrichtungen vor Ort sowie Presse-Informationen.

... Deutschland in Europa:
Das Goethe-Institut Brüssel befindet sich im Herzen des Brüsseler Europa-Viertels. Gleich in dreifacher Hinsicht agieren wir auf europäischer Ebene:

  • als Mitglied der Gemeinschaft der europäischen Kulturinstitute (EUNIC) setzen wir gemeinsame Kulturprojekte um
  • als Verbindungsstelle zu den Europäischen Institutionen vertreten und unterstützen wir das weltweite Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts
  • als Regionalinstitut steuern wir von Brüssel aus die Arbeit der 21 Goethe-Institute in Frankreich, Italien, Luxemburg, Portugal und Spanien.