German Series in Canada
Criminal: Germany

Binge Fever Criminal: Germany
©joseharo/Netflix

Police interrogations set in the confines of an interview room is what the 4-part Criminal series is about. This stripped down, cat-and-mouse drama focuses on the intense mental conflict between the detectives and the suspects in question.

By Richi Malhotra

Criminal: Germany, a 2019 anthology series around crime procedures, is a work of Kay Smith and Jim Field Smith and stars Eva Meckbach, Sylvester Groth and Florence Kasumba in the lead. As part of the umbrella series Criminal by Netflix, this one is based in Germany as hinted by the title. Set across four countries and filmed in respective local languages, the Criminal series consists of 3 episodes each from France, Spain, Germany and the UK, making it a wholesome 12 episode-binge-worthy show with diverse content to look forward to.

Released on 20 September 2019 on Netflix, the German series revolves around detectives going against suspects, in an attempt to unravel the truth - even if it means violating rules and risking everything.
 

© Netflix
© Netflix
What is also remarkable about Criminal is the depiction of cultural differences as well as similarities, since the show was shot across four European countries. The perception that police work is basically the same irrespective of where you go is evident from the episodes across geographies. The essence of the show lies in its storyline, each episode being equally strong and suspenseful with hard-hitting points that will keep you engrossed.
 
Criminal: Germany ©joseharo/Netflix

As for the cast of Criminal: Germany, the performance of its lead actors and guest stars is beyond excellent. Fans of Dark will probably easily recognise actor Sylvester Groth, one of the police detectives in this show. He plays a character similar to the one in Dark which means he can appear rather irritating.

However, international viewers will likely notice actor Florence Kasumba from her roles in Black Panther and a few Avengers movies. In Criminal, Florence Kasumba also plays a detective. Overall, the cast of regulars for Criminal: Germany is damn good! Especially Eva Meckbach is brilliant from the very first episode.
 
Florence Kasumba in Criminal: Deutschland ©joseharo/Netflix

The episodes shot in Germany are all directed by Oliver Hirschbiegel and have a strong definite style. Oliver Hirschbiegel is also known for his direction in award-winning movies like Das Experiment and Der Untergang. (We also highly recommend watching these two movies if you haven’t yet!).

 

Watch "Criminal: Germany"

In Canada and Germany:

 NETFLIX

Top

Deutsche Serien in Kanada
Criminal: Deutschland

Serienfieber Criminal: Deutschland
©joseharo/Netflix

Criminal ist ein Polizeidrama mit einem außergewöhnlichen Konzept: Es spielt ausschließlich in der Enge eines Verhörraums. In einem erbitterten Katz-und-Maus-Spiel, das sich ganz auf das Wesentliche konzentriert, wird das geistige Kräftemessen zwischen den Polizisten und den jeweiligen Verdächtigen in den Mittelpunkt gestellt.

Von Richi Malhotra

Die Anthologiereihe Criminal: Deutschland (2019) von Kay Smith und Jim Field Smith mit Eva Meckbach, Sylvester Groth und Florence Kasumba in den Hauptrollen gibt Einblicke in den Polizeialltag. Criminal: Deutschland ist ein Teil der Criminal Reihe auf Netflix und der Schauplatz des Geschehens ist, wie der Titel bereits vermuten lässt, Deutschland. Gedreht wurde die Criminal Serie in vier Ländern in der jeweiligen Landessprache. Sie umfasst je drei Folgen aus Frankreich, Spanien, Deutschland und Großbritannien. Herausgekommen sind dabei 12 Folgen einer starken Serie mit abwechslungsreichem Inhalt, die man gut und gerne an einem Stück durchschauen kann.

Kern der am 20. September 2019 auf Netflix an den Start gegangenen deutschen Serie sind Polizeiverhöre, in der den Befragten die Wahrheit entlockt werden soll, auch wenn dabei gegen die ein oder andere Regel verstoßen und alles auf eine Karte gesetzt wird.

© Netflix
© Netflix

Criminal zeigt zudem sehr eindrucksvoll die kulturellen Unterschiede als auch die Gemeinsamkeiten der verschiedenen europäischen Länder, in denen die Serie gedreht wurde. Den Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauern wird schnell klar, dass die Polizeiarbeit überall gleich ist, auch über Landesgrenzen hinaus. Das Herzstück der Serie ist die Handlung, die in jeder einzelnen Folge gleich dicht und spannungsgeladen ausfällt, aber auch Kritik aufwirft, die zum Nachdenken anregt.
 
Criminal: Deutschland ©joseharo/Netflix

Was die Besetzung angeht, so sind die Leistungen der Haupt- und Nebendarsteller durchweg hervorragend. Fans von Dark werden den Schauspieler Sylvester Groth, einen der Polizeibeamten in dieser Show, wahrscheinlich sofort erkennen. Er spielt eine ähnliche Rolle wie in Dark, das bedeutet, dass er ziemlich irritierend sein kann.

Den internationalen Zuschauern wird aber die Schauspielerin Florence Kasumba jedoch wahrscheinlich durch ihre Rollen in Black Panther und einigen Avengers-Filmen auffallen. In Criminal spielt Florence Kasumba auch eine Detektivin. Die reguläre Rollenbesetzung für Criminal: Deutschland ist wirklich sehr gut! Besonders ist Eva Meckbach von der ersten Folge an brillant.
 
Florence Kasumba in Criminal: Deutschland ©joseharo/Netflix

Bei den in Deutschland gedrehten Folgen hat Oliver Hirschbiegel Regie geführt und diesen seine markante Handschrift verpasst. Hirschbiegel ist als Regisseur von preisgekrönten Filmen wie Das Experiment und Der Untergang bekannt (zwei Filme, die wir übrigens jedem wärmstens ans Herz legen, der sie noch nicht gesehen hat).

 

SEHEN SIE „CRIMINAL: DEUTSCHLAND“

In Kanada und Deutschland:

 NETFLIX

Top