About us
Montréal

Goethe-Institut Montreal © Photo: Goethe-Institut/Jean Guy Lambert Goethe-Institut Montreal Photo: Goethe-Institut/Jean Guy Lambert

The Goethe-Institut Montreal was founded in 1962 and since 2012 its new premises are  located on St Laurent Boulevard in the heart of the “Quartier des spectacles“, the cultural centre of Montreal. From this central location, we service the areas of language, cultural and information for the provinces of Quebec, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, as well as for the Canadian capital of Ottawa.

Our cultural department organizes and supports a broad spectrum of events that promote encounters and exchanges between artistic, cultural and intellectual circles in Germany and Canada. Together with local and international partners we are primarily active in the fields of dance, theatre, film, media art and new music.

The Goethe-Institut Montreal offers a comprehensive programme of language courses and examinations for beginner and advanced students. Our teachers are highly qualified and the courses take place in modern multimedia-equipped classrooms. Apart from learning the German language, much emphasis is put on conveying an up-to-date view of Germany. Our German students have free access to our library and are invited to many cultural events.

Cooperation with schools and Canadian cultural institutions concerned with German as a foreign language is another endeavour of the language department of the Goethe-Institut. By offering professional development courses and grants for Canadian German teachers we promote the quality and topicality of German courses in Canadian schools and universities.

The library of the Goethe-Institut Montreal is a source of information of current aspects of the cultural, social and political life in Germany. We carry books, magazines, films, music and Apps in the German language, as well as English and French translations of German speaking publications. During opening hours, visitors can do research at two workstations with Internet access, as well as refer to the digital media in our App-O-Thek.

The Goethe-Institut e.V, in conjunction with the head office in Munich, is the Federal Republic of Germany’s cultural institute, active throughout the world. Its 149 institutes and 10 liaison offices in 98 countries provide information about Germany, its language and culture.
 

Top

Über uns
Montréal

Goethe-Institut Montreal © Foto: Goethe-Institut/Jean Guy Lambert Goethe-Institut Montreal Foto: Goethe-Institut/Jean Guy Lambert

Das Goethe-Institut Montreal wurde 1962 gründet und hat seit 2012 seine neuen Räumlichkeiten am St. Laurent Boulevard, im Herzen des „Quartier des spectacles“, dem kulturellen Zentrum Montreals. Von hier aus betreuen wir die Sprach-, Kultur- und Informationsarbeit in den Provinzen Québec, Neufundland und Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia und New Brunswick, sowie in der kanadischen Hauptstadt Ottawa.

In unserer Programmarbeit organisieren und unterstützen wir ein breites Spektrum an kulturellen Veranstaltungen, die die Begegnung und den Austausch von Künstlern, Kulturschaffenden und Intellektuellen aus Deutschland und Kanada fördern. Gemeinsam mit lokalen und internationalen Partnern sind wir vor allem in den Bereichen Tanztheater, Film, Medienkunst und Neue Musik aktiv.
Das Goethe-Institut Montreal bietet ein umfangreiches Sprachkurs- und Prüfungsprogramm für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene. Unsere Lehrer sind hoch qualifiziert und der Unterricht findet in modernen, multimedial ausgestatteten Klassenzimmern statt. Neben dem Erlernen der deutschen Sprache wird großer Wert auf die Vermittlung eines aktuellen Deutschlandbildes gelegt. Unsere Deutschlerner erhalten kostenlosen Zugang zu unserer Bibliothek und sind zu einer Vielzahl von Kulturveranstaltungen eingeladen.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Schulen und kanadischen Bildungseinrichtungen im Bereich ‚Deutsch als Fremdsprache‘ ist eine weitere Aufgabe der Sprachabteilung des Goethe-Instituts. Durch unser Angebot von Fortbildungen und Stipendien für kanadische Deutschlehrkräfte fördern wir die Qualität und Aktualität des Deutschunterrichts an kanadischen Schulen und Universitäten.

Die Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Montreal vermittelt Informationen zu aktuellen Aspekten des kulturellen, gesellschaftlichen und politischen Lebens in Deutschland. Unsere Bestände umfassen Bücher, Zeitschriften, Filme, Musik und Apps in deutscher Sprache, sowie englische und französische Übersetzungen deutschsprachiger Publikationen. Während der Öffnungszeiten können Besucher an zwei Arbeitsplätzen mit Internetanschluss individuell recherchieren, sowie an unserer App-O-Thek auf digitale Medien zugreifen.

Das Goethe-Institut e.V. mit der Zentrale in München ist das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. 149 Institute und 10 Verbindungsbüros in 98 Ländern vermitteln Kultur, Sprache und Informationen über Deutschland.

Top