Community(ies)

Documenta 15 © documenta fifteen 2022

From June 18 - September 25, 2022, the fifteenth edition of documenta takes place in Kassel. The Goethe-Instituts in North America are taking this as an opportunity to invite a group of local curators from Canada and the USA, who are pursuing similar approaches in their work, to Kassel and to engage in an exchange with each other.

Curator exchange


With ruangrupa, for the first time an artists' collective has been tasked with the artistic direction of the documenta 15. The ten-member collective was founded in Jakarta in 2000 and operates an art space there, realizing exhibitions, festivals, publications and radio formats.
 

Ruangrupa pursues a participatory curatorial approach for documenta 15, focusing on partnership models and interdisciplinary approaches. This approach is in line with current trends that reframe the role of curators as classic "gatekeepers" and situate the work and impact of curating more in community-building - inclusion rather than exclusion.

International Networking

The focus of the curator's exchanges will be on partnership models of curating, explicitly anti-racist ways of working, and innovative approaches to social inclusion and community building.
 

The curators

The following curators from Canada have been invited to Kassel:

assinajac
assinajac | © assinajac
Asinnajaq is an urban Inuk from Inukjuak, Nunavik and lives in Tiohtià:ke (Montreal). Asinnajaq’s art practice spans many mediums from film to performance video, to curation and much in between. She co-created Tilliraniit, a three day festival celebrating Inuit art and artists. Asinnajaq wrote and directed Three Thousand (2017) a short sci-fi documentary. She co-curated Isuma’s presence in the ‘Canadian’ pavilion at the 58th Venice Biennale. She was long listed for the 2020 Sobey Art Award. She co-curated the inaugural exhibition INUA at the Qaumajuq. 

Diane Gistal
Diane Gistal
Diane Gistal | © Orphée Okito
is an independent curator and founder and Executive Director of Nigra Iuventa, a Montreal-based non-profit organization that celebrates Black and Afro-descendant diverse heritage and history through visual and media arts. By combining creativity and erudition, the organization aims to elevate and amplify the voices of Black artists both locally and internationally. Nigraiuventa.com

Subalternes (CDEx, 2019), Je sais pourquoi l'oiseau chante en cage (Fonderie Darling, Centre culturel Georges-Vanier und CDEx, 2020), Respiration (Galerie de l'UQAM, 2020) und S'inscrire dans le présent ( Never Apart, 2021) are among her most recent curatorial projects.

Layne Hilton
Layne Hilton | © Andreea Muscurel
Layne Hinton
is a curator, artist, cultural strategist and creative producer based in Toronto, Canada. She is the Co-Director and Co-Curator of Art Spin, a not-for-profit arts organization operating since 2009 with a focus on ephemeral strategies for public art programming. Hinton focuses on curating through a site-responsive approach, working across different neighbourhoods to animate alternative spaces that are often overlooked. Throughout her 12 years with Art Spin, her socially based curatorial practice aims to recontextualize unique spaces as a platform for approachable and shared experiences. Her interest lies in collaborative commissions that involve working closely with artists to develop projects that span all disciplines, creating new connecting points between diverse audiences.  laynehinton.com
 

Picture Gallery

  • Photo de groupe des curatrices et curateurs des régions Amérique du Nord (NAM) et Asie de l'Est et du Sud-Est (SAS) avec Richard Bell © Andrea Ruf

    The curators of the North America (NAM) and East and Southeast Asia (SAS) regions with Richard Bell

  • Photo of the group of curators from the North America (NAM) and East Asia and Southeast Asia (SAS) during a conference held by Chiara Ianeselli, curatorial coordinator. © Ariane Pauls

    Photo of the group of curators from the North America (NAM) and East Asia and Southeast Asia (SAS) during a conference held by Chiara Ianeselli, curatorial coordinator.

  • Among other curators from other regions, Elena Gross (San Francisco), Layne Hinton (Toronto), Anisa Olufemi (Washington) and Ellie Lee (Los Angeles) with Iswanto Hartono and Mirwan Andan from the ruangrupa collective © Andrea Ruf

    Among other curators from other regions, Elena Gross (San Francisco), Layne Hinton (Toronto), Anisa Olufemi (Washington) and Ellie Lee (Los Angeles) with Iswanto Hartono and Mirwan Andan from the ruangrupa collective

  • Curators Diane Gistal (Montreal) and Theo Tyson (Boston) at the welcome lunch © Ellie Lee

    Curators Diane Gistal (Montreal) and Theo Tyson (Boston) at the welcome lunch

  • Asinnajaq (Montréal) lors d'un atelier © Andrea Ruf

    Asinnajaq (Montreal) at a workshop

  • Asinnajaq au sein d‘une pièce consacrée au Instituto de artivismo Hannah Arendt © Anisa Olufemi

    Asinnajaq in a room dedicated to the Instituto de artivismo Hannah Arendt

  • Dans l'ésprit de la communauté © documenta fifteen 2022 / Photo: Nadja Furth

    In the spirit of the community

About documenta 15

documenta fifteen 2022 © documenta fifteen 2022

In the run-up to the fair, there was a discussion about possible anti-Semitic tendencies among the curators of documenta 15, especially from the ranks of ruangrupa and some groups associated with them. Jewish artists from Israel were not invited, and on the first day of the fair a work by the group Taring Padi with clearly anti-Semitic content was exhibited, and subsequently removed after strong reactions of the public. At this point, we would like to explicitly distance ourselves from content of this kind and anti-Semitism in any form.


Interviews




Goethe-Institut mit Ruangrupa im Gespräch © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Ajeng Nurul Aini, Mirwan Andan and Ade Darmawan
"Breaking other peoples’ expectations"

Stefan Dreyer in conversation with the artists, Ajeng Nurul Aini, Mirwan Andan and Ade Darmawan
 

Documenta 15, Agus Amal ©

Agus Nur Amal PMTOH
A sharing economy

Agus Nur Amal PMTOH on "Lumbung" as sharing economy.

Documenta 15, Jatiwangi Art Factory © JaF Documentation Team

Jatiwangi Art Factory
Local Practices at documenta 15

Jatiwangi Art Factory on Connecting documenta15 to Local Practices.

Documenta 15, Gudskul © Gudskul

Gudskul
Sharing of Knowledge

Gudskul on Sharing of Knowledge at documenta 15.

Documenta 15, Ruangrupa © Nicolas Wefers

Reza Afisina and Iswanto Hartono
"Going with the Flow"

Reza Afisina and Iswanto Hartono about the ruru-Haus and their time of preparation in Kassel.

documenta fifteen 2022 © documenta fifteen 2022
Top

Kurator*innenaustausch zur documenta 15
Gemeinschaft(en)

Documenta 15 © documenta fifteen 2022

Vom 18. Juni - 25. September 2022 findet die fünfzehnte Ausgabe der documenta in Kassel statt. Die Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika nehmen dies zum Anlass, eine Gruppe lokaler Kurator*innen aus Kanada und den USA, die ähnliche Ansätze in ihrer Arbeit verfolgen, nach Kassel einzuladen und in einen Austausch miteinander zu bringen.

Kurator*innenaustausch


Mit ruangrupa wurde erstmals ein Kollektiv mit der künstlerischen Leitung der documenta 15 beauftragt. Das im Kern zehnköpfige Kollektiv gründete sich im Jahr 2000 in Jakarta und betreibt dort einen Kunstraum, realisiert Ausstellungen, Festivals, Publikationen und Rundfunkformate.

Ruangrupa verfolgt einen partizipativen kuratorischen Anspruch für die documenta 15, bei dem partnerschaftliche Modelle und interdisziplinäre Ansätze im Fokus stehen. Diese Vorgehensweise entspricht aktuellen Tendenzen, welche die Rolle von Kurator*innen als klassische „Gatekeeper“ ummünzen und die Arbeit und Wirkung des Kuratierens eher im Community-Building verorten – Inklusion statt Exklusion.

Internationale Vernetzung

Der inhaltlicher Fokus des Austausches liegt auf partnerschaftlichen Modellen des Kuratierens, explizit antirassistischen Arbeitsweisen, sowie innovativen Ansätze zur sozialen Inklusion und zum Community-Building.

Die Kurator*innen

Folgende Kurator*innen aus Kanada sind nach Kassel eingeladen worden:

assinajac
assinajac | © assinajac
Asinnajaq ist urbane Inuk aus Inukjuak, Nunavik, und lebt in Tiohtià:ke (Montreal). Asinnajaqs künstlerische Praxis umfasst viele Medien, wie Film, Videoperformance, Kuratieren und vieles dazwischen. Sie ist Mitgestalterin von Tilliraniit, einem dreitägigen Festival, das die Kunst und die Künstler*innen der Inuit feiert. Asinnajaq schrieb und führte Regie bei Three Thousand (2017), einem kurzen Science-Fiction-Dokumentarfilm. Sie war Mitkuratorin von Isumas Präsenz im "kanadischen" Pavillon auf der 58. Biennale von Venedig. Sie war auf der Longlist für den Sobey Art Award 2020. Sie war Ko-Kuratorin der Eröffnungsausstellung INUA im Qaumajuq.

Diane Gistal ist eine unabhängige Kuratorin und Gründerin und
Diane Gistal
Diane Gistal | © Orphée Okito
Geschäftsführerin von Nigra Iuventa, einer gemeinnützigen Organisation mit Sitz in Montreal, die das vielfältige Erbe und die Geschichte der Schwarzen und Afro-Abstammung durch visuelle und mediale Kunst feiert. Durch die Verbindung von Kreativität und Gelehrsamkeit will die Organisation die Stimmen schwarzer Künstler sowohl auf lokaler als auch auf internationaler Ebene erheben und verstärken. Nigraiuventa.com

Subalternes (CDEx, 2019), Je sais pourquoi l'oiseau chante en cage (Fonderie Darling, Centre culturel Georges-Vanier und CDEx, 2020), Respiration (Galerie de l'UQAM, 2020) und S'inscrire dans le présent ( Never Apart, 2021) gehören zu ihren jüngsten kuratorischen Projekten.

Layne Hilton
Layne Hilton | © Andreea Muscurel
Layne Hinton
ist Kuratorin, Künstlerin, Kulturstrategin und Kreativproduzentin und lebt in Toronto, Kanada. Sie ist Co-Direktorin und Co-Kuratorin von Art Spin, einer gemeinnützigen Kunstorganisation, die seit 2009 tätig ist und sich auf ephemere Strategien für öffentliche Kunstprogramme konzentriert. Hinton konzentriert sich auf das Kuratieren mit einem ortsbezogenen Ansatz und arbeitet in verschiedenen Vierteln, um alternative Räume zu beleben, die oft übersehen werden. Während ihrer 12-jährigen Tätigkeit bei Art Spin zielt ihre sozial orientierte kuratorische Praxis darauf ab, einzigartige Räume als Plattform für zugängliche und gemeinsame Erfahrungen zu rekontextualisieren. Ihr Interesse gilt kollaborativen Aufträgen, bei denen sie eng mit Künstlern zusammenarbeitet, um Projekte zu entwickeln, die alle Disziplinen umfassen und neue Berührungspunkte zwischen verschiedenen Publikumsgruppen schaffen. laynehinton.com
 

Bildergalerie

  • Photo de groupe des curatrices et curateurs des régions Amérique du Nord (NAM) et Asie de l'Est et du Sud-Est (SAS) avec Richard Bell © Andrea Ruf

    Die Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren der Regionen Nordamerika (NAM) und Ost- und Südostasien (SAS) mit Richard Bell

  • Gruppenfoto der Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren der Regionen Nordamerika (NAM) und Ostasien und Südostasien (SAS) bei einer Konferenz, die von Chiara Ianeselli, Kuratorische Koordination, gehalten wurde. © Ariane Pauls

    Gruppenfoto der Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren der Regionen Nordamerika (NAM) und Ostasien und Südostasien (SAS) bei einer Konferenz, die von Chiara Ianeselli, Kuratorische Koordination, gehalten wurde.

  • Neben anderen Kuratorinnen aus anderen Regionen, Elena Gross (San Francisco), Layne Hinton (Toronto), Anisa Olufemi (Washington) und Ellie Lee (Los Angeles) mit Iswanto Hartono und Mirwan Andan vom Kollektiv ruangrupa © Andrea Ruf

    Neben anderen Kuratorinnen aus anderen Regionen, Elena Gross (San Francisco), Layne Hinton (Toronto), Anisa Olufemi (Washington) und Ellie Lee (Los Angeles) mit Iswanto Hartono und Mirwan Andan vom Kollektiv ruangrupa

  • Die Kuratorinnen Diane Gistal (Montreal) und Theo Tyson (Boston) beim Begrüßungslunch © Ellie Lee

    Die Kuratorinnen Diane Gistal (Montreal) und Theo Tyson (Boston) beim Begrüßungslunch

  • Asinnajaq (Montréal) lors d'un atelier © Andrea Ruf

    Asinnajaq (Montreal) bei einem Workshop

  • Asinnajaq au sein d‘une pièce consacrée au Instituto de artivismo Hannah Arendt © Anisa Olufemi

    Asinnajaq innerhalb eines Raumes, der dem Instituto de artivismo Hannah Arendt gewidmet ist

  • Dans l'ésprit de la communauté © documenta fifteen 2022 / Foto: Nadja Furth

    Ganz im Geiste der Gemeinschaft

Über documenta 15

documenta fifteen 2022 © documenta fifteen 2022

Bereits im Vorfeld der Messe gab es eine Diskussion um mögliche antisemitische Tendenzen unter den Kurator*innen der documenta 15, insbesondere aus den Reihen von ruangrupa und einigen mit ihnen verbundenen Gruppen. Jüdische Kunstschaffende aus Israel wurden nicht eingeladen, und bereits am ersten Tag der Messe wurde ein Werk der Gruppe Taring Padi mit eindeutig antisemitischem Inhalt ausgestellt, das erst nach heftigen Reaktionen entfernt wurde. Wir möchten uns an dieser Stelle ausdrücklich von Inhalten dieser Art und Antisemitismus in jeder Form distanzieren.


Interviews




Goethe-Institut mit Ruangrupa im Gespräch © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Ajeng Nurul Aini, Mirwan Andan und Ade Darmawan
„Breaking other peoples’ expectations“

Stefan Dreyer im Gespräch mit den Künstler*innen, Ajeng Nurul Aini, Mirwan Andan und Ade Darmawan
 

Documenta 15, Agus Amal ©

Agus Nur Amal PMTOH
Eine Ökonomie des Teilens

Agus Nur Amal PMTOH über „Lumbung“ als Ökonomie des Teilens.

Documenta 15, Jatiwangi Art Factory © JaF Documentation Team

Jatiwangi Art Factory
Regionale Arbeitsweisen auf der documenta 15

Jatiwangi Art Factory über die Verbindung der documenta 15 mit regionalen Arbeitsweisen.

Documenta 15, Gudskul © Gudskul

Gudskul
Der Austausch von Wissen

Gudskul über den Austausch von Wissen auf der documenta 15.

Documenta 15, Ruangrupa © Nicolas Wefers

Reza Afisina und Iswanto Hartono
„Alles im Fluss“

Reza Afisina und Iswanto Hartono über das ruru-Haus und ihre Zeit der Vorbereitung in Kassel.

documenta fifteen 2022 © documenta fifteen 2022
Top