Conference
The Entangled Gaze: Indigenous and European Views of Each Other

Anna Brus and Markus Lindner are guests of the Goethe-Institut

Jackman Hall, Art Gallery of Ontario

The Indigenous Visual Culture Research Centre’s inaugural conference,
at the Art Gallery of Ontario

The two-day conference addresses how historical and contemporary Indigenous artists have chosen to represent Europeans artistically and in turn, how Europeans have represented Indigenous peoples. Conference contributors will deliver short papers or performances to explore, or respond to, two key questions: how do we represent people who are different from ourselves, and, what are the consequences of this representation?
 
The event will convene an interdisciplinary group of researchers, museum professionals, and Indigenous artists and community members from North America and Europe, who will address social, political, cultural, economic or aesthetic aspects of Indigenous-European encounters as mediated through art and visual culture. Select papers will be published as peer-reviewed articles in a special issue of AbOriginal: Journal of Indigenous Studies and First Nations’ and First Peoples’ Cultures, edited by Prof. Gerald McMaster. Research materials will be uploaded onto a digital commons to support scholarly and community-based research on Indigenous art and history.

Anna Brus is a doctoral candidate at the DFG-Graduiertenkolleg Locating Media at Siegen University, focusing on interculturalism and aesthetics, art sciences and ethnography, and depictions of the other in the visual culture of Africa.

Dr. Markus Lindner is faculty member at the Institute for Ethnology of the Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main with the focus on Native North America (Plains, particularly Lakota), contemporary situation, representation, material culture, historical photography, museum anthropology, tourism, contemporary native art, and repatriation. 
 
Part of the Goethe-Institut’s focus on “the Other”

Details

Language: English
Price: Member: $60 - Public: $75 - Student: $45

The Entangled Gaze: Indigenous and European Views of Each Other

Anna Brus und Markus Lindner sind Gäste des Goethe-Instituts

Jackman Hall, Art Galelry of Ontario

The Indigenous Visual Culture Research Centre’s inaugural conference,
Art Gallery of Ontario

Die zweitägige Konferenz befasst sich damit, wie historische und zeitgenössische indigene Künstler sich entschieden haben, Europäer künstlerisch darzustellen und wie im Gegenzug Europäer indigene Völker dargestellt haben. Konferenzteilnehmer werden kurze Aufsätze oder Performances liefern, um zwei Schlüsselfragen zu erkunden, oder darauf zu antworten: Wie stellen wir Menschen, die anders als wir selbst sind, und was sind die Folgen dieser Repräsentation?
 
Die Veranstaltung wird eine interdisziplinäre Gruppe von Forschern, Museumsfachpersonal, indigenen Künstlern und Community-Mitgliedern aus Nordamerika und Europa zusammenbringen, die sich mit sozialen, politischen, kulturellen, wirtschaftlichen und ästhetischen Aspekten der indigen-europäischen Begegnungen, vermittelt in der Kunst und visuellen Kultur, befassen werden. Ausgewählte Artikel werden als Peer-Review-Artikel in einer Sonderausgabe von AbOriginal: Journal of Indigenous Studies and First Nations’ and First Peoples’ Cultures, herausgegeben von Prof. Gerald McMaster, veröffentlicht werden. Forschungsmaterial wird zu einem Digital Commons hochgeladen werden, um akademische und Community-basierte Forschung zu indigener Kunst und Geschichte zu unterstützen.

Anna Brus ist Doktorandin des DFG-Graduiertenkolleg Locating Media der Universität Siegen. Ihr Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind Interkulturalität und Ästhetik, Sammlungs- und Ausstellungspraktiken des Primitivismus, Kunst(-wissenschaft) und Ethnographie, Fremddarstellungen in der visuellen Kultur Afrikas.

Dr. Markus Lindner ist Mitarbeiter des Instituts für Ethnologie der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main. Seine thematischen Schwerpunkte sind das indigene Nordamerika (insb. Lakota), indianische Gegenwartssituation und Selbstrepräsentation, materielle Kultur, historische Fotografie, Museumsethnologie, Tourismus, Kunstethnologie (zeitgenössische Kunst), Repatriierung.  
 
Teil des Goethe-Institut Schwerpunkts “das Andere”

Details

Sprache: Englisch
Preis: Mitglieder: $60 - Öffentlichkeit: $75 - Studenten: $45