New Nature

New Nature © Goethe-Institut Montreal

An Immersive Media and Climate Science Exchange between Canada - Germany - Mexico - US

Between May and December 2020 the Goethe-Institut Montreal is inviting leading climate scientists, artists, and technologists from Canada, Germany, Mexico and the United States working on the forefront of immersive technologies to connect and share their explorations on climate change and reflect on desirable futures. 

Public Programming

From May 25-28, 2020, New Nature started with a series of online sessions, consisting of internal workshops and meetings as well as public events such as keynotes and artist talks, these continue to manifest until December 2020 in public online screenings, artist talks and an audiovisual exhibition in Montreal and in Berlin in collaboration with Retune - Creative Technology Laboratory.



Past Events



Grant programme


Beyond New Nature




Reflections on New Nature in the Überblog

New Nature Audiovisual

New Nature

Video
Opening Keynote | Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

© Goethe-Institut Montreal, Olivia McGilchrist

Video
Video response

Concept & direction: Olivia McGilchrist

Nerea Calvillo in Conversation with Nick Shapiro © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Video
Artist Talk | Nerea Calvillo in Conversation with Nick Shapiro

Olivia McGilchrist, interdisciplinary multi-media artist, researcher and student responder for the New Nature virtual conference in May, invited Petra Bachmeier, Heather Davis and Tamiko Thiel to reflect about water and water pollution through the lens of their own artistic work and research.  

Question 1 

Does the notion of “environment as freedom” offer any inroads for future collaborations with other New Nature participants through a combination of scientific data and immersive mediums, including storytelling? 

Question 2 

Does Ranganathan’s following question resonate with your work: “What would it mean to reimagine the environment as freedom?” If so, how would you approach this with future collaborators from different fields? 

Reflections by Heather Davis © Heather Davis, Olivia McGilchrist

Video
Reflections by Heather Davis

Reflections by Petra Bachmaier (Luftwerk) © Luftwerk, Olivia McGilchrist

Video
Reflections by Petra Bachmaier (Luftwerk)

Atoms Sphaerae by Tamiko Thiel, © Tamiko Thiel, Olivia McGilchrist

Video
Atoms Sphaerae by Tamiko Thiel

Participating Experts





























Project Partners












New Nature is a project by

New Nature Logos AA EN

Partner Organizations

NN Partner Organizations

Top

New Nature © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Ein Austausch immersiver Medien und Klimawissenschaften zwischen Deutschland - Kanada - Mexiko - USA 

Im Zeitraum Mai bis Dezember 2020 lädt das Goethe-Institut Montreal führende Klimawissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und Technologie-Expert*innen aus Deutschland, Kanada, Mexiko und den USA zu einem Forum ein, das den Teilnehmer*innen die Möglichkeit bietet, ihre jeweiligen Forschungen und Entwicklungen zum Klimawandel miteinander in Verbindung zu setzen und gemeinsam über wünschenswerte Zukunftsszenarien nachzudenken.

Öffentliches Programm

Vom 25. bis 28. Mai 2020 begann New Nature mit einer Reihe vielfältiger Online-Formate, darunter interne Workshops und Präsentationen als auch öffentliche Veranstaltungen, wie Keynote-Vorträge und Künstler*innengespräche, die sich noch bis Dezember 2020 in öffentlichen Online-Screenings und einer audiovisuellen Ausstellung in Montreal und in Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit Retune - Creative Technology Laboratory fortführen werden.



Vergangene Veranstaltungen



Stipendienprogramm


Jenseits von New Nature




Reflexionen über New Nature im Überblog

New Nature Audiovisuell

New Nature

Video
Eröffnungs-Keynote | Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

Moderation: Ian Mauro

© Goethe-Institut Montreal, Olivia McGilchrist

Video
Videoreaktion

Konzept/Regie: Olivia McGilchrist

Nerea Calvillo in Conversation with Nick Shapiro © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Video
Artist Talk | Nerea Calvillo im Gespräch mit Nick Shapiro

Olivia McGilchrist, interdisziplinäre Multimediakünstlerin, Forscherin und studentische „Responderin“, die an der virtuellen Konferenz New Nature im Mai teilnahm, lud Petra Bachmeier, Heather Davis und Tamiko Thiel ein, über Wasser und Wasserverschmutzung durch die Linse ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Arbeit und Forschung nachzudenken.  

Frage 1 

Bietet der Begriff „Umwelt als Freiheit » Möglichkeiten für zukünftige Kooperationen mit anderen Teilnehmern der New Nature durch eine Kombination von wissenschaftlichen Daten und immersiven Mitteln, einschließlich des Erzählens von Geschichten? 

Frage 2 

Hat Ranganathans Frage eine Resonanz auf Ihre Arbeit: „Was würde es bedeuten, sich die Umwelt als Freiheit neu vorzustellen?" Wenn ja, wie würden Sie es mit zukünftigen Mitstreiter*innen aus verschiedenen Bereichen angehen? 

Reflections by Heather Davis © Heather Davis, Olivia McGilchrist

Video
Reflections von Heather Davis

Reflections by Petra Bachmaier (Luftwerk) © Luftwerk, Olivia McGilchrist

Video
Reflections von Petra Bachmaier (Luftwerk)

Atoms Sphaerae by Tamiko Thiel © Tamiko Thiel, Olivia McGilchrist

Atoms Sphaerae von Tamiko Thiel

Teilnehmende Expertinnen und Experten





























Projektpartnerinnen und -partner












New Nature ist ein Projekt von

NN AA DE GI
Partnerorganisationen
NN Partner Organizations

Top