Exhibition
Early UFA Film Posters: Projecting Women

Goethe-Institut Toronto

Eight posters from famous as well as rarely seen or lost Berlin UFA films from the 1920s and 30s portray women as heroines or seductresses, debutantes or harlots. From "Sumurun" to "Metropolis", women are vying for power in male-dominated films.  

Presented by the Goethe-Institut


Metropolis artwork, UFA_Parufamet, Berlin, 1927.
Metropolis artwork, UFA_Parufamet, Berlin, 1927.
Universum Film AG, founded in 1917 near Berlin, accompanied its film releases in its early decades with elaborate advertising campaigns. Frequently, up to three graphic artworks were commissioned for large productions. In Berlin and Vienna, the two German-language cinema capitals, exclusive movie premiere posters were commissioned by UFA and presented on advertising pillars, walls and billboards weeks before the release.
 
With eight early posters, the Goethe-Institut is showing the range of the image of women of that time, embodied by actresses such as Pola Negri, Brigitte Helm and Sybille Schmitz. The posters also illustrate some films by later Hollywood directors: Ernst Lubitsch is represented with "Sumurun", Fritz Lang with "The Nibelungs" and "Metropolis". In addition to advertising classic films that went down in international film history, also being shown for largely forgotten UFA titles such as Robert A. Stemmle’s "Dangerous Crossing" and Karl Hartl’s "F.P.1 Doesn't Answer".
 
The posters were designed by the best graphic designers of their time; artists such as Robert L. Leonard, Theo Matejko, Josef Fenneker, Werner Graul, Heinz Schulz-Neudamm, and Peter Pewas. Their works, like the films they promote, were influenced by the contemporary 1920s styles of Expressionism and Neue Sachlichkeit. Following the takeover of power by the National Socialists in 1933, the state gradually began to exert control over the entire German film industry.


Film posters:
 

THE CASE ROSENTOPF (DER FALL ROSENTOPF) (Germany 1918, 40 min, silent, b&w), directed by Ernst Lubitsch, with Trude Hesterberg, Margarete Kupfer, Elsa Wagner, Ernst Lubitsch, and others (Lubitsch’s lost film). Poster designed by Josef Fennecker.
 
SUMURUN (Germany 1920, 103 min, silent, b&w), directed by Ernst Lubitsch, with Pola Negri, Margarete Kupfer, Ernst Lubitsch, and others. Poster designed by Theo Matejko.
 
DANGEROUS CROSSING (GLEISDREIECK) (Germany 1937, 80 min, b&w), directed by Robert A. Stemmle, with Heli Finkenzeller, Toni von Bukovics, Hilde Sessak, Gustav Fröhlich, and others. Poster designed by Peter Pewas.
 
THE WOMAN FROM TILL 12 (DAS FRÄULEIN VON KASSE 12) (Germany 1928, 6 acts, silent, b&w), directed by Erich Schönfelder, with Dina Gralla, Emmy Wyda, Ruth Feiner, Werner Fuetterer, and others. Poster designed by Josef Fennecker.
 
THE NIBELUNGS PART 1 & 2: SIEGFRIED & KRIEMHILD’S REVENGE (DIE NIBELUNGEN 1. U. 2. TEIL: SIEGFRIED & KRIEMHILDS RACHE) (Germany 1924/1925, 149 min/131 min, silent, b&w), directed by Fritz Lang, with Margarete Schön, Gertrud Arnold, Hanna Ralph, Paul Richter, and others. Poster designed by Martin Lehmann-Steglitz.
 
METROPOLIS (Germany 1927, 148 min, silent, b&w), directed by Fritz Lang, with Brigitte Helm, Alfred Abel, Gustav Fröhlich, and others. Poster designed by Werner Graul.
 
CONGRESS DANCES (DER KONGRESS TANZT) (Germany 1931, 85 min, b&w), directed by Erik Charell, with Lilian Harvey, Margarete Kupfer, Willy Fritsch, and others. Poster designed by Willy Keil.
 
F.P.1. DOESN’T ANSWER (F.P.1. ANTWORTET NICHT) (Germany 1932, 114 min, b&w), directed by Karl Hartl, with Sybille Schmitz, Hans Albers, Peter Lorre, and others. Poster designed by Willy Keil.
 
"Das UFA-Plakat: Filmpremieren 1918 bis 1943" is a joint project by the Austrian National Library, the Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek and the Goethe-Institut.
 
Selection and accompanying reading room curated by Jutta Brendemühl, Goethe-Institut Toronto


 

Details

Goethe-Institut Toronto

100 University Ave, North Tower, 2nd Floor
Toronto

Price: free admission
jutta.brendemuehl@toronto.goethe.org

OPENING HOURS:
Tue 1pm - 6pm
Wed + Thu 3pm - 7pm
Sat 9:30am - 1:30pm

Ausstellung
Frühe UFA Film Plakate: Projecting Women

Goethe-Institut Toronto

Acht Plakate von berühmten bis hin zu kaum gesehenen oder gar verlorenen Berliner UFA Filmen aus den 1920ern und 1930ern zeigen Frauen als Heldinnen oder Verführerinnen, Debütantinnen oder Huren. Von "Sumurun" bis hin zu Fritz Lang's "Metropolis" wetteifern Frauen in männlich dominierten Filmen um Macht. 

Präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut 


Metropolis artwork, UFA_Parufamet, Berlin, 1927.
Metropolis artwork, UFA_Parufamet, Berlin, 1927.
Die Universum Film AG, 1917 bei Berlin gegründet, begleitete ihre Kinostarts in den ersten Jahrzehnten mit aufwendigen Werbekampagnen. Häufig gab man bei großen Produktionen bis zu drei Grafiken in Auftrag. In Berlin und Wien, den beiden deutschsprachigen Kinometropolen, wurden für Filmpremieren der UFA exklusive Uraufführungsplakate gedruckt und auf Litfaßsäulen, an Häuser- und Plakatwänden Wochen vor dem Filmstart präsentiert.
 
Das Goethe-Institut zeigt anhand von acht frühen Grafiken die Bandbreite des Frauenbilds der Zeit, verkörpert durch Schauspielerinnen wie Pola Negri, Brigitte Helm und Sybille Schmitz. Die Plakate illustrieren u.a. die Filme späterer Hollywood-Regisseure: Ernst Lubitsch ist mit „Sumurun“ vertreten, Fritz Lang mit „Die Nibelungen“ und „Metropolis“. Neben der Werbung für Klassiker, die in die internationale Filmgeschichte eingegangen sind, werden auch Druckgrafiken zu heute weitgehend vergessenen UFA-Titeln gezeigt, wie Robert A. Stemmles „Gleisdreieck“ und Karl Hartls „F.P.1 Antwortet Nicht“.
 
Entworfen wurden die Plakate von den besten Gebrauchsgrafikern ihrer Zeit – von Künstlern wie Robert L. Leonard, Theo Matejko, Josef Fenneker, Werner Graul, Heinz Schulz-Neudamm und Peter Pewas. Ihre Werke sind – wie die Filme, für die sie werben sollen – in den zwanziger Jahren von den zeitgenössischen Stilrichtungen Expressionismus und Neue Sachlichkeit beeinflusst. Nacht der Machtübernahme durch die Nationalsozialisten 1933 kontrollierte der Staat dann allmählich die gesamte deutsche Filmproduktion. 


Filmposter:
 

DER FALL ROSENTOPF (Deutschland 1918, 40 Min, stumm, s&w), Regie Ernst Lubitsch, mit Trude Hesterberg, Margarete Kupfer, Elsa Wagner, Ernst Lubitsch, und anderen (Lubitsch’s verlorener Film). Posterdesign von Josef Fennecker.
 
SUMURUN (Deutschland 1920, 103 Min, stumm, s&w), Regie Ernst Lubitsch, mit Pola Negri, Margarete Kupfer, Ernst Lubitsch, und anderen. Posterdesign von Theo Matejko.
 
GLEISDREIECK (Deutschland 1937, 80 Min, s&w), Regie Robert A. Stemmle, mit Heli Finkenzeller, Toni von Bukovics, Hilde Sessak, Gustav Fröhlich, und anderen. Posterdesign von Peter Pewas.
 
DAS FRÄULEIN VON KASSE 12 (Deutschland 1928, 6 Akte, stumm, s&w), Regie Erich Schönfelder, mit Dina Gralla, Emmy Wyda, Ruth Feiner, Werner Fuetterer, und anderen. Posterdesign von Josef Fennecker.
 
DIE NIBELUNGEN 1. U. 2. TEIL: SIEGFRIED & KRIEMHILDS RACHE (Deutschland 1924/1925, 149 Min/131 Min, stumm, s&w) Regie Fritz Lang, mit Margarete Schön, Gertrud Arnold, Hanna Ralph, Paul Richter, und anderen. Posterdesign von Martin Lehmann-Steglitz.
 
METROPOLIS (Deutschland 1927, 148 Min, stumm, s&w), Regie Fritz Lang, mit Brigitte Helm, Alfred Abel, Gustav Fröhlich, und anderen. Posterdesign von Werner Graul.
 
DER KONGRESS TANZT (Deutschland 1931, 85 Min, s&w), Regie Erik Charell, mit Lilian Harvey, Margarete Kupfer, Willy Fritsch, und anderen. Posterdesign von Willy Keil.
 
F.P.1. ANTWORTET NICHT (Deutschland 1932, 114 Min, s&w), Regie Karl Hartl, mit Sybille Schmitz, Hans Albers, Peter Lorre, und anderen. Posterdesign von Willy Keil.
 
"Das UFA-Plakat: Filmpremieren 1918 bis 1943" ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, der Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek und des Goethe-Instituts. 


Auswahl und begleitender Lesebereich kuratiert von Jutta Brendemühl, Goethe-Institut Toronto
 


 

Details

jutta.brendemuehl@toronto.goethe.org

Preis: freier Eintritt
ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN:
Di. 13-18 Uhr
Mi. + Do. 13-19 Uhr
Sa. 9:30-13:30 Uhr