Discussion International Online Book Club: Meet the Author

Book Cover: Drei Kameradinnen © Kiepenheuer & Witsch

Thu, 20.01.2022

18:00 GMT

Online

'Drei Kameradinnen' by Shida Bazyar

For our 14th international online book club meeting on 20th of January, we have invited author Shida Bazyar to read her book Drei Kameradinnen (English translation: Sisters in Arms) with us.


ABOUT THE BOOK

Longlisted for the German Book Prize 2021.

Hani, Kasih, and Saya have shared a deep friendship ever since they were kids growing up together in the projects. After years, the three young women meet again for a few days to pick up where they left off. But regardless of where they are or what they achieve, it becomes clear again and again that they can’t escape the everyday racism that accompanies their daily lives: the glances, chatter, hatred, and outright rightwing terror. But their friendship gives them stability. Until one dramatic night shakes everything up.

Shida Bazyar shows what it means to be questioned, constantly and everywhere, because of one’s origins, but also how violence and ignorance can be met with solidarity. Drei Kameradinnen is a stirring, uncompromising, and touching novel about the extraordinary alliance between three young women and the only thing that makes a self-determined life possible in a society that doesn’t tolerate otherness: unconditional friendship.


Extract in German 


„Shida Bazyar is a talented author whose writing will appeal to fans of Elena Ferrante, Zadie Smith and Kamila Shamsie. […] Sisters in Arms is an immersive and thought-provoking read with a strong plot and relatable characters, and which explores urgent contemporary questions around racism and sexism in society.“  New Books in German
 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Photo (detail): Shida Bazyar © Tabea Treichel Shida Bazyar, born in 1988, studied literary writing in Hildesheim, and, in addition to writing, worked in youth education for many years. Her debut novel Nachts ist es leise in Teheran came out in 2016, won the Blogger Literary Award, Ulla Hahn Prize, and Uwe Johnson Prize, among other awards, and has been translated into Dutch, Farsi, French and Turkish.



Text source: Kiepenheuer & Witsch
 

WHO CAN tAKE PART?

Everyone who wants to read and discover German literature, meet authors and share their reading experience with others - even if you haven't read the book yet. The book club will be held in German. All participants should have sufficient language skills to read and discuss in German. Register by clicking on the 'Register Here' link below:

REGISTER HERE

TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS

We will use Zoom for our meeting. We recommend using a headset, as speakers can create distracting echo effects. Participation is possible from PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone or Android device. To participate, simply follow the link we will send you after registration and sign in to the room.

Back