Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Experts

Experts_Theater_Project © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Bengali

Dhaka, Bangladesh
Target Language: Bengali, English


Sabiha Huq © Sabiha Huq Sabiha Huq graduated from the University of Dhaka with a master's degree in English. She continued her studies and did her M.Phil. and her PhD at the University of Oslo, Norway. Since June 2013, she has been a Professor of English at Khulna University. The areas of her research and teaching interest are diverse, among others Ibsen and Modern Drama, Postcolonial Literatures with thrust on South Asian literature, Cultural Theory and Cultural Studies, Women’s Writings, and Translation and Comparative Literature. A long list of her publications mirror this varied range of interest and expertise, it includes numerous books, newspaper articles, reviews and interviews as well as several translations into Bangla.
Kolkata, India
Target Language: Bengali, English


Subhendu Sarkar © Subhendu Sarkar Subhendu Sarkar graduated from the University of Calcutta with a PhD and currently works as Associate Professor of English at Ranaghat College, West Bengal. His research and writings, in both Bangla and English, focus on varied areas such as theatre (Badal Sircar and Bertolt Brecht), 19th-century liberalism in Bengal, Gandhism, Marxism, and Translation Studies. He has lectured in many institutes of higher learning. So far he has published three books and many articles in edited volumes and scholarly journals and has translated two plays of Badal Sircar into English (published by Oxford University Press).
 
Kolkata, India
Target Language: Bengali, English


Tirthankar Chanda © Tirthankar Chanda After receiving his PhD in Cytogenetics and working in educational institutions, Dr. Tirthankar Chanda joined 'In Search of Children's Theatre', a project by theatre group Nandikar, Kolkata. Following that he has been working with children's theatre groups independently. He compiled his experiences in that field in his first publication on theatre and education, published in1998. As a playwright, he has received some prestigious awards. Around thirty of his plays have been performed by different groups in India and abroad. He has authored several articles on sociological aspects of theatre and has two published memoirs as well. As a co-author, he completed the translation of Paulo Freire's 'The Pedagogy of the Oppressed' in Bengali. Currently, he teaches 'History of Theatre' at the University of Calcutta.
 

Hindi

Mumbai, India
Target Language: Hindi, English


Abhishek Majumdar © Abhishek Majumdar Abhishek Majumdar is a playwright, director and scenographer. He is a visiting associate professor of arts at NYU Abu Dhabi and Artistic Director of Nalanda Arts Studio, Bangalore. While he writes in multiple languages, his works also have been translated into several European and Asian languages. The director with a versatile theatre approach has been rewarded with several prices and fellowships, such as Shankar Nag Rangakarmi Award and Inlaks Fellowship. Currently, he is working on a number of art projects including a film for NYUAD arts centre, a play for Playco New York and for Royal Court Theatre London, and he is writing a book for Bloomsbury London.
 
Mumbai, India
Target Language: Hindi, English


Ashok Mishra © Ashok Mishra Ashok Mishra is a playwright, lyricist and screenwriter based in Mumbai. A graduate of the National School of Drama, New Delhi, he has written twelve and directed more than thirty plays. Some of his plays have been published and are performed by theatre groups all across the country. Apart from this, his credits as a playwright include popular plays like 'Stories in a song', 'One on one' and 'Mosambi Narangi'. Ashok Mishra is a two time National Film Award winner for best screenplay for 'Naseem' (1996) and 'Samar' (1999). He also won the Star Screen Award for best dialogues for 'Welcome to Sajjanpur' (2008).

Marathi

Mumbai, India
Target Language: Marathi, Hindi and English

Irawati Karnik © Irawati Karnik Irawati Karnik is a writer, playwright, screenwriter, translator, dramaturg and actor based out of Mumbai. She writes in Marathi, Hindi and English. Irawati began her theatre journey by working for the theatre group Awishkar. Since then, she has collaborated with several imminent theatre directors to create plays that have been performed across the country and abroad. An alumnus of Sir J.J. School of Fine Arts, Irawati has also worked towards Research and Documentation of Indian contemporary art. She is the Head of the Department for Dramaturgy at Drama School Mumbai. Irawati has received a number of awards, among others the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar, the Vinod Doshi Fellowship, Maharashtra Sahitya Parishad Award, Zürcher Kantonalbank Patronage Prize, and Kalakiran Puraskar.


 
Kolhapur, India
Target Language: Marathi, English


Maya Pandit © Maya Pandit Prof. Maya Pandit has been teaching English Language and Literature for more than forty years. Feminist Criticism, Translation Studies and Marathi Theatre have also been her special areas of research. She has published translations of more than 16 books written by internationally acclaimed authors, among which are English translations of autobiographies, Marathi and English translations of plays as well as various other forms of literary texts. Her original works include books such as Gopal Ganesh Agarkar, Adventures with Grammar and Compositions and the poetry collection Talkhali.
 

Tamil

Chennai, India
Target Language: Tamil, English


Currently, Gita Jayaraj © Gita Jayaraj Gita Jayaraj is a PhD research scholar at the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences at IIT-Madras. She graduated with an MPhil from the Centre of Linguistics and English, JNU, New Delhi. She has worked extensively in the fields of academic publishing and technical documentation. For the Asian College of Journalism she worked as a registrar. She is also an independent researcher, editor, and writer with a keen interest in ritual, theatre, society, culture and gender – it is this interest that has brought her back to continue with her research. Some of her writings can be read in various magazines.
 
Sri Lanka
Target Language: Tamil, English


Ponni Arasu © Ponni Arasu Trained as a historian and lawyer Ponni Arasu has been associated, in myriad capacities, with numerous movements, institutions and networks that work on a range of social justice issues in India and Sri Lanka. Her work as a theatre practitioner is deeply connected to processes of enabling social critique and change. She is also an emerging translator from Tamil to English and vice versa, of poetry, academic prose and theatrical texts. Her performance experience is primarily in Tamil language theatre in Tamilnadu and Eastern Sri Lanka while she has also performed in English, Hindi and Kannada. She now lives in Batticaloa, Sri Lanka.
 

Urdu

Mumbai, India
Target Language: Urdu, English


Asad Hussain © Asad Hussain Asad Hussain is a writer based in Mumbai. He has written for feature films and television, and he is the author of the original plays 'Song of the Swan' and 'Naqqaash'. Asad's work has been supported by the prestigious MacDowell Fellowship and Writers Bloc, an international playwriting programme facilitated by the Royal Court Theatre, London. He has also been a mentor for the National Film Development Corporation (NFDC) Screenwriter's Lab.
Mumbai, India
Target Language: Urdu, English


Aslam Parvez © Aslam Parvez Mohammed Aslam Parvez has been the editor of the magazine Lokrajya (Urdu edition) for more than two decades. He has written several short stories and literary articles. He has translated into Urdu various short story books and plays written in Hindi, Marathi and Gujarati, including plays by Jayant Pawar. His extensive research on Urdu short story writer Sadat Hasan Manto has resulted in three books interpreting Manto's works. He has written many plays in Hindi and Gujarati, some of which have won multiple awards and had their showings on stage. Mohammed Aslam Parvez has also written dialogues for many short films.
 

Theatre expert & Reportage Writer

Aslam Parvez © Priti Bakalkar Bakalkar is a trained microbiologist and lawyer. Her passion for art management made her give up a lucrative corporate career and join the performing arts industry. After completing a successful stint with one of the most dynamic theatre schools in India “The Drama School, Mumbai”, in 2016 she moved to Pondicherry to work with Indianostrum Theatre in Pondicherry. Currently she looks after producing, and their latest vertical Indianostrum Open Theatre School which was launched in March 2021. In the past she has worked with British Council, Goethe-Institut/ Max Mueller Bhavan, QTP Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. and Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai LitFest. In 2017, she travelled all around India as part of the screening panel to select five theatre productions which were presented in Prithvi Theatre in Mumbai for the youth theatre festival “Thespo” for its 19th edition.
 
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Die Experten

Experts_Theater_Project © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Bengali

Dhaka, Bangladesh
Zielsprache: Bengali, Englisch


Sabiha Huq © Sabiha Huq Sabiha Huq absolvierte die Universität Dhaka mit einem Master in Englisch. Sie setzte ihr Studium an der Universität Oslo, Norwegen, fort und schloss diese zunächst mit einem M.Phil. und anschließend mit ihrer Promotion ab. Seit Juni 2013 ist sie Professorin für Englisch an der Khulna University. Zu ihren äußerst vielfältigen Forschungs- und Lehrinteressen zählen die Themen Ibsen und Moderne Dramatik, Postkoloniale Literaturen mit Schwerpunkt auf südasiatische Literatur, Kulturtheorie und Kulturwissenschaft, Frauenliteratur sowie Übersetzung und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft. Eine lange Liste ihrer Veröffentlichungen spiegelt dieses weitreichende Interesse und ihre Expertise wider, sie enthält zahlreiche Bücher, Zeitungsartikel, Rezensionen und Interviews sowie mehrere Übersetzungen ins Bengali.
Kolkata, Indien
Zielsprache: Bengali, Englisch


Subhendu Sarkar © Subhendu Sarkar Subhendu Sarkar promovierte an der University of Calcutta und arbeitet derzeit als außerordentlicher Professor für Englisch am Ranaghat College, Westbengalen. Seine Forschungen und Schriften, sowohl in bengalischer als auch in englischer Sprache, konzentrieren sich auf unterschiedliche Bereiche wie Theater (Badal Sircar und Bertolt Brecht), den Liberalismus des 19. Jahrhunderts in Bengalen, Gandhismus, Marxismus und Übersetzungswissenschaft. Er hat an einer Reihe von Hochschulen gelehrt. Bis jetzt hat er drei Bücher und eine Vielzahl von Artikeln in Sammelbänden und wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften veröffentlicht. Er hat zwei Stücke von Badal Sircar ins Englische übersetzt (Oxford University Press).
Kolkata, Indien
Zielsprache: Bengali, Englisch


Tirthankar Chanda © Tirthankar Chanda Nach seinem Ph.D. in Zytogenetik arbeitete Tirthankar Chanda in der Lehre, bevor er sich bei 'In Search of Children's Theatre', einem Projekt der Theatergruppe Nandikar, Kolkata, engagierte. Anschließend arbeitete er selbstständig mit Kindertheatergruppen. Seine Erfahrungen auf diesem Gebiet hat er 1998 in seiner ersten Publikation über Theater und Bildung zusammengetragen. Als Dramatiker erhielt er einige renommierte Auszeichnungen. Etwa dreißig seiner Stücke wurden von verschiedenen Gruppen in Indien und im Ausland aufgeführt. Er hat mehrere Artikel zu soziologischen Aspekten des Theaters verfasst und zwei Memoiren veröffentlicht. Als Co-Autor fertigte er die Bengali-Übersetzung von Paulo Freires „Die Pädagogik der Unterdrückten“ an. Derzeit lehrt er "Geschichte des Theaters" an der University of Calcutta.

 

Hindi

Mumbai, Indien
Zielsprache: Bengali, Englisch


Abhishek Majumdar © Abhishek Majumdar Abhishek Majumdar ist Dramatiker, Regisseur und Bühnenbildner. Er ist Gastprofessor für Kunst an der NYU Abu Dhabi und künstlerischer Leiter des Nalanda Arts Studio, Bangalore. Während er selbst in mehreren Sprachen schreibt, wurden seine Arbeiten ebenfalls in mehrere europäische und asiatische Sprachen übersetzt. Der Regisseur mit einem vielseitigen Theateransatz wurde mit verschiedenen Preisen und Stipendien ausgezeichnet, wie dem Shankar Nag Rangakarmi Award und dem Inlaks Fellowship. Derzeit arbeitet er an einer Reihe von Kunstprojekten, darunter ein Film für das NYUAD Arts Centre, ein Theaterstück für Playco New York und für das Royal Court Theatre London, und er schreibt ein Buch für Bloomsbury London.
 
Mumbai, Indien
Zielsprache: Hindi, Englisch

Ashok Mishra © Ashok Mishra Ashok Mishra lebt und arbeitet als Dramatiker, Lyriker und Drehbuchautor in Mumbai. Als Absolvent der National School of Drama in Neu-Delhi hat er zwölf Theaterstücke geschrieben und mehr als dreißig inszeniert. Einige seiner Stücke wurden veröffentlicht und von Theatergruppen im ganzen Land aufgeführt. Als Dramatiker hat er bekannte Stücke wie „Stories in a song“, „One on one“ und „Mosambi Narangi“ geschaffen. Ashok Mishra ist zweifacher Gewinner des National Film Award für das beste Drehbuch für „Naseem“ (1996) und „Samar“ (1999). Außerdem gewann er den Star Screen Award für die besten Dialoge für „Welcome to Sajjanpur“ (2008).

Marathi

Mumbai, Indien
Zielsprache: Marathi, Hindi und Englisch

Irawati Karnik © Irawati Karnik Irawati Karnik lebt in der Nähe Mumbais und arbeitet als Autorin, Dramatikerin, Drehbuchautorin, Übersetzerin, Dramaturgin und Schauspielerin. Sie schreibt auf Marathi, Hindi und Englisch. Ihre Theaterlaufbahn begann sie mit ihrer Tätigkeit für die Theatergruppe Awishkar. Seither hat sie mit einer Reihe namhafter Theaterregisseure zusammengearbeitet und Theaterstücke geschaffen, die in Indien, aber auch im Ausland aufgeführt wurden. Als Alumna der Sir J.J. School of Fine Arts, beschäftigt sie sich zudem mit Forschung und Dokumentation zeitgenössischer indischer Kunst. Sie ist Leiterin der Abteilung für Dramaturgie an der Drama School Mumbai. Irawati hat mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten, unter anderem den Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar, das Vinod Doshi Fellowship, den Maharashtra Sahitya Parishad Award, den Zürcher Kantonalbank Patronage Preis und Kalakiran Puraskar.
Kolhapur, Indien
Zielsprache: Marathi, Englisch


Maya Pandit © Maya Pandit Prof. Maya Pandit unterrichtet seit mehr als vierzig Jahren Englische Sprache und Literatur. Feministische Kritik, Übersetzungswissenschaft und Marathi-Theater gehören ebenfalls zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten. Von ihr wurden Übersetzungen von mehr als 16 Büchern von international bekannten Autoren und Autorinnen veröffentlicht, darunter englische Übersetzungen von Autobiographien, Marathi- und Englisch-Übersetzungen von Theaterstücken sowie verschiedene andere Formen literarischer Texte. Zu den von ihr verfassten Werken zählen Bücher wie Gopal Ganesh Agarkar, Adventures with Grammar and Compositions und die Gedichtsammlung Talkhali.

Tamil

Chennai, Indien
Zielsprache: Tamil, Englisch


Gita Jayaraj © Gita Jayaraj Derzeit promoviert Gita Jayaraj am Institut für Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften am IIT-Madras. Sie schloss ihr Master-Studium am Center of Linguistics and English, JNU, Neu-Delhi ab. Ein Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit liegt auf den Bereichen wissenschaftliches Publizieren und technische Dokumentation. Für das Asian College of Journalism arbeitete sie als Archivarin. Außerdem ist sie als unabhängige Wissenschaftlerin, Herausgeberin und Autorin mit einem ausgeprägten Interesse an Zeremonien, Theater, Gesellschaft, Kultur und Gender tätig – dieses Interesse führte sie zurück zu ihren wissenschaftlichen Studien. Einige ihrer Schriften wurden in verschiedenen Magazinen veröffentlicht.
.
Sri Lanka
Zielsprache: Tamil, Englisch


Ponni Arasu © Ponni Arasu Als Historikerin und Rechtsanwältin ist Ponni Arasu in vielfältigen Funktionen mit Organisationen, Institutionen und Netzwerken in Indien und Sri Lanka verbunden, die sich v.a. mit Fragen der sozialen Gerechtigkeit beschäftigen. Mit ihrer Arbeit als Theaterschaffende setzt sie sich mit Prozessen auseinander, die Menschen zu Gesellschaftskritik und Veränderung befähigen. Ponni Arasu übersetzt Lyrik, Sachtexte und Theaterstücke aus dem Tamil ins Englische und umgekehrt. Ihre Bühnenerfahrungen liegen hauptsächlich im tamilischen Theater Tamilnadus und Ost-Sri Lankas, sie spielte aber auch auf Englisch, Hindi und Kannada. Sie lebt in Batticaloa, Sri Lanka.

Urdu

Mumbai, Indien
Zielsprache: Urdu, Englisch


Asad Hussain © Asad Hussain Asad Hussain lebt und arbeitet als Schriftsteller in Mumbai. Er schreibt Drehbücher für Spielfilme und für das Fernsehen. Aus seiner Feder stammen die Theaterstücke „Song of the Swan“ und „Naqqaash“. Asad Hussains Arbeit wurde gefördert durch das renommierte MacDowell Fellowship sowie durch Writers Bloc, einem internationalen Programm für Dramaturgie, das vom Royal Court Theatre in London unterstützt wird. Im Rahmen des Screenwriter's Lab der National Film Development Corporation (NFDC) war er als Mentor tätig.
Mumbai, Indien
Zielsprache: Urdu, Englisch


Aslam Parvez © Aslam Parvez Mohammed Aslam Parvez ist seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten Herausgeber der Zeitschrift Lokrajya (Urdu-Ausgabe). Er hat mehrere Kurzgeschichten und literarische Artikel verfasst. Er hat verschiedene Kurzgeschichtensammlungen und Dramen auf Hindi, Marathi und Gujarati ins Urdu übersetzt, darunter Stücke von Jayant Pawar. Seine umfangreichen Recherchen über Sadat Hasan Manto, Autor von Kurzgeschichten auf Urdu, resultierten in drei Büchern, die Mantos Werke interpretieren. Etliche seiner Dramen, die er auf Hindi und Gujarati schrieb, wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet und aufgeführt. Mohammed Aslam Parvez hat außerdem Dialoge für viele Kurzfilme geschrieben.
 

Theatre expertin

Priti bakalkar © Priti Bakalkar Bakalkar ist ausgebildete Mikrobiologin und Rechtsanwältin. Ihre Leidenschaft für Kunstmanagement führte allerdings dazu, dass sie eine einbringliche Unternehmenslaufbahn beendete und in das Feld der darstellenden Künste einstieg. Nach einem erfolgreichen Einsatz an „The Drama School, Mumbai“, eine der dynamischsten Theaterschulen Indiens, zog es sie 2016 nach Pondicherry, um mit dem dort ansässigen Indianostrum Theatre zu arbeiten. Derzeit betreut sie die Produktionen des Theaters und dessen erst im März 2021 ins Leben gerufene Indianostrum Open Theatre School. Bakalkar blickt auf eine Reihe von Kooperationen zurück, unter anderem mit dem British Council, dem Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, QTP Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. Und mit Tata Literature Live! The Mumbai LitFest. 2017 reiste sie im Rahmen des Screening Panels durch ganz Indien, um fünf Theaterproduktionen auszuwählen, deren Inszenierungen im Prithvi Theatre in Mumbai im Rahmen des Jugendtheaterfestivals „Thespo“ in seiner 19. Ausgabe präsentiert wurden.
 
Top