Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Mumbai
INTERCULTURAL PHOTO PROJECT

Photoworkshop
Photoworkshop | © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

What constitutes the city that we live in? What makes it special? And how does one capture the atmosphere and convey the same to another person, who lives in another city, another country, embodying a totally different culture?
With these questions in mind began the intercultural photography project in August 2017, for which Beata Weber, Director of the Language Department at Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai invited school students from the partner cities of Stuttgart and Mumbai. The Goethe-Institut Mumbai hosted 15 youngsters between 14 and 17 years from 7 different city schools as participants in this project. From Stuttgart there were 12 students in the similar age group from the Eberhard-Ludwigs-Gymnasium, which has a partner school in the Indian metropolis.

By Juliane Schöning

Spritzer “Sudden monsoon showers cause a hustle amongst Mumbai’s rickshaw drivers. I clicked this photo because people in Mumbai love the rains.” | © Dhruv Bangera

Learning to see

For six months, every 4 to 6 weeks, the students from Mumbai met up for an intensive weekend of work, where they learnt not only how to handle a camera professionally but also how to see and what to look for while taking photographs. They were guided and supported by Gaurav Juyal who has earned his fame as an animation and graphic artist (he became famous through his television show “Art Attack” on Disney Channel), and Jochen Weber, a photographer from Stuttgart currently living in Mumbai, who specialises in photo documentaries and “story-telling”.

The programme initially focused on the basics of photography such as exposure, aperture, ISO as well as image composition, effects of light and other photographic techniques like motion blur and dragging. Apart from that the workshops also focused on intercultural approaches to “seeing” and people-photography.

The participants in the group first explored the immediate environment of the workshop location and through this simple exercise they established how these various aspects could be perceived and presented in diverse ways, such as by “moving in the right light”. In between the workshops the participants went off on their own to search for and capture, with the help of their newly acquired knowledge, the typical and the mysterious elements of their city.
 
Burden of Happiness “Street hawkers are typical of Mumbai and one can find them in every market. They generally carry their items in a basket.” | © Mihika Bendarkar

Travelling as a tourist in one’s own city

The resulting photographs became more focused, and the image composition more creative during the course of the project. Not only did their craftsmanship get further enhanced, but for most participants their approach towards the everyday environment also changed immensely. “It’s as if I became a tourist in Mumbai and saw ordinary things with a new perspective”, said Sanika Nayak, one of the participants. And it was precisely this “change of perspective” that was the underlying idea of this project.

By looking through “The eyes of others” the individual perspective changed. The young photographers had to take on a new viewpoint and keep in the back of their mind what aspects a foreigner from another culture would find fascinating or interesting in their city. The very ordinariness of daily things assumed a totally different value. “This project helped me discover a new love for my city”, so summarised Avan Hathi, one of the young photographers, her experiences.
 
Gateway to the City that never sleeps The Gateway is a landmark of Mumbai and at night, it is lit and many people come to visit it. I was there and had a tripod with me. So I clicked it. | © Uditi Joshi

But the work of the participants was not done with simply the photography. After the best photos were chosen, the next task was to find a creative title as well as compose a short descriptive text for their photos. Here too it was important to explain the cultural uniqueness, which did not always prove to be easy.
The discussions about the photographs, which took place partly in German, helped the students to further train their German language skills and encouraged each individual to formulate the descriptive text in German despite having only basic-level knowledge of the language. The project resulted in not only fascinating photos that showcased interesting narratives but also personal and poetic texts that makes for worthwhile reading.
 
Empyreal - Himmlisches Paradies The Bandra-Worli Sealink connects the city of Bandra to Worli. It’s one of the most magnificent constructions in not only the city but in the whole country. Every Mega City needs that one icon, a sharply defining symbol. The reason I clicked it is, because I admit the cable-stayed structure that spans the Mahim Bay. | © Tanisha Malekar
 

50 Years of Sister Cities Partnership

The city partnership between Mumbai and Stuttgart goes back to the past 50 years. Four schools from Stuttgart and nearby areas have partner schools in Mumbai and they invite the selected students from these schools regularly through their exchange programmes. Through this project the partner school students make their own city accessible in a special way, even for those who cannot travel.
The exhibition, “Mumbai: Ansichten einer Stadt” (“Mumbai: Views from a City”) showcases the results of the project in Mumbai. It will be displayed in the Stuttgart Town Hall from 4th to 20th July 2018. The opening is on 3rd July.
The parallel exhibition, “Stuttgart: Views from a City”, which is being accompanied by the photo-artist Antonio Zambito from Stuttgart, is in the preparation phase and will be showcased in the autumn of 2018 at the Goethe-Institut in Mumbai.



Text: Juliane Schöning
Translation: Chandrika Javeri / Amrita Dhara
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Mumbai
INTERKULTURELLES FOTOPROJEKT

Photoworkshop
Photoworkshop | © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

Was macht die Stadt aus, in der wir leben? Was ist das Besondere? Und wie lässt sich die Atmosphäre einfangen und jemandem vermitteln, der in einer anderen Stadt, einem anderen Land, einer ganz anderen Kultur lebt?
Mit diesen Fragen startete das interkulturelle Fotoprojekt, zu dem Beata Weber, Leiterin der Sprachabteilung am Goethe-Institut Mumbai, im August 2017 Schüler*innen aus den Partnerstädten Stuttgart und Mumbai eingeladen hatte. In Mumbai nahmen 15 Jugendliche im Alter von 14-17 Jahren aus sieben verschiedenen Schulen, die vom Goethe-Institut betreut werden, an dem Projekt teil. In Stuttgart beteiligten sich zwölf etwa gleichaltrige Schüler*innen des Eberhard-Ludwigs-Gymnasiums, das eine Partnerschule in der indischen Metropole hat.

Von Juliane Schöning

Spritzer „Plötzlicher Monsunregen sorgt für zusätzliches Geschäft bei den Rikscha-Fahrern. Ich habe dieses Foto geschossen, weil die Menschen in Mumbai den Regen lieben.” | © Dhruv Bangera

Sehen lernen

Sechs Monate lang trafen sich die Schüler*innen aus Mumbai alle 4-6 Wochen zu einem intensiven Arbeitswochenende, an denen sie zu einem den professionellen Umgang mit der Kamera und zum anderen „das Sehen“ lernten. Angeleitet und unterstützt wurden sie dabei von Gaurav Juyal, der sich als Animationskünstler einen Namen gemacht hat (bekannt wurde er durch die Fernsehsendung „Walt Disney's Art Attack”) sowie Jochen Weber, ein in Mumbai lebender Fotograf aus Stuttgart, der sich auf Dokumentarfotografie und das „Erzählen von Geschichten“ spezialisiert hat.

Auf dem Programm standen zunächst die Grundlagen der Fotografie wie Belichtungszeit, Blende und ISO sowie Themen wie Bildaufbau, Wirkung des Lichts und verschiedene Techniken wie z.B. bewusste Bewegungsunschärfe und „Mitzieher“. Aber auch interkulturelle Themen wie Sehgewohnheiten und Herangehensweisen bei der People-Fotografie waren Teil des Workshops.

In der Gruppe erforschten die Teilnehmer*innen zunächst die nähere Umgebung des Kursortes und stellten bei dieser einfachen Übung schon fest, wie verschieden dieselben Motive wahrgenommen und dargestellt bzw. „ins rechte Licht gerückt“ werden können. Zwischen den Workshoptreffen zogen die Teilnehmenden dann individuell los, auf der Suche, mithilfe des neuerworbenen Wissens das Typische und das Geheimnisvolle ihrer Stadt einzufangen.
 
Burden of Happiness ”Burden of happiness” von Mihika Bendarkar (14): „Straßenhändler sind typisch für Mumbai und man kann sie auf jedem Markt finden. Gewöhnlich transportieren sie ihre Produkte in einem Korb.“ | © Mihika Bendarkar

Als Tourist in der eigenen Stadt unterwegs

Die so entstandenen Bilder wurden im Laufe des Projekts immer fokussierter und die Bild-gestaltung immer kreativer. Doch nicht nur die handwerklichen Fähigkeiten entwickelten sich weiter, auch die Betrachtungsweise des Alltäglichen hat sich für viele verändert. „Es ist, als wäre ich ein Tourist in Mumbai geworden und konnte so die alltäglichen Dinge aus einer neuen Perspektive betrachten“, sagt Sanika Nayak, eine Teilnehmerin des Projekts. Und genau dieser „Sichtwechsel“ war die Ausgangsidee für das Projekt.

Durch „das Auge des Anderen“ veränderte sich die eigene Sichtweise. Die jungen Fotograf*innen mussten eine neue Perspektive einnehmen, im Hinterkopf behalten, welches Motiv für eine fremde Person aus einer anderen Kultur in ihrer Stadt interessant oder faszinierend sein könnte. Gerade die alltäglichen Dinge bekamen so einen ganz anderen Wert. „Das Projekt hat mich gelehrt, meine Stadt noch mehr zu lieben“, fasst Avan Hathi, eine der jungen Fotograf*innen, ihre Erfahrungen zusammen.
 
Gateway to the City that never sleeps The Gateway ist ein Wahrzeichen Mumbais. Nachts ist es beleuchtet und viele Menschen wollen es bestaunen. Ich war da und hatte ein Stativ dabei. Deshalb habe ich es fotografiert. | © Uditi Joshi
Doch die Arbeit für die Teilnehmenden war mit dem Fotografieren noch nicht getan. Nach der Auswahl der besten Fotos ging es darum, kreative Titel zu finden und einen kleinen Beschreibungstext für ihre Fotos zu verfassen. Auch hier war wieder wichtig, die kulturellen Besonderheiten gut zu erklären, was sich als gar nicht immer so einfach erwies.
Durch die Bildbesprechungen, die teilweise auf Deutsch liefen, hatten die Schüler*innen ihre Deutschkenntnisse schon gut trainiert, was einzelne auch dazu anspornte, die Beschreibungstexte trotz Anfängerkenntnisse auf Deutsch zu formulieren. Entstanden sind nicht nur faszinierende Fotos, die interessante Geschichten erzählen, sondern sehr lesenswerte und teilweise auch sehr persönliche und poetische Texte.
 
Empyreal - Himmlisches Paradies Die Seebrücke verbindet die Stadtteile Bandra und Worli miteinander. Sie ist eine der großartigsten Konstruktionen, nicht nur in der Stadt, sondern in ganz Indien. Jede Metropole braucht diese eine Ikone, dieses unverwechselbare Symbol. Der Grund, weshalb ich dieses Bild geschossen habe, ist, dass ich die Struktur dieser Schrägseilbrücke und die Art und Weise, in der sie sich über die Mahim Bucht erstreckt, sehr faszinierend finde. | © Tanisha Malekar

50 Jahre Städtepartnerschaft

Seit 50 Jahren besteht nun die Partnerschaft zwischen Mumbai und Stuttgart. Vier Schulen aus Stuttgart und Umgebung haben Partnerschulen in Mumbai und einige laden ihre Schüler*innen regelmäßig zu Austauschprogrammen ein. Durch dieses Projekt machen sie den Partner-schüler*innen ihre Stadt auf besondere Weise zugänglich – auch denen, die nicht reisen können.
Die Ausstellung „Mumbai: Ansichten einer Stadt“ versammelt nun die Ergebnisse des Projekts in Mumbai. Sie wird vom 04.-20.07.2018 im Stuttgarter Rathaus gezeigt. Die Eröffnung findet am 03.07. statt. Die Ausstellung „Stuttgart: Ansichten einer Stadt“, die von Antonino Zambito, einem Stuttgarter Fotokünstler begleitet wird, ist in Vorbereitung und wird im Herbst 2018 im Goethe-Institut Mumbai gezeigt.

 

Top