Exhibition The Art of Seeing

Mumbai: Views from a City
Mumbai: Views from a City | © Jochen Weber

The exhibition, ‘Views of a City: Mumbai’, is the culmination of a six-month intercultural project implemented by the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai. It celebrates 10 years of the ‘Schools: Partners for the Future’ initiative, as well as the 50-year anniversary of the partnership between the cities of Mumbai and Stuttgart.

For some, to turn 50 is the magical threshold that is crossed into old age. For a city partnership, however, it is more like a golden wedding anniversary, a promise that is repeated. The partnership between Mumbai and Stuttgart is one such relationship. Established in 1968, as one of the first between an Indian and a German city, the partnership has since produced several collaborations, events and friendships.  
 
Even if, at first glance, the two cities could not be more different – one, a large city surrounded by green space, the other, a genuine megacity by the sea – there are some characteristics that typify the two cities. Both are drivers of economic growth, both are home to a film industry, and both are proud of their research and education centres. This explains why the student exchange has proved to be particularly fruitful in the past. And thus it comes as no surprise that the idea of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai to organise a photography course on the special features of the two cities met with a very enthusiastic response.
 
The results of the intercultural project are now on display at the Stuttgart Town Hall. Titled ‘Views of a City: Mumbai’, the exhibition is a collection of the photographs that emerged from the project, with accompanying text.

The Art of Seeing

In August last year, the institute had invited students between the ages of 14 and 17 from both cities to the project. In Mumbai, 15 students took part. They came from seven schools and were all learning German. The focal points of the project were intercultural exchange and shifting perspectives. And handling a camera with confidence. The young photographers also had to be part of the process of ‘learning to see’ and gathering experience. With this in mind, the initiators placed the focus on the face of the respective city. How do you convey the image to people living in a completely different culture? That was the key question.

Spritzer “Sudden monsoon showers cause a hustle amongst Mumbai’s rickshaw drivers. I clicked this photo because people in Mumbai love the rains.” | © Dhruv Bangera The students accompanied by an Indian and a German workshop leader on only four weekends. They learned to see their city with different eyes and divided their views into different categories such as transport, markets, people. One of the tasks was to look for unique features. The youngsters chose their own motives while the final selection for the display was a joint effort.

Through the monsoon

Indian karma in the heart of the Swabian city? Heavy downpours and thunderstorms over the city that has turned into a cauldron. Normal for Mumbai, Stuttgart’s partner city. It didn’t seem to bother Beata Weber, head of the language department at the Goethe-Institut in Mumbai. ‘The monsoon has just arrived here and will stop only after three or four months,’ she says during the opening on 3 July 2018.
 
  • Beata Weber during the opening of the exhibition at the Stuttgart Town Hall. © Jochen Weber
    Beata Weber during the opening of the exhibition at the Stuttgart Town Hall.
  • The audience listens attentively. © Jochen Weber
    The audience listens attentively.
  • Guests discussing the images of the students. © Jochen Weber
    Guests discussing the images of the students.
  • A foreign world: A visitor thoughtful infront of the pictures. © Jochen Weber
    A foreign world: A visitor thoughtful infront of the pictures.
Together with Isabel Fezer, the mayor of Stuttgart, Beata Weber inaugurated the exhibition. Coinciding with one of the games at the FIFA World Cup, one would have wished for a few more visitors at the opening because the extremely professional photographs provide rare insights into what can be an exotic world.

A really good photograph also tells a story, says Beata Weber. And the young Indians have succeeded splendidly. ‘Some visitors asked if one could buy the photographs. What a fantastic compliment. And Mayor Fezer was ready to attend my husband’s photography course right away.’
Jochen Weber was responsible for professional support for the project. ‘It was impressive to see how the eye changed in the course of the project. Initially the students would still photograph everyday objects found in their immediate environment. Until they understood to choose the motives that truly represented their country,’ says Jochen Weber.

No picture without caption: the photographers had to find them themselves. No picture without caption: the photographers had to find them themselves. | © Jochen Weber The photographs are accompanied by texts composed by the students themselves. That was one of the aims right from the outset. After all, teaching German is one of the Goethe-Institute’s primary objectives. Therefore, the photographers had to find captions for the pictures themselves. The accompanying text – about themselves and their experiences during the project – was also written by them. This is what allows visitors to the exhibition to gain an insight into the other culture and what lends it its special charm.

Impressions from the capital of Swabia

And the German side? In Stuttgart, the Eberhard-Ludwigs-Gymnasium agreed to participate in the project with a class of students of the same age as the students in Mumbai. It has a partner school in Mumbai and regularly organises a student exchange. But the youngsters from Swabia need time before ‘Views of a City: Stuttgart’ is complete and can also be shown in Mumbai. Results that meet their expectations and high standards are expected early next year. The bar has been set high.

Ausstellung Die Kunst des Sehens

Mumbai: Stadtansichten
Mumbai: Stadtansichten | © Jochen Weber

Die Ausstellung „Ansichten einer Stadt: Mumbai“ ist das Ergebnis eines halbjährigen interkulturellen Projekts des Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai, im Rahmen des zehnjährigen Bestehens der Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ und des 50-Jährigen Jubiläums der Städtepartnerschaft Mumbai - Stuttgart.

Fünfzig Jahre alt zu werden ist für manch einen eine magische Grenze zum Alter hin. Für eine Städtepartnerschaft dagegen kommt es eher einer goldenen Hochzeit gleich, einem Versprechen, das man wiederholt. Die Partnerschaft zwischen Mumbai und Stuttgart ist solch eine Verbindung. 1968 als eine der ersten zwischen einer indischen und einer deutschen Stadt entstanden, brachte sie seither zahlreiche Kooperationen, Veranstaltungen und Freundschaften hervor. 
 
Könnten die beiden Städte auf den ersten Blick unterschiedlicher nicht sein - hier eine Großstadt inmitten von Grün, dort eine echte Megacity am Meer - verbinden sie doch einige typische Merkmale. Beide sind Wirtschaftsmotoren, beide beheimaten Filmwirtschaft und beide sind stolz auf ihre Forschungs-und Bildungszentren. Deshalb erwies sich gerade der Schüler-und Studentenaustausch in der Vergangenheit als besonders fruchtbar. Und so wundert es nicht, dass die Idee des Goethe-Instituts / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai für einen Fotokurs der besonderen Art von beiden Städten mit großem Elan angenommen wurde.
 
Die Ergebnisse des interkulturellen Projekts sind jetzt in einer Ausstellung im Stuttgarter Rathaus zu sehen. Unter dem Titel „Ansichten einer Stadt: Mumbai“ versammelt die Schau die entstandenen Fotos und begleitenden Texte.

Die Kunst des Sehens

Zu dem Projekt hatte das Institut im August des vergangenen Jahres Schüler im Alter von 14 bis 17 Jahren aus beiden Städten eingeladen. In Mumbai nahmen 15 Deutschlernende aus sieben Schulen teil. Der interkulturelle Austausch und Perspektivwechsel standen im Mittelpunkt. Sowie der souveräne Umgang mit der Kamera. Außerdem sollten sich die Nachwuchsfotografen auf das "Sehen lernen" und auf den Erfahrungsprozess einlassen. Den Fokus legten die Initiatoren dabei auf das Gesicht der jeweiligen Stadt. Wie kann dieses den Menschen vermittelt werden, die in einer völlig anderen Kultur leben? Das war die zentrale Frage.

Spritzer „Plötzlicher Monsunregen sorgt für zusätzliches Geschäft bei den Rikscha-Fahrern. Ich habe dieses Foto geschossen, weil die Menschen in Mumbai den Regen lieben.” | © Dhruv Bangera An nur vier Wochenenden wurden sie dabei von einem indischen und einem deutschen Workshop-Leiter begleitet. Die Schüler lernten ihre Stadt mit anderen Augen zu sehen und teilten die Ausblicke in verschiedene Kategorien wie Verkehr, Märkte oder Menschen auf. Den Blick auf das Besondere zu richten, war dabei eine Aufgabe. Die Motive suchten die Jugendlichen selbst aus, die finale Auswahl der Exponate wurde gemeinschaftlich erstellt.

Durch den Monsun

Indisches Karma im Herzen der Schwabenmetropole? Schwere Regengüsse und Gewitter lagen über dem Kessel, wie es eigentlich für die Partnerstadt Stuttgarts Mumbai üblich ist. Beata Weber, die Sprachchefin des Goethe-Instituts in Mumbai, nahm es gelassen. „Der Monsun hat kürzlich bei uns begonnen und hört erst in drei bis vier Monaten wieder auf“, berichtet sie während der Vernissage am 3. Juli 2018.
 
  • Beata Weber eröffnet die Ausstellung im Stuttgarter Rathaus. © Jochen Weber
    Beata Weber eröffnet die Ausstellung im Stuttgarter Rathaus.
  • Das Publikum lauscht interessiert. © Jochen Weber
    Das Publikum lauscht interessiert.
  • Angeregte Gespräche vor den Fotos der Schüler. © Jochen Weber
    Angeregte Gespräche vor den Fotos der Schüler.
  • Eine andere Welt: Ein Besucher betrachtet die Bilder. © Jochen Weber
    Eine andere Welt: Ein Besucher betrachtet die Bilder.
Gemeinsam mit Bürgermeisterin Isabel Fezer eröffnete Beata Weber die Ausstellung. Zeitgleich mit einem Spiel der Fußballweltmeisterschaft hätte man der Eröffnung ein paar Besucher mehr gegönnt, denn die Bilder zeigen auf sehr professionelle Weise seltene Einblicke in eine zum Teil exotische Welt.

Ein wirklich gutes Foto erzähle auch eine Geschichte, erklärt Beata Weber. Und dies sei den jungen Indern hervorragend gelungen. „Einige Besucher fragten mich, ob man die Fotos kaufen könne.“ Was ein tolles Kompliment. „Und Bürgermeisterin Fezer wollte gleich einen Fotokurs bei meinem Mann belegen.“

Jochen Weber oblag die professionelle Begleitung des Fotoprojektes. „Wie sich der Blick der Schüler während des Projekts veränderte, war schon beeindruckend. Anfangs fotografierten sie noch Alltagsgegenstände aus ihrem direkten Umfeld. Bis sie verstanden, welche Motive ihre Heimat wirklich repräsentieren“, so Jochen Weber.

Selbst verfasste Begleittexte vervollständigen die Fotos. Selbst verfasste Begleittexte vervollständigen die Fotos. | © Jochen Weber Zu den Fotografien gesellen sich selbst erstellte Texte. Dies war von Beginn an ein Ziel des Goethe-Instituts. Schließlich ist die Vermittlung der deutschen Sprache ein Hauptanliegen des Instituts. Deshalb mussten die Fotografen selbst die Titel ihrer Bilder finden. Auch den Begleittext - über sich selbst und ihre Erfahrungen während des Projekts – schrieben sie selbst. Genau das ermöglicht den Besuchern der Ausstellung einen Einblick in die andere Kultur und ergibt so ihren ungewöhnlichen Reiz.

Impressionen aus der Schwabenhauptstadt

Und die deutsche Seite? In Stuttgart konnte das Eberhard-Ludwigs-Gymnasium mit einer gleichaltrigen Klasse für das Projekt gewonnen werden. Es hat eine Partnerschule in Mumbai und organisiert regelmäßig einen Schüleraustausch. Doch die jungen Schwaben brauchen noch Zeit, bis „Ansichten einer Stadt: Stuttgart“ komplett ist und auch in Mumbai gezeigt werden kann. Anfang des nächsten Jahres rechnen die Beteiligten mit Ergebnissen, die ihren Vorstellungen und hohen Ansprüchen gerecht werden. Die Messlatte liegt hoch.