Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
RMA Architects / 1990 - 2020© RMA Architects

Introduction to the project

RMA Architects, established in 1990, recently completed 30 years of a robust practice that has not only designed and built architectural projects across India as well as abroad, but has also been a practice involved in various research projects in areas such as architectural as well as urban conservation, design, planning and policy formulation for the built environment, etc. Rahul Mehrotra, who founded and leads RMA Architects has himself been a figure in contemporary India’s architectural scenario playing multiple roles besides running an architecture practice - a public figure involved in various public institutions, platforms and projects, he is also an academic and a historian with an impressive line-up of lectures and publication.

About the project

The exhibition

The exhibition is conceptualised across three registers to propose and communicate the biography and journey of a practice as it navigates changing scenarios and contexts, the making and shaping of a building in all its spatial, visual, and material expressions, especially in the context of the former, as well as the crucial aspect of how intellectual formulations are proposed through building-making decisions and processes.

These registers are proposed at two levels – first, the specific story of RMA over 30 years, and second, through the story of RMA to reflect on a broader set of questions such as the shape of a practice in the context of India, the roles and propositions an architect brings into the public sphere as a professional, and the relationship between the crafting of an idea into a building and the material manifestations set in an ongoing intellectual landscape.

The exhibition is proposed in three components:

  1. An annotated biography of RMA Architects
  2. Reflections and arguments around the most recent projects and ongoing projects at RMA Architects – as a way of reviewing the directions shaped over and across 30 years as they stand today
  3. Research and publications at RMA Architects and their interwoven journeys with the practice

The content and design of the exhibition will express these three components as independent, yet inter-contextualised with each other.

The recent publication Working in Mumbai by Rahul Mehrotra based on the journey of RMA Architects will be the crucial reference for the exhibition; the biography of the practice as presented in this book will now be further discussed and annotated. The exhibition will extend the book by showcasing projects that have been finished after the publication of the book and hold crucial stories about the issues and practice discussed above – all projects being selected for the exhibition are important engagements with public-ness, institutions of local and national value, as well as urban engagements where urban built fabrics are not only fast reformulating but also moving across multiple challenges. The third component – of books and publications, will shape the crucial question of how a practice thinks, how a practice engages with the public sphere, beyond and with its buildings, as well as the architect’s multiple ‘ways of seeing’.
 


Podcast Series

Episode 1 - Part 1 | Making of a Practice

RMA Architects - Episode 1 © RMA Architects Kaiwan Mehta, and Rahul Mehrotra, Founder Principal of RMA architects, Mumbai + Boston deep dive into various aspects of architectural, urban and institutional engagements within the scope of the exhibition - Architecture of Practice (curated by Kaiwan Mehta), a mid-career retrospective of RMA Architects, spanning 30 years, 1990-2020, on view at Gallery MMB, Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai till 31st December 2021. 

The podcast is produced by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai and the Architecture Foundation, India.

@ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

Episode 1 - Part 2 | Continuity and Context

Continuing the conversation on the formative years of RMA Architects, Kaiwan Mehta speaks to Rahul Mehrotra about the themes of Continuity and Context. The conversation focusses on the city and architecture in India. This episode touches on two seminal books, Bombay – Cities Within that Rahul Mehrotra co-authored with Sharada Dwivedi and The Critical Mosaic, South Asia Volume 8 edited by Mehrotra for the World Architecture series by Kenneth Frampton, Mehrotra explains how research and writing are a tool for him to contextualise as an architect, urbanist and educator.

@ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

Episode 2 | Early Projects

In this conversation, Rahul Mehrotra speaks to Kaiwan Mehta about some early projects by RMA Architects in Mumbai and how they influenced the ideas and thoughts of the studio, specifically about the three most recent projects in Ahmedabad, a city Rahul has closely been involved with since his years at CEPT. These three projects, all institutional buildings designed by RMA Architects in Ahmedabad are Lilavati Lalbhai Library at CEPT University, School of Arts and Sciences at Ahmedabad University and School of Public Policy at IIM. 

@ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

Episode 3 | Mumbai

In this concluding conversation in the four-episode podcast series, Rahul Mehrotra reflects on his 30 years journey in the city of Mumbai, from early years of setting up a studio, discussing the history as well as the urban conditions of this city through his writings, to his most recent encounter with the city where the studio is currently working on two public buildings. In the episode Mehrotra and Mehta discuss the instruments of advocacy can be deployed by an architect and collaboration with the civil society act as a bridge between the citizens and the makers of the city. The episode also touches upon the most recent publication by Rahul Mehrotra – Kinetic City and Other Essays, a compilation of essays written by Rahul Mehrotra from 1990-2020. 

@ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

About Rahul Mehrotra

Rahul Mehrotra is the founder principal of RMA Architects. He divides his time between working in Mumbai and Boston and teaching at the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University where he is Professor of Urban Design and Planning and the John T. Dunlop Professor in Housing and Urbanization.

In 2012-2015, he led a Harvard University-wide research project with Professor Diana Eck, called The Kumbh Mela: Mapping the Ephemeral Mega City. This work was published as a book in 2014 and extended in 2017 in the form of a book titled Does Permanence Matter? Mehrotra’s also co – authored a book titled Taj Mahal : Multiple Narratives which was published in Dec 2017. His most recent books, titles Working in Mumbai (2020) is a reflection on his practice evolved through its association with the city of Bombay/Mumbai; and Kinetic City and Other Essays (2021) which is a compilation of his writings over the last thirty years and illustrates his long-term engagement with, and analysis of, urbanism in India.​

Partner

Architecture Foundation - logo © AF Architecture Foundation, initiated by RMA architects, is an organisation with a focus on the creation of awareness of Architecture in India.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
RMA Architects / 1990 - 2020© RMA Architects

Informationen zum Projekt

Das 1990 gegründete Architekturbüro RMA Architects kann auf 30 Jahre Erfahrung zurückblicken. Es hat nicht nur Architekturprojekte in ganz Indien und im Ausland entworfen und gebaut, sondern war auch an verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten in Bereichen wie architektonischer und städtebaulicher Erhaltung, Design, Planung und Politikgestaltung für die gebaute Umwelt usw. beteiligt. Rahul Mehrotra, der RMA Architects leitet und gegründet hat, ist eine zentrale Figur im zeitgenössischen indischen Architekturszenario und hat neben der Leitung eines Architekturbüros mehrere Rollen inne: Er engagiert sich in verschiedenen öffentlichen Institutionen, Plattformen und Projekten, und ist als Akademiker und Historiker mit einer beeindruckenden Reihe von Vorträgen und Veröffentlichungen bekannt und geschätzt.

Dossier anzeigen

Die Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung wurde auf drei Ebenen konzepiert: der Biografie und der Reise einer Praxis durch sich verändernde Szenarien und Kontexte; der Herstellung und Gestaltung eines Gebäudes in all seinen räumlichen, visuellen und materiellen Ausdrucksformen, insbesondere im Kontext der ersteren; sowie dem entscheidenden Aspekt der intellektuelle Formulierungen durch Bauentscheidungen und -prozesse und wie diese vorgeschlagen, vorgestellt und vermittelt werden.

Diese Ebenen werden in zwei Richtungen präsentiert: 1) die spezifische Geschichte von RMA über 30 Jahre hinweg, und 2) die Geschichte von RMA, um über eine breitere Reihe von Fragen nachzudenken, wie etwa die Form einer Praxis im Kontext von Indien aussieht, die Rollen und Vorschläge, die ein Architekt als Fachmann in die öffentliche Sphäre einbringt, und die Beziehung zwischen der Umsetzung einer Idee in ein Gebäude und den materiellen Manifestationen in einer fortlaufenden geistigen Landschaft.

DIE AUSSTELLUNG IST IN DREI TEILE GEGLIEDERT:

  1. Eine kommentierte Biographie von RMA Architects
  2. Überlegungen und Argumente zu den jüngsten Projekten und laufenden Projekten von RMA Architects - als eine Art Rückblick auf die Richtungen, die in den letzten 30 Jahren geformt wurden und wie sie sich heute darstellen
  3. Forschung und Publikationen von RMA Architects und ihre Verflechtung mit dem Büro

Der Inhalt und die Gestaltung der Ausstellung werden diese drei Komponenten als unabhängig darstellen, jedoch in einem wechselseitigen Kontext zueinander.

Die jüngste Publikation Working in Mumbai von Rahul Mehrotra, die auf der Geschichte von RMA Architects basiert, stellt die entscheidende Referenz für die Ausstellung dar; die Biografie des Büros, wie sie in diesem Buch vorgestellt wird, soll nun weiter diskutiert und kommentiert werden. Die Ausstellung wird das Buch erweitern, indem sie Projekte vorstellt, die nach der Veröffentlichung des Buches fertiggestellt wurden und wichtige Geschichten über die oben diskutierten Themen und Praktiken enthalten - alle für die Ausstellung ausgewählten Projekte zeigen bedeutungsvolle Auseinandersetzungen mit der Öffentlichkeit, mit Institutionen von lokalem und nationalem Wert sowie mit städtischem Engagement, bei dem sich städtische Bausubstanz nicht nur schnell neu formiert, sondern sich auch durch mehrere Herausforderungen bewegt. Die dritte Komponente - Bücher und Publikationen - wird die entscheidende Frage aufwerfen, wie ein Büro denkt, wie ein Büro sich über seine Gebäude und mit ihnen, sowie der vielfältigen "Sehweisen" des Architekten hinaus, mit der öffentlichen Sphäre auseinandersetzt.


Podcastserie

1. Episode - Teil 1 | Eine Praxis entsteht

RMA Architects - Episode 1 © RMA Architects Kaiwan Mehta und Rahul Mehrotra, Gründer und Leiter von RMA Architects, Mumbai + Boston, tauchen in verschiedene Aspekte des architektonischen, urbanen und institutionellen Engagements im Rahmen der Ausstellung Architecture of Practice (kuratiert von Kaiwan Mehta) ein. Die Ausstellung präsentiert eine Retrospektive,  die sich über 30 Jahre (1990-2020) erstreckt bis hin zur Mitte der Karriere von RMA Architects. Die Ausstellung ist bis zum 31. Dezember 2021 in der Galerie MMB, Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai zu sehen. 

Der Podcast wurde vom Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai und der Architecture Foundation, Indien, erstellt.

@ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

1. Episode - Teil 2 | Kontinuität und Kontext

Das erste Gespräch über die Entstehungsjahre von RMA Architects wird von Kaiwan Mehta mit Rahul Mehrotra fortgeführt und konzentriert sich auf die Themen Kontinuität und Kontext. Der Schwerpunkt des Gesprächs liegt auf der Stadt und der Architektur in Indien.
In dieser Folge geht es um zwei bahnbrechende Bücher: Bombay - Cities Within, das Rahul Mehrotra gemeinsam mit Sharada Dwivedi verfasst hat, und The Critical Mosaic, South Asia Volume 8, das Mehrotra für die World Architecture-Reihe von Kenneth Frampton herausgegeben hat. Mehrotra erklärt, wie Forschung und Schreiben für ihn als Architekt, Urbanist und Pädagoge ein Instrument zur Kontextualisierung sind.

@ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

2. Episode 2 | Frühe Projekte

In dieser Folge spricht Rahul Mehrotra mit Kaiwan Mehta über einige frühe Projekte von RMA Architects in Mumbai und darüber, wie sie die Ideen und Gedanken des Studios beeinflusst haben, insbesondere über die drei jüngsten Projekte in Ahmedabad, einer Stadt, mit der Rahul seit seinen Jahren bei CEPT eng verbunden ist. Diese drei Projekte, allesamt institutionelle Gebäude, die von RMA Architects in Ahmedabad entworfen wurden, sind die Lilavati Lalbhai Library an der CEPT University, die School of Arts and Sciences an der Ahmedabad University und die School of Public Policy am IIM.

@ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

3. Episode | Mumbai

Im letzten Abschnitt der vierteiligen Podcast-Reihe reflektiert Rahul Mehrotra über seine 30-jährige Arbeitszeit in der Stadt Mumbai, von den frühen Jahren der Gründung eines Studios über die Geschichte und die urbanen Bedingungen dieser Stadt in seinen Schriften bis hin zu seiner jüngsten Begegnung mit der Stadt, wo das Studio derzeit an zwei öffentlichen Gebäuden arbeitet. In der Folge diskutieren Mehrotra und Mehta über die Instrumente der Interessenvertretung, die ein Architekt einsetzen kann, und über die Zusammenarbeit mit der Zivilgesellschaft, die als Brücke zwischen den Bürgern und den Machern der Stadt fungiert. Die Episode geht auch auf die jüngste Veröffentlichung von Rahul Mehrotra ein - Kinetic City and Other Essays, eine Zusammenstellung von Essays, die Rahul Mehrotra zwischen 1990 und 2020 geschrieben hat.

@ Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai

Über Rahul Mehrotra

Rahul Mehrotra ist der Gründer und Leiter von RMA Architects. Er teilt seine Zeit zwischen seiner Arbeit in Mumbai und Boston und seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der Graduate School of Design der Harvard University auf, wo er Professor für Städtebau und Planung und John T. Dunlop Professor in Housing and Urbanization ist.

Von 2012 bis 2015 leitete er zusammen mit Professorin Diana Eck ein Forschungsprojekt der Harvard University mit dem Titel The Kumbh Mela: Mapping the Ephemeral Mega City. Diese Arbeit wurde 2014 als Buch veröffentlicht und 2017 in Form eines Buches mit dem Titel Does Permanence Matter? erweitert. Mehrotra ist auch Co-Autor eines Buches mit dem Titel Taj Mahal: Multiple Narratives, das im Dezember 2017 veröffentlicht wurde. Seine jüngsten Bücher mit dem Titel Working in Mumbai (2020) sind eine Reflexion über seine Praxis, die sich durch die Verbindung mit der Stadt Bombay/Mumbai entwickelt hat, und Kinetic City and Other Essays (2021), eine Zusammenstellung seiner Schriften der letzten dreißig Jahre, die sein langfristiges Engagement und seine Analyse des Urbanismus in Indien veranschaulichen.

Partner

Architecture Foundation - logo © AF Architecture Foundation ist eine Organisation, die sich auf die Schaffung eines Bewusstseins über Architektur in Indien konzentriert und von RMA Architects initiiert wurde,

Top