Vanessa Nica Mueller
The Film Residency

Vanessa Nica Mueller © Vanessa Nica Mueller

VITA

Vanessa Nica Mueller is a filmmaker based in Hamburg, Germany. She studied Film and Timebased Media at the Academy of Fine Arts, Hamburg. Her last short films Traces of an Elephant (2011), Halbe Nacht (2012) and Plateau (2016) were shown at intern. Film Festivals and in the context of Art Exhibitions. Besides realizing her own films, she works as a lecturer and is teaching film, sometimes she curates film screenings. She is interested in nonlinear and interactive storytelling.
 

PROJECTINFO

'Coast to Coast' (working title) is an essayistic documentary about vulnerable ecosystems. The Mediterranean area, focused on the coast cities like Beirut, and a city like Hamburg near the coast line of the Northsea have in common that they will all have to face climate change, changing sea level and coastlines in the future or near future. During her residency at BAR in Beirut she will research on the location concerning the part of the film planned in the Middle Eastern Region.
 

jurystatement

When films address the effects of climate change, they often do so by means of a subject-orientated treatment based on facts, figures and background information. It is illuminating that Vanessa Nica Mueller realises her project, which tackles global warming, rising sea levels and the dangers for coastal regions, in an essayistic, associative manner and complex artistic form. Because in her last work, which addressed a societal crisis phenomena, she developed her own visual and atmospherically very powerful cinematic language. The coastal city of Beirut, with its scarcity of water, represents an ideal location for this context.

Vanessa Nica Müller
The Film Residency

Vanessa Nica Mueller © Vanessa Nica Mueller

VITA

Vanessa Nica Mueller ist eine Filmautorin mit Sitz in Hamburg. Sie studierte Film und Zeitbezogene Medien an der Hochschule für bildende Künste, Hamburg. Ihre letzten Kurzfilme Traces of an Elephant (2011), Halbe Nacht (2012) und Plateau (2016) wurden auf internationalen Filmfestivals und im Rahmen von Kunstausstellungen gezeigt. Neben der Realisierung eigener Filme arbeitet sie als Film-Dozentin. Gelegentlich kuratiert sie Filmvorführungen. Ihr Interesse gilt nonlinearen und interaktiven Erzählweisen.

PROJEKTINFO

"Coast to Coast - Von Küste zu Küste" (Arbeitstitel) ist ein essayistischer Dokumentarfilm über verwundbare Ökosysteme. Der Mittelmeerraum, hier auf Küstenstädte wie Beirut fokussiert, und eine Stadt wie Hamburg nahe der Nordseeküste haben gemeinsam, dass sie sich in Zukunft oder naher Zukunft dem Klimawandel und der Veränderung des Meeresspiegels und der Küstenlinien stellen müssen. Während ihres Aufenthaltes als BAR-Residentin in Beirut wird sie über den Ort des nahöstlichen Teils ihres geplanten Films recherchieren.
 

stellungnahme der jury

Wenn Filme Auswirkungen des Klimawandels verhandeln, geht das häufig einher mit einer themenorientierten Aufbereitung entlang von Daten, Fakten und Hintergründen. Dass Vanessa Nica Mueller ihr Projekt, das sich mit der Erderwärmung, dem Anstieg des Meeresspiegels und den Gefahren für Küstenregionen beschäftigt, in einem essayistisch-assoziativen Modus und einer komplexen künstlerischen Form umsetzt, ist einleuchtend, da sie schon in ihrer letzten Arbeit ausgehend von einem gesellschaftlichen Krisenphänomen eine visuell und atmosphärisch starke filmische Sprache entwickelt hat. Die Küstenstadt Beirut mit ihrer Wasserknappheit ist für diesen Kontext ein passender Ort.