48-Hour Game Jam: Art, Politics and Games
Transatlantic Gaming Summit

Game Jam participants © Photo: Goethe.Institut Boston Game Jam participants Photo: Goethe.Institut Boston

Meet the Finalists

Harmoni-us

Harmoni-us © © Harmoni-us Harmoni-us © Harmoni-us

Harmoni-us is a top down iOS city-builder sim where the player is given agency over a small community of musical creatures who are affectionately referred to as, ‘harmonians’. It is a game in a constant state of flux, where the player must decide the destiny of their budding community. Harmonians are always learning and growing from the current state of affairs, and no two soundscapes from a playthrough will turn out the same. Ultimately the player must decide for themselves; does harmony mean many voices as one, or a voice of one for all?

Harmoni-us team photo
from left: Jon Pierre Héroux, Jeffu Warmouth, Ben Houge, Justin C. Rounds | © Goethe-Institut
Jon Pierre Héroux is currently working as a Customer Service Rep. in the games industry at Turbine in Needham, MA. Through the Game Jam he took a big step towards his goal of working in industry as a Game Designer.
 
Jeffu Warmouth is a contemporary media artist and professor of Game Design at Fitchburg State University in Massachusetts, USA. His conceptual work asks the viewer to unravel their relationships to language, identity, and culture. His work has been featured at galleries, museums, and festivals worldwide, most recently at the 404 Festival in Argentina & Colombia.
 
Ben Houge is an internationally active American artist operating at the nexus of music composition, video games, performance, sound installation, and digital art. Since relocating from Shanghai to the Boston area in 2010, his projects have included an asparagus opera, a six-channel sound installation based on live subway sounds, algorithmic choral music, and a real-time video piece visualizing data from the Boston Harbor Islands.
 
Justin C. Rounds is a transmedia artist, musician, and educator living and working in Boston, Massachusetts. Employing painting, performance, and interactivity, his work investigates dynamics of power and control in culture and society, using processes emerging from the intersection of art and technology. He is an active member of Atlantic Works Gallery in East Boston, adjunct faculty at Northeastern University, and passionate about helping people use technology creatively.
 

Struggling Dreams

Struggling Dreams © © Struggling Dreams Struggling Dreams © Struggling Dreams

Using the mouse, players can help refugees remember and envision better and safer times, so they can gather the strength to move on and escape danger.

Struggling Dreams
From left: Jeff Campbell, Zhuo Chen, Joe Marchuk, Dan Williams | © Goethe-Institut
Jeff Campbell is a multi-faceted software engineer focused on implementing engaging and impactful client features for players in The Walking Dead: March to War.
 
Zhuo Chen is a game design student studying at Northeastern University. She enjoys game design very much and this is the second official video game she designed. Zhuo is an artist, game designer, and project manager.
 
Joe Marchuk is a freelance independent videogame composer and sound designer, originally from the San Francisco Bay Area. He is currently a student at Berklee College of Music, where he runs the Sound Design Network club, and anticipates graduation in the spring of 2018. 
 
Consultant by day, gamer by night, Dan Williams has worked on hobby game development for 20+ years. Only recently breaking out to public presentation, he hopes to contribute to the medium of video games through unique mechanics and distinct narrative.
 

You Are What You Read

You Are What You Read © © You Are What You Read You Are What You Read © You Are What You Read

As the editor of an important news paper, it is your job to make sure 3 headlines are published every day; however, not all of the drafts you can choose from are all that true, and those that are may not excite readers enough to keep your newspaper afloat. Balance integrity and survival, and see what happens when you curate reality. Designate what is truth and watch as the world twists itself to match.
This game was inspired by how much fake news has influence people's world views, especially with regard to recent events. Consumption and belief in seemingly immaterial false information slowly turns a person's world into an alien, hostile place, while ethical choices on the parts of editors and journalists lifts the fog of disinformation bit by bit. 

You Are What You Read - Team Photo © © Goethe-Institut You Are What You Read © Goethe-Institut
Elise Xue is a recent graduate of MIT majoring in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and will be pursuing a Master’s degree in 2017-18. She has been playing video games since elementary school, tries to play more old school games and her favorite series is Final Fantasy.
 
Dinesh Ayyappan is a high school physics and computer science teacher in Boston Public Schools. He's interested in institutional inequalities in America, challenges to scientific literacy, and geopolitical histories of colonization and oppression.
 
Jessie Wang is an artist and CS student at MIT; her favorite animals are dogs and turtles, and she owns too many pairs of glasses.
 
Whitney Fahnbulleh is a 2017 BA Media Arts and Sciences graduate of Wellesley College. She currently works as a research intern at Wellesley College's Human Computer Interactions Lab developing augmented reality applications. She is interested in the use of games as a medium to address social issues, as well as the representation of women and people of color in games.


 

Top

48 Stunden Game Jam: Kunst, Politik und Computerspiele
Transatlantic Gaming Summit

Game Jam Teilnehmer Foto: Goethe.Institut Boston

Lernen Sie die Gewinner kennen

Harmoni-us

Harmoni-us © Harmoni-us

Harmoni-us ist eine iOS City-builder Simulation, bei der die Spieler eine kleine Gemeinde von musikalischen Kreaturen regieren, die liebevoll "Harmonians" genannt werden. Das Spiel ist ständig im Fluss und die Spieler müssen über das Schicksal ihrer wachsenden Gemeinden entscheiden. Harmonians lernen und wachsen stets durch ständige Interaktionen, wobei sich daraus niemals die gleiche Geräuschkulisse ergeben wird. Letztlich muss der Spieler selbst entscheiden, was Harmonie bedeutet: viele Stimmen erklingen gemeinsam als eine oder die Stimme eines einzelnen für alle.

Harmoni-us team photo
from left: Jon Pierre Héroux, Jeffu Warmouth, Ben Houge, Justin C. Rounds | © Goethe-Institut
Jon Pierre Héroux ist Kundendienstberater bei der Videospielfirma Turbine in Needham, MA. Durch den Game Jam konnte er seinem Ziel in der Game Industrie als Game Designer zu arbeiten, einen großen Schritt näher kommen.
 
Jeffu Warmouth ist Medienkünstler und Professor für Game Design an der Fitchburg State University in Massachusetts, USA. Seine Konzeptionskunst fordert den Betrachter auf, seine Vorstellungen von Sprache, Identität und Kultur zu überdenken. Seine Arbeiten wurden in Museen, Gallerien und weltweit auf Festivals, wie zum Beispiel dem 404 Festival in Argentinien und Kolumbien, ausgestellt.
 
Ben Houge ist ein international aktiver amerikanischer Künstler, der an der Schnittstelle von Komposition, Video Games, Performance, Klanginstallation und Digitaler Kunst arbeitet. Seit er im Jahr 2010 von Shanghai wieder nach Boston gezogen ist, umfassten seine Arbeiten eine Spargel Oper, eine auf aktuelllen U-Bahn Klängen basierende, sechskanalige Klanginstallation, algorythmische Chormusik und ein echtzeit Musikvideo, das Daten der Boston Harbor Island visualisiert. 
 
Justin C. Rounds ist ein transmedialer Künstler, Musiker und Erzieher, der in Boston lebt und arbeitet. Mittels Malen, Performance und Interaktivität, untersucht seine Arbeit die Dynamiken von Macht und Kontrolle in Kultur und Gesellschaft. Dafür betrachtet er vorallem auftretende Prozesse am Knotenpunkt zwischen Kunst und Technik. Er ist ein aktives Mitglied der Atlantic Works Gallery im Osten Bostons, egänzt die Fakultät der Northeastern University und hilft begeistert Menschen, Technik kreativ zu nutzen. 

Struggling Dreams

Struggling Dreams © Struggling Dreams

Mittels der Maus helfen die Spieler Flüchtlingen, sich an bessere und sicherere Zeiten zu erinnern und dadurch wieder Kraft zu sammeln, um sich schneller zu bewegen und Gefahren zu entkommen.

Struggling Dreams
From left: Jeff Campbell, Zhuo Chen, Joe Marchuk, Dan Williams | © Goethe-Institut
Jeff Campbell ist ein Software Ingenieur mit vielen Facetten, der sich aber vor allem auf die Umsetzung von einschlägigen, auf Kunden zugeschnittenen Funktionen für Spieler von The Walking Dead: March to War, konzentriert.

Zhuo Chen ist Game Design Studentin an der Northeastern University. Sie liebt es, Games zu entwerfen und "Struggling Dreams" ist ihr zweites offizielles Video Game. Zhuo ist eine Künstlerin, Game Designerin und Projektmanagerin.
 
Joe Marchuk ist selbstständiger Video Game Komponist mit Wurzeln in der San Francisco Bay Area. Aktuell ist er Student am Berklee College für Musik, wo er den Sound Design Network Club leitet und im Frühling 2018 graduieren wird.
 
Dan Williams - Gutachter bei Tag, Gamer bei Nacht - arbeitet seit mehr als 20 Jahren als Hobby Game Entwickler. Erst seit kurzem entwickelt er Games auch öffentlich und er hofft, am Medium Video Game kreativ mitwirken zu können.

You Are What You Read

You Are What You Read © You Are What You Read

Als Herausgeber einer wichtigen Zeitung musst du täglich drei Schlagzeilen auswählen und veröffentlichen. Das Spiel liefert Dir verschiedene Vorschläge, aber nicht alle entsprechend der Wahrheit, und die, die wahr sind, sind vielleicht zu langweilig, um die Zeitung über Wasser zu halten.
Integrität und Überleben der Zeitung müssen im Gleichgewicht bleiben wenn Du als Spieler die Realität kuratierst. Du bestimmst, was Wahrheit ist während die Welt sich anpasst. Dieses Spiel wurde inspiriert von fake news, die zunehmend die Weltsicht der Menschen beeinflussen, besonders in jüngster Zeit. Konsum und der Glaube an falsche Information führen dazu, dass sich das Weltbild des Einzelnen in etwas Feindliches, Fremdes verwandelt, während ethische Entscheidungen des Herausgebers und der Journalisten den Nebel der Desinformation etwas lichten.

You Are What You Read - Team Photo © Goethe-Institut
Elise Xue hat aktuell ihren Bachelor in Elektrotechnik und Informatik am MIT abgeschlossen und wird nun mit einem Masterstudium fortfahren. Schon seit Grundschulzeiten spielt sie Video Games, versucht mehr ältere Games zu spielen und ihre Lieblingsserie ist Final Fantasy.

Dinesh Ayyappan ist High School Lehrer in Physik und Informatik an einer staatlichen Schule in Boston. Er interessiert sich für institutionelle Ungleichheiten in Amerika, hinterfragt wissenschaftliche Bildung und geopolitische Geschichte der Kolonialisierung und Unterdrückung.
 
Jessie Wang ist eine Künstlerin und Informatik Studentin am MIT. Ihre Lieblingstiere sind Hunde und Schildkröten und sie besitzt viel zu viele Brillen.
 
Whitney Fahnbulleh hat 2017 ihren Bachelor in Media Arts und Sciences am Wellesley College in Boston abgeschlossen. Aktuell arbeitet sie als Forschungs-Praktikantin im Human Computer Interactions Labor des Wellesley College. Sie interessiert sich dafür, wie Games als Medium eingesetzt werden können, um soziale Belange zu adressieren, aber auch, um Frauen und Farbige zu representieren.

Top