Jury

Anum Awan Courtesy of Anum Awan Anum Awan
Anum is an Interaction Designer and New Media Artist based in Oakland, California (Ramaytush Ohlone land). They craft mixed-reality experiences by blending physical and digital media centering queer, immigrant, and non-western narratives. Their work manifests as installations, projections, videos, live visuals, and programmed electronics.

Anum received a Masters in Interaction Design from California College of the Arts and a BFA in Graphic Design from Massachusetts College of Art and Design. Anum is a member of the Oakland-based experience design collective, Macro Waves, and professionally works as a Senior UX Designer at Adobe. They are also a Board Member of Gray Area.


Erandy Vergara © Josee Brouillard Erandy Vergara
Erandy Vergara is a curator and researcher based in Montreal. Her main research interests include feminism, global art histories, curatorial studies, and postcolonialism, with a particular interest in internet cultures, artificial intelligence, and the ethics and aesthetics of participation. She holds an MA from Concordia University and a PhD in art history from McGill University.

Recent shows include: Critical Proximity: Something About Human Connections That Can Happen When There Is A Fissure (Oboro, March 15 - May 14 2021) Eva and Franco Mattes: What Has Been Seen (Fondation Phi pour l’art contemporain, November 2019-March 2020) Speculative Cultures: A Virtual Reality Art Exhibition, curated with Tina Sauerländer (Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Gallery, Parsons School of Design, New York, 2019).


Iris Long Courtesy of Iris Long Iris Long
Iris Long is a writer and independent curator. She currently works as a researcher on art, science and technology at Central Academy of Fine Arts, with a research focus on how art responses to the current global reality of ubiquitous computing and big data. She lectures on data art at CAFA. She was shortlisted by the first M21-IAAC Award (International Awards for Art Criticism). Her translation work, Rethinking Curating: Art after New Media, received nomination from AAC Art China awards in 2016.

In 2018, she was the recipient of Hyundai Blue Prize for curators. Her research work has been presented in Art and Artificial Intelligence (Open Conference, ZKM), Korea Research Fellow (MMCA), Art Machines: International Symposium on Computational Media Art (ISCMA) (Hong Kong),International Symposium on Electronic Art and Digital Research in the Humanities and Arts and ISEA.
Iris has a master degree of Critical Writing in Art and Design from the Royal College of Art, UK and a bachelor degree of Journalism and Communication from Tsinghua University, China.
 

Mattis Kuhn © Julia Jesionek Mattis Kuhn
Matthis Kuhn, artist and curator, works on the reciprocal design of humans, machines and the shared environment. The focus is on digital machines (algorithms, artificial intelligence, formal systems, software) and the intertwining of humanities with engineering. He curated the exhibitions I am here to learn – On Machinic Interpretations of the World and How to Make a Paradise – Seducement and Dependence in Generated Worlds for Frankfurter Kunstverein.

His works have been displayed at ZKM Karlsruhe and EMAF Osnabrück a.o. He gave talks about AI & Art at ZKM Karlsruhe, Stiftung Niedersachsen, Evangelische Akademie and Goethe-Institut a.o. He studied art at University of Art and Design Offenbach and Experimental Informatics at University for Media Art Cologne.


 Mushon Zer-Aviv Courtesy of Mushon Zer-Aviv Mushon Zer-Aviv
Mushon Zer-Aviv is a designer, researcher, educator and media activist based in Tel Aviv. His love/hate relationship with data informs his design work, art pieces, activism, research, teaching, workshops & city life. Among Mushon’s collaborations, he is the CO-founder of Shual.com – a foxy design studio; YouAreNotHere.org – a tour of Gaza through the streets of Tel Aviv; Kriegspiel – a computer game version of the Situationist Game of War; the Normalizing Machine – exploring algorithmic prejudice; the AdNauseam extension – clicking ads so you don’t have to; and multiple government transparency and civic participation initiatives with the Public Knowledge Workshop.

Mushon also designed the maps for Waze.com and led the design of Localize.city. Mushon is an alumni of Eyebeam – an art and technology center in New York. He teaches digital media as a senior faculty member at Shenkar School of Engineering and Design. Previously, he taught new media research at NYU and Open Source design at Parsons the New School of Design and in Bezalel Academy of Art & Design. Read him at Mushon.com and follow him at @mushon.

 

Top

Jury

Anum Awan Courtesy of Anum Awan Anum Awan
Anum ist Interaction Designer sowie New Media Artist und lebt in Oakland, California (Ramaytush Ohlone Land). Anum kreiert Mixed-Reality-Erfahrungen über die Verschmelzung physischer und digitaler Medien, die queere, migrantische und nicht-westliche Narrative in den Mittelpunkt stellen. Anums Arbeit manifestiert sich als Installationen, Projektionen, Videos, Live-Visuals und programmierte Elektronik.

Anum erhielt einen Master in Interaction Design vom California College of the Arts und einen BFA in Graphic Design vom Massachusetts College of Art and Design. Anum ist Mitglied des in Oakland ansässigen Experience Design Kollektivs Macro Waves arbeitet als Senior UX Designer bei Adobe und ist außerdem Board Member der Gray Area.


Erandy Vergara © Josee Brouillard Erandy Vergara
Erandy Vergara ist Kuratorin und Forscherin und lebt in Montreal. Ihre Hauptforschungsinteressen umfassen Feminismus, globale Kunstgeschichte, kuratorische Studien und Postkolonialismus, mit einem besonderen Interesse an Internetkulturen, künstlicher Intelligenz und der Ethik und Ästhetik der Partizipation. Sie hat einen MA von der Concordia University und einen PhD in Kunstgeschichte von der McGill University.

Zu ihren jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören: Critical Proximity: Something About Human Connections That Can Happen When There Is A Fissure (Oboro, 15. März - 14. Mai 2021) Eva and Franco Mattes: What Has Been Seen (Fondation Phi pour l’art contemporain, November 2019 - März 2020) Speculative Cultures: A Virtual Reality Art Exhibition, kuratiert mit Tina Sauerländer (Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Gallery, Parsons School of Design, New York, 2019).


Iris Long Courtesy of Iris Long Iris Long
Iris Long ist Autorin und unabhängige Kuratorin. Sie arbeitet derzeit als Forscherin zu Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie an der Central Academy of Fine Arts, mit dem Forschungsschwerpunkt, wie Kunst auf die aktuelle globale Realität von Ubiquitous Computing und Big Data reagiert. Sie hält Vorlesungen über Datenkunst an der CAFA. Sie war auf der Shortlist des ersten M21-IAAC Award (International Awards for Art Criticism). Ihre Übersetzungsarbeit Rethinking Curating: Art after New Media wurde 2016 von den AAC Art China Awards nominiert.

Im Jahr 2018 wurde sie mit dem Hyundai Blue Prize für Kurator*innen ausgezeichnet. Ihre Forschungsarbeit wurde in Art and Artificial Intelligence (Open Conference, ZKM), Korea Research Fellow (MMCA), Art Machines: International Symposium on Computational Media Art (ISCMA), (Hong Kong), International Symposium on Electronic Art and Digital Research in the Humanities and Arts und ISEA präsentiert. Iris hat einen Master-Abschluss in Critical Writing in Art and Design vom Royal College of Art, Großbritanien und einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Journalismus und Kommunikation von der Tsinghua Universität, China.
 

Mattis Kuhn © Julia Jesionek Mattis Kuhn
Mattis Kuhn, Künstler und Kurator, arbeitet zur wechselwirkenden Gestaltung von Menschen, Maschinen und der gemeinsamen Umwelt. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf digitalen Maschinen (Algorithmen, Künstliche Intelligenz, formale Systeme und Software) und der Verflechtung von geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschung mit Engineering.

Für den Frankfurter Kunstverein kuratierte er die Ausstellungen I am here to learn – Zur maschinellen Interpretation der Welt und How to Make a Paradise – Sehnsucht und Abhängigkeit in generierten Welten. Seine Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im ZKM Karlsruhe und beim EMAF in Osnabrück gezeigt. Zur Verbindung von Kunst & KI sprach er unter anderem am ZKM Karlsruhe, bei der Stiftung Niedersachsen, der Evangelischen Akademie und dem Goethe-Institut. Er studierte Kunst an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach und Experimentelle Informatik an der Kunsthochschule Köln.


 Mushon Zer-Aviv Courtesy of Mushon Zer-Aviv Mushon Zer-Aviv
Mushon Zer-Aviv ist Designer, Forscher, Pädagoge und Medienaktivist und lebt in Tel Aviv. Mushons Designarbeiten, Kunstwerke, Aktivismus, Forschung, Lehre, Workshops und sein Leben in der Stadt sind von der Hassliebe zu Daten geprägt. Unter anderem ist Mushon der Mitbegründer von Shual.com – einem schlauen Designstudio; YouAreNotHere. Org – eine Tour durch Gaza anhand einer Tour durch die Straßen von Tel Aviv; Kriegspiel – eine Computerspielversion des Situationistischen Kriegsspiels; die Normalizing Machine – die Erforschung algorithmischer Vorurteile; die AdNauseam-Erweiterung – Werbung anklicken, damit man es nicht muss; und mehrere Initiativen zur Regierungstransparenz und Bürgerbeteiligung mit dem Public Knowledge Workshop.

Mushon entwarf auch die Karten für Waze.com und leitete das Design von Localize.city. Mushon ist ein Alumni von Eyebeam – einem Kunst- und Technologiezentrum in New York. Er unterrichtet digitale Medien als Senior Faculty Member an der Shenkar School of Engineering and Design. Zuvor lehrte er New Media Research an der NYU und Open Source Design an der Parsons the New School of Design und an der Bezalel Academy of Art & Design. Erfahren Sie mehr über seine Arbeiten auf Mushon.com und folgen Sie ihm unter @mushon.

 

Top