Staff

Goethe-Institut Chicago - Our Team © Goethe-Institut Chicago

You can contact the staff at the Goethe-Institut Chicago directly. In our directory you can find the right person to answer your questions. We are happy to help!

Petra Roggel © Goethe-Institut Petra Roggel
Director
Tel: +1 312 2630472 ext. 106
Fax: +1 312 2630476
petra.roggel@goethe.de
Irmi Maunu-Kocian © Goethe-Institut Irmi Maunu-Kocian
Deputy Director
Program Coordinator
Tel: +1 312 2630472 Ext. 105
Fax: +1 312 2630476
Irmi.Maunu-Kocian@goethe.de


Denise Elsman © Goethe-Institut Denise Elsman
Marketing Coordinator
Press, Public Relations and Digital Content
Tel: +1 312 2630472 Ext. 107
Fax: +1 312 2630476
Denise.Elsman@goethe.de

Katja Fullard, Ph.D. © Goethe-Institut Katja Fullard, Ph.D.
Language Department Director
Tel. +1 312 2630474 ext. 104
Fax +1 312 2630476
Katja.Fullard@goethe.de

JoAnn Simonetta-Stob © Goethe-Institut JoAnn Simonetta-Stob
Language Coordinator
Tel. +1 312 2630474 ext. 110
Fax +1 312 2630476
JoAnn.Simonetta-Stob@goethe.de

Caroline Blank ©Goethe-Institut Chicago/Denise Elsman Caroline Blank
Language Coordinator (Examinations)
Tel. +1 312 2630474 ext. 101
Fax +1 312 2630476
Caroline.Blank@goethe.de


Sade Akkoek © Goethe-Institut Sade Akkoek
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Sade.Akkoek@goethe.de


I grew up near the Teutoburg Forest in Bielefeld. I studied Educational Science at the University of Dortmund. Since 2009, I call Chicago my new home, in spite of having spent two years in Berlin and Bielefeld. My Hobbies are travelling, creating fiber crafts, hiking and taking long walks in nature


Reinhard Andress © Goethe-Institut Reinhard Andress
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Reinhard.Andress@goethe.de


Born 1957 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, son of German immigrants to the USA, PhD in German Studies from the University of Illinois, current professorship at Loyola University Chicago, where he also served as Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Publications in GDR literature, German film and in Exile Studies, for example: “Der Inselgarten” - das Exil deutschsprachiger Schriftsteller auf Mallorca, 1931-1936 (2001). Also the editor of exile texts found in archives, for example: Martha Brill’s Der Schmelztiegel (2002) and Fred Heller’s Das Leben beginnt noch einmal (2016). More recently research on Alexander von Humboldt.


Asiye Bakirman © Goethe-Institut Asiye Bakirman
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Asiye.Bakirman@goethe.de



Susanna Beerheide © Goethe-Institut Susanna Beerheide
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Susanna.Beerheide@goethe.de


I am from the very north of Germany, from the city of Oldenburg in Lower Saxony. I studied Music and Italian at the university in Berlin, and then I went with to Madison, Wisconsin, where I worked as a Teaching Assistant and received a degree in classical vocal performance. For two years now, I have been living in Chicago, and I am always excited when spring comes sooner...


Martina Gombas © Goethe-Institut Martina Gombas
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Martina.Gombas@goethe.de


Originally I am from Frankfurt, Germany, but have lived in Chicago for many years. Chicago is my “Wahlheimat” (chosen home).  Even though my degree is in economics/finance, my passion is teaching. Since 2009 I have been teaching at the Goethe-Institut in Chicago. I really enjoy the energy in the classroom - teaching is so rewarding.  In my free time I am a passionate runner - meet me at Lake Michigan early in the morning. ​​


Ruth Herrmann © Goethe-Institut Ruth Herrmann
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Ruth.Herrmann@goethe.de


My name is Ruth Herrmann. I am a real Hessian: born in Fulda, grown up in the Darmstadt area and a Kassel residents for 12 years before my move to Chicago. I studied teaching profession in Frankfurt. My family and I have lived in Chicago since 2012 where I started to work for the Goethe Institut in 2014. I love my job and am very happy to see that so many people from Chicago are interested in the German culture and language.



Thorsten Hillert © Goethe-Institut Thorsten Hillert
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Thorsten.Hillert@goethe.de


My name is Thorsten Hillert and I was born in Lower Saxony in Germany. Though for 17 years prior to my move to Chicago in 2014 I lived in the south-west of Germany in the Mannheim area, where I also acquired my B.A. in English from the University of Mannheim.
In my free time I like to be outdoors with my camera and am generally quite connected to fauna and flora.


Netti Jansen © Goethe-Institut Netti Jansen
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Netti.Jansen@goethe.de


I live in Chicago since 2015. What I like – the lake! I like sailing and during the summer I spend many hours on the water – sometimes with a baguette, cheese and a bottle of wine on board. However, I miss are the mountains and skiing. I am from Garmisch – the very south of Germany and where the mountains have become a part of my life.


Doris Laser © Goethe-Institut Doris Laser
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Doris.Laser@goethe.de


I'm from Diepholz near Bremen and studied German and English Literature and Linguistics and education at the University of Marburg/Lahn. In 2005 I moved to Chicago. I've been teaching at the GI Chicago since 2013. My hobbies are writing, theater running and hiking.


Shiva Rahmani © Goethe-Institut Shiva Rahmani
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Shiva.Rahmani@goethe.de


My name is Shiva Rahmani and I was raised in Heidelberg/Germany.
I am a Purdue University graduate in Germanic Studies (Master Program), and have also obtained another master’s degree in German translation from the University of Tehran in 2010. I love languages, and am fluent in German, Farsi, Kurdish and English. I have been teaching German to adults and children for over 14 years. Before starting at the Goethe Institute in August 2016, I was a social studies teacher at the German International School of Chicago (GISC). My hobbies are: listening to music, reading, shopping, styling others, dancing, watching documentaries about the cosmos.


Michaela Roberts © Goethe-Institut Michaela Roberts
Teacher
Tel. +1 312 2630474
Fax +1 312 2630476
Michaela.Roberts@goethe.de


 

Katja Fullard, Ph.D. © Goethe-Institut Katja Fullard, Ph.D.
Language Department Director
Ph. +1 312 2630474 ext. 104
Fax +1 312 2630476
Katja.Fullard@goethe.de

Anja Schmitt © Goethe-Institut Anja Schmitt
Language Consultant
Ph. +1 312 2630474 ext. 102
Fax +1 312 2630476
Anja.Schmitt@goethe.de

JoAnn Simonetta-Stob © Goethe-Institut JoAnn Simonetta-Stob
Language Coordinator
Ph. +1 312 2630474 ext. 110
Fax +1 312 2630476
JoAnn.Simonetta-Stob@goethe.de

Caroline Blank ©Goethe-Institut Chicago/Denise Elsman Caroline Blank
Language Coordinator (Examinations)
Ph. +1 312 2630474 ext. 101
Fax +1 312 2630476
Caroline.Blank@goethe.de



Maryann Piel © Goethe-Institut Chicago/Maryann Piel Maryann Piel
Project Assistant
Ph. +1 312 263 0472
Fax +1 312 2630476
maryann.piel.extern@chicago.goethe.org
 
Thomas Rupprecht (starting September 2017)
Director of Administration
Internship Coordinator
Tel: +1 312 263 0472 ext. 103
Fax: +1 312 263 0476
Thomas.Rupprecht@goethe.de


Douglas Clonch © Goethe-Institut Douglas Clonch
Media Technician, IT
Tel: +1 312 2630472 ext. 111
Fax: +1 312 2630476
Douglas.Clonch@goethe.de

Andreas Woytowitz © Goethe-Institut Andreas Woytowitz
Receptionist
Tel: +1 312 2630472
Fax: +1 312 2630476
Andreas.Woytowitz@goethe.de


Kristin Walerowicz © Goethe-Institut Kristin Walerowicz
Administrative Assistant
Tel: +1 312 2630472
Fax: +1 312 2630476
Kristin.Walerowicz.extern@goethe.de