Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Where the Wild Tunes Are© Tobias Schrank

Splash!

The splash! festival is Germany’s biggest hip hop event and enjoys the status of an annual family reunion in the scene. Since 1998, it has stood for a top-class lineup with the biggest names in rap as well as up-and-coming artists from Germany and the rest of the world.

Splash! was founded in 1998 by the Chemnitz hip hop artists Tefla & Jaleel. The first edition was held in a cultural center with a purely German lineup. In the following years, the festival mushroomed and moved to a reservoir near Chemnitz. Since 2009, like Melt, which is organized by the same company, it has been located in Ferropolis, amidst disused bucket-wheel and bucket-chain excavators up to 425 feet long and 100 feet high on the peninsula in Lake Gremmin.
 


Hip hop has been one of the most popular music genres in Germany for many years, especially among younger target groups. Half of the under-20s say they enjoy listening to hip hop, and one-fifth of sales of recorded music were generated by hip hop in 2020. It’s not surprising that the music scene is also large and very diverse. “Deutschrap” is just as multifaceted as the American scene, but has now developed its own language and codes that set it apart from the international competition. Well over half of the total market is made up of national artists, a unique feature of the hip hop segment in the German music landscape. Splash! competently represents this diversity in its billings. A successful mix of German and international headliners and newer artists makes a visit to the festival a must for lovers of the genre. At least you should know the lineup by heart if you want to have a say in the schoolyard.
 
  • HipHop ist die Nummer 1 beim Splash © Fabian Thüroff
    HipHop ist the number 1 at the Splash
  • Die Luft ist bunt beim Splash! © Nicola Rehbein
    The air is colourful at the Splash!
  • Eindrucksvolle Kulisse in Ferropolis © Nicola Rehbein
    Impressive scenery in Ferropolis.
  • Publikum beim Splash! © Philipp Gladsome
    The crowd at the Splash!
splash!

Splash! in Numbers

Genre: HipHop, Reggae, Drum&Bass
Founded: 1998
Place: Ferropolis
Capacity: 30.000
Next event: June 30 -  July 2, 2022

Festival Website
Tefla & Jalleel at the Splash

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Wo die Wilden Töne Wohnen© Tobias Schrank

Musikfestivals in Deutschland
Splash!

Das splash! Festival ist Deutschlands größtes HipHop Event und hat in der Szene den Status eines jährlichen Familientreffens. Seit 1998 steht es für ein hochkarätiges Line Up mit den größten Namen des Rap sowie aufstrebenden Künstlern aus Deutschland und dem Rest der Welt.

Gegründet wurde das Splash! im Jahre 1998 vom Chemnitzer HipHop Duo Tefla & Jaleel. Die erste Ausgabe fand noch in einem Kulturzentrum mit einem rein deutschen Lineup statt. In den Folgejahren wuchs das Festival explosionsartig und zog um an einen Stausee in der Nähe von Chemnitz. Seit 2009 befindet es sich wie schon das von der selben Betreibergesellschaft veranstaltete Melt in Ferropolis, inmitten von ausgedienten Schaufelrad- und Eimerkettenbaggern von bis zu 130 Metern Länge und 30 Metern Höhe auf der Halbinsel im Gremminer See.
 


HipHop ist seit vielen Jahren eines beliebtesten Musikgenres in Deutschland, vor allem bei jüngeren Zielgruppen. Die Hälfte der unter 20-jährigen gibt an, gerne HipHop zu hören und ein fünftel des Umsatzes mit Tonträgern wurde im Jahre 2020 mit HipHop erzielt. Da ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass auch die Musikszene groß und sehr vielfältig ist. Der „Deutschrap“ ist genauso facettenreich wie die amerikanische Szene, hat aber inzwischen eine eigene Sprache und eigene Codes entwickelt, die ihn von der internationalen Konkurrenz abgrenzen. Weit über die Hälfte des Gesamtmarktes wird von nationalen Künstler*innen bestritten, eine Besonderheit des HipHop-Segments in der deutschen Musiklandschaft. Das Splash! bildet diese Vielfalt in seinem Billing kompetent ab. Eine gelungene Mischung aus deutschen und internationalen Headlinern und neueren Künstler*innen macht den Besuch des Festivals für Liebhaber des Genres unverzichtbar. Zumindest sollte man das Lineup auswendig kennen, wenn man auf dem Schulhof mitreden möchte.
 
  • HipHop ist die Nummer 1 beim Splash © Fabian Thüroff
    HipHop ist die Nummer 1 beim Splash
  • Die Luft ist bunt beim Splash! © Nicola Rehbein
    Die Luft ist bunt beim Splash!
  • Eindrucksvolle Kulisse in Ferropolis © Nicola Rehbein
    Eindrucksvolle Kulisse in Ferropolis.
  • Publikum beim Splash! © Philipp Gladsome
    Publikum beim Splash!
splash!

Splash! in Zahlen

Genre: HipHop, Reggae, Drum&Bass
Gründung: 1998
Ort: Ferropolis
Kapazität: 30.000
Nächste Veranstaltung: 30.6.-2.7.2022

Festival Website
Tefla & Jalleel auf dem Splash

Top