Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Cinema

Housebound - Jens Pecho © Jens Pecho

Media Art
The Viral City

In August 2020, we invited video artists from Canada and Germany to submit their ideas on the topic "The City in Times of the Virus". From the numerous submissions, our jury of experts has selected eight works from Canada and Germany that tackle this topic in a critical, humorous, experimental, and creative way. Each of which will be projected for two weeks, between October 2020 and March 2021, after dark onto screens placed in the store-front windows of the Goethe-Institut Montreal on Boulevard St. Laurent.  You will find all information on this page dedicated to the work.

Festivals

Film Scene

Retrospect

Shoah © Claude Lanzmann

Introductions to Shoah
Shoah

In January 2020, the Goethe-Institut Montreal showed the film "Shoah" by Claude Lanzmann in its entire length of about 9 hours in three parts in cooperation with the Cinématèque Québécoise. Each screening was preceded by an introduction by an expert. These texts are now available.

Film Series

GOETHE FILMS: Lose My Self – A Portrait of Sandra Hüller Agentur Schneider © C. Hüller

Toronto
Lose my Self

A portrait of Sandra Hüller
Whether in the Cannes hit comedy “Toni Erdmann” or the exorcism drama “Requiem”, the prolific Sandra Hüller commands the screen, winning 3x best actress at the Berlinale, a European Film Award & the Toronto Film Critics Association Award. 

Presented in October at the TIFF BELL LIGHTBOX Toronto
 

Systemsprenger (EUFF 2020) © kineo Film

Montreal
Achtung Film!

Achtung Film!, the Goethe-Institut’s monthly film series, will be presented the first Thursday of every month at the Cinéma du parc in Montreal. The focus remains contemporary German cinema in all its diversity and richness, from fiction to documentary, established to emerging filmmakers, from entertaining to challenging films.

Gundermann Peter Hartwig / Pandora Film

Ottawa
Goethe-Cinema

Goethe-Cinema, the Goethe-Institut Ottawa’s monthly film series, will be presented on a Friday at the Amphitheater, Saint-Paul University in Ottawa (please see programmation for exceptions). 

Magical Mystery DCM/Gordon Timpen, SMPSP

Quebec
Cinéma Goethe

With the Goethe-Institut’s new series in Québec City, Cinéma Goethe, cinéphiles will be able to keep abreast of contemporary German cinema in all its diversity from fiction to documentary, emerging to established filmmakers, entertaining to challenging films. Presented at Cinéma Cartier once a month on the second Wednesday of each month.

Blogs

Aren’t You Happy?, de Susanne Heinrich © Edition Salzgeber

Montreal
Überblog

The "Überblog" of the Goethe-Institut Montreal contains, among other things, a number of reviews matching the film programme.

Blog: German Film @ Canada Design: Stefanie Allekotte

Filmblog
German Film @ Canada

Follow our festival news, reviews and background stories on the latest in German film!
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Film

Housebound - Jens Pecho © Jens Pecho

Medienkunst
Die virale Stadt

Im August 2020 rief das Goethe-Institut Videokünstler*innen aus Kanada und Deutschland dazu auf, uns ihre Ideen zu dem Thema „Die Stadt in Zeiten des Virus“ einzureichen. Aus den zahlreichen Einreichungen hat unsere Jury acht Arbeiten aus Deutschland und Kanada ausgewählt, die sich auf kritische, humorvolle, experimentelle und kreative Weise mit dem Thema auseinandersetzen. Jede von ihnen wird zwischen Oktober 2020 und März 2021, jeweils für zwei Wochen, nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit auf die Schaufensterleinwände des Goethe-Instituts Montreal am St. Laurent Boulevard projiziert. Alle Informationen hierzu finden Sie auf dieser den Arbeiten gewidmeten Seite.

Festivals

Filmszene

Rückblick

Shoah © Claude Lanzmann

Einleitungen zu Shoah
Shoah

Im Januar 2020 zeigte das Goethe-Institut Montreal den Film „Shoah" von Claude Lanzmann in seiner ganzen Länge von rund 9 Stunden in drei Teilen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Cinématèque Québécoise. Jeder Vorführung ging eine Einleitung einer Expertin oder eines Experten voran. Diese Texte liegen nun vor (auf Englisch).

Filmreihen

Toronto
Lose my Self

Ein Porträt von Sandra Hüller
Ob in „Toni Erdmann", der in Cannes gefeierten Erfolgskomödie, oder im Exorzismus-Drama „Requiem" – die gefragte Darstellerin Sandra Hüller beherrscht die Leinwand. Gleich dreimal wurde sie als beste Darstellerin ausgezeichnet – bei der Berlinale, dem Europäischen Filmpreis und dem Toronto Film Critics Association Award.

Präsentiert im Oktober  in der TIFF BELL LIGHTBOX Toronto

Systemsprenger (EUFF 2020) © kineo Film

Montreal
Achtung Film!

Achtung Film!, die monatliche Reihe zeitgenössischer deutscher Filme des Goethe-Instituts läuft regelmäßig jeden ersten Donnerstag im Cinéma du Parc in Montreal. Hauptaugenmerk liegt dabei auf der deutschen Kinokultur in all seiner Vielfalt: Wir präsentieren Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme von etablierten und jungen Filmemachern, mit denen wir die ganze Bandbreite von unterhaltsamen bis anspruchsvollen Filmen abdecken.

Gundermann Peter Hartwig / Pandora Film

Ottawa
Goethe-Cinema

Goethe-Cinema, die monatliche Reihe zeitgenössischer deutscher Filme des Goethe-Instituts Ottawa läuft an einem Freitag des Monats im Amphitheater, Saint-Paul University in Ottawa (Ausnahmen werden gegebenenfalls bei den Veranstaltungen angemerkt und bestätigen die Regel).

Magical Mystery DCM/Gordon Timpen, SMPSP

Quebec
Cinéma Goethe

Mit Cinéma Goethe, der neuen Filmserie des Goethe-Instituts in Québec, können sich Filmbegeisterte über die letzten Entwicklungen des deutschen Gegenwartsfilms auf dem Laufenden halten. Das Programm ist vielseitig - mit Autorenfilmen und Dokumentationen, strengeren und leichteren Produktionen von etablierten oder aufstrebenden Regisseuren. Präsentiert wird die Reihe in Kooperation mit dem Cinéma Cartier an jedem zweiten Mittwoch im Monat. 

Blogs

Ein Melancholisches Mädchen von Susanne Heinrich © Edition Salzgeber

Montreal
Überblog

Im Überblog des Goethe-Instituts Montreal finden sich unter anderem einige zum Filmprogramm passende Rezensionen.

Blog: German Film @ Canada Design: Stefanie Allekotte

Filmblog
German Film @ Canada

Verfolgen Sie Festivalnachrichten, Rezensionen und Hintergrundgeschichten über das Neueste im deutschen Film! (auf Englisch)

Top