Tasks and Targets

Goethe-Institut Mission statement Photo: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Sprache. Kultur. Deutschland.

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany with a global reach.

We promote knowledge of the German language abroad and foster international cultural cooperation. We convey a comprehensive image of Germany by providing information about cultural, social and political life in our nation. Our cultural and educational programs encourage intercultural dialogue and enable cultural involvement. They strengthen the development of structures in civil society and foster worldwide mobility.

With our network of Goethe-Instituts, Goethe Centers, cultural societies, reading rooms and exam and language learning centers, we have been the first point of contact for many with Germany for over sixty years. Our long-lasting partnerships with leading institutions and individuals in over ninety countries create enduring trust in Germany. We are partners for all who actively engage with Germany and its culture, working independently and without political ties.

The Goethe-Institut in Canada

Our main goals are to

  • present in Canada a current image of culture from Germany
  • promote the exchange between German and Canadian artists
  • position German language and culture in the Canadian educational system
  • promote Canada's foreign and cultural policy interest in Germany and the EU.

A modern image of Germany in Canada

We develop initiatives in order to update, accentuate and change existing ideas about Germany. Our thematic information packages and programs --created to enable a modern, differentiated perception of Germany-- help reduce mutual cliches and preconceptions. We initiate and organise encounters in Germany and Canada to complement this exchange and to build sustainable relations.

Promotion of contemporary German culture

We present important positions in contemporary German culture. Not only do we bring art and culture from Germany to Canada, we also like to introduce current ideas in thought and life. We support the creation of individual and institutional relations between the cultural circles in Germany and Canada.

Positioning of German language and culture in the Canadian educational system

We promote Germany and its culture in the Canadian educational system. This is why we support efforts to learn German and the position of German teaching in the educational systems of our host country Canada. In doing this, we work closely with Canadian associations such as the CAUTG (Canadian Association of University Teachers of German) and the CATG (Canadian Association of Teachers of German).

Promotiom of Canada's foreign and cultural policy interest in Germany and the EU

We understand German culture as part of a European culture. Together with other European cultural institutes and partners, we want to contribute to building a transatlantic cultural community. Starting with common problems and challenges these days, we would like to integrate important intellectual, cultural and practical European contributions into the transatlantic community. The ever evolving European Union is a partner to the Canadian civil society.

Our partners in these endeavours are

  • experts, decision-makers and leaders in the arts, culture, politics, economics, the media, education and sciences
  • specialist for German as a Foreign Language
  • young professionals
  • high-school and university students
  • the general public interested in culture and language

Aufgaben und Ziele

Goethe-Institut Aufgaben und Ziele Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Sprache. Kultur. Deutschland.

Das Goethe-Institut e.V. ist das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Wir fördern die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und pflegen die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. Wir vermitteln ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild durch Information über das kulturelle, gesellschaftliche und politische Leben in unserem Land. Unsere Kultur- und Bildungsprogramme fördern den interkulturellen Dialog und ermöglichen kulturelle Teilhabe. Sie stärken den Ausbau zivilgesellschaftlicher Strukturen und fördern weltweite Mobilität.

Mit unserem Netzwerk aus Goethe-Instituten, Goethe-Zentren, Kulturgesellschaften, Lesesälen sowie Prüfungs- und Sprachlernzentren sind wir seit über sechzig Jahren für viele Menschen der erste Kontakt mit Deutschland. Die langjährige partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Institutionen und Persönlichkeiten in über 90 Ländern schafft nachhaltiges Vertrauen in unser Land. Wir sind Partner für alle, die sich aktiv mit Deutschland und seiner Kultur beschäftigen und arbeiten eigenverantwortlich und parteipolitisch ungebunden.

Das Goethe-Institut in Kanada

Die Goethe-Institute in Kanada haben sich die folgenden Ziele gesetzt:

  • ein aktuelles Bild von Kultur aus Deutschland zu vermitteln,
  • den Austausch zwischen deutschen und kanadischen Künstlern zu fördern,
  • die deutsche Sprache und Kultur im kanadischen Bildungssystem zu verankern,
  • das außen- und kulturpolitische Interesse Kanadas an Deutschland und der EU zu fördern.

Aktualisierung des Deutschlandbildes in Kanada

Wir entwickeln Initiativen, um Deutschlandbilder zu aktualisieren, neu zu akzentuieren und zu verändern. Unsere themenorientierten Informationsangebote und Projekte, die eine moderne und differenzierte Wahrnehmung unseres Landes vermitteln, tragen dazu bei, wechselseitige Klischees und Vorurteile abzubauen. Wir initiieren und organisieren Begegnungsprogramme in Deutschland und Kanada, um diesen Austausch zu ergänzen und um langfristige Bindungen aufzubauen. 

Vermittlung der deutschen Gegenwartskultur

Wir bringen wichtige Positionen in der deutschen Gegenwartskultur zur Geltung. Dabei zeigen wir nicht nur Kunst und Kultur aus Deutschland, sondern auch aktuelle geistige Tendenzen und deutsche Lebenswelten. Wir unterstützen den Aufbau individueller und institutioneller Beziehungen zwischen den kulturellen Szenen in Deutschland und Kanada.

Verankerung der deutschen Sprache und Kultur im kanadischen Bildungssystem 

Wir werben im kanadischen Bildungssystem für Deutschland und seine Kultur. Deshalb fördern wir das Interesse, Deutsch zu lernen und unterstützen die Stellung der deutschen Sprache in den Bildungssystemen unseres Gastlandes Kanada. Dabei arbeiten wir in enger Abstimmung mit kanadischen Fachverbänden zusammen, insbesondere mit der CAUTG (Canadian Association of University Teachers of German) und der CATG (Canadian Association of Teachers of German). 

Förderung des außenpolitischen Interesses Kanadas an Deutschland und der EU

Wir verstehen die deutsche Kultur als Teil der europäischen Kultur. Gemeinsam mit anderen europäischen Kulturinstituten und Partnern wollen wir Beiträge leisten zum Ausbau der gemeinsamen transatlantischen Kultur- und Wertegemeinschaft. Ausgehend von gemeinsamen aktuellen Problemen und Herausforderungen wollen wir die wichtigen intellektuellen, künstlerischen und praktischen Beiträge Europas in eine transatlantische Gemeinschaft einbringen. Wir verstehen das zusammenwachsende Europa als Partner der kanadischen Zivilgesellschaft. 

Unsere Partner sind dabei
  • Experten, Entscheidungsträger und Meinungsführer aus Kultur, Kunst, Politik, Wirtschaft, Medien, Bildung und Wissenschaft
  • Spezialisten für Deutsch als Fremdsprache
  • junge Berufstätige
  • Schüler und Studenten
  • die an deutscher Kultur und Sprache interessierte Öffentlichkeit