Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Techno Land

Techno Land

Germany in the 1990s: At breakneck speed, Techno had established itself as a youth culture and brought about a lasting change in the cultural landscape of the newly reunited republic, and not just musically. Maybe for the last time, Germany's youth agreed: This belongs to us! The dossier on "Techno Land" attempts an insight into this unique era of German cultural history.

Setting the stage

Something new is happening

Danielle de Picciotto

It started as a cultural import from the USA, but then took on a momentum of its own that made it part of German culture. On these pages we have collected contributions, photos, playlists and interviews with people who were there when a new sound became a nationwide movement that entered all areas of life of the generation at that time.


History(ies) of Techno


Documentary

Many documentaries have been made about techno. This is the one to know.

We Call It Techno! © Telekom Electronic Beats

Documentary
We Call it Techno!

WE CALL IT TECHNO! tells the story of a tempestuous phase in music history, the first time that pop culture was created significantly in Germany.  With exclusive interviews and comprehensive, mostly unreleased film and photo archive material from the years 1988-1994! 

Incl. Statements from Ata, Cosmic Baby, Mijk van Dijk, Elsa for Toys, Hell, Mike Ink., Jürgen Laarmann, Mark Reeder, Tanith, Triple R, Upstart, Sven Väth, Wolle XDP and many more 


Testimonies

In the beginning, it was a small, sworn community. At the first Love Parade in 1989, just 150 people came together. It was the enthusiasm, creativity and inventiveness of the organizers of the first clubs and parties, the designers of flyers, posters and decorations, the DJs, the writers and music creators, and last but not least the early fans, who created a complete techno infrastructure. Here we present a series of interviews with precisely these people, those who were there when a new culture emerged in Germany and played a major role in shaping it. Many of them with a personal list of their favorite techno tracks.


Bonus Tracks

The Goethe-Institut Washington's podcast series The Big Pond features a number of exciting transatlantic stories. Among them these episodes which fit perfectly to Techno Land.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Techno Land

Techno Land

Deutschland in den 90er Jahren: Techno hatte sich rasend schnell als Jugendkultur etabliert und bewirkte nicht nur musikalisch eine nachhaltige Veränderung der kulturellen Landschaft der frisch wiedervereinten Republik. Ein vielleicht letztes Mal ist sich Deutschlands Jugend einig: Das gehört nur uns! Das Dossier über das „Techno Land“ versucht einen Einblick in diese einmalige Epoche deutscher Kulturgeschichte.

Was war da eigentlich los?

Jetzt fängt etwas Neues an

Danielle de Picciotto

Es begann als kultureller Import aus den USA, nahm aber dann eine Eigendynamik an, die sie zum Teil der deutschen Kultur werden ließ. Auf diesen Seiten haben wir Beiträge, Fotos, Playlisten und Interviews mit Menschen zusammengetragen die dabei waren, als aus einem neuen Sound eine bundesweite Bewegung wurde, die in alle Lebensbereiche der damaligen Generation Einzug hielt.


Techno-Geschichte(n)


Dokumentation

Über Die Entstehung von Techno wurden viele Dokumentationen gedreht. Diese muss man kennen.

We Call It Techno! © Telekom Electronic Beats

Dokumentation
We Call it Techno!

WE CALL IT TECHNO! erzählt die Geschichte einer stürmischen Phase der Musikgeschichte, in der erstmals in Deutschland maßgeblich Popkultur geschaffen wurde. Mit exklusiven Interviews und umfangreichem, größtenteils unveröffentlichtem Film- und Fotoarchivmaterial aus den Jahren 1988-1994! 

Inkl. Statements von Ata, Cosmic Baby, Mijk van Dijk, Elsa for Toys, Hell, Mike Ink., Jürgen Laarmann, Mark Reeder, Tanith, Triple R, Upstart, Sven Väth, Wolle XDP und vielen mehr.


Zeugenaussagen

Am Anfang war es eine kleine, eingeschworene Gemeinde. Auf der ersten Loveparade 1989 kamen gerade mal 150 Leute zusammen. Es war der Enthusiasmus, die Kreativität und der Erfindergeist der Organisator*innen der ersten Clubs und Parties, der Gestalter*innen von Flyern, Postern und Dekorationen, der DJs, der Schreibenden und Musikschaffenden und nicht zuletzt der frühen Fans, die eine komplette Techno-Infrastruktur entstanden ließen. Hier präsentieren wir eine Reihe von Interviews mit genau diesen Menschen, jenen die dabei waren, als in Deutschland eine neue Kultur entstand und diese maßgeblich geprägt haben. Viele davon mit einer persönlichen Liste ihrer wichtigsten Techno-Tracks.


Bonus Tracks

Die Podcast-Reihe The Big Pond des Goethe-Institut Washington bietet eine Reihe von spannenden transatlantischen Geschichten. Darunter auch diese einfach toll zu Techno Land passenden Folgen.

Top