Exhibition S’inscrire dans le présent - Inscribing in the present

Karen Tam, detail image of the work - stones © Karen Tam

Thu, 07/15/2021 -
Sat, 09/25/2021

Never Apart

7049, rue Saint-Urbain
H2S 3H4 Montréal

An exhibition in dialogue with "Shaping the Past"

S’inscrire dans le présent – Inscribing in the present
Exhibition of local artists curated by Diane Gistal, founder of Nigra Iuventa in dialogue with Shaping the Past, curated by Monument Lab, presented in collaboration with Never Apart.
 
Exhibition at Never Apart, open from July 15 to September 25, 2021.
Virtual opening of the exhibition on July 15, 2021.
The exhibition is open for visits from July 17, 2021 on.


Visit free of charge.

Please see the protocol for a safe visit on the Never Apart pages.
 
Address : Never Apart, 7049 Rue Saint-Urbain, Montréal, QC H2S 3H4
Opening hours : Saturdays, from 12:00 to 17:00
 
Nigra Iuventa, a Montreal-based organization that celebrates African and Afrodescendant culture through visual and media arts, presents Inscribing in the Present, the Canadian component in dialogue with transnational project Shaping the Past. Inscribing in the Present critically reflects on the power of commemorative communities.
 
Artist Moridja Kitenge Banza blurs the boundaries between his story and official history, individual memory and collective memory, by questioning his presence and his inscription on the territory, and by disrupting traditional cartographies.
 
In her installation, Karen Tam — whose research focuses on different forms of construction and representation of cultural identity —unearths a multitude of buried narratives revealed through relics.
 
Despite their different backgrounds, the two artists enter into a remarkable dialogue and perform an act that is as poetic as it is political: they inscribe their past in our present, reminding us that history can also be carried by those who commemorate it.
 
Artists presented in the exhibition:
  • Karen Tam
  • Moridja Kitenge Banza 
The exhibition is presented in dialogue with the transnational project Shaping the Past and a presentation of the artists and activists of the project:

Shaping the Past is a platform for transnational memory culture at the intersection of art, history, and justice. Based around the Monument Lab Fellows program, the exhibition features artists, activists, and collectives from North America and Germany whose work broadens understandings and illuminates ongoing memory interventions that reimagine civil society around the world.  
-Monument Lab
 
Monument Lab Fellows presented in the exhibition:
  • Ulf Aminde, Germany
  • Tomie Arai, US
  • Thalia Fernandez, Mexico
  • MADAD (Mallory Nezam, De Nichols, and Damon Davis), US
  • Quentin VerCetty, Canada
  • Alisha B. Wormsley, US 

About the Curators:

Diane Gistal is a cultural worker, independent curator and founder of Nigra Iuventa.
Her research interests focus on the 'place of memory' in the Haitian novel and her curatorial approach is characterised by creating a dialogue between the visual arts, literature and the humanities. Recent curatorial projects include Subalternes (CDEx,2019), Je sais pourquoi l’oiseau chante en cage (Fonderie Darling, Centre culturel Georges Vanier et CDEx, 2020) and Respiration (Galerie de l’UQAM, 2020).

Monument Lab is an independent public art and history studio based in Philadelphia that cultivates and facilitates critical conversations around the past, present, and future of monuments. As a studio and curatorial team, Monument Lab pilots collaborative approaches to unearthing and reinterpreting histories. This includes citywide art exhibitions, site-specific commissions, participatory research initiatives, a national fellows program, a web bulletin and podcast, and a workshop series for municipal and cultural officers.

Back

Ausstellung S'inscrire dans le Présent (Sich in die Gegenwart einschreiben)

Karen Tam, detail image of the work - stones © Karen Tam

Do, 15.07.2021 -
Sa, 25.09.2021

Never Apart

Eine Ausstellung im Dialog mit "Gestaltung der Vergangenheit"

Ausstellung bei Never Apart, vom 15. Juli bis 25. September 2021.
Virtuelle Eröffnung der Ausstellung am 15. Juli 2021.
Besuch der Ausstellung möglich ab 17. Juli 2021.


Der Eintritt ist frei.

Bitte beachten Sie das Protokoll für einen sicheren Besuch auf den Seiten von Never Apart.
 
Adresse: Never Apart, 7049 Saint-Urbain Street, Montreal, QC H2S 3H4
Öffnungszeiten: Samstags, von 12:00 bis 17:00 Uhr

S'inscrire dans le présent (Sich in die Gegenwart einschreiben) reflektiert kritisch über die Kraft von Erinnerungsgemeinschaften. Obwohl sie aus unterschiedlichen Kontexten stammen, treten die beiden Montrealer Künstler*innen Karen Tam und Moridja Kitenge Banza in einen bemerkenswerten Dialog und vollziehen einen ebenso poetischen wie politischen Akt: die Einschreibung ihrer Vergangenheit in unsere Gegenwart. Sie erinnern uns daran, dass Geschichte auch von denen getragen werden kann, die ihrer gedenken.

Künstler*innen :
- Karen Tam
- Moridja Kitenge Banza


Die Ausstellung wird im Dialog mit dem transnationalen Projekt Gestaltung der Vergangenheit sowie einer Präsentation der Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen des Projekts präsentiert:

Shaping the Past ist eine Plattform für transnationale Erinnerungskultur am Schnittpunkt von Kunst, Geschichte und Gerechtigkeit. Basierend auf dem Programm der Monument Lab Fellows zeigt die Ausstellung Künstler, Aktivisten und Kollektive aus Nordamerika und Deutschland, deren Arbeit das Verständnis erweitert und aktuelle Erinnerungsinterventionen beleuchtet, die die Zivilgesellschaft auf der ganzen Welt neu gestalten. 
- Monument Lab

Monument Lab Fellows, die in der Ausstellung präsentiert werden:
  • Ulf Aminde, Deutschland
  • Tomie Arai, USA
  • Thalia Fernandez, Mexiko
  • MADAD (Mallory Nezam, De Nichols, und Damon Davis), US
  • Quentin VerCetty, Kanada
  • Alisha B. Wormsley, US

Die Kurator*innen:

Diane Gistal ist Kulturschaffende, unabhängige Kuratorin und Gründerin von Nigra Iuventa.
Ihre Forschungsinteressen konzentrieren sich auf den "Ort der Erinnerung" im haitianischen Roman und ihr kuratorischer Ansatz zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass sie einen Dialog zwischen den visuellen Künsten, der Literatur und den Geisteswissenschaften herstellt. Zu ihren jüngsten kuratorischen Projekten gehören Subalternes (CDEx, 2019), Je sais pourquoi l’oiseau chante en cage (Darling Foundry, Georges Vanier Cultural Centre und CDEx, 2020) und Respiration (Galerie de l'UQAM, 2020).

Monument Lab ist ein unabhängiges Studio für Kunst und Geschichte im öffentlichen Raum mit Sitz in Philadelphia, das kritische Gespräche über die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft von Denkmälern pflegt und fördert. Als Studio und Kuratorenteam erprobt Monument Lab kollaborative Ansätze zur Freilegung und Neuinterpretation von Geschichte(n). Dazu gehören stadtweite Kunstausstellungen, ortsspezifische Auftragsarbeiten, partizipative Forschungsinitiativen, ein nationales Stipendiatenprogramm, ein Web-Bulletin und ein Podcast sowie ein Workshop-Programm für städtische und kulturelle Verantwortliche.
 

Zurück