Exhibition Lorenza Böttner: Requiem for the Norm

Lorenza Böttner 1983 untitled coloured photograph © Lorenza Böttner

Sat, 01/25/2020 -
Sat, 03/21/2020

Art Museum at the University of Toronto

15 King's College Circle
Toronto

Supported by the Goethe-Institut  
Paul B. Preciado is a guest of the Goethe-Institut

 
Lorenza Böttner: Requiem for the Norm is the first North American presentation of the work of Chilean/German artist Lorenza Böttner. Born Ernst Lorenz Böttner in Chile in 1959, at eight he lost both his arms in an accident. Institutionalized in Germany, where he moved with his mother for treatment, he rejected prosthetics intended to compensate for his supposed disability. In art school, he started identifying as female and assumed the name Lorenza. Although her career spanned just sixteen years, Lorenza Böttner created over 200 individual works, painting with her feet and mouth and using dance, photography, street performance, drawing, and installation to celebrate the complexity of embodiment and gender expression. Casting herself as a ballerina, a mother, a young man with glass arms, a Greek statue, Böttner’s work is irreverent and hedonistic, filled with the artist’s joy in her own body.

Presented in collaboration with Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart and La Virreina Centre de la Imatge, Barcelona 

Curated by writer and philosopher Paul B. Preciado, one of the leading thinkers in the study of gender and sexual politics. An Honors Graduate and Fulbright Fellow, he earned a M.A. in Philosophy and Gender Theory at the New School for Social Research in New York, where he studied with Agnes Heller and Jacques Derrida. He holds a Ph.D. in Philosophy and Theory of Architecture from Princeton University.

His first book, Counter-Sexual Manifesto (Columbia University Press) was acclaimed by critics as “the red book of queer theory” and became a key reference for European queer and trans activism.

He has been Head of Research of the Museum of Contemporary Art of Barcelona (MACBA) 2011 to 2014 and he has taught Philosophy of the Body and Transfeminist Theory at Université Paris VIII-Saint Denis and at NYU. From 2014 to 2017 he was Curator of Public Programs of documenta 14 (Kassel/Athens). Paul B. Preciado lives between Athens, Paris, and Barcelona.


Opening reception

Saturday, January 25, 5-7pm
University of Toronto Art Centre

Extended exhibition hours from 7pm-12am at the Justina M. Barnicke Gallery and the University of Toronto Art Centre for the Night of Ideas.

Drop-In Guided Tours

Tuesdays at 2pm beginning January 28, 2020
Meet at the Justina M. Barnicke Gallery  

Back

Ausstellung Lorenza Böttner: Requiem for the Norm

Lorenza Böttner 1983 unbenanntes Foto © Lorenza Böttner

Sa, 25.01.2020 -
Sa, 21.03.2020

Art Museum at the University of Toronto

15 King's College Circle
Toronto

Unterstützt durch das Goethe-Institut
Paul B. Preciado ist Gast des Goethe-Instituts

Die Ausstellung Lorenza Böttner: Requiem for the Norm zeigt erstmals Arbeiten der chilenisch/deutschen Künstlerin Lorenza Böttner in Nordamerika. Geboren als Ernst Lorenz Böttner im Jahr 1959, verlor der Junge im Alter von acht Jahren beide Arme bei einem Unfall. Im Rahmen seiner Institutionalisierung in Deutschland, wohin seine Mutter mit ihm aufgrund der Behandlung zog, verwehrte er sich den ihm als Maßnahme gegen seine diagnostizierte Behinderung angeratenen Armprothesen. Während ihrer Zeit an der Kunsthochschule begann die Künstlerin sich unter dem Namen Lorenza öffentlich als Frau zu identifizieren. Trotz der zeitlich überschaubaren künstlerischen Karriere von nur 16 Jahren schuf Lorenza Böttner über 200 eigenständige Kunstwerke. Neben der mit Mund und Füßen umgesetzten Malerei nutzte sie die Ausdrucksformen Tanz, Fotografie, Illustration und Installations-Kunst, um der Komplexität von Körper und Geschlecht in ihren Arbeiten Ausdruck zu verleihen. Indem sie sich selbst in die fiktiven Rollen einer Ballerina, einer Mutter, eines jungen Mannes mit Glas Armen sowie einer antiken griechischen Statue versetzte, veräußert sich Böttners künstlerische Praxis als andachtslos, hedonistisch und erfüllt von freudvoller Wahrnehmung des eigenen Körpers.

Präsentiert in Kollaboration mit dem Württembergischen Kunstverein Stuttgart und dem La Virreina Centre de la Imatge, Barcelona.

Kuratiert durch den Schriftsteller und Philosophen Paul B. Preciado, einem der wortführenden Vordenker der wissenschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung mit Geschlechterpolitiken. Er erhielt seinen Master-Abschluss in Philosophie und Gender-Studies mit Auszeichnung als Fulbright-Stipendiat an der New School for Social Research in New York. Darüber hinaus erlangte er einen Doktortitel in Philosophie und Architekturtheorie an der Princeton University.

Sein erstes Buch mit dem Titel Counter-Sexual Manifesto (Columbia University Press) wurde von der Kritik als “the red book of queer theory” bejubelt und gilt als eine der Grundfesten der europäischen Queer- und Transgender-Bewegung.

Von 2011 bis 2014 arbeitete Preciado als Leiter der Forschungsabteilung für das Museum of Contemporary Art of Barcelona (MACBA) und lehrte Philosophy of the Body and Transfeminist Theory an der Universität Paris VIII-Saint Denis und an der NYU. Von 2014 bis 2017 hielt er die Position des Kurators der öffentlichen Programme im Rahmen der documenta 14 (Kassel/Athen) inne. Paul B. Preciado lebt und arbeitet zwischen Athen, Paris und Barcelona.


Opening reception

Samstag, 25. Januar, 17-19Uhr
University of Toronto Kunst Zentrum

Erweiterte Öffnungzeiten während Night of Ideas von 19-24Uhr in der Justina M. Barnicke Gallerie und dem University of Toronto Kunst Zentrum.
 

Drop-In Guided Tours

ab dem 28.Januar 2020, dientags 14Uhr 
Treffpunkt: Justina M. Barnicke Gallerie  

Zurück