Goethe-Institut x Somerset House Studios Residency

Juliana Huxtable - Somerset House Studios © Juliana Huxtable

Goethe-Institut London and Somerset House Studios are collaborating to establish a new international artist residency programme to support a Germany-based artist working at the intersection of music, art and technology for a period of three months.

For the inaugural edition, we welcome artist, DJ, writer, and performer Juliana Huxtable. We will be working with Juliana remotely this May due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and look forward to welcoming her in London at a later point this year. Juliana, one of the most singular voices in the contemporary art world, will be taking part in a programme of live streams and artist development opportunities during this first digital residency phase.
 


Juliana Huxtable - Somerset House Studios
Juliana Huxtable - Somerset House Studios | © Juliana Huxtable
Using the structures of music as mediums in her multimedia universe, Juliana Huxtable is a DJ and musician singular in her approach. Where her visual art and poetry navigate the complexification of desire in a life increasingly mediated by technology, her music utilizes the sounds of technology itself to construct parallel realities to be inhabited and embodied in rhythm and harmonic tableaux.

Her sets skillfully deploy the notion of sampling, and re-blogging as DJ strategies, ecstatically mixing an array of influences that frolic at the boundary of genre intuition and experimentation. At once an assertion of freedom and an ode to the evolutionary structure of electronic music subcultures, she aspires to the sublime in what can often only be described as a witchcraft seance behind the decks on stage.

 

Juliana Huxtable responds to "I Should Be Doing Something Else Right Now" by Somerset House Studios

The Powerful Art of Juliana Huxtable




Past Digital Events



Somerset House Logo © Somerset House Studios
Top

Goethe-Institut x Somerset House Studios

Juliana Huxtable © Juliana Huxtable

Das Goethe-Institut London und Somerset House Studios haben gemeinsam ein neues internationales Residenzprogramm ins Leben gerufen. In Deutschland lebende Künstler*innen, die an der Schnittstelle von Musik, Kunst und Technologie arbeiten, werden in diesem Programm für einen Zeitraum von drei Monaten unterstützt.

Für die erste Residenz begrüßen wir die Künstlerin, DJ, Schriftstellerin und Performerin Juliana Huxtable, eine der einzigartigsten Stimmen in der Welt der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Aufgrund der COVID-19 Pandemie werden wir diesen Mai aus der Ferne mit Juliana zusammenarbeiten und freuen uns darauf, sie zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt in London begrüßen zu dürfen. Juliana wird während dieser ersten digitalen Residenzphase an einem Programm von Livestreams und anderen Aktivitäten im Rahmen ihrer künstlerischen Praxis teilnehmen.

 

Juliana Huxtable - Somerset House Studios
Juliana Huxtable - Somerset House Studios | © Juliana Huxtable
Juliana Huxtable ist eine einzigartige DJ und Musikerin, die die Strukturen der Musik als Medium in ihrem multimedialen Universum nutzt. Wo ihre visuelle Kunst und ihre Poesie die Komplexität des Begehrens in einem zunehmend von der Technologie vermittelten Leben steuern, nutzt ihre Musik die Klänge der Technologie selbst, um parallele Realitäten zu schaffen, die durch Rhythmus und harmonische Szenerien verkörpert werden.

In ihren Sets setzt sie geschickt die Idee des Samplings und Re-Bloggens als DJ-Strategie ein und mischt auf ekstatische Weise eine Reihe von Einflüssen an der Grenze zwischen Genre-Intuition und Experiment. Sie strebt nach dem Erhabenen in einer oft nur als Hexerei hinter den Decks zu bezeichnenden Séance von der Bühne aus; eine Behauptung der Freiheit und eine Ode an die evolutionäre Struktur der Subkulturen der elektronischen Musik zugleich.

 

Juliana Huxtable im Format "I Should Be Doing Something Else Right Now" von Somerset House Studios

Die kraftvolle Kunst von Juliana Huxtable




Vergangene digitale Veranstaltungen



Somerset House Logo © Somerset House Studios
Top