Translation The curious case of Indian English: Why do Indian texts mystify translators?

Indian English
Indian English | Photo: © Bernhard Ludewig

Translators don’t always have it easy. Often, a mere glance at the dictionary doesn’t suffice for translating certain passages from a text. In order to understand all the subtleties and nuances, one must be equally acquainted with the culture and the country in which the language is spoken. That holds true, above all, for English that is used in different cultures differently.     

“The English spoken and written in India has in any case become an Indian language”, says the famous Indian author Anita Desai. According to a study conducted by the Indian linguist Braj B. Kachru, 55% of Indian college graduates describe their English explicitly as ‘Indian English’.

Eating-Leaves and Loincloths

In fact, there are various English expressions which exist only in India or which are used differently elsewhere e.g. in England, America or Australia. ‘Loincloth’ for example exists in British English but in India it is used widely to describe the different kinds of traditional skirts for men which are wrapped around the waist and are of varying lengths.  Also, the question “What is your good name?” can lead to misunderstanding. It is actually an ingratiatingly polite way to ask one’s name. In contrast, ‘good name’ in Standard English refers to one’s reputation. Another example is ‘godown’ which is often used in the Indian subcontinent in place of ‘warehouse’. And instead of a ‘lunchbox’, Indian schoolchildren have a ‘tiffin box’.  It is also difficult for a translator who is not so familiar with the daily life in India to translate ‘eating leaves’ which means banana leaves that are sometimes used in place of a plate.
 
One also has to be careful about the measurement units: The German ‘Milliarde’ is in India, as in many other countries, one billion. A ‘crore’ is often used in lieu of 10 millions, ‘lakh’ for 100,000 and the square measure ‘bigha’ (around 2800 square meters) is also common. All these terms stem from Hindi and have found their way into English usage. Interestingly, the old English measure of length ‘furlong’ (around 200 meters) is still used in India. Many old-fashioned words and phrases from other fields are also still in use, like the expression “she is in the family way” instead of “she is pregnant”. “Mostly, such language is used by old people, who have been educated in the traditional Anglo-Indian convent schools”, says Reinhold Schein, who has lived in India for 12 years as a lecturer for German language and literature and has specialized in the translation of Indian literature. 

Peculiar grammatical usages

If you are not acquainted with the country, you’ll also make mistakes in the usage of formal ‘you’ (Sie) and informal ‘you’ (Du). Normally translators of English texts apply the German rules for the usage of Du and Sie but this would be misleading if the text is about Hindi speaking people. “A normal reader is not able to perceive how complicated the situation in the Indian context actually is – that the father and the paternal relatives are addressed with the formal ‘you’ while the informal ‘you’ is often used for the mother, and that in a traditional context, a woman would address her husband with a formal ‘you’ to show respect whereas a man uses the informal ‘you’ with her”, explains Schein.
Particularly irritating for readers and translators is also the grammar used in India and other South Asian nations, which often deviates from the standard English. For example, the tag question “isn’t it?” is frequently used even when correct British English actually demands “doesn’t he?” or “aren’t you?”.
Also the words ‘only’ and ‘itself’ have gained new usages in certain areas independent of Standard English as the Indian linguist S. N. Sridhar has established in a study conducted in Bangalore. Both words are used, in addition to their regular functions, to emphasize, reinforce or limit a statement. For example: “I got homework, but I forgot it only”. ‘Only’ is not really required here although some Indians use it, perhaps because in Hindi such a statement would be made stronger with the word ‘hi’, which can be translated as ‘only’ in certain contexts. Moreover, ‘itself’, originally reflexive, is used in India to stress something or to show contrast with the intended result: “I thought he would win the marathon, but he was tired after 2 km itself.” Also the way people introduce themselves to each other can sound idiosyncratic: Instead of “I am Peter”, one often hears “Myself Peter”.

Retaining the regional touch

Such deviations from Standard English are to be found mainly in conversational language. Translators are confronted with these cases when the author intentionally sprinkles these ‘mistakes’ in fiction, in order to lend it a realistic or regional touch. If a translator irons out these errors, this touch is lost and with it a piece of the character of that figure.
 
Among the challenges in the translation of Indian texts, one can also count the expressions from Hindi and regional languages that are interspersed in the English text. The translators often have to face the fact that there might not be any corresponding single word or expression in the target language. Difficult to translate are, for example, the food varieties and dishes like paneer (a kind of fresh cheese), ghee (an oil derived from milk fat) or pan (a tobacco mixture for chewing wrapped in betel leaves), as well as traditional Indian wear such as sari and kurta.
 
Indian translator Namita Khare translates Indian writers into German and famous German books, including many from Herta Müller into Hindi and English. She puts the challenge that the translator encounters in these words: “A language is formed by the culture it is used in. Other than syntactical and semantic errors, one has to pay attention to the entire baggage that a word carries with it and whether that baggage would be unloaded in the same way in the target language.”
And in India there are many words which come with a whole package of meanings and connotations. Foremost among them are the many religious terms. Havan, for example, is the blessing ceremony for a newly built house carried out by a Hindu priest; mundan is the ritual of the first haircut of a baby. These comprehensive terms are hard to encapsulate in the catchy, concise words that a translator may choose in his re-writing, thereby placing the text in the danger losing some of its layers of meanings. 

Three words for the dot on the forehead

Another good example of this is the typical Indian dot on the forehead, for which there are three different words: sindoor, bindi and tikka. ‘Sindoor’ is the vermilion mark at the beginning of the parting of hair. It stands for the married status of the woman wearing it. ‘Bindi’, on the other hand, is the dot that is worn by women (not necessarily married) between the eyebrows. It represents femininity and its color is often matched with the dress. ‘Tikka’ is a mark put by the priest on an individual’s forehead during a religious ceremony. It can be worn by men too. The translator has to face the dilemma: Do I leave the readers in the dark as to the exact meaning or do I add a whole new sentence to elaborate the meaning of a single word?
 
One way out – at least in scientific texts and books – are footnotes and glossaries. But even these can be grossly inadequate, as the indologist Christina Oesterheld demonstrates in her analysis of Premchand’s translations. In one particular glossary for example, the Hindi word dupatta is explained simply as ‘a piece of clothing’. That it is a long scarf which Indian women wear on their shoulders to show their modesty remains concealed from the reader. 

Like a cumin seed in a camel’s mouth

Among the greatest challenges for the translator are proverbs and idioms, which are so typical to that region that they don’t function in another language. In India for example, there is an expression ‘cumin seed in a camel’s mouth’ (from Hindi: oonth ke munh mein jeera). Not only does it sound odd and completely awkward in English and German, it also has no meaning in a culture where the spice cumin doesn’t belong in the everyday life, and even less so the camel. An Indian would, however, perceive immediately that a small black cumin seed won’t feel like much in the mouth of a camel, and is absolutely inadequate as a meal for the big animal. Since literal translation of this expression would only bewilder a reader, the translator may look for a similar idiom. In this case, a German translator could get lucky – the expression ‘Tropfen auf den heißen Stein’ (tears on a hot stone) sums up the Indian counterpart pretty well.
 
It’s more difficult, however, to translate the Hindi proverb ‘bhains ke aage been bajana’ (playing a flute in front of a buffalo). With a flute one can charm a snake; the same action, however, is likely to prove futile with a buffalo. The connection will be immediately clear to a reader from the Indian sub-continent. For the German reader another witty formulation has to be found. The only question is: Which?
 
In other cases, the meaning of an expression is completely skewed. For example, if one tried to translate the popular Hindi romantic song “Tu hai” from the movie ‘Jannat’, one would stumble upon the phrase ‘kadi dhoop mein saaya diya’ (to offer shade in harsh sunshine). In the overwhelming heat of the Indian summer, some shade is a welcome rescue from the burning sun. In Germany, on the contrary, sunshine is always positive and is an object of desire as it’s often too cold or cloudy. A shade-giver is therefore, not quite as desirable as in India – if we were to translate the song literally, a good chunk of the romance would be distorted.
 
“It’s clear that translation requires not just linguistic but also cultural competence”, explains expert Reinhold Schein. And as author and literary translator Ursula Gräfe puts it: “In fact, I believe that the difficulties are less of the linguistic kind, and more about transferring a complicated and perhaps foreign worldview”.

Übersetzung Was ist „indisches Englisch“? Texte aus Indien sind für Übersetzer eine Herausforderung

Indisches Englisch
Indisches Englisch | Foto: © Bernhard Ludewig

Übersetzer haben es nicht immer leicht. Ein Blick ins Wörterbuch reicht oft nicht aus, um bestimmte Textpassagen zu übersetzten. Um alle sprachlichen Feinheiten richtig zu begreifen, muss man auch die Kultur und das Land, in dem die Sprache gesprochen wird, kennen. Das gilt vor allem für Englisch, das in unterschiedlichen Kulturen unterschiedlich verwendet wird.

„Das Englisch, das in Indien gesprochen und geschrieben wird, ist in jeder Beziehung zu einer indischen Sprache geworden“, sagt die bekannte indische Autorin Anita Desai. Nach einer Studie des indischen Linguisten Braj B. Kachru würden 55% der indischen Akademiker ihr Englisch als explizit „indisches Englisch“ bezeichnen.

Eating-Leaves und Loin-Cloths

Tatsächlich finden sich viele Ausdrücke, die so nur in Indien vorkommen, oder die in Indien anders verwendet werden als zum Beispiel in England, Amerika oder Australien. „Loin-Cloth“ heißt im britischen Englisch zum Beispiel „Lendenschurz“. In Indien ist der Begriff weiter gefasst und beschreibt traditionelle Wickelröcke für Männer. Auch die Frage „What is your good name?“ kann zu Missverständnissen führen. Gefragt wird hier nach dem Vornamen, der in anderen englischsprachigen Ländern „first name“ or „given name“ heißt. „Good name“ meint im herkömmlichen Englisch hingegen eher „guter Ruf“. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist „godown“, dass in Indien und der Region häufig anstelle von „warehouse“ (Lagerhaus/Lagerraum) verwendet wird. Und anstelle einer „Lunch Box“ haben indischen Schulkinder eine „tiffin box“ dabei. Schwierig wird es für Übersetzer, die mit dem indischen Alltag nicht so vertraut sind, auch bei „Eating-leaves“, Bananenblättern, die mancherorts als Teller verwendet werden.
Vorsicht gilt auch bei Maßeinheiten und Mengenangaben: Eine Milliarde ist in Indien wie in einigen anderen Ländern „one billion“. Geläufig sind auch „Crore“ für 10 Millionen, „Lakh“ für 100.000 und das Flächenmaß „bigha“ (zirka 2800 Quadratmeter), alles Begriffe, die aus dem Hindi stammen und Eingang in den englischen Sprachgebrauch gefunden haben. Auch das alte englische Längenmaß „furlong“ (zirka 200 Meter) ist in Indien noch gebräuchlich.  Auch altmodische Begriffe aus anderen Bereichen haben sich gehalten, wie die Wendung „she is in the family way“ statt „she is pregnant“. „So drücken sich meist ältere Leute aus, die eine Schulbildung in der Tradition der anglo-indischen Convent Schools genossen haben“, erläutert Reinhold Schein, der 12 Jahre als Lektor für deutsche Sprache, Literatur und Landeskunde in Indien gelebt hat und sich auf die Übersetzung von indischer Literatur spezialisiert hat.

Väter werden gesiezt

Wer das Alltagsleben im Land nicht kennt, macht auch Fehler bei der Verwendung von Du und Sie. Bei der Übersetzung englischer Texte werden hier normalerweise die in Deutschland üblichen Regeln angewendet. „Dass die Situation im indischen Kontext weit komplizierter ist, ahnt der normale Leser gar nicht, also etwa dass der Vater und die Verwandtschaft väterlicherseits gesiezt, die Mutter aber meist geduzt wird, und dass - zumindest in einem traditionellen Kontext - der Ehemann seine Frau duzt, sie ihn aber siezt“, erklärt Schein.
Irritierend für Leser und Übersetzer kann die in Indien und anderen südasiatischen Ländern vom Standard-Englisch abweichende Grammatik sein. Zum Beispiel wird die Bestätigungsfrage „Isn‘t it?“ häufig auch dann verwendet, wenn das britische Englisch eigentlich „doesn’t he?“ oder „aren’t you?“ erfordern würde.
Auch die Wörter „only“ und „itself“ haben sich im Sprachgebrauch mancher Regionen verselbstständigt, wie der indische Linguist S. N. Sridhar bei einer Studie in Bangalore festgestellt hat. Beide Wörter werden demnach auch verwendet, um eine Aussage zu verstärken oder etwas zu betonen. Zum Beispiel: „I got homework, but I forgot it only“. „Only“ wäre hier eigentlich nicht nötig, trotzdem benutzen es manche Inder. Grund könnte sein, dass im Hindi eine solche Aussage mit einem verstärkenden Wort „hi“ ergänzt wird, das als „only“ übersetzt werden kann. Auch „itself“ – im ursprünglichen Englisch reflexiv – wird in Indien benutzt, um etwas herauszustreichen: „I thought he would win the marathon, but he was tired after 2 km itself.” Eine andere Eigenheit hört man, wenn sich Leute gegenseitig vorstellen. Statt „I am Peter“ heißt es häufig „Myself Peter“.

Den regionalen Touch beibehalten

Solche Abweichungen vom Standard-Englisch findet man hauptsächlich in der Umgangssprache. Übersetzer bekommen mit solchen Fällen Probleme, wenn der Autor ganz bewusst solche „Fehler“ einstreut, um Figuren einen regionalen Touch zu verleihen. Wenn der Übersetzer die Fehler ausbügelt, geht dieser Touch und damit ein Stück des Charakters der Figur verloren.
Zu den Herausforderungen beim Übersetzen von Texten aus Indien kommen die auch in englischen Texte eingetreuten Ausdrücke aus dem Hindi und den Regionalsprachen, für die es in Englisch und Deutsch keine Entsprechung gibt, mit deren Erklärung Übersetzer aber ebenfalls beauftragt sind. Dazu zählen landestypische Speisen wie Paneer (eine Art Frischkäse), Ghee (ein Öl aus Milchfett) oder Pan (ein in Palmblätter gewickelter Kautabakmischung), genauso wie traditionelle indische Kleidungsstücke, beispielsweise die Gewänder „Sari“ und „Kurta“.
Die Inderin Namita Khare übersetzt indische Schriftsteller ins Deutsche und bekannte deutschsprachige Literatur, unter anderem von Herta Müller, ins Hindi und ins Englische. Sie beschreibt die Herausforderung, mit der sich Übersetzer konfrontiert sehen, so:  „Sprache wird von der Kultur, in der sie verwendet wird, geformt. Neben Syntax und Semantik muss man auf das ganze Paket an Bedeutungen achten, das ein Wort mit sich bringt, und ob es möglich ist, dieses Paket in der Zielsprache sinngemäß zu entpacken.“
Und in Indien gibt es viele Wörter, die ein ganzes Bedeutungspaket mit sich tragen. Allen voran die vielen religiösen Ausdrücke. „Havan“ zum Beispiel ist eine Segnungszeremonie, die ein hinduistischer Priester bei einem neugebauten Hauses durchführt; „Mundan“ ist ein ritueller erster Haarschnitt für Babys. In der Gänze seiner Bedeutung sind solche Begriffe kaum zu übersetzen. Auf der Suche nach griffigen und kurzen Umschreibungen läuft der Übersetzer Gefahr, wichtige Bestandteile dessen, was ein Wort transportiert, zu verlieren.

Drei Wörter für den Punkt auf der Stirn

Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist auch der indientypische Punkt auf der Stirn. Für ihn gibt es drei unterschiedliche Wörter: „Sindoor“, „Bindi“ und „Tikka“. Bei „Sindoor” handelt es sich um einen zinnoberroten Punkt am Haaransatz. Er steht für das Verheiratetsein bei Frauen. „Bindi” dagegen heißt der Punkt, den Frauen zwischen den Augenbrauen tragen. Er repräsentiert die Weiblichkeit und kann farblich mit der Kleidung abgestimmt werden. „Tikka” nennt sich der Punkt, den Teilnehmer einer religiösen Zeremonie vom Priester bekommen. Ihn können auch Männer tragen. Der Übersetzer steht also vor der Wahl: Lasse ich den Leser im Unklaren über die genaue Bedeutung oder füge ich einen ganzen Satz hinzu, um ein einziges Wort zu erklären?
Ein Ausweg – zumindest bei wissenschaftlichen Texten und in Büchern - sind Fußnoten und Glossare. Aber selbst dort kommt es zu Unzulänglichkeiten, wie die Heidelberger Indologin Christina Oesterheld bei der Analyse von Premchand-Übersetzungen festgestellt hat. In einem der Glossare ist zum Beispiel das Hindi-Wort „Dupatta“ einfach als „ein Kleidungsstück“ erklärt. Dass es sich um einen langen Schal handelt, den sich indische Frauen über die Schulter legen, oft ihre Sittsamkeit zu demonstrieren, bleibt dem Leser des Glossars verborgen.

Wie ein Kumin-Samen im Maul eines Kamels

Eine der größten Herausforderungen für Übersetzer sind Sprichwörter und Redewendungen, die so landestypisch sind, dass sie in Deutsch einfach nicht funktionieren. In Indien gibt es zum Beispiel den Ausdruck: „Das ist wie ein Kumin-Samen im Kamelmaul“. Klingt auf Deutsch nicht nur seltsam, sondern ist auch schwer zu verstehen, wenn man in einem Land lebt, in dem das Gewürz Kumin und erst recht Kamele nicht zum Alltag gehören. Ein Inder weiß sofort: Ein kleines schwarzes Kumin-Körnchen würde ein Kamel in seinem Maul wohl noch nicht mal spüren, auf keinen Fall reicht es, um es satt zu machen. Da die direkte Übersetzung Verwirrung stiften würde, kann der Übersetzer ein ähnliches Sprichwort suchen. In diesem Fall hat er Glück – der „Tropfen auf den heißen Stein“ entspricht der Bedeutung des indischen Sprichwortes relativ gut.
Schwieriger wird es bei der Redewendung „Vor einem Büffel stehend die Flöte spielen“. Mit einer Flöte kann man eine Klapperschlange betören; dasselbe aber bei einem Büffel zu probieren ist aussichtslos. Der Zusammenhang wird dem Leser auf dem indischen Subkontinent sofort klar. Für den deutschen Leser muss eine andere Formulierung gefunden werden. Die Frage ist nur: Welche?
Bei anderen Beispielen ist der Sinn von sprachlichen Ausdrücken völlig verdreht. Versucht man zum Beispiel das Hindi-Liebeslied „tu hai“ aus dem Film „Jannat“ zu übersetzten, stößt man auf die Zeile „Du gibst mir Schatten im Sonnenlicht“. Im überwiegend heißen Indien ist jeder Schatten eine Erlösung von der brennenden Sonne. In Deutschland ist der Sonnenschein dagegen  ausschließlich positiv besetzt. Wir gieren nach Sonne, weil es oft kalt oder bewölkt ist. Ein Schattenspender ist also oft gar nicht erwünscht und bei weitem nicht so positiv besetzt wie in Indien – bei der wörtlichen Übersetzung dieser Zeilen droht also, ein gutes Stück Romantik verloren zu gehen.
„Es versteht sich, dass Übersetzen außer der sprachlichen auch kulturelle Kompetenz voraussetzt“, bilanziert Indien-Experte Reinhold Schein. Und auch die Autorin und literarische Übersetzerin Ursula Gräfe sagt: „Tatsächlich glaube ich, dass die Schwierigkeiten weniger sprachlicher Art sind, sondern eher auf das komplizierte und vielleicht fremde Weltbild zurückzuführen sind“.