Indo-German radio project Namaste, Servus and Hallo in Possenhofen

Radio project in Possenhofen
Radio project in Possenhofen | © Tobias Trutz

“On Air – Servus India” is the slogan of the binational radio project organized by the headquarters of the Goethe-Institute in cooperation with the Max-Mueller-Bhavan in Delhi.

Clara Schaksmeier, SCHULWÄRTS!-Alumna, is the committed organizer of the project. Thanks to her devotion a number of 22 teenagers, six German and 16 Indian students, stay from 31st of October until 5th of November 2016 in the youth hostel Possenhofen near the Starnberger Lake. Here, the students get the unique chance to explore radio broadcasts for a whole week via a fascinating variety of different methods and approaches.

Strength is to be found in serenity

Far away from all the noise of the Indian and German urban areas, close to the estates around the Starnberger Lake, sits the youth hostel Possenhofen. The location offers very modern and light rooms for the step by step arriving adolescents from Bavaria, Baden-Wuerttemberg and metro Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, and Kolkata. After obtaining the keys to the rooms, the students fill their stomachs with a rich typical German dinner and start a lively social gathering in one of the seminar rooms. This meeting is characteristic for the Youth Exchange.

Contrary to the assumption, that the Indian students – between 15 and 18 years old – would need some time to get used to the new surroundings, they immediately start interesting conversations and discussions between both nations. A big thanks goes out to the teamers of the radio project – Karolina Greil, Merve Navruz, Lisa Pelkner and Matthias Posch. They succeeded – right from the start – in bringing together and motivating the students to start conversations with each other.

The basics of radio broadcasting

The task for the expert of the workshop is not easy: He needs to instruct an interculturally mediating radio project. Andreas Meske and his team, Jessica Schäfers und Rebecca Wasinski, manage to do all that perfectly the next day. In very funny ways they introduce the young radio stars to the different work fields of radio broadcasting and arouse enthusiasm in producing individual radio features.
Thereafter, the students explore in small, binational reporter teams the area in and around the youth hostel in Possenhofen, walk to Pöcking or to the Starnberger Lake in order to produce spontaneous short interviews on regional topics in German.

Radio journalists in action © Tobias Trutz Afterwards, all the participants go to a sound studio which is installed in one of the rooms of the hostel. After a short theoretic introduction they start cutting and editing their audio files. With a lot of devotion, they reduce the number of “ehms” and “ehs”, shorten the segments, and level the volume.

New radio broadcasting stars

After a night that is very demanding for some of the groups as they are post editing their interviews everybody can listen to the fascinating quality of the results. The creativity is absolutely astonishing. Sometimes the students ask their interview partners about important Indian festivities, then about the differences and similarities between Germany and India or Indian food. It is big fun to learn about the respective other culture and to use the German language via this methodical approach.

Jingles all the way

As every good radio feature needs a suitable jingle, the students start to collect suitable ideas for a title of the project first and vote with one voice for “On Air. Servus India.” in the end. Thereafter, they roam around using their sound recorders, record short voice snippets and set the footage to Indian and German sound-effects and music. The Jingles sound magnificent and are in no way inferior to the ones of German and Indian radio broadcasters.

Gong! and Goodbye

The day before departure, the participants of the project visit Munich. In the morning, the private radio broadcaster “Gong!” invites the 22 students to take a look behind the scenes of a radio station. The rooms are quite impressive especially by the time the students are allowed to attend a live broadcast of the channel. Then, the participants explore Munich city, go shopping for presents to take home with them – gummy bears are very popular – and enjoy the beautiful sights. In the evening, they take part in a wonderful and communicative programme, playing “Cards Against Humanity” and “Werewolves of Miller’s Hollow” until they have to say goodbye to each other the next morning.
After a couple of discussions about the planned interview projects that follow the exchange programme in Germany, a couple of participants shed a tear of goodbye. After a week full of joy and friendship they hug each other, exchange telephone numbers and email addresses, and promise each other an early reunion.
Obviously, the project manages to do what people expect from exchange programmes: Understanding among nations across language borders, continents and cultures. Bravo!
 
Feedback:
“The radio workshop was fascinating. We learned a lot and it was definitely worth the effort.” Achin Mehra
“We got to know a bunch of new people and talked a lot – which definitely improved our German. It was an amazing experience.” Varad Godase und Fahrrad

“I feel very good and had a lot of fun this week. I learned so much and especially loved conducting the interview. I want to study “Travel Journalism” and had my first hands-on in this workshop. It was such a nice experience and I would like to thank everybody involved in the programme.” Nandini Srivastav
“Now I know that I want to live in Germany as everything is regulated and organized.” Rushil

“This week was very nice and the radio project great. I got to know several new people. I liked the interview project best.” Mohana Saha

“I can use a lot of what I have learned here for my studies of mass media in Mumbai. Perfect!” Riddhi Kothawale

“In this workshop I liked the interview best and that I got to know many new people. Now I know how to use Audacity.” Chitra Nair

“This time here was very special for me. I especially enjoyed the interview project.” Vibhuti Aggarwal  
 “I found this project very interesting, I got to know many new people, and I learned a lot about radio in Germany. After all, it was one of the nicest experiences I have had so far.” Maryada Anand

“I was a brilliant week and I would advise everybody to take part in it and personally I would love to be part of it again.” Elena Pauler

„These four days were the most fascinating of all my life. The radio project was so much fun. I have learned a lot. I especially enjoyed interviewing unknown people via microphone. Never before have I learned so much about the post editing process of the audio files. The project has become an inseparable part of my life because of all the new friends, techniques, and time in Munich.” Paridhi Chawla

"It was a great experience. I cannot believe how much I have learned this week. Now I know a lot more about radio which makes me very happy. If there would be another chance to be part of such a project, I would take it right away.” Simran Faizal

“Normally, I do not speak a lot of German but during the project I participated a lot. I especially liked the interviews and the people.” Tanya Banerjee

„Well, at first I did not know whether I should give up my school holidays for such a project. But know – at the end of the project – I do not regret it at all. It was a fascinating experience. I could imagine to work for a radio broadcaster in the future.” Annika Hösler

Deutsch-Indisches Radioprojekt Namaste, Servus und Hallo in Possenhofen

Radioprojekt in Possenhofen
Radioprojekt in Possenhofen | © Tobias Trutz

„On Air - Servus Indien.“ heißt es beim binationalen Radioprojekt der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts in Kooperation mit dem Max-Mueller-Bhavan in Delhi.

Organisiert hat es SCHULWÄRTS!-Alumna Clara Schaksmeier. Aufgrund ihrer tollen Arbeit reisen insgesamt 22 Jugendliche – sechs deutsche und 16 indische Schülerinnen und Schüler vom 31.10. bis 5.11.2016 in die Jugendherberge Possenhofen am Starnberger See. Hier kommen sie in den Genuss, sich für eine Woche das Thema Radio zu erschließen. Mit einer faszinierenden Vielfalt an Methoden und interessanten Zugängen.

In der Ruhe liegt die Kraft – und die Kreativität

Fernab vom Trubel der deutschen und indischen Großstädte, in der Nähe von herrschaftlichen Wohnhäusern rund um den Starnberger See, liegt die Jugendherberge Possenhofen. Moderne, lichtdurchflutete Räume bietet der Veranstaltungsort für die nach und nach ankommenden Jugendlichen aus Bayern, Baden-Württemberg und aus dem Großraum Delhi, Mumbai, Pune und Kolkata. Nachdem die Zimmer bezogen und die Mägen mit dem reichhaltigen Abendessen der typisch deutschen Küche gefüllt sind, beginnt eine lebendige Kennenlern-Runde. Sie ist bezeichnend für die gesamte Begegnung.

Entgegen der Annahme, dass sich die indischen Teilnehmenden – zwischen 15 und 18 Jahre alt – erst einmal akklimatisieren müssten, ergeben sich sofort spannende Gespräche und Diskussionen zwischen beiden Nationen. Ein großes Kompliment ist hierbei den Teamenden des Radioprojekts – Karolina Greil, Merve Navruz, Lisa Pelkner und Matthias Posch – auszusprechen. Ihnen gelingt es von Anfang an, die Jugendlichen zusammenzubringen und zur freiwilligen Mitarbeit zu motivieren.

Das kleine Einmaleins des Radios

Die Aufgabe für den Leiter des Workshops ist nicht ohne: Er muss ein zwischen den Kulturen vermittelnden Radio-Workshop anleiten. Andreas Meske meistert sie mit seinen Assistentinnen Jessica Schäfers und Rebecca Wasinski ab dem darauffolgenden Tag bravourös. Unterhaltsam führt das Team die jungen Radiomacher in die verschiedenen Betätigungsfelder des Hörfunks ein und entfacht so schon sehr bald die Begeisterung dafür, eigene Beiträge zu erstellen.

Radiomacher in action © Tobias Trutz In kleinen, binationalen Reporterteams erkunden die Jugendlichen mit großer Freude die Umgebung und erproben sich meisterhaft darin, mit Gästen der Jugendherberge und Passanten in Possenhofen, Pöcking und am Starnberger See, spontane Kurzinterviews zu landeskundlichen Themen auf Deutsch zu führen.

Im Anschluss geht es für sie ins „Tonstudio“, welches kurzerhand in einem der Räume der Jugendherberge eingerichtet wurde. Dort beginnen sie nach einer kurzen Einführung, ihre Beiträge zu schneiden. Mit viel Fleiß werden die „Öhs“ und „Ähms“ aus den Beiträgen geschnitten, Interviews gekürzt oder die Lautstärke angeglichen.

Neue Radiostars am Rundfunkhimmel

Nach einer für manche Gruppen zum Teil arbeitsreichen Nacht wird die hohe Qualität der Beiträge gemeinsam bestaunt. Die Kreativität ist ganz und gar wundervoll. Mal fragen die Schüler ihre Interviewpartner nach wichtigen indischen Festen, dann nach Unterschieden und Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen Deutschland und Indien oder aber auch nach indischem Essen. Es macht ihnen sichtlich Spaß, über diesen Zugang Neues über die jeweils andere Kultur zu lernen und dabei die deutsche Sprache nutzen zu können.

Jingles all the way

Da natürlich zu einem guten Radiobeitrag auch passende Jingles für die An- und Abmoderation gehören, bringen die Jugendlichen am nächsten Tag zunächst geeignete Vorschläge für einen Titel des Projekts ein und einigen sich dann einstimmig auf „On Air. Servus Indien“. Daraufhin entschwinden sie mit ihren Soundrekordern, zeichnen kurze Sprachsequenzen auf und unterlegen diese hinterher mit deutsch-indischen Klängen und Soundeffekten. Die so gestalten Jingles klingen großartig und stehen denen deutscher und indischer Radiosender in nichts nach.

Gong! und bis bald

Am Tag vor der Abreise geht es dann noch einmal nach München. Am Vormittag lädt der private Radiosender „Gong!“ die 22 Jugendlichen ein, einen Blick hinter die Kulissen eines Radiosenders zu werfen. Die Räumlichkeiten beeindrucken, zumal auch der Besuch des Studios während einer Liveschalte ermöglicht wird. Im Anschluss erobern die Jugendlichen die Münchener Innenstadt, shoppen Geschenke für zuhause – Gummibärchen erfreuen sich großer Beliebtheit – und erfreuen sich an den wunderschönen Denkmälern der Stadt. Abends folgt in der Jugendherberge ein bunter Abschluss mit Kommunikationsspielen wie „Werwölfe von Düsterwald“ und „Cards Against Humanity“, bis es am nächsten Morgen an der Zeit ist, sich voneinander zu verabschieden.

Nachdem die Nachwuchsjournalisten noch über die geplanten Interviewprojekte, die über den Workshop hinausgehen, gesprochen haben, fließen bei manchem die Tränen. Nach einer Woche voller Spaß und neuen Freundschaften umarmen sich alle, tauschen Nummern und eMail-Adressen aus und versprechen einander ein baldiges Widersehen.

Ganz offensichtlich vermag das Projekt genau das, was man sich von interkulturellen Begegnungen erhofft: Völkerverständigung über Landesgrenzen, Kontinente und Kulturen hinweg. Bravo!
 
O-Töne, eingefangen auf der Abschlussbesprechung:
„Diese Tage waren sehr schön und dieses Radioprojekt war sehr interessant. Wir haben neue Dinge gelernt und ich glaube, dass die Mühe sich gelohnt hat.“ Achin Mehra

„Wir haben neue Leute kennengelernt und viel gesprochen, wodurch wir unser Deutsch verbessert haben. Eine tolle Erfahrung.“ Varad Godase und Fahrrad

„Mir geht es ganz gut und ich habe in dieser Woche sehr viel Spaß gehabt. Ich habe so viel gelernt – am besten habe ich das Interview gefunden. Ich möchte Travel Journalism studieren – was ich diesmal hautnah erfahren konnte. Ich habe das ganz, ganz toll gefunden und ich möchte allen dafür danken.“ Nandini Srivastav

„Ich weiß, dass ich jetzt in Deutschland leben möchte, weil hier alles ganz ordentlich und organisiert ist.“ Rushil

„Diese Tage in Deutschland waren sehr schön und dieses Radioprojekt war sehr interessant. Ich habe viele neue Leute kennengelernt. Das Interviewprojekt fand ich ganz besonders gut.“ Mohana Saha
„Ich kann ganz viel von dem, was ich hier gelernt habe, für mein Studium der Massenmedien in Mumbai verwenden. Wunderbar!“ Riddhi Kothawale

„In diesem Workshop habe ich das Interview besonders gut gefunden und ich habe viele neue Leute kennengelernt. Ich weiß jetzt, wie ich Audacity verwende.“ Chitra Nair

„Diese Zeit hier war ganz besonders schön für mich. Und ich fand insbesondere das Interviewprojekt ganz besonders gut.“ Vibhuti Aggarwal  

„Ich habe dieses Projekt sehr interessant und besonders gefunden, viele neue Leute kennengelernt und auch viele Dinge über Radio in Deutschland gelernt. Insgesamt war es eine sehr schöne Erfahrung meines Lebens.“ Maryada Anand

„Es war eine wunderschöne Woche, ich würde dieses Programm wirklich jedem empfehlen und immer wieder machen!“ Elena Pauler

„Diese Tage waren die faszinierendsten Tage meines Lebens. Das Radio-Projekt hat so viel Spaß gemacht. Ich habe so viel gelernt. Ganz besonders gut fand ich es, fremde Menschen zu interviewen und dies per Mikrofon aufzuzeichnen. Nie zuvor habe ich so viel so viel über die Bearbeitung von Audiodateien gelernt, wie hier. Dieses Projekt ist ein untrennbarer Teil meines Lebens geworden – durch alle neuen Freunde, die neuen Techniken und die Zeit in München.“ Paridhi Chawla

"Es war eine sehr tolle Erfahrung. Ich kann nicht glauben, wie viel ich in dieser Woche gelernt habe! Jetzt weiß ich viel mehr über das Radio, darüber bin ich sehr glücklich. Wenn es eine Chance gibt, will ich das Projekt noch Mal machen!“ Simran Faizal

„Normalerweise sage ich nicht viel, aber ich habe während des Projekts mehr gesprochen. Die Interviews haben mir besonders gut gefallen. Die Leute habe ich auch super gefunden.“ Tanya Banerjee

„Naja, zu Anfang habe ich noch überlegt, ob ich für ein solches Projekt meine Ferien aufgeben soll, aber im Nachhinein bereue ich es kein Stück. Es war eine phantastische Erfahrung. Ich kann mir vorstellen, später im Hörfunk zu arbeiten.“ Annika Hösler