Film screening + Discussion Spiralling into desire by Brinda Jacob

spiralling_Brinda © SMART

Sat, 20.08.2022

18:00

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore

Spiralling into Desire brings together mover Brinda Jacob-Janvrin and filmmakers Roohi Dixit and Ziba Bhagwagar to document the Desire process. In this exploration of the authentic movement process, the camera is the witness and the relationship between filmmaker and mover is one of deep compassion. The embodied presence of both the mover and the witness allows for the transformation of the soul into substance. Spirit and matter are no longer separate and we’re in the presence of deep mystery.

Spiralling into Desire is part of the larger Desire Project which explores how we hold desire in our bodies. It races a woman’s descent into her deep body to access and retrieve her true autonomy and draws parallels from the first epic poem ‘The Descent of Inanna’. 

Team:
Performance artist: Brinda Jacob-Janvrin
Filmmakers: Roohi Dixit & Ziba Bhagwagar
Cinematographer: Preeta Jayaraman
Movement Dramaturg: Lina Gomez

The movement x film collaboration in its current iteration of 15 minutes is produced by the Studio for Movement Arts and Therapies Trust, in collaboration with Zero Rules, and is supported by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore.

The film is based on authentic movement practices, which is only possible with the presence of a witness, in this case, the audience. We would love for you to be a witness to this film.

Post the screening there will be a discussion with the artists and filmmaker which will be moderated by Nisha Susan.
Reserve your seat here.

Back

Filmscreening + Diskussion Spiralling into desire by Brinda Jacob

spiralling_Brinda © SMART

Sa, 20.08.2022

18:00

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore

Spiralling into Desire bringt die Tänzerin Brinda Jacob-Janvrin und die Filmemacherinnen Roohi Dixit und Ziba Bhagwagar zusammen, um den Prozess des Begehrens zu dokumentieren. Bei dieser Erkundung des authentischen Bewegungsprozesses ist die Kamera der Zeuge, und die Beziehung zwischen der Filmemacherin und der Tänzerin ist von tiefem Einfühlen geprägt. Die verkörperte Präsenz sowohl des Bewegenden als auch des Zeugen ermöglicht die Transformation der Seele in Substanz. Geist und Materie sind nicht mehr voneinander getrennt und wir befinden uns in der Gegenwart eines tiefen Geheimnisses.

Spiralling into Desire ist Teil des großen Desire Projekts, das erforscht, wie wir das Begehren in unserem Körper bewahren. Es verfolgt den Abstieg einer Frau in ihre Körpertiefe, um Zugang zu ihrer wahren Autonomie zu finden und diese wiederzuerlangen, und zieht Parallelen zum ersten epischen Gedicht " The Descent of Inanna". 

Team:
Performance-Künstlerin: Brinda Jacob-Janvrin
Filmemacherinnen: Roohi Dixit & Ziba Bhagwagar
Kamerafrau: Preeta Jayaraman
Bewegungsdramaturgie: Lina Gomez

Diese 15-minütige filmische Arbeit wird vom Studio for Movement Arts and Therapies Trust in Zusammenarbeit mit Zero Rules produziert und vom Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore unterstützt.

Der Film basiert auf authentischen Bewegungspraktiken, die nur durch die Anwesenheit eines Zeugen, in diesem Fall des Publikums, möglich sind. Wir würden uns freuen, wenn Sie Zeuge dieses Films werden.

Im Anschluss an die Vorführung findet eine Diskussion mit den Künstlerinnen und der Filmemacherin statt, die von Nisha Susan moderiert wird.
Reservieren Sie Ihren Platz hier.

Zurück