Digital Concert Hall

Digital Concert Hall 2021 © Berliner Philharmoniker, Digital Concert Hall.

Fri, 14.05.2021

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Park Mansions, Gate 4
57A, Park Street
700 016 Kolkata

We are back with Digital Concert Hall!

Daniel Barenboim and Yefim Bronfman perform Brahm's Piano Concerto No. 1

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in D minor, op. 15 (50 min.)
Yefim Bronfman piano

Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 1 in C minor, op. 68 (48 min.)

In this concert, the Berliner Philharmoniker, conductor Daniel Barenboim and pianist Yefim Bronfman present an all-Brahms programme. In addition to the First Symphony, they also perform the Piano Concerto in D minor, the first orchestral work that the composer presented to the public.

The genesis of both pieces shows how arduous and circuitous the process was in which Johannes Brahms conquered the great musical forms. It was not only what Brahms perceived as the incomparability of his role model Beethoven that proved to be a burden for the young composer, but also an article from 1853 in which Robert Schumann had predicted a great future for the 20-year-old Brahms as a creator of large-scale orchestral and choral works. While Brahms worked on his First Symphony for 14 years, the Piano Concerto, planned first as a sonata for two pianos, then as a symphony, changed genres several times. In the concerto, a passionately agitated first movement is followed by an Adagio of hymn-like grace, which Brahms himself described as a “gentle portrait” of his friend Clara Schumann, and a captivating final rondo. With the Berliner Philharmoniker, Yefim Bronfman follows in the footsteps of the composer who himself was the soloist in the D minor Concerto with the orchestra in January 1884.
 
The failure of the work’s second performance in Leipzig in 1859 was to remain the last setback Brahms experienced on his way to becoming one of the most acclaimed composers of his time. Like Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony in C minor, the First Symphony “recommends itself” in Brahms’s own words “not through amiability”. It is underpinned by a rather tragic mood that only clears with the famous horn solo of the finale. The successful premiere in Karlsruhe nevertheless proved that Brahms had also developed into a worthy heir to Beethoven in the ultimate instrumental genre of the symphony.

Kindly click here to register yourself for the programme.
 

Back

Digital Concert Hall

Digital Concert Hall 2021 © Berliner Philharmoniker, Digital Concert Hall.

Fr, 14.05.2021

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Park Mansions, Gate 4
57A, Park Street
700016 Kolkata

Wir sind zurück mit Digital Concert Hall!

Berliner Philharmoniker: Daniel Barenboim und Yefim Bronfman mit Brahms erstem Klavierkonzert

Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 1 d-Moll op. 15 (50 Min.)
Yefim Bronfman Klavier

Johannes Brahms
Symphonie Nr. 1 c-Moll op. 68 (48 Min.)

Ein reines Brahms-Programm präsentieren in diesem Konzert die Berliner Philharmoniker, Dirigent Daniel Barenboim und Pianist Yefim Bronfman. Neben der Ersten Symphonie ist dabei mit dem Klavierkonzert in d-Moll das erste Orchesterwerk zu hören, das der Komponist der Öffentlichkeit vorlegte.

Die Entstehung beider Stücke zeigt, wie beschwerlich und umwegig sich der Prozess gestaltete, in dem Johannes Brahms die großen musikalischen Formen eroberte. Als Hypothek für den jungen Komponisten erwies sich nicht nur das als unerreichbar wahrgenommene Vorbild Beethovens, sondern auch ein Artikel von 1853, in dem Robert Schumann dem 20-jährigen Brahms eine große Zukunft als Schöpfer von Orchester- und Chorwerken vorausgesagt hatte. Während Brahms an seiner Ersten Symphonie 14 Jahre lang arbeitete, wechselte das zunächst als Sonate für zwei Klaviere, dann als Symphonie geplante Klavierkonzert mehrfach die Gattungen. Im Konzert folgt auf einen leidenschaftlich-aufgewühlten ersten Satz ein Adagio von hymnischer Anmutung, das Brahms selbst als ein sanftes Porträt der Freundin Clara Schumann bezeichnete. Es schließt mit einem mitreißenden Final-Rondo. Yefim Bronfman tritt in die Fußstapfen des Komponisten, der den Solopart des d-Moll-Konzerts bei dessen Aufführung durch die Berliner Philharmoniker im Januar 1884 persönlich übernommen hatte.
 
Der Misserfolg der zweiten Darbietung des Werks in Leipzig im Jahre 1859 sollte der letzte Rückschlag bleiben, den Brahms auf seinem Weg zu einem der anerkanntesten Komponisten seiner Zeit erfuhr. Die wie Beethovens Fünfte in c-Moll stehende Erste Symphonie empfiehlt sich, so Brahms, zwar nicht durch Liebenswürdigkeit. Ihre von einer eher tragischen Grundstimmung geprägte Atmosphäre lichtet sich erst mit dem berühmten Hornsolo des Finales. Doch spätestens die erfolgreiche Uraufführung in Karlsruhe stellte unter Beweis, dass Brahms sich auch in der instrumentalen Königsgattung der Symphonie zu einem würdigen Erben Beethovens entwickelt hatte. 

Bitte klicken Sie hier, um sich für das Programm zu registrieren.
 

Zurück