Transatlantic
Gaming Summit

  • Luther Game Jam © Goethe-Institut

  • Harmonix © Goethe-Institut

  • Gamer at MIT © Goethe-Institut

  • Luther Game Jam © Goethe-Institut

  • Gruppenphoto © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Pax Overview © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Win a Trip to Gamescom © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Gameplay © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Stand © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Harvard Conference © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Games&Politics@Harvard © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Harvard Players © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Lea Schönfelder Pretty Woman © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Lea Schönfelder © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Games&Politics Wallplay © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Games&Politics Players © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Game Jam Participants © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Game Jam Players © Goethe-Institut Boston

German Booth at PAX East in Boston

After last year’s huge success, there will again be a German Booth at PAX East 2018 (Booth number 20049): nine German Indie-Designers will get the chance to present their games at one of the largest Games Festivals in the US. About 60 German Studios and Designers applied for a grant to attend PAX East from April 5-8, 2018. The booth has room for nine. Not an easy choice for our jury, made up of leading experts of the German gaming scene: Thorsten Hamdorf (Director of Marketing, BIU), Sebastian Bulas (Founder, Art Director and Producer at Threaks), Björn Bartholdy (Director Cologne Games Lab). The following studios will participate – chosen to represent a cross section through Germany’s budding gaming scene:

 

Alex Zwerger

Hamburg, Studio: rose-engine
Game: Signalis

Alex Zwerger is a half-Chinese game developer who grew up in Munich. After studying computational linguistics and graphic design in Southern Germany, he graduated in illustration in 2016. Currently he is enrolled in the "Interactive Illustration and Game Design" Master's program in Hamburg, where he develops the mystery survival horror title Signalis with his partner, Barbara Wittmann. In developing games, he hopes to tackle subjects related to cultural identity, language, technology and philosophy.
 

Stephan Hövelbrinks

Game: Death Trash

Indie Game Developer, self-taught artist and programmer. Creator of dozens of small games, including a series of 'One game a week'. Creator of Death Trash, a post-apocalyptic roleplaying game. Painting daily art for over 1000 days now. Known on Twitter and at events for his tools development and pixelart style. Member of the first German Indie Games Collective Saftladen Berlin.
 

Daniel Marx

Hamburg, Osmotic Studio
Game: Orwell - Ignorance is Strength

Daniel is a game designer and producer at Osmotic Studios, a small Hamburg team of game developers. In 2016 the studio launched their award-winning debut project "Orwell," an interactive thriller about data espionage. Originally Daniel studied computer science at the University of Paderborn. After graduation, he made his first steps in the games industry at the Hamburgian game developer Daedalic Entertainment, before continuing his studies at the HAW Hamburg in the "Games Master". In the study program he developed in a team the project "GroundPlay", which won the German Computer Game Award in 2013. Although "GroundPlay" was discontinued, the award win made it possible to found Osmotic Studios. Daniel is currently working on the sequel to Orwell on disinformation and fake news titled "Orwell: Ignorance is Strength."
 

Patrick Rau

Berlin, Studio Mad about Pandas
Game: Hitchhiker

Patrick has developed and produced several award winning games for various platforms. The game “The Great Jitters: Pudding Panic” was 5th best reviewed iPhone Game 2011 with a Metascore of 95. Patrick visualizes his role in the interactive design and game industry as a designer, game-designer, author and producer.
 

Caroline Flesch

Munich, Studio Cubinauts
Game: Cubiverse

Caroline is the level designer for the 3D-Puzzle Adventure “Cubiverse”. Furthermore, she is working as a freelance producer for several projects in Munich, organizing the Gamecamp Munich and the Games/Bavaria Vernissage. As a producer, she believes that genuine passion and teamwork are as essential for game development as skill and dedication.
 

Daniel Helbig

Berlin, Studio: Megagon Industries

Game: Lonely Mountains: Downhill

Daniel Helbig works as a Game Designer in the German Games industry since 2008. In 2010 he became part of the founding team of the game thinking agency „Die Hobrechts“, who went on to develop the critically acclaimed children game „Karl’s Castle“. In 2013 he became co-founder of the independent development studio Megagon Industries. Since the release of “... and then it rained” and “Twisted Lines” the studio works on their new downhill mountain biking game „Lonely Mountains: Downhill“.
 

Lukas Krebs

Frankfurt am Main, Studio: LeadFollow Games

Game: Tiny Tanks

Lukas is currently finishing his bachelor‘s degree in games programming. Since the age of 7 he has built a firm understanding of programming in general and is continuously expanding his already deep knowledge about the Unity engine. Although being very technical, he also has an eye for aesthetics and polish.
 

Sinikka Compart

Hamburg, Mooneye Studios
Game: Lost Ember

Sinikka originally studied English Literature and Media at the Universities of Hamburg and Manchester. After graduating, she started working in voice-over for games like Skyrim, Dishonored and Rage, after a while she decided she wanted to be closer to development and spent the following years at Goodgame Studios, Hamburg, before joining Mooneye Studios in 2017. They are currently working on Lost Ember and planning for release in Fall of 2018.

Gr8ArtGames - Game Jam Boston

Struggling Dreams Team © © Goethe-Institut Boston Struggling Dreams Team © Goethe-Institut Boston

Breaking News: Struggling Dreams is the winner!

The game was chosen from the three best games created during the 48-hour Game Jam on May 19-21 at the Goethe-Institut Boston by a jury of German game developers: Struggling Dreams will represent Boston at the finals in Germany in 2018 and will receive mentoring in preparation. Congratulations!

Our Partners

PAX East 2017 © Goethe-Institut Boston

PAX East

German Computer Game Designers at PAX East in Boston, March 2017.

Szene

About the Project

The ‘’gaming phenomenon’’ plays a significant role in the academic center of Boston: top universities such as MIT, Northeastern University or Dartmouth College have been integrating gaming modules into their academic teaching programs for years. Meanwhile, gaming is also a prominent economic competitor to, for instance, the movie industry. Likewise, impressive gaming centers have been established at Germany universities (Cologne Game Lab, Berlin, Kassel, Stuttgart….).
Our project focuses on the exchange of important players in the German and US gaming scene. We’d like to introduce German game designers to their US counterparts and foster connections between them. We’d like to establish a transatlantic network of leading players, primarily in the Indie Game Scene. An exchange of ideas and products and cooperation across borders is our goal. Building on the academic potential in the Boston/Cambridge area, we are especially reaching out to academic counterparts in Germany. Together with our partners we are exploring the following questions:
How can the limits of games be expanded?
How can you bridge the divide between academia and the real world?
How do you market new, playable ideas?

Top

Transatlantic
Gaming Summit

  • Luther Game Jam © Goethe-Institut

  • Harmonix © Goethe-Institut

  • Gamer at MIT © Goethe-Institut

  • Luther Game Jam © Goethe-Institut

  • Gruppenphoto © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Pax Overview © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Win a Trip to Gamescom © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Gameplay © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Stand © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Harvard Conference © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Games&Politics@Harvard © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Harvard Players © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Lea Schönfelder Pretty Woman © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Lea Schönfelder © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Games&Politics Wallplay © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Games&Politics Players © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Game Jam Gruppe © Goethe-Institut Boston

  • Game Jam Players © Goethe-Institut Boston

Deutscher Gemeinschaftsstand bei PAX East in Boston

Nach dem großen Erfolg im letzten Jahr bekommen deutsche Indie-Entwickler 2018 wieder die Chance, sich auf einem der größten Games-Festivals der USA dem Publikum zu präsentieren. Rund 60 deutsche Studios und Entwickler hatten sich für eine Teilnahme bei der PAX East vom 5.-8.April 2018 in Boston beworben. Für neun Designer gibt es Platz am Gemeinschaftsstand (Standnummer 20049) – keine leichte Wahl für unsere Jury, bestehend aus anerkannten Experten der deutschen Games-Szene: Björn Bartholdy (Director des Cologne Game Lab), Thorsten Hamdorf (Marketingleiter des BIU), Sebastian Bulas (Mitgründer, Art Director und Producer von Threaks). Wer geht zur PAX? Hier mehr zu den glücklichen Neun, ausgewählt, um einen Querschnitt des deutschen Games-Nachwuchs abzubilden:


 

 

Alex Zwerger

Hamburg, Studio: rose-engine
Game: Signalis

Alex Zwerger ist bei München mit seiner halbchinesischen Familie aufgewachsen. Nachdem er Computerlinguistik und Kommunikationsdesign in Süddeutschland studierte, hat er 2016 seinen Bachelor in Illustration an der HAW Hamburg gemacht, wo er nun Interaktive Illustration und Game Design im Master studiert. Zusammen mit seiner Partnerin Barbara Wittmann entwickelt er derzeit Signalis, ein klassisches Survival-Horror Spiel mit einer melancholischen Mystery-Geschichte. In seinen Spielen untersucht er Themen wie kulturelle Identität, Sprache, Technologie und Philosophie.
 

Stephan Hövelbrinks

Game: Death Trash

Indie-Entwickler, Autodidakt, Künstler und Programmierer. Entwickler einer Reihe von kleineren Spielen, etwa der Reihe ‚One game a week‘. Sein Spiel Death Trash, zu sehen auf der PAX, ist ein post-apokalyptisches Rollenspiel. Malt jeden Tag, seit über 1000 Tagen. Mitglied der ersten deutsche Indie Games Kollektive, Saftladen Berlin.
 

Daniel Marx

Hamburg, Osmotic Studios
Game: Orwell - Ignorance is Strength

Daniel ist Game Designer und Producer bei Osmotic Studios, einem kleinen Hamburger Team von Spieleentwicklern. Im Jahr 2016 brachte das Studio sein preisgekröntes Debütprojekt „Orwell“, einen interaktiven Thriller über Datenspionage, auf den Markt. Daniel studierte Informatik an der Universität Paderborn. Nach dem Abschluss machte er seine ersten Schritte in der Gamesbranche beim Hamburger Spielestudio Daedalic Entertainment, bevor er an der HAW Hamburg im „Games Master“ weiterstudierte. Im Studiengang entwickelte er im Team das Projekt „GroundPlay“, welches 2013 den Deutschen Computerspielpreis gewann. Zwar wurde „GroundPlay“ nicht fortgeführt, doch ermöglichte der Gewinn die Gründung von Osmotic Studios. Gegenwärtig arbeitet Daniel an der Fortsetzung von „Orwell“ zum Thema Desinformation und Fake News mit dem Titel „Orwell: Ignorance is Strength“.
 

Patrick Rau

Berlin, Studio Mad about Pandas

Game: Hitchhiker

Patrick hat bereits mehrere preisgekrönte Spiele für entwickelt und produziert. Das Spiel “The Great Jitters: Pudding Panic” war das 5.best bewertet iphone Spiel 2011, mit einem Metascore von 95. Patrick sieht sich in der interaktive Welt der Game Industrie als Entwickler, Produzent und Autor.
 

Caroline Flesch

München, Studio Cubinauts
Game: Cubiverse

Caroline hat das 3D Puzzle-Abenteuer “Cubiverse” mit entwickelt. Außerdem arbeitet sie freiberuflich an verschiedenen Projekten in München. Sie hat das Gamecamp München und die Games/Bavaria Vernissage mitorganisiert. Als Produzentin glaubt sie, daß Leidenschaft und Teamwork unbedingt zur Entwicklung von Spielen dazu gehören.

Daniel Helbig

Berlin, Studio: Megagon Industries

Game: Lonely Mountains: Downhill

Daniel Helbig arbeitet seit 2008 als Game Designer in der Spielebranche. 2010 wurde er Teil des Gründungsteams der Game Thinking Agentur „Die Hobrechts” in Berlin, die unter anderem das preisgekrönte Kinderspiel „Die Wimmelburg” entwickelte. 2013 mitbegründete er das Entwicklerstudio „Megagon Industries“. Nach dem Release von „… and then it rained“ und „Twisted Lines“ arbeitet das Studio seit 2017 an dem Downhill Mountain Biking Game „Lonely Mountains: Downhill".

Lukas Krebs

Frankfurt am Main, Studio: LeadFollow Games

Game: Tiny Tanks

Lukas macht gerade seinen Bachelor im Fach games programming. Seit er sieben Jahre alt ist, erweitert er sein Verständnis am Programmieren im allgemeinen. Besonders spannend findet er die „Unity engine“. Obwohl in erster Linie technisch interessiert, hat er auch Sinn für die Ästhetik und den letzten Schliff eines Spiels.

 

Sinikka Compart

Hamburg, Mooneye Studios
Game: Lost Ember

Sinikka hat Englische Literatur und Medien an den Universitäten Hamburg und Manchester studiert. Im gaming hat sie zuerst als Sprecherin für Spiele wie Skyrim, Dishonored and Rage angefangen. Dann begann sie, sich mehr für Spiele-Entwicklung zu interessieren und arbeitete einige Jahre bei Goodgame Studios, Hamburg. 2017 fing sie bei Mooneye an. Zur Zeit arbeitet sie am Spiel Lost Ember, das im Herbst 2018 auf den Markt kommen soll.

Utz Stauder

Köln, Studio: Ludopium
Game: Isometric Epilepsy

Utz Stauder ist Programmierer und Co-Gründer des Kölner Entwicklerstudios Ludopium. Geboren 1989 im Herzen des Ruhrgebiets – Gelsenkirchen – verschlug es ihn nach dem Abitur in die Medienstadt Köln. Hier studierte er Medieninformatik und arbeitete viele Jahre im Film- und TV-Bereich bevor er 2014 das Digital Games Studium am Cologne Game Lab entdeckte und vom linearen in den Bereich der interaktiven Medien wechselte. Das aktuelle Projekt von Ludopium heißt Isometric Epilepsy, ist ein rhythmischer Puzzleplatformer und wurde jüngst als zweitbestes Nachwuchskonzept beim deutschen Computerspielpreis 2017 ausgezeichnet. Zusätzlich zu seiner Arbeit als Spielentwickler unterrichtet Utz Game Programming an der School of Games in Köln.

Gr8ArtGames - Game Jam Boston

Struggling Dreams Team © © Goethe-Institut Boston Struggling Dreams Team © Goethe-Institut Boston


...und der Gewinner ist: Struggling Dreams!

Im Rennen waren elf Spiele, alle entstanden bei unserem 48-Stunden Game Jam vom 19. - 21. Mai am Goethe-Institut Boston. Eine Jury von deutschen Spieleentwicklern hat nun den Gewinner der drei Finalisten ermittelt: Struggling Dreams wird für Boston in die Endrunde gehen und bekommt Hilfe und Unterstützung bei der Weiterentwicklung. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

Unsere Partner

PAX East 2017 © Goethe-Institut Boston

PAX East

Deutsche Computerspiel-Entwickler bei der PAX East in Boston.

Szene

Über das Projekt

Das Phänomen „Gaming“ spielt in der Bildungsmetropole Boston eine wichtige Rolle: führende Universitäten wie MIT, Northeastern University oder Dartmouth College integrieren Gaming-Module seit Jahren in ihren Lehrbetrieb und auch als Wirtschaftsfaktor ist Gaming mittlerweile eine ernste Konkurrenz etwa zur Filmindustrie. Auch in Deutschland haben sich an den Universitäten beeindruckende Zentren für Spielekultur entwickelt (Cologne Game Lab, Berlin, Kassel, Stuttgart….) Das Projekt Transatlantic Gaming Summit des Goethe-Instituts Boston möchte den Austausch zwischen wichtigen Protagonisten der deutschen und amerikanischen „Gaming Szene“ intensivieren und den Akteuren den Zugang den jeweiligen Märkten erleichtern. Es soll ein Netzwerk von führenden Akteuren dies - und jenseits des Atlantik geschaffen werden, das den Austausch von Ideen und Produkten befördert und zur grenzüberschreitenden Zusammenarbeit einlädt.
Gemeinsam untersuchen wir aktuelle Fragen:
Wie können die Grenzen von Spielen erweitert werden?
Wie können Studenten und Akademiker mit Akteuren aus der Praxis zusammenarbeiten, um neue, spielbare Ideen auf den Markt zu bringen?
Welche Rolle können „Games“ bei der Kommunikation und Reflexion relevanter politischer und sozialer Fragen spielen?

Top