Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Hand reaching for another hand with doves flying between them© Dan Mohr/yes.i.said

Relay Freedom

What happens when nine SAIC alumni meditate on the topic of freedom?
How do they relay freedom? Can it be passed to the next person like a baton?
Can freedom be communal? Must it be individual?
 
RELAY FREEDOM -- is a series of video works by nine artists, curated by Mark Jeffrey. Starting November 12, a new artist will present their work on this website and the social media channels of the Goethe-Institut Chicago. Your reaction to these posts will serve as one model of how freedom spreads: is it via social media of an organization, via word of mouth, through the artist communities? Does it make a difference who knows about it, talks about it, shares it?
 

Corey Smith © Corey Smith

12. Nov 2021
Corey Smith

I've recently been captivated by rhythms that are humanly unintuitive — arrhythmic, off kilter, too slow or too fast. Is there something free here, at the extremity of perception? What is the feeling of freedom in sound?
 

Maryam Faridani Banner © Maryam Faridani

19. Nov. 2021
Maryam Faridani

Free of charge > Free of care > Free of cost > Free of germs > Free of tax > Free of zone > Free of state > Free of rules > Free of burden > Free of pain > Free of disease > Free of germs > Free of lies > Free of truth > Free of words > Free of fear > Free of mind > Free of nets > Free of errors > Free of fault > Free of guilt > Free of harm > Free of love > Free of hate > Free of god > Free of Freedom. 

Nereida Patricia  Banner © Nereida Patricia

26. Nov. 2021
Nereida Patricia

Exhale Completely is a video poem that explores a mermaid’s sense of bodily constraint and freedom. What must we shed or leave behind to be our true selves? Artist Nereida Patricia poses as a mermaid herself, narrating a post-transformation meditation on how to find the ecstatic.

Helen Lee Banner © Helen Lee

03. Dec. 2021
Helen Lee

The performances I create often examine facets of trauma, racism, xenophobia, grief, shame, healing and meanings of home that are rooted in honoring, understanding and celebrating life, death, identity and ancestral lineage. 
 

Máire Witt O'Neill Banner © Máire Witt O'Neill

10. Dec. 2021
Máire Witt O'Neill

My work sits between dispute and mediation, both materially and inter-personally. Through multiple modes of communication, my work seeks to undermine constructs of a broadly defined 'authority'—striving for stability in groundlessness. My work is often not what it seems and exactly what it seems, simultaneously.

Michael Winfield Banner © Michael Winfield

17. Dec. 2021
Michael Winfield

Freedom
To create
Live outside the norms.
Without fears.
Creating your own
Being. Without
Limits. Seeing
Yourself in others
Without Qualms
Freedom - Transcend - Go beyond

Sungjae Lee Banner © Sungjae Lee

07. Jan. 2022
Sungjae Lee

In an attempt to present and create space for varied presentations of masculinity, my practice brings attention to queer Asian men and their desires, which have been regarded as effeminate, desexualized, and thus invisible in the West.

Aram Atamian Banner © Aram Atamian

14. Jan. 2022
Aram Atamian

I make performance and lens-based work that represents the ways that fantasy infiltrates our experience of self, identity and geography. Specifically, my recent projects have focused on concepts of belonging within people living in diaspora, and how queer identities are expressed through re-enactment. 
 

Sal Moreno Banner © Sal Moreno

21. Jan. 2022
Sal Moreno

By using motion-capture in live performances, I am able to play and interact with visuals/sounds generated by the body in real-time, creating an exchange that further bridges the physical and the digital realms.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Hand reaching for another hand with doves flying between them© Dan Mohr/yes.i.said

Relay Freedom

Was passiert, wenn neun SAIC-Alumni über das Thema Freiheit nachdenken?
Wie können sie die Freiheit weitergeben? Kann man sie wie einen Staffelstab an die nächste Person weitergeben?
Kann Freiheit gemeinschaftlich sein? Muss sie individuell sein?
 
RELAY FREEDOM -- ist eine Reihe von Video-Werken von neun Künstlern, kuratiert von Mark Jeffrey. Ab dem 12. November wird ein neuer Künstler seine Arbeit auf dieser Website und den Social Media Kanälen des Goethe-Instituts Chicago vorstellen. Ihre Reaktion auf diese Beiträge wird als ein Modell dafür dienen, wie sich Freiheit verbreitet: über die sozialen Medien einer Organisation, über Mundpropaganda, über die Künstlergemeinschaften? Macht es einen Unterschied, wer davon weiß, darüber spricht, es teilt?

Corey Smith © Corey Smith

12. Nov. 2021
Corey Smith

In letzter Zeit haben mich Rhythmen fasziniert, die für den Menschen unintuitiv sind - unrhythmisch, aus dem Gleichgewicht geraten, zu langsam oder zu schnell. Gibt es hier etwas Freies, am äußersten Rand der Wahrnehmung? Was ist das Gefühl von Freiheit im Klang?

Maryam Faridani Banner © Maryam Faridani

19. Nov. 2021
Maryam Faridani

Gebührenfrei > Pflegefrei > Kostenfrei > Keimfrei > Steuerfrei > Zonenfrei > Staatsfrei > Regelfrei > Lastfrei > Schmerzfrei > Krankheitsfrei > Keimfrei > Lügenfrei > Wahrheitsfrei > Wortfrei > Angstfrei > Geistesfrei > Netzfrei > Fehlerfrei > Schuldfrei > Schadensfrei > Liebesfrei > Hassfrei > Gottesfrei > Frei von Freiheit.

Nereida Patricia  Banner © Nereida Patricia

26. Nov. 2021
Nereida Patricia

Exhale Completely ist ein Videogedicht, das den Sinn einer Meerjungfrau für körperliche Einschränkung und Freiheit erforscht. Was müssen wir ablegen oder zurücklassen, um unser wahres Selbst zu sein? Die Künstlerin Nereida Patricia schlüpft selbst in die Rolle einer Meerjungfrau und erzählt eine Meditation darüber, wie man nach der Verwandlung das Ekstatische findet.

Helen Lee Banner © Helen Lee

03. Dez. 2021
Helen Lee

In meinen Performances beschäftige ich mich oft mit den Facetten von Trauma, Rassismus, Fremdenfeindlichkeit, Trauer, Scham, Heilung und der Bedeutung von Heimat, die in der Ehrung, dem Verständnis und der Feier von Leben, Tod, Identität und Abstammung verwurzelt ist.

Máire Witt O'Neill Banner © Máire Witt O'Neill

10. Dez. 2021
Máire Witt O'Neill

Meine Arbeit steht zwischen Konflikt und Mediation, sowohl materiell als auch zwischenmenschlich. Ich versuche, Konstruktionen von Autorität zu untergraben und strebe nach Stabilität in der Grundlosigkeit. Zusammenarbeit fördert Testideen, indem sie sich einer singulären Perspektive widersetzt.

Michael Winfield Banner © Michael Winfield

17. Dez. 2021
Michael Winfield

Freiheit
Zu schaffen
Außerhalb der Normen zu leben.
Ohne Ängste.
Schaffe dein eigenes
Sein. Ohne
Grenzen. Sehe
Dich selbst in anderen
Ohne Bedenken.
Freiheit - Transzendieren - Jenseits gehen

Sungjae Lee Banner © Sungjae Lee

07. Jan. 2022
Sungjae Lee

In dem Versuch, verschiedene Darstellungen von Männlichkeit zu präsentieren und Raum dafür zu schaffen, lenkt meine künstlerische Praxis die Aufmerksamkeit auf queere asiatische Männer und ihre Sehnsüchte, die im Westen als verweichlicht, desexualisiert und damit unsichtbar gelten.

Aram Atamian Banner © Aram Atamian

14. Jan. 2022
Aram Atamian

Ich mache Performances und objektivbasierte Arbeiten, die die Art und Weise darstellen, wie die Fantasie unsere Erfahrung von Selbst, Identität und Geografie infiltriert. Meine neuesten Projekte konzentrieren sich auf Konzepte der Zugehörigkeit von Menschen, die in der Diaspora leben, und darauf, wie queere Identitäten durch Reenactment ausgedrückt werden.

Sal Moreno Banner © Sal Moreno

21. Jan. 2022
Sal Moreno

Durch den Einsatz von Motion-Capture in Live-Performances kann ich mit vom Körper erzeugten Bildern und Klängen in Echtzeit spielen und interagieren und so einen Austausch schaffen, der eine weitere Brücke zwischen dem physischen und dem digitalen Bereich schlägt.

Top