Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Radical Diversity

Discussion Series
Radical Diversity

The societies of Europe and North America are multi-faceted and complex, with many people from multitudes of different faith-based, ideological, cultural, racial, and ethnic backgrounds. Right-wing extremism, everyday racism and racialized microaggressions, and pressure to “assimilate” – all of these constructs affecting racialized minorities result from an inability and unwillingness to respect and appreciate the radical diversity that underscores our societies. Words like “belonging” and “identity” are buzzwords often referring to problems allegedly stemming from the extent of diversity in our societies.


Next event

...to be announced

Prejudice is a burden that confuses the past, threatens the future and renders the present inaccessible.

Maya Angelou


The Conversations

RADICAL-DIVERSITY-LA © Goethe-Institut

Los Angeles

The kick-off of the discussion series was in Los Angeles, where Mohamed Amjahid and Max Czollek discussed political activism and diversity with Priscilla Layne, one of the pioneers of Black German Studies and a Professor of German and African American Diaspora Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

More about the event in Los Angeles
 

Radical Diversity: Houston © Goethe-Institut

Houston

The discussion continued in Houston, where Max Czollek and Corinne Kaszner from the Institute for Social Justice & Radical Diversity discussed how art and curation can be expressive modes for Radical Diversity with Houston-based curators Jeannette “Joy” Harris and Ashley DeHoyos.

More about the event in Houston

Radical Diversity: Seattle © Goethe-Institut

Seattle

In the Seattle edition of the series, Mohamed Amjahid discussed questions of liminality and safer spaces for artists, activists, and communities in gentrified neighborhoods with Elisheba Johnson, co-founder of the Black art center Wa Na Wari, writer and filmmaker Charles Mudede, and Rana San, Artistic Director of Northwest Film Forum.

More about the event in Seattle

Radical Diversity Mexiko © Goethe-Institut

Mexico City

At the end of October 2020, the series continued in Mexico City, where Max Czollek spoke to three independent curators from Mexico City: Violeta Horcasitas, Clara Bolívar (Tlaxcala3) and Alí Cotero (Tlaxcala3). They discussed the current state of critical curatorial practices, both within the context of the Mexican museum and outside it. They also examined the structural and social “walls” one encounters in Mexico.

More about the event in Mexico City

Radical Diversity: Montreal © Goethe-Institut

Montreal

The fifth edition of the discussion series was hosted by the Goethe-Institut Montreal, where Mohamed Amjahid spoke with Art Historian Charmaine Nelson about white knowledge production, looking back from a Black-Canadian perspective and a new era for Anthropology and Social Sciences.

More about the event in Montreal

Radical Diversity: Boston ©Goethe-Institut

Boston

In the last discussion of 2020, hosted by the Goethe-Institut Boston, Max Czollek and Mohamed Amjahid spoke with an anthropologist and an award-winning podcaster about the role of Jewish and Muslim communities in contemporary society. Researcher Sultan Doughan and journalist/podcaster Rachael Cerrotti approach the subject from very different perspectives: one is scientific, one is personal.

More about the event in Boston

Radical Diversity DC - Key Visual © Goethe-Institut

Washington, D.C.

The first installment of the discussion series in 2021 was hosted by the Goethe-Institut Washington, D.C., where Mohamed Amjahid and Max Czollek spoke with Dr. Imani Woody about LGBTQI+ / SGL housing and related issues for the community, such as homelessness, social isolation, economic insecurity, health issues, and age discrimination.

More about the event in Washington, D.C.

Radical Diversity San Francisco - Key Visual © Goethe-Institut

San Francisco

For this year’s second installment of Radical Diversity hosted by the Goethe-Institut San Francisco we invited Abby Abinanti, Chief Judge for the Yurok Tribe in Klamath/California. The Yurok Tribe is currently the largest in California, with more than 6,000 enrolled members. Max Czollek and Mohamed Amjahid spoke with Abby Abinanti about differences in value systems and traditions, about her way of helping revive the tribe’s values, and her community-based, restorative approach to justice.

More about the event in San Francisco

About the project

How is radical diversity approached in Germany and North America? What can we learn from one another by taking a deeper look at the components of radical diversity and the different perspectives on them?
 
Max Czollek (“De-integrate Yourselves”) and Mohamed Amjahid (“Among Whites: What It Means to Be Privileged”) are two Millennial generation voices that have emerged from Germany in recent years. With a critical, multidimensional approach, Czollek and Amjahid examine the challenges faced by German and North American societies, as well as various visions for progress, by discussing them with experts in the USA, Canada, and Mexico.


Our Partners

“Radical Diversity” is a discussion series presented by several Goethe-Institut locations in North America in collaboration with its Goethe Pop Ups, the Thomas Mann House, and the Institute for Social Justice & Radical Diversity under the sponsorship of the Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung North America.

 

Heinrich Böll Stiftung Nordamerika

 

Logo VATMH

 

Logo Institut Social Justice and Radical Diversity

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Radical Diversity

Diskussionsreihe
Radical Diversity

Die Gesellschaften in Europa und Nordamerika sind vielfältig und komplex. In ihnen leben Menschen zusammen, die über unterschiedliche religiösen, weltanschaulichen, kulturellen und ethnischen Hintergründen verfügen. Rechtsextremismus, alltäglicher Rassismus sowie rassistische Mikroaggressionen und der Druck zur Assimilation benennen nur einige Phänomene unter vielen, mit denen von Rassismus betroffene Minderheiten konfrontiert sind. Sie resultieren aus dem Unvermögen und dem Unwillen, die unseren Gesellschaften innewohnende radikale Vielfalt zu respektieren und wertzuschätzen. Dabei fungieren Begriffe wie „Zugehörigkeit“ und „Identität“ als Schlagworte, die häufig herangezogen werden, um auf Probleme hinzuweisen, die angeblich durch die Vielfalt der Gesellschaften verursacht werden.


Nächste Veranstaltung

Ankündigung folgt in Kürze

Vorurteile sind eine Last, die die Vergangenheit verwirrt, die Zukunft bedroht und die Gegenwart unzugänglich macht.

Maya Angelou


Die Gespräche

RADICAL-DIVERSITY-LA © Goethe-Institut

Los Angeles

Das Kick-off der Diskussionsreihe fand in Los Angeles statt, wo Mohamed Amjahid und Max Czollek mit Priscilla Layne, einer der Vordenkerinnen der Black German Studies und Professorin für Germanistik und African and African American Diaspora Studies an der University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill diskutierten.

Mehr zu dem Event in Los Angeles

Radical Diversity: Houston © Goethe-Institut

Houston

Die Diskussion ging in Houston weiter, wo Max Czollek und Corinne Kaszner (Institut Social Justice & Radical Diversity) mit den in Houston ansässigen Kuratorinnen Jeannette „Joy“ Harris und Ashley DeHoyos über Kunst und Kuration als expressive Modi für Radical Diversity diskutierten.

Mehr über die Veranstaltung in Houston

Radical Diversity: Seattle © Goethe-Institut

Seattle

Im Oktober 2020 machte die Reihe einen virtuellen Zwischenstopp in Seattle, wo Mohamed Amjahid mit Elisheba Johnson (Wa Na Wari), Charles Mudede (The Stranger) und Rana San (Northwest Film Forum) Fragen zu Liminalität und Safer Spaces für Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Communities in gentrifizierten Stadtteilen besprachen.

Mehr über die Veranstaltung in Seattle

Radical Diversity Mexiko © Goethe-Institut

Mexiko-Stadt

Ende Oktober 2020 ging die Reihe in Mexiko-City weiter, wo Max Czollek mit den unabhängigen Kurator*innen Violeta Horcasitas, Clara Bolívar (Tlaxcala 3) und Alí Cotero (Tlaxcala 3) über die schwierige Situation kuratorischer Praktiken in- und außerhalb des mexikanischen musealen Kontext diskutierte. Sie gingen auch der Frage nach, welchen strukturellen und gesellschaftlichen „Mauern“ man in Mexiko begegnet.

Mehr über die Veranstaltung in Mexiko-Stadt

Radical Diversity: Montreal © Goethe-Institut

Montreal

Die fünfte Ausgabe der Diskussionsreihe wurde vom Goethe-Institut in Montreal veranstaltet, wo Mohamed Amjahid mit der Kunsthistorikerin Charmaine Nelson über weiße Wissensproduktion aus einer afro-kanadischen Perspektive und vor dem Hintergrund einer neuen Ära der Anthropologie und den Sozialwissenschaften sprach.

Mehr über die Veranstaltung in Montreal

Radical Diversity: Boston ©Goethe-Institut

Boston

In der letzten Ausgabe von Radical Diversity im Jahr 2020, organisiert vom Goethe-Institut Boston, ging es um die Rolle der jüdischen und muslimischen Gemeinden in unserer Gesellschaft. Max Czollek und Mohamed Amjahid unterhielten sich mit der Anthropologin Sultan Doughan und der Podcasterin Rachael Cerrotti, die sich dem Thema aus unterschiedlicher Perspektive nähern: einmal wissenschaftlich und einmal persönlich.

Mehr über die Veranstaltung in Boston

Radical Diversity DC - Key Visual © Goethe-Institut

Washington, D.C.

In der ersten Folge der Diskussionsreihe im Jahr 2021, machte den Aufschlag Washington, D.C., wo Mohamed Amjahid und Max Czollek mit Dr. Imani Woody über die Wohnsituation von LGBTQI+ / SGL Menschen sprachen und damit für die Community verbundenen Themen, wie Obdachlosigkeit, Soziale Isolation, Ökonomische Unsicherheit, Gesundheitliche Probleme und der Zugang zum Gesundheitswesen, sowie Altersdiskriminierung. 

Mehr über die Veranstaltung in Washington, D.C.

Radical Diversity San Francisco - Key Visual © Goethe-Institut

San Francisco

Zur zweiten Ausgabe der Diskussionsreihe Radical Diversity in diesem Jahr hat das Goethe-Institut San Francisco Abby Abinanti eingeladen, Chief Judge beim Yurok Tribe in Klamath/Kalifornien. Der Yurok Tribe ist aktuell der größte in Kalifornien mit mehr als 6000 Mitgliedern. Max Czollek und Mohamed Amjahid haben mit Abby Abinanti über Unterschiede in Wertesystemen und im Umgang mit Traditionen gesprochen, über ihre Arbeit, die Werte des Tribes wiederzubeleben und über ihren Ansatz zur Gerechtigkeit, der die Stärkung der Community in den Mittelpunkt stellt.

Mehr über die Veranstaltung in San Francisco

Über das Projekt

Wie werden die Diskurse im Zusammenhang mit radikaler Vielfalt in Deutschland und Nordamerika geführt? Was können wir voneinander lernen, wenn wir uns mit den verschiedenen Komponenten radikaler Vielfalt und den unterschiedlichen Perspektiven darauf auseinandersetzen?
 
Max Czollecks (Desintegriert euch!) und Mohamed Amjahids (Unter Weißen: Was es heißt, privilegiert zu sein) sind zwei Stimmen unter den Millennials die in den letzten Jahren in diesem Zusammenhang innerhalb Deutschlands laut wurden. Über einen kritischen und mehrdimensionalen Ansatz diskutieren Max Czollek und Mohamed Amjahid sowohl die Herausforderungen, mit denen die Gesellschaften in Deutschland und Nordamerika konfrontiert sind, als auch verschiedene Visionen, denselben konstruktiv zu begegnen, mit Expert*innen in den USA, Kanada und Mexiko.


Unsere Partner

„Radical Diversity“ wird von Goethe-Instituten Nordamerikas in Zusammenarbeit mit den Pop Ups, dem Thomas-Mann-Haus und dem Institut Social Justice & Radical Diversity unter der Trägerschaft der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung präsentiert.
 

Heinrich Böll Stiftung Nordamerika

 

Logo VATMH

 

Logo Institut Social Justice and Radical Diversity

 

Top