Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
WIIT visual© WIIT

Social VR Meetups for Womxn
Connect!

A VR meetup series for women and gender-marginalized people in the field of immersive technology.

Through these meetups, we aim at connecting women and gender-marginalized people from Canada and Europe working in the creative industries and around immersive technologies to create new international connections and foster potential cooperation.  

Each meetup takes on a different focus and highlights three inspiring persons from Europe and Canada, all working at the intersection of technology, art and media giving enough space for short presentations and the possibility to network in a safe and fun virtual environment.  

Sara Lisa Vogl is a futurist, collaboratively exploring and constructing new virtual and augmented realities to inspire, unite and enrich humanity. With a background in communication arts & interactive media and a love for the idea of new worlds, Sara is on a mission to go beyond the status quo of what immersive virtual realities are and explore their diverse potentials for the future. Besides developing and directing XR experiences, Sara is studying humanoid robotics, deepening her knowledge about sensors, haptics and the intersection between algorithms and real worlds. In her free time you can find Sara DJing in VR at electronic music events.
 

About Women in Immersive Tech Europe 

 (WIIT) is a european network of women in the creative industries and around immersive technologies based in Brussels, Berlin, Paris, Vienna, Lisbon and Barcelona. The network wants to break barriers and to be an inspiration for women in Immersive Technologies all over the world. The WIIT community is a place to connect, meet like-minded women from across Europe and beyond, and find the resources to learn and grow.  

More info about WIIT here: www.wiiteurope.org  

Partners in Montreal: Felix & Paul Studios, AdaX, Conseil québécois des arts médiatiques - CQAM 


Next Meetup

...soon to be announced.


Documentation

Womxn in immersive tech meeting #3 © Wiit

Video
Meetup #3: Art & XR

Meetup #3
Introductions by Sara Lisa Vogl, co-founder of Women in Immersive Tech Europe and New Nature participant. As well as Erandy Vergara, curator and researcher. 

Presentations by artists Tamiko Thiel (DE) and Tosca Terán (CA). Including a VR-live biodata-sonification of Mycelial Networks between Reality by Tosca Terán aka Nanotopia.

After two successful events in June and October, this third meeting was all about art and immersive technologies.

The focus was on on topics related to our ongoing project New Nature, an international exchange between contemporary artists, filmmakers, immersive and VR creators, technologists, and climate scientists from Canada, Germany, Mexico and the US. The invited speakers were participating experts from New Nature. In their work they use complex biological, interspecies and computer-based systems to question our relationship to the natural world.
 
 

 Clip Meetup #2 © WiiT

Video
Meetup #2 : Gaming

This second episode of Connect! - Womxn in Immersive Tech focused on Games, inclusion and diversity in the world of immersive games.

There was an introduction by Ahn Mur, researcher and VR Games Designer about Dames Making Games (DMG) and her journey the VR Gaming industry. Gina Hara from Concordia University's Technoculture Institute, Arts and Games presented GAMERella, a game jam and workshop series that caters to women and marginalized people who haven’t had a chance to make a game before. And Ioulia Isserlis, founder of AnotherWorldVR, a German studio for the production of virtual reality experiments intrduced us to her work. Her Kobold VR experience blurs the lines between immersive cinema and virtual reality games.

Women In Immersive Tech Treffen # 1 © WiiT

Video
Meetup # 1 : New Nature

The first meetup revolved around the themes of anthropocene, climate change, humanity and its impact on space and featured introductions by Leen Segers (WIIT) and multi-media artist Olvia McGilchrist (Studio XX) as well as presentations by Ylva Hansdotter (XR Impact) and Connie Kuang (Felix & Paul Studios). 

Ylva Hansdotter, member of WIIT, is the founder and director of "XR Impact" and presented her project Be Earth Experience, an immersive educational work on climate change. 

Connie Kuang is the Director of Marketing at Felix & Paul Studios. She presented Space Explorers, Felix & Paul Studios’ latest ambitious project in collaboration with NASA.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Connect!© Goethe-Institut/WiiT

VR Meetups
Connect!

Eine VR-Meetup-Reihe für Frauen und gender-marginalisierte Personen im Bereich immersiver Technologie.


Mit diesen Meetups wollen wir Frauen und geschlechtsspezifisch marginalisierte Personen aus Europa und Kanada, die in der Kreativwirtschaft und im Bereich immersiver Technologien arbeiten, miteinander verbinden, um neue internationale Verbindungen zu schaffen und die potenzielle Zusammenarbeit zu fördern.   

Jedes Meetup hat einen anderen Schwerpunkt und stellt drei inspirierende Personen aus Europa und Kanada vor, die alle an der Schnittstelle von Technologie, Kunst und Medien arbeiten. Die Veranstaltungen bieten genügend Raum für kurze Präsentationen und die Möglichkeit zum Netzwerken in einer sicheren und unterhaltsamen virtuellen Umgebung.   

Sara Lisa Vogl ist eine Futuristin, die neue virtuelle und erweiterte Realitäten erforscht und konstruiert. Sara hat einen Hintergrund in (Kommunikationsdesign und interaktiven Medien und liebt die Idee neuer Welten. Sie hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht über die Grenzen heutiger immersiver virtueller Realitäten hinauszugehen und ihre vielfältigen Potenziale für die Zukunft zu erforschen. Neben der Entwicklung und Leitung von XR-Erfahrungen kuratiert und begleitet Sara langfristige VR-Reisen. Die in Berlin und Montreal lebende Futuristin erforscht neue Interaktionskonzepte wie die innovative Handlokomotion-Methode in ihrer Experience Lucid Trips sowie experimentelle Arten des Storytellings. Im Prozess der Kreation immersiver Installationen setzt sich Sara mit Sensoren, Haptik und der Schnittstelle zwischen Algorithmen und realen Erlebniswelten auseinander.
 

Über Women in Immersive Tech Europe 

Women in immersive Tech Europe (WIIT) ist ein europäisches Netzwerk von Frauen in der Kreativwirtschaft und rund um immersive Technologien, gegenwärtig ansässig in Brüssel, Berlin, Paris, Wien, London, Lissabon und Barcelona. Ziel des integrativen Netzwerks ist es Barrieren zu durchbrechen und eine Inspiration für Frauen in immersiven Technologien auf der ganzen Welt zu sein. Die WIIT-Gemeinschaft ist ein Ort, an dem man Kontakte knüpfen, gleichgesinnte Frauen aus ganz Europa und darüber hinaus treffen und die Ressourcen finden kann, um zu lernen und zu wachsen.  

Mehr Informationen hier: www.wiiteurope.org  


Nächste Veranstaltung

Ankündigung folgt in Kürze


Dokumentation

Connect #5 Disembodiment © WiiT

Video
Meeting # 5 : Dis/Embodiment

Der Schwerpunkt dieses Meetings lag auf DIS/EMBODIMENT in VR.

Einführung und Kuration von Peggy Schoenegge (DE), freie Kuratorin, Autorin und Projektleiterin bei peer to space sowie Vorsitzende des Medienkunstvereins in Berlin.
Präsentationen von Zeesy Powers (CA), Medienkünstlerin (This Could Be You) und von Carly Lave (US/DE), Choreografin und Tänzerin (GOLEM).

CONNECT! Meetup #4 | CinematicVR © WIIT

Video
Treffen # 4 Cinematic VR

Bei diesem vierten Treffen drehte sich alles um Kino und Virtual Reality: CINEMATIC VR

Einführung von Astrid Kahmke (DE), Direktorin des European Creator‘s Lab
Keynote von Maria Courtial (DE), Geschäftsführerin des VFX- und VR-Studios Faber Courtial
Fireside-Chat mit Cathy Hackl (USA), Futuristin, VR/AR Producerin und Vordenkerin, moderiert von Sara Lisa Vogl

Womxn in immersive tech meeting #3 © Wiit

Video
Treffen #3: Art & XR

Dieses dritte Treffen stand ganz im Zeichen von Kunst und immersiven Technologien.

Einführungen durch Sara Lisa Vogl, Mitbegründerin von Women in Immersive Tech Europe und Teilnehmerin von New Nature, sowie von Erandy Vergara, Kuratorin und Forscherin. 
Präsentationen der Künstlerinnen Tamiko Thiel (DE) und Tosca Terán (CA). Inklusive einer VR-Live-Biodaten-Sonifikation von Mycelial Networks between Reality von Tosca Terán aka Nanotopia.

Der Fokus lag auf Themen im Zusammrnhang mit unserem Projekt New Nature.
 
 

 Clip Meetup #2 © WiiT

Video
Treffen #2 : Gaming

Diese zweite Episode von Connect! - Womxn in Immersive Tech konzentrierte sich auf Spiele, Inklusion und Diversität in der Welt der immersiven Spiele.

Es gab eine Einführung von Ahn Mur, Forscherin und VR-Spieldesignerin, über Dames Making Games (DMG) und ihr Karriereweg vom Film in die VR-Spielindustrie. Gina Hara vom Technoculture Institute, Arts and Games der Concordia-Universität präsentierte GAMERella, eine Game Jam- und Workshop-Reihe, die sich an Frauen und Randgruppen richtet, die noch nie die Chance hatten, ein Spiel zu entwickeln. Und Ioulia Isserlis, die Gründerin von AnotherWorldVR, einem deutschen Studio für die Produktion von Virtual-Reality-Experimenten, führte uns in ihre Arbeit ein. Ihr Projekt Kobold VR verwischt die Grenzen zwischen immersivem Kino und Virtual-Reality-Spielen.

Women In Immersive Tech Treffen # 1 © WiiT

Video
Treffen # 1 : New Nature

Das erste Treffen drehte sich um die Themen Anthropozän, Klimawandel, Menschheit und ihre Auswirkungen auf den Weltraum und bot Einführungen von Leen Segers (WIIT) und der Multimedia-Künstlerin Olvia McGilchrist (Studio XX) sowie Präsentationen von Ylva Hansdotter (XR Impact) und Connie Kuang (Felix & Paul Studios). 

Ylva Hansdotter, Mitglied von WIIT, ist die Gründerin und Direktorin von "XR Impact" und stellte ihr Projekt Be Earth Experience vor, ein umfassendes pädagogisches Werk über den Klimawandel. 

Connie Kuang ist die Direktorin für Marketing bei den Felix & Paul Studios. Sie stellte Space Explorers, das neueste ehrgeizige Projekt der Felix & Paul Studios in Zusammenarbeit mit der NASA, vorstellen.

Top