Library
Lending

Goethe-Institut/Guy Lambert Goethe-Institut/Guy Lambert

Dear library patrons,
 
we have adapted our library services to the current situation:
 
How to borrow documents:
Please take a look at our catalogue at montreal.bibliothek.goethe.de to make your selection. Send an email to bibliothek-montreal@goethe.de with your first and last name, library card number, and the links to the documents you'd like to borrow. You will receive a loan notification by email when your loan has been prepared – please wait until you receive this email before coming by.
 
You'd like to borrow documents, but are not yet registered with our library? You can register online via our website. Please fill in this form, to enter the most important data for your registration and to confirm your email address in advance. Then come to the library within the following 28 days to complete the registration process. The library team will also be happy to inform you during your visit. We'd like to take this opportunity to announce that the library registration is now free of charge.
 
For now, only loans made with a reservation are possible. Access is limited to the reception area. Reading and working on site are not available.
 
How to return your documents:
You can return your documents at all times in our drop chute, located next to the employees' entrance on Ontario street. You can also return your documents at the reception when you come by to pick up your loans. Returns will be registered as soon as possible, and the documents will be set aside for one week before being put back into circulation. (Please do not take it upon yourselves to disinfect the documents, as this could damage them.)
 
The return date for loans has been extended to November 20 for all current loans. We'd like to remind you that we do not charge late fees.
 
Please respect our hygiene guidelines during your visit (wearing a face cover, hand cleaning with hydro-alcoholic gel on arrival, physical distancing). If you have symptoms that may be related to Covid-19, please postpone your visit.

We thank you for your understanding and collaboration, and look forward to seeing you soon!
 
Your library team at the Goethe-Institut Montreal

The library is open to the general public. Reference use of the library and information centre is free of charge.

To borrow books and other materials, you need a valid library membership. To obtain one, simply fill out a membership card and show a proof of ID and address. You can also register online via our website. Please fill in this form beforehand, to enter the most important data for your registration and to confirm your email address in advance. Then come to the library within the following 28 days to complete the registration process. The library team will also be happy to inform you during your visit.

Fees
Library membership free for all.

Registration for a child under 12 years of age is made under the name and responsibility of one of their parents (regular or reduced fee if applicable), who is responsible for the child's subscription privileges.

Loan periods
  • 4 books and 4 CDs: 4 weeks 
  • 4 language documents (Medienpaket): 4 weeks
  • 4 newspapers/magazines: 2 weeks
  • 4 DVDs: 1 week 

If you cannot bring back the documents during the library opening hours, you may return them at the reception service of the Goethe-Institut.

You can also return your documents outside of our opening hours using our drop chute, situated along our Ontario Street facade. Large format documents have to be returned at the reception during our opening hours.

Renewals
With the exception of items that have been reserved by another patron, items may be renewed THREE times (except for language documents, which can only be renewed ONCE). You can renew your loans with our online catalogue, per telephone or email (see "Address and opening hours").

Remote Service 
If you live in Ottawa, in the province of Québec outside of the Montreal area or in the Atlantic provinces, you can borrow documents from the Goethe-Institut Montréal library by writing an email to:  bibliothek-montreal@goethe.de.

The Goethe-Institut will cover the postal charges for the mailing but not for the return.
A valid library card is required for the loan of documents. This card will be issued on the spot upon presentation of valid ID(s) with the following personal information: name & postal address. It is the patron’s responsibility to notify the Goethe-Institut by mail or in person of any changes to this information.
 
Patrons’ personal data will be transmitted and stored in a database of the Goethe-Institut in Germany and only be used for the purpose of validating, executing and completing the library loan agreement. The Goethe-Institut shall take every possible precaution to ensure that the stored personal data will not be used for irrelevant purposes or communicated with third parties, unless permitted or required by the Private Sector Privacy Act (RLRQ c P-39.1).

After 15 months of inactivity on an account, it will be erased, in accordance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the European regulation on the protection of personal data.
 
Patrons may request to see their personal data at any time and, if necessary, to correct it by writing to: Bibliothek-montreal@goethe.de

Overdue documents

For overdue material, THREE reminders will be sent via email. With the third reminder, your library membership will be suspended. Borrowing privileges will be reinstated once the documents have been returned and/or the replacement fee has been paid.
 
We do not charge overdue fines.

Loss or Damage

Patrons are responsible for returning library materials in good condition.  In the case of loss, theft, or damage, a replacement fee will be charged.

Compliance with applicable laws

The user is obligated to respect the copyright as well as data privacy and the existing laws. In case of infraction of those laws the user is held accountable.
DVDs may be borrowed for PERSONAL or EDUCATIONAL use only.

Computer

A computer is at your disposal for searches in our library's catalog and to browse our website (goethe.de). Computer usage is limited to 15 minutes. Sessions shut down automatically. The use of USB flash drives is not permitted. The illegal or incorrect use of the electronic equipment leads to immediate deprivation of user privileges.

Wi-fi

There is free wireless internet in the Goethe-Institut. The password is available at the reception.


The violation of these conditions can result in temporary or permanent deprivation of user privileges.

Bibliothek
Ausleihe

Goethe-Institut/Guy Lambert Goethe-Institut/Guy Lambert

Liebe Bibliotheksbesucherinnen und -besucher,

aufgrund der aktuellen Hygienerichtlinien ist unsere Bibliothek bis auf weiteres geschlossen. Es besteht jedoch die Möglichkeit, nach Voranmeldung Bücher auszuleihen. Unsere Bibliothekarin beantwortet gerne Ihre Emails!

Wie Sie Dokumente ausleihen können:

Bitte treffen Sie in unserem Katalog unter montreal.bibliothek.goethe.de Ihre Auswahl. Senden Sie dann eine E-Mail an bibliothek-montreal@goethe.de mit Ihrem Vor- und Nachnamen, der Nummer Ihres Bibliotheksausweises und den Links zu den Dokumenten, die Sie ausleihen möchten.

Sie möchten Dokumente ausleihen, sind aber noch nicht in unserer Bibliothek registriert? Füllen Sie das Formular hier aus. Wir möchten Sie daran erinnern, dass die Anmeldung in der Bibliothek kostenlos ist.

Zurzeit ist nur die Ausleihe mit Reservierung möglich. Der Zugang ist auf den Empfangsbereich beschränkt. Das Lesen und Arbeiten vor Ort ist nicht möglich.

Wie Sie Ihre Dokumente zurückgeben können:

Sie können Ihre Dokumente jederzeit in unserem Einwurfschacht neben dem Mitarbeitereingang in der Ontario Street abgeben. Sie können Ihre Dokumente auch an der Rezeption zurückgeben, wenn Sie Ihre Kredite abholen. Die Rückgabe wird noch am selben Tag registriert, und die Dokumente werden eine Woche lang aufbewahrt, bevor sie wieder in Umlauf gebracht werden. (Bitte desinfizieren Sie die Dokumente nicht selbst, da sie dadurch beschädigt werden könnten).

Die Frist für die Rückgabe von Ausleihen wurde für alle laufenden Ausleihen bis zum 25. Februar 2022 verlängert. Wir möchten Sie daran erinnern, dass wir keine Säumnisgebühren erheben.
 
Bitte beachten Sie während Ihres Besuchs unsere Hygienerichtlinien (Tragen eines Gesichtsschutzes, Reinigung der Hände mit hydroalkoholischem Gel bei der Ankunft, körperlicher Abstand). Wenn Sie Symptome haben, die mit Covid-19 zusammenhängen könnten, verschieben Sie bitte Ihren Besuch.

Wir danken Ihnen für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Mitarbeit und freuen uns darauf, Sie bald wiederzusehen!

Die Bibliothek ist öffentlich und die Benutzung von Büchern und Medien in der Bibliothek ist kostenlos.

Um ein Mitglied unserer Bibliothek zu werden, müssen Sie ein Anmeldeformular ausfüllen und einen Identitätsnachweis und Adressnachweis vorzeigen. Sie können sich auch online über unsere Website anmelden. Bitte füllen Sie vorher dieses Formular aus, um die wichtigsten Daten für Ihre Anmeldung einzugeben und Ihre E-Mail-Adresse vorab zu bestätigen. Kommen Sie dann innerhalb der folgenden 28 Tage in die Bibliothek, um den Registrierungsprozess abzuschließen. Das Bibliotheksteam wird Sie auch gerne während Ihres Besuchs informieren.

Gebühren
Die Mitgliedschaft ist kostenlos für alle.

Die Einschreibung eines Kindes unter 12 Jahren wird im Namen, und auf Verantwortung und Rechnung eines Elternteiles vorgenommen. Diese Person trägt auch die Verantwortung für die Pflichten des Abonnements.

Ausleihfristen
  • 4 Bücher, und 4 CDs: 4 Wochen
  • 4 Sprachdokumente/Medienpakete: 4 Wochen
  • 4 Magazine: 2 Wochen
  • 4 DVDs: 1 Woche

Wenn Sie nicht während der Öffnungszeiten der Bibliothek kommen können, geben Sie die Dokumente bitte an der Rezeption des Instituts ab.

Sie können Ihre Dokumente auch außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten zurückgeben, indem Sie unsere Bücher-Klappe für Rückgaben - an der Fassade des Goethe-Instituts Richtung rue Ontario - benutzen. Sehr große Bücher und Dokumente müssen an der Rezeption während unserer Öffnungszeiten zurückgegeben werden.

Verlängerungen
Mit Ausnahme von Medien, die von anderen Benutzern vorgemerkt wurden, können Medien DREIMAL verlängert werden (Sprachdokumente können allerdings nur EINMAL verlängert werden). Sie können Ihre Ausleihe in unserem Online-Katalog, telefonisch oder per E-Mail verlängern. (Siehe "Adresse und Öffnungszeiten").

Fernleihe
Wenn Sie in Ottawa, in der Provinz Québec außerhalb von Montréals Gebiet oder in den Atlantikprovinzen wohnen, können Sie trotzdem Medien aus der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Montréal ausleihen, indem Sie eine Email an folgende Adresse schreiben:  bibliothek-montreal@goethe.de

Das Goethe-Institut übernimmt die Portokosten für die Sendung, nicht für die Rücksendung.
Zum Ausleihen von Büchern und audiovisuellen Medien ist ein gültiger Benutzerausweis erforderlich. Dieser wird nach Vorlage des Personalausweises vom Goethe-Institut vor Ort ausgestellt.
 
Die Benutzerdaten werden in einer Datenbank des Goethe-Instituts in Deutschland gespeichert und lediglich zum Zwecke der Begründung, Durchführung und Beendigung des Bibliothek-Leihvertrags verwendet. Die gespeicherten Daten werden nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.
 
Wenn ein Konto 15 Monate lang nicht genutzt wurde, wird es gemäß der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DSGVO), der Verordnung der europäischen Union zur Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten, gelöscht.

Benutzer haben jederzeit die Möglichkeit, die zu ihrer Person gespeicherten Daten einzusehen, und können jederzeit Korrekturen über bibliothek-montreal@goethe.de einreichen.

Überfällige Medien

Für überfällige Medien werden insgesamt DREI Mahnungen per Email versandt. Bei der dritten Mahnung wird Ihr Bibliothekskonto gesperrt. Die Ausleihberechtigung wird nach Rückgabe der Dokumente und/oder Bezahlung der Ersetzungsgebühren wieder freigeschaltet.

Mahngebühren werden nicht erhoben.

Verlust oder BeSchädigung

Benutzer sind dafür verantwortlich, dass Medien in einem guten Zustand zurückgegeben werden. In Falle von Verlust, Diebstahl oder Beschädigungen wird eine Gebühr für den Ersatz des Mediums/der Medien erhoben.

Respektierung geltenden Rechts

Ebenso verpflichten Sie sich dazu, das Urheberrecht zu respektieren ebenso wie den Datenschutz und entsprechendes geltendes Recht. Bei einer Zuwiderhandlung wird der Benutzer zur Verantwortung gezogen.
DVDs dürfen ausschließlich für PERSÖNLICHE oder BILDUNGSZWECKE entliehen werden.

Computer

Für die Suche im Katalog unserer Bibliothek und auf unserer Website (goethe.de) steht Ihnen ein Computer zur Verfügung. Die Benutzung des Computers ist auf 15 Minuten begrenzt, danach werden die Sitzungen automatisch beendet.  Die Verwendung von USB-Sticks ist nicht gestattet. Die illegale oder unerlaubte Nutzung der elektronischen Geräte führt zu einer sofortigen Entziehung der Nutzungsrechte.

Wi-fi

Im Goethe Institut gibt es einen kostenlosen, drahtlosen Internetzugang. Das Passwort erhalten Sie am Empfang.

 
Die Nichteinhaltung dieser Bedingungen kann zu einer temporären oder dauerhaften Entziehung der Benutzerberechtigungen führen.