Goethe-Institut Toronto
How We Work

Principles of Co-operation Photo Goethe-Institut Toronto/Tobias Wang

The development of major projects depends, now more than ever, on people and institutions willing to support challenging and visionary work. Additional resources from foundations, partner organizations and private sponsors help us to realize exceptional projects aimed at promoting international understanding.

You can support our work as a collaborater sponsor or supporter. For example by supporting education or exchange projects, or if you want to deepen mutual cultural understanding through programmes in music, theatre and performing arts, please contact us. Together, we can reach more people and create a basis for lasting healthy relations.

The Cultural Programs of the Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut Toronto operates on a partnership basis. For individual projects, as for longer-term joint ventures, we connect with stakeholders in the cultural scene – institutions, organizations, companies, people in and from Canada, Germany, and other countries (in particular our European neighbours). Often a project involves several partners working together.

The Goethe-Institut organizes its programs proactively, on a long-term, sustainable basis. It is of special importance to us to jointly develop ideas and create dialogue between the stakeholder from the outset. Events and projects achieve their best results when they are planned cooperatively, starting with the original idea and proceeding via engaged discussions on the different formats and types of events, on the selection of artists and speakers, to the financing, scheduling, and organization. Thus all parties benefit from shared work loads and implementing projects together. Consequently, we request that you contact us as early as possible (about one year in advance) if you are interested in working with us so that mutual interests, content development and internal processes can be taken into account. Unfortunately, it is not possible to make financial contributions to projects which have already been planned without our participation.

Topics that interest us:

We focus on topics in multi-year cycles, currently:

  • Climate/Culture
  • Biocentric Art & Design
  • Global Feminisms
  • Visual Communication as a Global Language 
  • Shaping the Future: A Cultural Perspective
  • Shaping the Past: A Cultural Perspective
  • Civil Society
  • "Downtown"
  • German Film 
  • Film/Residencies
In general:
  • Current German cultural positions and scenes, contemporary ideas and artistic practices;
  • Germany, Canada, and Europe – art, culture, society, knowledge, cultural diversity, and perspectives of international exchange;
  • Cultural liaison between Germany and North America. 
Criteria that guide our work: 
  • The Goethe-Institut actively curates programs and is not a foundation or a funding body such as the Canada Council. Therefore, there is no formal application process for most of our projects-every project is unique.
  • The Goethe-Institut is an independent registered association. Our projects and programs are not-for-profit and serve the public good. We want to facilitate projects which would not take place without us.
  • Our target groups are Canadians. Consequently, our cultural programs are generally delivered in English. Exceptions are special events for students and teachers of German.
  • The Goethe-Institut is not a sponsor (on the contrary, we welcome sponsors!).
  • Every partner, including the Goethe-Institut, should retain its identity vis-à-vis audiences and the public and be able to communicate this identity visibly in an appropriate manner (from its logo to joint PR).
  • We are based in Toronto, but engage in selected strategic arts initiatives across Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan, for example major multi-city touring opportunities.
  • In addition to focusing on topics, information, and cultural content, we concentrate on creating sustainable relationships. We bring people together and contribute to the formation of global networks.
  • The Goethe-Institut likes to work within the framework of Germany-related series or clusters (for example, “The Future of Cities" & or "Culture talks @ Goethe”). In this framework, the visibility of German artists or contributions from Germany in the Canadian context is central.
  • We want to present the best and most exciting aspects of Germany's cultural life today. Our close co-operation with our cultural advisory councils in Germany, our Munich head office and with the other Goethe-Institutes in North America and the world ensures that our programs are relevant and of a high quality.
  • We do not have an in-house concert or screening hall, but we are happy to use our community space and classrooms for partner conferences, talks and presentations.
Would you like to work with us? Do you have a project or an idea which could bring us together? Please contact us with your suggestions.
 

Partnerships

The Goethe-Institut Toronto is privileged to collaborate with the following Canadian and German institutions, whom we thank for their continued support:

Schwerpunkte und Partner

Prinzipien der Zusammenarbeit Foto Goethe-Institut Toronto/Tobias Wang

Die Entstehung von großen Projekten hängt heute mehr denn je von Menschen und Institutionen ab, die diese Arbeit unterstützen. Zusätzliche Mittel von Stiftungen und privaten Förderern bedeuten für unsere Arbeit, dass wir herausragende Projekte zur Förderdung der europäischen Integration und internationalen Verständigung realisieren und Verantwortung übernehmen können.

Sie können unsere Arbeit als Sponsor oder als Förderer unterstützen. Wenn Sie sich im Bildungsbereich zum Beispiel für die Förderung der deutschen Sprache engagieren wollen, indem Sie Fortbildungs- oder Austauschprojekte unterstützen, oder wenn Sie mit Programmen in Musik, Theater, darstellender Kunst das gegenseitige Kulturverständnis vertiefen wollen, dann sprechen Sie mit uns. Gemeinsam erreichen wir zahlreiche Menschen und schaffen Grundlagen für andauernde freundschaftliche Beziehungen.

Die kulturelle Programmarbeit des Goethe-Instituts

Das Goethe-Institut Toronto arbeitet auf der Basis partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit. Für einzelne Projekte wie für dauerhafte Kooperationen verbinden wir uns mit Akteuren des kulturellen Lebens –Institutionen, Organisationen, Firmen, Personen– in und aus Kanada, Deutschland und anderen Ländern (insbesondere unseren europäischen Nachbarn). Oft finden sich bei einem Projekt mehrere Partner zusammen. 

Das Goethe-Institut gestaltet seine Programme proaktiv, langfristig und nachhaltig. Besonderen Wert legen wir auf die gemeinsame Entwicklung von Ideen und den Dialog von Beginn an. Die besten Ergebnisse erzielen Veranstaltungen und Projekte, wenn sie von der Ursprungsidee über die Diskussion verschiedener Formate und Veranstaltungsformen, die Auswahl von Künstlern und Referenten bis zu Finanzierung, Ablauf und Organisation gemeinsam geplant und in partnerschaftlicher Arbeitsteilung durchgeführt werden. Insofern bitten wir alle an einer Zusammenarbeit Interessierten um eine möglichst frühzeitige Kommunikation (ca. ein Jahr Vorlauf), damit wechselseitige Interessen, inhaltliche Beiträge und auch die internen Abläufe berücksichtigt werden können. Finanzielle Beiträge zu Projekten, die ohne unsere Beteiligung bereits geplant wurden, sind leider nicht möglich. 

Themen, die uns interessieren:

Priorität in der Programmplanung haben unsere Fokusthemen 2015-2018:  

  • Kultur(en) der Partizipation
  • Kultur und urbaner Raum
  • Gestaltung der Zukunft: die kulturelle Perspektive
  • Deutscher Film
Allgemein: 
  • Aktuelle kulturelle Positionen und Szenen, zeitgenössische Ideen und Kunstpraktiken aus Deutschland
  • Deutschland, Kanada und Europa – Kunst, Kultur, Gesellschaft, Wissen, kulturelle Vielfalt und Perspektiven des internationalen Austauschs
  • Kulturelle Verbindungsarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Nordamerika 
Kriterien, die uns leiten:
  • Das Goethe-Institut kuratiert aktiv Programme und ist kein Fonds und keine Stiftung wie etwa der Canada Council. Es gibt daher auch kein formales Antragswesen.
  • Das Goethe-Institut ist ein unabhängiger, eingetragener Verein. Unsere Projekte und Angebote sind not-for-profit und gemeinnützig. Wir wollen Projekte ermöglichen, die ohne uns nicht stattfinden könnten.
  • Unsere Zielgruppen sind Kanadier. Programme finden daher in englischer Sprache statt. Ausnahme: Spezielle Veranstaltungen für Deutschlerner und –lehrende.
  • Das Goethe-Institut ist kein Sponsor (im Gegenteil, wir suchen Sponsoren!).
  • Jeder Partner, auch das Goethe-Institut, soll gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit, Gästen und Publikum seine Identität bewahren und in der angemessenen Form sichtbar kommunizieren können (vom Logo bis zur gemeinsamen Pressearbeit);
  • Unser Standort in Kanada ist Toronto, aber wir engagieren uns mit ausgewählten strategischen Projekten in den Provinzen Ontario, British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba und Saskatchewan, insbesondere wichtige Tourneen durch mehrere Städte.
  • Im Mittelpunkt stehen für uns neben Themen, Information und Inhalten besonders die lebendigen, nachhaltigen Kontakte. Wir bringen Menschen zusammen und leisten Beiträge zur Bildung von internationalen Netzwerken.
  • Das Goethe-Institut arbeitet gerne im Rahmen von deutschen Reihen oder Schwerpunkten (wie z.B. „The Future of Cities“ oder „Culture talks @ Goethe"). Die Sichtbarkeit von deutschen Künstlern oder Beiträgen im kanadischen Kontext ist uns dabei wichtig.
  • Wir möchten das Beste und Anregendste aus aktueller deutscher Kultur präsentieren. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kulturexperten in der Münchner Zentrale sowie den anderen Goethe-Instituten in Nordamerika sichern wir die hohe Qualität und Relevanz unserer Programme.
  • Wir haben keinen eigenen Veranstaltungssaal; unsere Klassenräume und Bibliothek nutzen wir gern für Konferenzen und Empfänge.
Suchen Sie die Zusammenarbeit mit uns? Haben Sie ein Projekt oder eine Idee, die uns zusammenbringen könnte? Dann freuen wir uns auf Ihre Anregungen und Kontaktaufnahme

Partnerschaften

Folgenden kanadischen und deutschen Partnern danken wir für ihre langjährige Zusammenarbeit und ihre Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts Toronto: