Reading Transcending Borders: Yoko Tawada and the Fluidity of Language

Author Yoko Tawada © Heike Steinweg

Tue, 09/25/2018

The Japan Foundation, Toronto

The Japan Foundation
2 Bloor Street East, 3rd Floor
Toronto

Reading with author Yoko Tawada

Join us for a reading and conversation with the internationally-acclaimed writer Yoko Tawada as we discuss language, literature and crossing borders. The event will be moderated by Dr. Ted Goossen and PhD candidate, Yasmin Aly. The two will interview Yoko Tawada and explore her creative writing process, translation in literature and how meaning can change within a language, and how it can be used to transcend borders. The discussion will be followed by an audience Q&A and book signing. Yoko Tawada’s books will be available for purchase at the event.
 
Yoko Tawada was born in Tokyo and currently resides in Berlin. She writes in Japanese and German and has won numerous literary awards. Many of her works have been translated into English and other languages.

Ted Goossen (b. 1948) teaches Japanese literature and film at York University in Toronto. He is coeditor of Monkey Business International and the general editor of The Oxford Book of Japanese Short Stories, and has published translations of stories and essays by Hiromi Kawakami, Haruki Murakami, Yōko Ogawa, Sachiko Kishimoto and Naoya Shiga, among others.

Yasmin Aly is a researcher, artist, and educator invested in seeing international and local artists contribute to Toronto's cultural landscape through critical and contextualized art that speaks to the condition of a racialized cultural existence. Born in Cairo and drawing on lived and labored experiences in Germany and Egypt, she moved to Toronto to complete her PhD and further explore concepts of coloniality, representation, feminist activism, and art. She is currently a doctoral student at the University of Toronto completing research Arab and Muslim representations in contemporary German film and literature. Aly teaches courses on German language and culture at the University of Toronto and at the Goethe-Institut.

Please note that space is limited and you must RSVP to ensure entrance. Telephone 416-966-1600 or via the website.


 

Back

Lesung Transcending Borders: Yoko Tawada and the Fluidity of Language

Author Yoko Tawada © Heike Steinweg

Di, 25.09.2018

The Japan Foundation, Toronto

The Japan Foundation
2 Bloor Street East, 3rd Floor
Toronto

Lesung mit Autorin Yoko Tawada

Wir möchten Sie herzlich zur Lesung mit anschließendem Gespräch mit der international renommierten Schriftstellerin Yoko Tawada einladen. Im Rahmen dieses Abends wird nicht nur über Sprache und Literatur, sondern auch über das Überschreiten von Grenzen diskutiert. Die Veranstaltung wird von Herrn Professor Dr. Ted Goossen, Professor an der York University, und Frau Yasmin Aly, Doktorandin an der University of Toronto, moderiert. Beide werden im Interview mit Frau Tawada mehr über ihren kreativen Schreibprozess und allgemeine Übersetzung in der Literatur in Erfahrung bringen und erörtern,  wie sich Bedeutung innerhalb einer Sprache verändert und verwendet werden kann, um Grenzen zu überschreiten. Im Anschluss an die Diskussion wird es die Möglichkeit geben, Fragen zu stellen und Bücher signieren zu lassen. Die Bücher werden bei der Veranstaltung auch zum Verkauf stehen.
 
Yoko Tawada wurde in Tokio geboren und lebt zurzeit in Berlin. Sie schreibt sowohl auf Japanisch als auch auf Deutsch und hat bereits mehrere Literaturpreise erhalten. Viele ihrer Werke wurden ins Englische und andere Sprache übersetzt.
 
Ted Goossen (geboren 1948) unterrichtet japanische Literatur und Film an der York University in Toronto. Er ist Mitherausgeber der Literaturzeitschrift Monkey Business International sowie Herausgeber des Oxford Book of Japanese Short Stories. Unter anderem hat er Übersetzungen von Geschichten von Hiromi Kawakami, Haruki Murakami, Yōko Ogawa, Sachiko Kishimoto und Naoya Shiga veröffentlicht.
 
Yasmin Aly ist Akademikerin, Künstlerin und Pädagogin. In Toronto arbeitet sie aktiv mit lokalen und internationalen Künstlern_innen zusammen, um kritische Diskussionen zu rassifizierten Identitäten in den Vordergrund zu bringen. Frau Aly war in Ägypten und Deutschland tätig und bringt ihre Lebens- und Arbeitserfahrungen in ihre Forschung ein. Als Doktorandin an der Toronto Universität erforscht sie Konzepte von Kolonialismus, Repräsentation, feministischem Aktivismus und Kunst. In ihrer Dissertation untersucht sie Repräsentationen von Araber_innen und Muslim­_innen in zeitgenössischer deutscher Literatur und Film. Darüber hinaus unterrichet Frau Aly Literatur, Film sowie Deutsch als Fremdsprache an der Toronto Universität und am Goethe-Institut.

Anmeldung bitte telefonisch unter 416-966-1600 oder online auf folgender Website.

Zurück