OPEN MINDS: ADAPTING TO THE FUTURE

L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt. L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt. Open Minds © Goethe-Institut Toronto

International artists, experts & audiences in conversation about risk, resilience & resources

Presented by the Goethe-Institut & Harbourfront Centre

Global forces affect everyone – join us for an outdoor dialogue between German & Canadian thinkers & makers to explore how arts, culture and nature can help us adapt to a world in flux. Featuring thought leaders including Angela Merkel’s digital advisor Gesche Joost.

Amid increasing challenges to societal resilience in the face of global mega-trends, the Goethe-Institut Toronto is hosting outdoor encounters between European and Canadian experts investigating how arts, culture, and nature can help people absorb and process accelerating change manifested by emerging economic instability, mental health burdens, and climate change. Artistic interventions and accompaniments will inspire audiences to assign increased value to creativity, innovation, and cultural resilience.

The launch event theme is "Art as an Early Warning System." It features Gesche Joost, Professor for Design Research at Berlin’s University of the Arts, who heads its Design Research Lab and is Chancellor Merkel’s “Digital Champion” and EU Commission Advisor. Gesche will speak about “Design Fiction”. She will be joined by Toronto futurist Sanjay Khanna’s exploration of the arts and culture as early warning signals of societal risk.

The second conversation on the theme of "We or I? Doing Good in a Digital World" will feature former head of Transmediale Stephen Kovats, now director of Berlin’s r0g_agency for open culture and critical transformation, which aids in establishing a civic society in the new state South Sudan. Complementing Stephen’s presentation is Ilana Ben-Ari, founder of Toronto-based Twenty One Toys. Ilana will speak about socially innovative design and its role in helping children and adults become more collaborative.

An artistic dialogue on "Mindful/Digital: Art & Cultural Resilience" concludes the series. Hamburg artist Annika Kahrs, born in 1984, studied fine arts with Harun Farocki, among others, and works in photography, film, music, and even with live animals. In her video works on the dwarf planet Pluto she expressed an interest in how objects in a seemingly stable orbit are still subject to change. Her works have been exhibited from the Hamburger Bahnhof Berlin & the 5th Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art to the United Art Museum in Wuhan, China.

Open Minds will go out with a bang, courtesy of award-winning, Toronto-based Japanese rock band Muniz0, whose music touches on relationships amid social fragmentation. MunizO was formed in 2015 by Taro (vocal, acoustic guitar, key), Jiro (vocal, acoustic guitar) and Yuta (drums).

All conversations are followed by an open forum with the presenters and audiences.

PROGRAM:

  • June 14, 7:30pm: ”Art as an Early Warning System”
    Double keynote by designer Gesche Joost (Berlin) & futurist Sanjay Khanna (Toronto)
  • June 28, 7:30pm: ”We or I? Doing Good in a Digital World”
    Double keynote by media researcher Stephen Kovats (Berlin) & social entrepreneur Ilana Ben-Ari (Toronto)
  • July 12, 7:30pm: ”Mindful/Digital: Art & Cultural Resilience”
    Keynote by artist Annika Kahrs (Hamburg) & performance by Japanese rock band MunizO (Toronto).
Curated by Jutta Brendemühl & Sanjay Khanna

Catch up on the presentations here in August 2016
   
Watch intro videos on YouTube/GoetheToronto

Join the ongoing #OpenMinds conversation
@GoetheToronto
@JuttaBrendemuhl
@Sanjay1
@halpen
and others

OPEN MINDS: ADAPTING TO THE FUTURE

L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt. L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt. Open Minds © Goethe-Institut Toronto

Internationale Künstler, Experten & Publikum im Gespräch über Risiken, Resilienz & Ressourcen

Präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut & dem Harbourfront Centre Toronto

Globale Kräfte beeinflussen jeden – nehmen Sie teil an einem Dialog im Freien zwischen deutschen und kanadischen Denkern und Machern, um zu erkunden wie Kunst, Kultur und Natur dabei helfen können, sich in einer ständig wandelnden Welt zurechtzufinden. Mit Angela Merkels Internetbotschafterin Gesche Joost und anderen Visionären.

Angesichts ständig wachsender Herausforderungen für die gesellschaftliche Resilienz gegenüber globalen Megatrends lädt das Goethe-Institut Toronto zu unter freiem Himmel stattfindenden Begegnungen zwischen europäischen und kanadischen Denkern und Machern ein, die untersuchen wie Kunst, Kultur und Natur dem Menschen helfen können, die Informationsflut über zunehmende ökonomische Instabilität, die Bürden psychischer Erkrankungen und den Klimawandel aufzunehmen und zu verarbeiten. Künstlerische Interventionen und Begleitungen inspirieren dabei das Publikum, der Kreativität, der Innovation und der kulturellen Resilienz einen erhöhten Stellenwert zuzuschreiben.

Die Eröffnungsveranstaltung wartet auf mit Gesche Joost, Professorin für Designforschung an der Universität der Künste in Berlin, die zudem das Design Research Lab der Universität leitet und von Kanzlerin Merkel zu ihrer persönlichen Internetbotschafterin ernannt wurde. In dieser Funktion berät sie zudem die Europäische Kommission. Frau Joost wird über das Thema „Design Fiction“ sprechen. Unterstützt wird sie dabei von den Überlegungen des in Toronto lebenden Futuristen Sanjay Khanna zu Kunst und Kultur als Frühwarnsignale gesellschaftlicher Risiken.

Am zweiten Dialog nimmt der ehemalige Transmediale Leiter Stephen Kovats Teil, gegenwärtig Direktor der Berliner r0g_agency für offene Kultur und kritische Transformation, die unter anderem bei der Schaffung des neuen Staates Südsudan Beihilfe leistete. Ergänzt wird seine Präsentation von Ilana Ben-Ari, Gründerin der in Toronto ansässigen Firma Twenty-One Toys. Frau Ben-Ari wird über die Rolle sozial innovativen Designs in der Förderung von Empathie in Kindern und Erwachsenen sprechen. Das gemeinsame Thema lautet „Wir oder ich? Gutes tun in einer digitalen Welt“. Das gemeinsame Thema ist „We or I? Doing Good in a Digital World.“

Die Serie schließt mit dem künstlerischen Dialog über das Thema „Achtsam/digital: Kunst und kulturelle Resilienz“. Die 1984 geborene Hamburger Künstlerin Annika Kahrs studierte bildende Kunst, unter anderem mit Harun Farocki und arbeitet mit Fotografie, Film, Musik und sogar mit lebenden Tieren. In ihrer Videoarbeit über den Zwergplaneten Pluto offenbarte sie Interesse an Objekten, die sich scheinbar in stabiler Laufbahn befinden und sich dennoch verändern. Ihre Arbeiten wurden bisher unter anderem im Hamburger Bahnhof Berlin, auf der 5. Biennale von Thessaloniki und im United Art Museum in Wuhan, China ausgestellt.

Das Abschlussprogramm von Open Minds wird von der in Toronto ansässigen, preisgekrönten japanischen Gruppe Muniz0 gestaltet, deren Musik von Beziehungen vor dem Hintergrund gesellschaftlicher Fragmentierung handelt. Die dreiköpfige Gruppe wurde 2015 von Taro (Vocals, Akustikgitarre, Keyboard), Jiro (Vocals, Akustikgitarre) und Yuta (Percussion) gegründet.

Gefolgt von einem offenen Forum mit den Referenten und dem Publikum.

Programm:

  • 14. Juni, 19:30 Uhr:: ”Art as an early warning system”
    Doppel-Keynote von Designerin Gesche Joost (Berlin) & Futurist Sanjay Khanna (Toronto)
  • 28. Juni, 19:30 Uhr: ”We or I? Doing good in a digital world”
    Doppel-Keynote von Medienforscher Stephen Kovats (Berlin) & Sozial-Unternehmerin Ilana Ben-Ari (Toronto)
  • 12. Juli, 19:30 Uhr:”Mindful/Digital: Art & Cultural Resilience”
    Keynote von Künstlerin Annika Kahrs (Hamburg) und Performance der japanischen Rockgruppe MunizO (Toronto)
Kuratiert von Jutta Brendemühl & Sanjay Khanna

 
Lernen Sie die Redner auf YouTube kennen

Nehmen Sie an der fortlaufenden Diskussion teil:
@GoetheToronto
@JuttaBrendemuhl
@Sanjay1
@halpen
und andere