Film Screening FOR EYES ONLY by János Veiczi

© DEFA-Stiftung © DEFA-Stiftung

Thu, 03/12/2020

TIFF Bell Lightbox Toronto

350 King St. W.
Toronto

GOETHE FILMS: The End of Truth


Presented by the Goethe-Institut

From Fritz Lang’s genre-defining silent "Spies" to the Cold War and 21st century terror plots, East and West Germany have been at the centre of international espionage stories for a century. Our perception of good & evil in global conflicts might shift, but questions of identity, beliefs, loyalty, collusion & (self-)betrayal remain. Have we reached “the end of truth” as Leinemann’s recent German film title in our series suggests?

FOR EYES ONLY ("For Eyes Only – Streng geheim", East Germany 1963, 103 min.) written and directed by János Veiczi, starring Eva-Maria Hagen ("Wolf Among Wolves"), Helmut Schreiber ("Trace Of Stones"), Peter Marx ("Morituri"), Marion van de Kamp ("Intrigue And Love"), Ivan Palec ("Valmont")
New digitally restored version!

Preceded by a 1956 GDR newsreel on actual Stasi agent Horst Hesse (the basis of “For Eyes Only“), who infiltrated a West German CIA office.

After the screening, join us in the TIFF Luma Bar for an informal chat with Prof. Gabriele Müller, York U. Her research interests are German film and East German studies. She has published on cinematic discourses on cultural memory and the East German film studio DEFA, including articles such as “Going East, Looking West: Border Crossings in Recent German Cinema” and "Re-Imaging the Niche: Visual Reconstructions of Private Spaces in the GDR."


The most famous and successful spy thriller ever made in the GDR, personally awarded by Stasi Minister Mielke.

"A cleverly directed and well-performed spy thriller." – Lexicon of International Film

"The storyline and the character of Hansen were clearly based on the Western genre in terms of style, tone and tempo." – Zagreb Film Festival

Hansen is a double agent working for the East German secret police. He has infiltrated the American Military Intelligence Division, part of a network planning to invade the GDR. Hansen’s mission is to obtain and bring back classified, top-secret documents. After the cover of several US spies is blown, Hansen’s boss suspects a leak in his own ranks and has Hansen take a lie detector test.

This first East German spy thriller was a great hit with East German audiences. It was loosely based on real events from 1956, but the allegation of a Western plot to attack the GDR was fabricated – in part to justify having built the Berlin Wall two years prior. Some film critics described the film as the answer to the first James Bond film, Dr. No (1962).
 


Part of the Goethe-Institut's focus on German film.

Related Events:
SPIES
by Fritz Lang
BLAME GAME by Philipp Leinemann
 

Back

Filmvorführung CANCELLED- FOR EYES ONLY by János Veiczi

© DEFA-Stiftung © DEFA-Stiftung

Do, 12.03.2020

TIFF Bell Lightbox Toronto

350 King St. W.
Toronto

GOETHE FILMS: The End of Truth


Präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut

Von Fritz Langs genreprägendem Stummfilm SPIONE bis hin zu Filmen rund um den Kalten Krieg und Terror im 21. Jahrhundert – Ost- und Westdeutschland standen ein ganzes Jahrhundert lang im Mittelpunkt internationaler Spionagegeschichten. Unsere Wahrnehmung von Gut und Böse im Rahmen globaler Konflikte mag sich wandeln, Fragen der Identität, der Überzeugungen, der Loyalität, der geheimen Allianzen und des (Selbst)betrugs bleiben jedoch bestehen. Haben wir „Das Ende der Wahrheit“ erreicht, wie der deutsche Titel des Films von Philipp Leinemann nahelegt?

FOR EYES ONLY – STRENG GEHEIM (Ostdeutschland 1963, 103 min.), Drehbuch und Regie: János Veiczi, mit Eva-Maria Hagen („Wolf unter Wölfen“), Helmut Schreiber („Spur der Steine“), Peter Marx („Morituri“), Marion van de Kamp („Kabale Und Liebe“), Ivan Palec („Valmont“)
Neue, digital restaurierte Fassung

Als Einstieg wird eine Wochenschau der DDR aus dem Jahre 1956 über den Stasi-Agenten Horst Hesse gezeigt, der eine westdeutsche CIA-Zentrale ausspionierte. Die Geschichte des DDR-Agenten lieferte die Vorlage für den Film FOR EYES ONLY - STRENG GEHEIM.

Treffen Sie uns nach dem Film in der TIFF Luma Bar, wo Prof. Gabriele Müller (York University) für Fragen und Gespräche zur Verfügung steht. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen der deutsche Film mit speziellem Fokus auf die DDR. Sie publiziert filmwissenschaftliche Beiträge über das kulturelle Gedächtnis der DDR sowie über die DEFA, u.a. Artikel wie „Going East, Looking West: Border Crossings in Recent German Cinema“ und „Re-Imaging the Niche: Visual Reconstructions of Private Spaces in the GDR.“


Der bekannteste und erfolgreichste Spionagethriller, der jemals in der DDR produziert wurde, von Stasi-Minister Mielke persönlich ausgezeichnet.

„Ein geschickt inszenierter und gut gespielter Agententhriller!“ – Lexikon des internationalen Films

„Die Handlung und die Figur des Hansen waren in puncto Stil, Atmosphäre und Tempo eindeutig an die westliche Machart angelehnt.“ – Zagreb Film-Festival

Hansen ist ein Doppelagent, der für die Stasi arbeitet. Er wurde in den Geheimdienst der US-Streitkräfte eingeschleust, der Teil eines Netzwerkes ist, das Pläne für eine Invasion in die DDR schmiedet. Hansen ist damit beauftragt, als streng geheim eingestufte Dokumente an sich zu nehmen und zurückzubringen. Nachdem mehrere US-Spione enttarnt wurden, hegt Hansens Vorgesetzter den Verdacht, einen Maulwurf in seinen eigenen Reihen zu haben, und ordnet für Hansen einen Lügendetektortest an.

Dieser erste DDR-Spionagethriller kam beim ostdeutschen Publikum hervorragend an. Er beruhte teilweise auf wahren Ereignissen aus dem Jahr 1956. Die Behauptung, der Westen habe einen Angriff auf die DDR geplant, war jedoch frei erfunden – teilweise als Rechtfertigung für den Bau der Berliner Mauer zwei Jahre zuvor. Einige Filmkritiker bezeichneten den Film als die Antwort auf den ersten James-Bond-Film, Dr. No (1962).
 
 


Teil des Programmschwerpunkts Deutscher Film des Goethe-Instituts.

Weitere Veranstaltungen:
SPIONE 
von Fritz Lang
DAS ENDE DER WAHRHEIT von Philipp Leinemann
 

Zurück