Refunction

Refunction © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Refunction is a performance series inspired by one of the core principles of Bertolt Brecht’s theatre – Umfunktionierung (refunctioning), in which the composition of a new work is in the movement and tension between material, technique and function. Refunction is an initiative by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi.

Refunction 2020-2021

A digital performance series by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi
Refunction is a performance series by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi inspired by one of the core principles of Bertolt Brecht’s theatre – Umfunktionierung (refunctioning), in which the composition of a new work is in the movement and tension between material, technique and function.
 
In response to the challenges to performance-making in this present time, Refunction 2020-2021 has been reimagined to support work that actively and imaginatively engages with the question of what it is to produce and present dramatic work digitally.


Ngan Hiar Sha Wah (I’m going down to the River) © Lapdiang A. Syiem © Lapdiang A. Syiem
This project has been conceptualised using elements of digital storytelling to unfold the narrative of a heavily polluted river, ka Wah Umkhrah and its dying tributaries flowing through the city of Shillong in Meghalaya. Coming from a tradition and culture of orality we look at how stories can and in this case of an ecologically threatened water body, be told today, to nudge us inhabitants of the city to pay heed to the abuse and degradation it has been subjected to. Through the performance of memory using poetry, words, sounds and musical compositions including ki phawar and connecting these to visual expression, we have compiled a series of chapters taking the audience on a journey of the past, the blurred lines of memory, the present and the liminal spaces of lost narratives. How can we preserve these disintegrating memories in the world of the digital where memory can always be expanded to a premium package?

As we try to make sense of how the pandemic has affected our lives currently, the digital medium has become a space that we are forced to interact with in almost every aspect of our lives. With this project we have been able to use this platform to challenge ourselves to look beyond the literal and the perfect and instead to place ourselves as close to the spirit of the river as possible and capture what we encounter with the imperfections of documentation. But then what of the spaces we can no longer capture? As artists are we only framing the realities we exist in?

The team: Lapdiang A. Syiem, Juban Lamar, Abigail Nongsiej, Apkyrmenskhem Tangsong, Esther Syiem, Baston Singh Lyngdoh and a community of people who have shared with us their connection to the Umkhrah and its tributaries.

This is how you move them © Urvi Vora © Urvi Vora
Many posters from the post-colonial period show an image of a muscular Indian man with a thick, black moustache that curls up on both ends, and can be twisted on demand. He is shown speaking about the ‘Five Year Plan’ for India’s development next to a relatively lanky British soldier. There is this old saying Moochh nahi, toh kuchh nahi which directly translates to If you don’t have a moustache, you don't have anything. But in the border regions of Punjab, it is understood differently: If you don't have a moustache, you don't have a penis.

This is how you move them is a performative essay looking at the role of moustaches and penises at the Wagah Border Ceremony and the role of ideology in a democracy.

Visual and Sound Design by Sijya Gupta | Website Design by Hiren Kangad & Shaunaq Madan | Performed by Ankit Pandey and Lauren Robinson | Filmed by Annette Jacob | Mixed and Mastered by Jay Panelia | Written and Directed by Urvi Vora

Abhi.Neta, Aayenge © Last Seen © Last Seen
Abhi.Neta, Aayenge
is based on Ionesco’s play The Leader - written in 1953, it is an absurdist look at the role played by the media and hype in the creation of political propaganda. In this transmedia adaptation, the performance is not only located in the bodies of the actors, but also in the performance of technology itself: social media and news websites and other platforms “perform” in response to both algorithmic diktats as well as to user interaction. Digital communication tools show how these technologies are constantly leveraged to design different and competing versions of the truth, and the role that we as ​actors ​play through our own performances on these platforms. The performance is devised with an acute awareness of how the digital is already a hyper performative space, where identities and behaviours are enactments that are modulated by technology.

Abhi.Neta, Aayenge inverts the practices of storytelling: instead of hiding the structures of fiction-making, through its exploration of the themes of misinformation, the attention economy and fake news, it mimics the very real phenomenon that we currently see in the making of news - a nexus of social media hashtags generated by both fake and genuine sources that creates news in and of itself - a simulacrum of the actual news event, which no longer enters the news cycle without being mediated by the filters of social media outrage.
 
With: Paulanthony George, Varun Kurtkoti, Satchit Puranik and Padmini Ray Murray. 

Refunction 2018-2019

A performance series by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi
In early 2018 applications were invited for Refunction, a programme that aspires to encourage independent theatre artists and groups to create and develop new work, and offer them the space to present it at one of the city’s most vibrant cultural hubs. The programme for Refunction was decided through an open-call application process following which, a jury selected the final projects.
 


Refunction: Muhnochini © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan
Muhnochini is a devised solo piece that plays with forms of mythology and folklore. The narrative follows Tatha as he sets out on a mission to purge his community of this female beast that could inevitably lead to a path of self-destruction. Through Tatha’s relationships with the three female figures in the play - the mythical river Saraswati, his sister and Muhnochini - the play attempts at investigating the nature of positions of power and how they are upheld through religion, gender and social hierarchies.

Team Credits:
Director, Actor: Shardul Bhardwaj | Devised by: Shardul Bhardwaj, Afreen Sen Chatterji, Noel Sengupta, Siraj Sharma, Palak Verma | Co-written by: Shardul Bhardwaj, Noel Sengupta, Siraj Sharma | Production Manager: Anahita Dawar | Production: Vasudev Bose, Afreen Sen Chatterji, Palak Verma | Costume: Megha Khanna | Lights: Anuj Chopra | Sound: Aditya Kapoor

Unravel © Kaivalya Plays © Kaivalya Plays
Unravel is an attempt to look at the complex subject of mental health through a different perspective. The show explores the relationship between improvisation and issues such as anxiety and depression, through a series of physical games, scenes, vignettes and site specific explorations. The aim is to create a safe space, for both performers and the audience alike, to be in a position to acknowledge, understand and possibly, address their experiences and struggles with mental health. 

The show is produced by Kaivalya Productions under Refunction, a programme by the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi to support independent theatre practitioners in the city.

About The Group:
Kaivalya Plays is an independent group of Delhi theatre practitioners who seek to create more opportunities for women in theatre, mentor new talent and innovate theatre formats. Since 2012, Kaivalya Plays has worked with the kind support of various Delhi institutions to elaborate new performances. Kaivalya Plays's improvisation group CueLess Improv is also one of the capital's most prolific group of performers.

Refunction: Bhagi Hui Ladkiyan © Aagaaz Theatre Trust, 2018 © Aagaaz Theatre Trust, 2018
Bhagi Hui Ladkiyan is a devised, ensemble piece created for intimate spaces – both real and imaginary. The play is a collection of stories that begin on a seemingly random day and are first hand retellings of day to day in Nizamuddin Basti. The spectator is invited to enter the performer’s world; twisting into tales of how gender and sexuality plays out in the lives of the four actors.
 
The performance was conceived as a part of Gender Bender 2016, supported by Sandbox Collective and Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore and has been developed as a part of Refunction, a grant provided by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi.
 
Performed by
Jasmine, Nagina, Nagma, Zainab | Directed by Dhwani Vij | Produced by Aagaaz Theatre Trust | Lights Operation by Ismail | Sounds by Muzammil | Light Design by Tech Quartet | Stage Management by Muzammil, Ismail

Contact

Refunction
Email: refunction.mmb@gmail.com

Top

Refunction

Refunction © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Refunction ist eine Aufführungsreihe des Goethe Instituts / Max Mueller Bhavan Neu Delhi, deren Titel sich auf eines der Kernprinzipien des Brechtschen Theaters bezieht: die Umfunktionierung (Refunctioning), durch die das Theater vom Unterhaltungsmedium zum Katalysator gesellschaftlichen Wandels wird.

Refunction 2020-2021

A digital performance series by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi
Refunction is a performance series by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi inspired by one of the core principles of Bertolt Brecht’s theatre – Umfunktionierung (refunctioning), in which the composition of a new work is in the movement and tension between material, technique and function.
 
In response to the challenges to performance-making in this present time, Refunction 2020-2021 has been reimagined to support work that actively and imaginatively engages with the question of what it is to produce and present dramatic work digitally.


Ngan Hiar Sha Wah (I’m going down to the River) © Lapdiang A. Syiem © Lapdiang A. Syiem
Ngan Hiar Sha Wah ist ein digitales Theaterstück, das die Geschichte eines schwer verschmutzten Flusses erzählt - des Umkhrah und seiner ebenfalls leidenden Zuflüsse, die sich durch die Stadt Shillong im nordostindischen Bundesstaat Meghalaya ziehen. Verwurzelt in einer Kultur mündlicher Erzähltraditionen soll es uns Stadtbewohner anregen, über unseren Umgang mit und unseren Einfluss auf die uns umgebende Umwelt nachzudenken.

Verschiedene Kapitel bestehend aus Poesie, Wörtern, Klängen und Musikkompositionen wie Ki Phawar, verknüpft mit visuellen Darstellungen, senden das Publikum auf eine Reise durch Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, durch verschwommene Erinnerungen und die Schattenwelten verlorener Geschichten. Wie können wir diese schwindenden Eindrücke vor dem Vergessen bewahren, in einer Welt, in der das digitale Erinnern pro Gigabyte abgerechnet wird?

Die derzeitige globale Pandemie hat unser Leben verändert. Digitale Medien haben Einzug in fast jeden Bereich unseres Daseins gehalten. In Rahmen dieses Theaterprojekts wollten wir die Möglichkeiten dieser Technologie ausloten, jenseits des Oberflächlichen, des schönen Scheins, den sie sonst zu gerne vorzeigt. Wir wollten den wahren Geist des Flusses einfangen und dokumentieren was wir vorfinden, mit allen Makeln. Doch was ist mit den Orten, die uns nicht länger zugänglich sind? Können wir als Künstler nur die Realität abbilden, in der wir leben?

Das Team: Lapdiang A. Syiem, Juban Lamar, Abigail Nongsiej, Apkyrmenskhem Tangsong, Esther Syiem, Baston Singh Lyngdoh und all diejenigen, die ihre Verbindung zum Umkhrah und seinen Zuflüssen mit uns geteilt haben.

This is how you move them © Urvi Vora © Urvi Vora
Viele Poster der postkolonialen Ära zeigen das Bild eines muskulösen indischen Mannes mit einem dichten, schwarzen Schnurrbart mit hoch gezwirbelten Enden. Er steht neben einem schlaksigen britischen Soldaten und spricht über den „Fünfjahresplan“ zur Entwicklung Indiens. Ein altes Sprichwort sagt: „Moochh nahi, toh kuchh nahi“, was übersetzt so viel heißt wie: „Wer keinen Schnurrbart hat, hat nichts.“ Doch in der Grenzregion des Punjab wird die Redensart anders verstanden: „Wer keinen Schnurrbart hat, hat keinen Penis.“

This is how you move them ist eine digitale Aufführung, die der Rolle von Schnurrbärten und Penissen in der Grenzzeremonie von Wagah und der Bedeutung der Ideologie in einer Demokratie nachgeht.

Visuelle und Tongestaltung: Sijya Gupta | Webdesign: Hiren Kangad und Shaunaq Madan | Aufführung: Ankit Pandey und Lauren Robinson | Kamera: Annette Jacob | Tonmischung: Jay Panelia | Skript und Regie: Urvi Vora

Abhi.Neta, Aayenge © Last Seen © Last Seen
Abhi.Neta, Aayenge
basiert auf Eugène Ionescos Stück Le Maître von 1953. Es wirft einen verfremdenden Blick auf die Rolle von Medien und Internet-Hype in der Verbreitung politischer Propaganda. Diese transmedialen Adaption bedient sich nicht nur der Körper der Darstellenden, sondern auch des "Eigenlebens" heutiger Technologie: Soziale Medien, Nachrichten-Webseiten und andere Online-Plattformen reagieren auf das algorithmische Diktat ebenso wie auf die Interaktion mit ihren NutzerInnen. Die digitalen Medien lassen einen steten Strom unterschiedlicher und widerstreitender Versionen der Wirklichkeit entstehen und ihre NutzerInnen gestalten diese durch ihre Beiträge laufend selbst mit. Die Online-Welt ist ein hyper-performativer Raum, in dem Identitäten und Verhaltensweisen in einer durch Technologie modulierten Art und Weise inszeniert werden.

Abhi.Neta, Aayenge stellt überkommene Erzählkonventionen auf den Kopf: anstatt den kreativen Prozess zu verschleiern, untersucht das Stück Themen wie Desinformation, die Aufmerksamkeits-Ökonomie und „Fake News“, indem es die tatsächlichen Mechanismen der heutigen Nachrichtenlandschaft nachbildet. Ein Geflecht von Social-Media-Hashtags aus fingierten wie aus echten Quellen gebiert aus sich selbst heraus Nachrichten - ein Zerrbild des echten Ereignisses, das nicht mehr in den Nachrichtenzyklus eingehen kann, ohne vorher die Maschinerie der Entrüstung in den sozialen Medien durchlaufen zu haben.

Mit: Paulanthony George, Varun Kurtkoti, Satchit Puranik und Padmini Ray Murray

Refunction 2018-2019

A performance series by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi
Anfang 2018 wurde um Bewerbungen für Refunction gebeten, ein Programm, das unabhängige Theaterschaffende und -gruppen ermutigen soll, neue Werke zu erarbeiten und das ihnen die Möglichkeit bietet, sie in einem der belebtesten Kulturzentren der Stadt aufzuführen. Die Gewinner wurden  nach der öffentlichen Ausschreibung durch eine Jury ausgewählt.


Refunction: Muhnochini © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan
Muhnochini nimmt die Form eines modernen Märchens an, indem es Elemente aus Folklore und Mythologie verwebt. Die Erzählung folgt Tatha, der sich daran macht, seine Gemeinschaft von einem weiblichen Monster zu befreien, das die Menschen unweigerlich zur Selbstzerstörung zwingt. Mittels der Beziehungen von Tatha zu den drei weiblichen Hauptfiguren - dem mythischen Fluss Saraswati, seiner Schwester und Muhnochini - untersucht das Stück, wie Machtpositionen durch Religion, Gender und soziale Hierarchien errichtet und aufrechterhalten werden.

Mitwirkende:
Regie, Darsteller: Shardul Bhardwaj | Konzeption: Shardul Bhardwaj, Afreen Sen Chatterji, Noel Sengupta, Siraj Sharma, Palak Verma | Koautoren: Shardul Bhardwaj, Noel Sengupta, Siraj Sharma | Produktionsleitung: Anahita Dawar | Produktion: Vasudev Bose, Afreen Sen Chatterji, Palak Verma | Kostüme: Megha Khanna | Licht: Anuj Chopra | Ton: Aditya Kapoor

Unravel © Kaivalya Plays © Kaivalya Plays
Unravel ist ein Versuch, das komplexe Thema der psychischen Gesundheit aus einem anderen Blickwinkel zu betrachten. Die Show erforscht die Beziehung zwischen Improvisation und Themen wie Angst und Depression durch eine Reihe von körperlichen Spielen, Szenen, Vignetten und ortsspezifischen Erkundungen. Ziel ist es, sowohl für die Darsteller als auch für das Publikum einen sicheren Raum zu schaffen, in dem sie ihre Erfahrungen und Kämpfe mit der psychischen Gesundheit anerkennen, verstehen und möglicherweise angehen können.

Die Show wird von Kaivalya Productions im Rahmen von Refunction produziert, einem Programm des Goethe-Instituts / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi zur Unterstützung unabhängiger Theaterschaffenden in der Stadt.

Über die Gruppe:
Kaivalya Plays ist eine unabhängige Gruppe von Theaterschaffenden aus Delhi, die mehr Möglichkeiten für Frauen im Theater schaffen, neue Talente fördern und innovative Theaterformate entwickeln möchte. Seit 2012 arbeitet Kaivalya Plays mit freundlicher Unterstützung verschiedener Institutionen in Delhi an der Erarbeitung neuer Aufführungen. Die Improvisationsgruppe CueLess Improv von Kaivalya Plays ist auch eine der produktivsten Gruppen von Künstlern in der Hauptstadt.

Refunction: Bhagi Hui Ladkiyan © Aagaaz Theatre Trust, 2018 © Aagaaz Theatre Trust, 2018
Bhagi Hui Ladkiyan ist ein Ensemblestück für intime Räume – reale wie imaginäre. Das Stück besteht aus einer Reihe von Geschichten, die an einem scheinbar zufälligen Tag beginnen. Es sind Erzählungen über den Alltag in Nizamuddin Basti. Das Publikum wird eingeladen, die Welt der DarstellerInnen zu betreten und zu erleben, welche Rolle Geschlecht und Sexualität in den Leben der vier SchauspielerInnen spielen.

Die Performance entstand als Teil von Gender Bender 2016, mit Unterstützung durch das Sandbox Collective und das Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore und wurde im Rahmen von Refunction, einem Stipendium des Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi ausgearbeitet.

DarstellerInnen: Jasmine, Nagina, Nagma, Zainab | Regie: Dhwani Vij | Produktion: Aagaaz Theatre Trust | Licht: Ismail | Ton: Muzammil | Beleuchtungsdesign: Tech Quartet | Bühnenmanagement: Muzammil, Ismail

Kontakt

Refunction
Email: refunction.mmb@gmail.com

Top