About us
Chennai

Goethe-Institut Chennai  © Foto: GI Chennai  Goethe-Institut Chennai Foto: GI Chennai

Like the other Goethe-Instituts in India, the Goethe-Institut Chennai is known as Max Mueller Bhavan, named after the German Indologist Friedrich Max Mueller (1823-1900) who became famous for his work in Oxford on the ancient Indian texts and his impact on the study of Indian philology, history and religion.

The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Chennai was founded in 1960. It offers language courses, organizes cultural events and has a Library.

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan  Chennai is the contact point for anyone interested in German culture and for those who want to study or teach German. The language department offers a full range of language courses and official exams. In our multimedia classrooms, students not only learn German, but develop a more comprehensive understanding of German culture. Learning about German life and culture is an integral part of the language courses. Our students have free access to a DVD library and receive notice and invites to our cultural events.

For over 50 years, the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Chennai has been promoting an ongoing dialogue and exchange between Indian and German artists and experts in order to present German culture abroad and help shape a current understanding of Germany today. In order to achieve this goal, we collaborate extensively with our partners at the local universities (Anna University, IIT Madras etc).

The program department organizes a broad range of events and supports projects in the fields of film and new media, arts, theatre and dance, music, literature, architecture and more. Events take place in our auditorium as well as at partner venues. Beyond this, the Goethe-Institut arranges thematic trips to Germany for experts in the arts and media.  

Top

Über uns
Chennai

Goethe-Institut Chennai  © Foto: GI Chennai  Goethe-Institut Chennai Foto: GI Chennai

Das Goethe-Institut Chennai ist wie alle Goethe-Institute in Indien hier auch unter dem Namen Max Mueller Bhavan bekannt, benannt nach dem deutsch-englischen Indologen Friedrich Max Mueller (1823 - 1900), der in Oxford lebte und arbeitete und der religionshistorischen und philologischen Beschäftigung mit den altindischen Texten bedeutende Impulse gab.

Das Angebot des Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Chennai, das 1960 gegründet wurde, umfasst Sprachkurse, ein kulturelles Veranstaltungsprogramm und eine Bibliothek.

Das Institut ist Ansprechpartner für alle, die sich für zeitgenössische Kunst und Kultur aus Deutschland sowie die deutsche Sprache interessieren. Die Sprachabteilung des Goethe-Instituts Chennai bietet ein umfangreiches Sprachkurs- und Prüfungsprogramm für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene. In unseren multimedial ausgestatteten Klassenzimmern wird neben dem Erlernen der deutschen Sprache großer Wert auf die Vermittlung eines aktuellen Deutschlandbildes gelegt. Unsere Deutschlerner erhalten kostenlosen Zugang zu einer neu eingerichteten kleinen Videothek und sind zu einer Vielzahl von Kulturveranstaltungen eingeladen.

Mit einem breiten Spektrum kultureller Veranstaltungen fördert das Goethe-Institut Chennai seit über 50 Jahren einen kontinuierlichen Dialog und Kulturaustausch zwischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Deutschland und Indien, um deutsche Kultur im Ausland zu vermitteln. Dabei arbeiten wir eng mit unseren Partnerinnen und Partnern und Expertinnen und Experten an den lokalen Universitäten (Anna University, IIT Madras u.a.) zusammen.  
 
Die Kulturabteilung organisiert und unterstützt zahlreiche Projekte im Bereich Film, Neue Medien, Kunst, Theater, Tanz, Musik, Literatur und Architektur. Die Veranstaltungen finden in unserem Auditorium statt und an den Standorten unserer Partnerinnen und Partner.

Top