Tasks and Targets

As the globally active cultural institution of the Federal Republic of Germany, we advocate for understanding between Germany, Europe and the world. The framework agreement with the German Federal Foreign Office is the foundation for this work. Worldwide, we provide information about the cultural and societal diversity of Germany and Europe. 158 Goethe-Instituts in 98 countries together with numerous partner institutions form the basis of our global network. The Federal Foreign Office supports our work institutionally. As a registered charity we operate autonomously on a legally independent basis and are not affiliated to any political party. We generate around a third of our revenue ourselves through income from language courses and examinations. We also receive support from the European Union (EU), further German federal ministries as well as foundations and companies in Germany and abroad.

We contribute to establishing the German language in the educational systems of the guest countries. We support over 100,000 schools worldwide in giving high-quality German tuition, and promote the advanced professional training and qualification of teachers of German. Furthermore, we offer languages courses ranging from general German courses to prevocational language courses and seminars to raise societal and cultural awareness. Our services include online courses and autonomous learning programmes. Every year, more than half a million people sit a German examination at a Goethe-Institut or one of our cooperation partners. With a wide range of educational and information programmes, we support in particular students and skilled workers from abroad on their route to Germany. 

We believe in the potential of international cultural exchange. Our approximately 20,000 cultural events per year take place in partnership with governmental and non-governmental institutions and initiatives from civil society in our guest countries. We qualify, advise and interlink cultural professionals and support the development of sustainable structures in the cultural and creative economy by advanced training measures for cultural entrepreneurs or the internationalisation of creative companies. With our residence programmes, partnerships and co-productions, we promote the networking of cultural professionals around the globe. We offer stakeholders from civil society a protected space and scope for a sincere exchange of views. We do not break off democratic dialogue, even in difficult times. In our work we orientate ourselves towards the values of a democratic, liberal society governed by the rule of law.

Via our digital information and educational programmes in more than 60 languages and a network with 95 libraries, we offer a space to learn, meet up and participate. We use innovative technologies, seize the opportunities of digitalisation and, at the same time, reflect on their implications for people and society. Through diverse formats such as information trips for multipliers, specialist exchange between experts, youth exchange programmes and international festivals we enable communication on a worldwide basis.

The Goethe-Institut in India - About Max Mueller

“If I were asked under what sky the human mind has most fully developed some of its choicest gifts, has most deeply pondered over the greatest problems of life, and has found solutions of some of them which well deserve the attention even of those who have studied Plato and Kant, I should point to India.’’- Max Mueller

The German indologist and Sanskrit scholar Max Mueller was a pioneer, who in his spiritual, romantic and philosophical quest traced the common roots of Indo-European civilizations to the ancient vedic culture of India.

Max Mueller was born on 6th December in the year 1823 in Dessau, a small town in eastern Germany. Max Mueller entered the Leipzig university at the age of 18 and went on to complete his doctoral thesis on Spinoza’s ethics in 1843. During his university years he had also developed an aptitude for learning the classical languages of Greek, Latin, Arabic, Persian and Sanskrit. Soon after this initial engagement at the Leipzig university he proceeded to Berlin, where he, under the influence of philosopher Schelling, translated the Upanishads for him. Motivated by the French scholar Eugene Burnouff, he later translated the Vedas, using the available manuscripts in the library of the British East India Company in Britain.

After 1860, he set about working on the translation of the Rigvedas. He prepared simultaneously notes and commentaries on themes in comparative philosophy and mythology with an interest in spreading this esoteric knowledge among the public. Throughout the last thirty years of his life Indology remained the central focus of his research in Comparative Theology and Philology. In 1868, Mueller was the first one to occupy the chair of Comparative Philology at the University of Oxford. This was followed by the publication of Introduction to the Science of Religion in 1873. He continued to lecture on the same theme at the Royal Institute and Westminister Abbey and inaugurated the Hibbert lecture series in 1878 at the Westminister Abbey.

His pioneering intervention in the vedic studies also coincided with an emerging trend among the western scholars, in which the processes of language and culture were not seen as parallel courses, but rather as stemming from the same field of factors. Mueller in a way furthered the endeavour of the Indo-European language group in tracing the ancestry of these civilisations to the ancient vedic culture of India. After publishing The Six Systems of Hindu Philosophy in 1899, Max Mueller passed away at his home in Oxford the following year.

The Goethe-Institutes in India, founded in 1957, were named after this founder of Indology in honour of the inter-cultural sympathies and understanding he had nurtured through his saintly quest for a common Indo-European brotherhood. In a globalised world, where the need for understanding between cultures gains increasing significance, nothing conveys this message in the history of Indo-German relations better than the life and works of Friedrich Max Mueller.

The list of scholarly works of Max Mueller includes: The Sacred Books of the East (1878-1894, 50 vols.), Rig Veda (1849-1873, 6 vols.), A History of Ancient Sanskrit Literature So Far As It Illustrates the Primitive Religion of the Brahmans (1859), Lectures on the Science of Language (1864, 2 vols.), Chips from a German Workshop (1867-75, 4 vols.), Introduction to the Science of Religion (1873), India, What can it Teach Us? (1883), Biographical Essays (1884), The Science of Thought (1887), Six Systems of Hindu Philosophy (1899), four volumes of Gifford Lectures (Collected Works, vols. 1-4): Natural Religion (1889), Physical Religion (1891), Anthropological Religion (1892), and Theosophy, or Psychological Religion (1893), his two volumes of biographical reflections Auld Lang Syne (1898), My Autobiography: A Fragment (1901) and The Life and Letters of the Right Honourable Friedrich Max Mueller (1902, 2 vols.) 
Top

Aufgaben und Ziele

Als das global tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland setzen wir uns für die Verständigung zwischen Deutschland, Europa und der Welt ein. Die Grundlage dafür bildet der Rahmenvertrag mit dem Auswärtigen Amt. Weltweit informieren wir über die kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Vielfalt Deutschlands und Europas. 158 Goethe-Institute in 98 Ländern bilden zusammen mit zahlreichen Partnereinrichtungen unser globales Netzwerk. Das Auswärtige Amt fördert unsere Arbeit institutionell. Als eingetragener Verein agieren wir eigenverantwortlich, parteipolitisch ungebunden und rechtlich selbstständig. Rund ein Drittel unseres Budgets erwirtschaften wir durch Erlöse aus Sprachkursen und Prüfungen selbst. Darüber hinaus unterstützen uns die Europäische Union, weitere Bundesministerien sowie Stiftungen und Unternehmen im In- und Ausland.

Wir tragen zur Verankerung der deutschen Sprache in den Bildungssystemen der Gastländer bei. Mehr als 100.000 Schulen weltweit unterstützen wir bei der Durchführung eines hochwertigen Deutschunterrichts und fördern die Weiterbildung und Qualifizierung von Deutschlehrenden. Darüber hinaus bieten wir Sprachkurse an, die von allgemeinen Deutschkursen über berufsvorbereitende Sprachkurse bis hin zu Seminaren der gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Sensibilisierung reichen. Online-Kurse und Selbstlern-Programme sind Teil unseres Angebots. Pro Jahr legen weltweit mehr als eine halbe Million Menschen eine Deutschprüfung an einem Goethe-Institut oder bei unseren Kooperationspartnern ab. Mit einem breiten Lern- und Informationsangebot unterstützen wir insbesondere Studierende und Fachkräfte aus dem Ausland auf ihrem Weg nach Deutschland.  

Wir vertrauen auf das Potenzial des internationalen Kulturaustausches. Unsere rund 20.000 Kulturveranstaltungen im Jahr entstehen in partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit mit staatlichen und außerstaatlichen Institutionen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen in unseren Gastländern. Wir qualifizieren, beraten und vernetzen Kreative und unterstützen den Aufbau nachhaltiger Strukturen in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft, etwa durch Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen für Kulturunternehmer*innen oder die Internationalisierung von Kreativunternehmen. Mit unseren Residenzprogrammen, Kooperationen und Koproduktionen fördern wir die globale Vernetzung von Kulturschaffenden. Akteur*innen der Zivilgesellschaft bieten wir Schutz- und Freiräume, um einen offenen Meinungsaustausch zu ermöglichen. Den demokratischen Dialog lassen wir auch in schwierigen Zeiten nicht abreißen. Wir orientieren uns in unserer Arbeit an den Werten einer demokratischen, freiheitlichen und rechtsstaatlichen Gesellschaftsordnung.

Über unsere digitalen Informations- und Lernangebote in mehr als 60 Sprachen und ein Netzwerk mit 95 Bibliotheken bieten wir Orte des Lernens, der Begegnung und der Partizipation. Wir nutzen innovative Technologien, ergreifen die Chancen der Digitalisierung und reflektieren gleichermaßen ihre Auswirkungen auf Mensch und Gesellschaft. Durch vielfältige Formate wie Informationsreisen für Multiplikator*innen, den fachlichen Austausch zwischen Expert*innen, Jugendaustauschprogramme und internationale Festivals ermöglichen wir weltweite Begegnungen.

Das Goethe-Institut in Indien - Über Max Müller

„Würde man mich fragen, unter welchem Himmel der menschliche Geist seine auserlesensten Eigenschaften entwickelt, am tiefgründigsten über die größten Probleme des Leben nachgedacht und Lösungen für einige von ihnen gefunden hat, welche sehr wohl die Aufmerksamkeit derer verdienen, die Plato und Kant studiert haben, so würde ich auf Indien zeigen.“ - Max Mueller

Der deutsche Indologe und Sanskritgelehrte Max Mueller war unter den europäischen Intellektuellen ein Pionier, der auf seiner spirituellen, romantischen und philosophischen Suche die gemeinsamen Spuren der indo-europäischen Zivilisation bis zur altertümlichen vedischen Kultur Indiens verfolgte. Max Mueller wurde am 6. Dezember 1823 in Dessau, einer kleinen Stadt im Osten Deutschlands, geboren. Er begann sein Studium im Alter von 18 Jahren an der Universität Leipzig und beendete seine Doktorarbeit über Spinozas ethische Philosophie 1843. Während seines Studiums entwickelte er nicht nur eine Begabung für klassische Sprachen wie Latein und Griechisch, sondern auch für Arabisch, Persisch und Sanskrit. Nach seinem Studium in Leipzig ging er nach Berlin, wo er unter seinem Tutor, dem Philosophen Schelling, die Upanishaden übersetzte. Unter Einfluß des französischen Gelehrten, Eugene Burnouff, übersetzte er später auf die Manuskripte der Bibliothek der British East India Company zurückgreifend die Vedas.

Nach 1860 begann er mit der Übersetzung der Rigvedas. Er verfasste nebenher Aufzeichnungen und Kommentare zu Themen der vergleichenden Philosophie und Mythologie, um seine esoterischen Erkenntnisse einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Während der letzten dreißig Jahre seines Lebens lag der Schwerpunkt seiner Studien der vergleichenden Theologie und Philosophie auf der Indologie. Im Jahr 1868 wurde Mueller zum ersten Professor des Lehrstuhls für Vergleichende Philologie an die Oxford Universität berufen. Es folgte die Veröffentlichung Einführung in die Religionswissenschaft im Jahr 1873. Er führte seine Vorlesungen zu diesem Thema am Royal Institute und dem Westminister Abbey fort und eröffnete dort 1878 die Hibbert-Vortragsreihe. 

Seine Pionierarbeit in der Forschung vedischer Schriften fiel mit einem zunehmenden Trend westlicher Gelehrter zusammen, die Entwicklung von Sprache und Kultur nicht als parallele Verläufe zu betrachten, sondern vielmehr als Einheit mit gemeinsamen Wurzeln. Mueller unterstützte das Bemühen der indo-europäischen Sprachgruppe, indem er die Ursprünge dieser Zivilisationen bis zur vedischen Kultur in Indien erforschte. Nach der Veröffentlichung der Sechs Systeme der hindischen Philosphie (1899), starb Max Mueller im darauffolgenden Jahr in Oxford.

Für sein Bestreben, die Seelenverwandtschaft, die die indo-eurpopäische Familie über ihre gemeinsame Herkunft vereint, auf zu zeigen, erfährt Mueller bis in die Gegenwart in beiden Kulturkreisen große Wertschätzung. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurden die Goethe-Institute in Indien, die 1957 gegründet wurden, nach Max Mueller, dem Begründer der Sankritforschung benannt. In einer globalisierten Welt, in der die Notwendigkeit von gegenseitigem Verständnis zwischen den Kulturen zunehmende Bedeutung erlangt, vermag niemand besser diese Botschaft zu vermitteln als Friedrich Max Mueller mit seinem Leben und Wirken in der Geschichte indo-germanischer Beziehungen.

Unter seiner Leitung erschienen The Scaced Books of the East, eine 50-bändige Reihe von englischen Übersetzungen asiatischer heiliger Bücher sowie zahlreiche Einzelveröffentlichungen: A History of Ancient Sanskrit Literature So Far As It Illustrates the Primitive Religion of the Brahmans (1859), Lectures on the Science of Language (1864, 2 vols.), Chips from a German Workshop (1867-75, 4 vols.), Introduction to the Science of Religion (1873), India, What can it Teach Us? (1883), Biographical Essays (1884), The Science of Thought (1887), Six Systems of Hindu Philosophy (1899), four volumes of Gifford Lectures (Collected Works, vols. 1-4): Natural Religion (1889), Physical Religion (1891), Anthropological Religion (1892), und Theosophy, or Psychological Religion (1893), seine beiden Bände biographischer Reflexionen Auld Lang Syne (1898), My Autobiography: A Fragment (1901) und The Life and Letters of the Right Honourable Friedrich Max Mueller (1902, 2 Bde) 
Top