Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata 2021

IER 2021 © GI-Kol, AF-Kol, IFI, BC-Kol, Con.Gen.Italy, CIMA and Inst.IT.Kult./Design:Saurabh Jitranjan

THE FOURTH EDITION OF THE INDO-EUROPEAN RESIDENCY PROJECT KOLKATA 2021 GOES DIGITAL

The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata, the Alliance Française du Bengale with Institut français en Inde, the British Council, Kolkata and the Consolato Generale d'Italia in Kolkata in collaboration with the Kolkata resident gallery and the Istituto Italiano di Cultura in New Delhi are organizing the fourth interdisciplinary Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata.

In 2021, for the first time, the residency is being organised on a digital platform, thus ensuring that the residency takes place notwithstanding the prevailing COVID situation.

ANNOUNCEMENT! Here are the selected artists for the Indo~European Residency Project Kolkata 2021:

Irma Blumstock © Irma Blumstock Irma Blumstock, Germany
Irma Blumstock (b. 1991) works with images, continuously returning to film. Casually she captures situations, conversations and stories, interweaves doubt with memory and longing with experience. The resulting collages are monologues in which she fictionalizes the fate that we are permanently trying to locate between role and reality these days. Furthermore, she studied with Joachim Blank, Korpys/Löffler, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Agnieszka Polska and Candice Breitz (chronologically).

Chloé Macary-Carney © Chloé Macary-Carney Chloé Macary-Carney, France
Chloé Macary-Carney is a French-American artist and architect, born in 1994. She lives and works in Paris. She has obtained the French license of architect Habilitation à la Maîtrise d’Œuvre en son Nom Propre in February 2021 at the École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Paris La Villette in Paris, France from which she graduated in 2019. She defends the idea that architecture is a social art, space being a medium to which we all have access to and which we all have our own experience of, every day. She has been working on the question of gender since 2018 with the project of a nomadic and experimental space called Woman Cave.

Alex May © Alex May Alex May, UK
Alex May is a British contemporary artist questioning how our individual and collective experiences of time, and formation of memories and cultural record, are mediated, expanded, and directed by contemporary technologies. His work forges creative links between art, science, and technology through a wide range of digital new media, including virtual and augmented reality, photogrammetry, algorithmic photography, interactive robotic artworks, video projection mapping, generative works, performance, and video and sound art. His international exhibition profile includes Ars Electronica, LABoral (Spain), IMPAKT (Netherlands), FACT (Liverpool), Furtherfield (London), WRO Media Art Bienalle (Poland), HeK (Basel), The Francis Crick Institute, Bletchley Park, Eden Project, Science Gallery in Dublin (Ireland) and Bengaluru (India), ZHI Art Museum (China), and the Beall Center for Art + Technology, University of California, Irvine.

Marta Roberti © Marta Roberti Marta Roberti, Italy
After graduating in Philosophy in Verona, Marta Roberti graduated in Multimedia art at the Academy of Fine Arts in Brera. Drawing is her main medium, and through installations and animated videos she explores the relationship between East and West, and specifically how the West shapes its own identity starting from what it perceives as “other”: from animals to nature, to everything that is considered different or “exotic”. She has participated in international exhibitions and festivals including I say I, Galleria Nazionale di Arte Moderna Roma (2021), Ladder to the Moon, Galleria Monitor Roma (2021), Visions in the Making, Istituto Italiano di Cultura di New Delhi, 2020); Wall Eyes (Johannesburg, Capetown 2019 and Auditorium Parco della Musica di Roma 2020); Something Else Biennal Off Cairo (2019), Portrait Portrait, Taipei Contemporary Art Center (2017), Scarabocchio, Kuandu Museum of Art Taipei. She lived in Asia for a few years, where she participated in residencies in China, Taiwan and Vietnam. Through workshops on the technique of Blind Drawing she shows how learning to draw is about learning to see.

Anushree Ghosh © Anushree Ghosh Anushree Ghosh, India
Anushree Ghosh is a writer and theatre artist. She graduated in bioinformatics but chose to pursue her passion for writing and acting. As a content writer, she has contributed articles for Delhi’s oldest city magazine — Delhi Diary, and is an active storyteller, narrating stories to children from her mixed bag of traditional & contemporary stories. Her initiative ‘Art Pickles’ is dedicated to discuss/debate on topics related to art/culture/literature and philosophy, and has held events on Existentialism, LGBT & Literature, Partition Literature, etc. She is actively involved in various social activities related to gender equality, LGBTQ rights, and child education.


The Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata 2021 is supported by EUNIC – European Union National Institutes for Culture, which is Europe’s network of national cultural institutes and organizations active in cultural relations.

 

OUR WEBSITE IS NOW LIVE: http://ieresidencykolkata.com/

Indo-Europäische Residenzprojekt Kolkata 2021

IER 2021 © GI-Kol, AF-Kol, IFI, BC-Kol, Con.Gen.Italy, CIMA and Inst.IT.Kult./Design:Saurabh Jitranjan

DIE VIERTE AUSGABE DES INDO-EUROPÄISCHEN RESIDENZPROJEKTS KOLKATA 2021 WIRD DIGITAL

Das Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata, die Alliance Française du Bengale mit dem Institut français en Inde, das British Council, Kolkata und das Consolato Generale d'Italia in Kolkata in Zusammenarbeit mit der in Kolkata ansässigen Galerie CIMA und dem Istituto Italiano di Cultura in New Delhi organisieren das vierte interdisziplinäre Indo-Europäische Residenzprojekt Kolkata.

2021 wird die Residenz zum ersten Mal auf einer digitalen Plattform organisiert, so dass die Residenz unabhängig von der COVID-Situation stattfinden kann.

ANKÜNDIGUNG! Hier sind die ausgewählten Künstler:innen für das Indo~Europäische Residenzprojekt Kolkata 2021​:

Irma Blumstock © Irma Blumstock Irma Blumstock, Deutschland
Irma Blumstock (geb. 1991) arbeitet mit Bildern und kehrt kontinuierlich zum Film zurück. Flüchtig fängt sie Situationen, Gespräche und Geschichten ein, verknüpft Unsicherheit mit Erinnerungen und Sehnsucht mit Erfahrung. Die daraus entstandenen Kollagen sind Monologe, in denen sie das Schicksal fiktionalisiert, das wir heutzutage ständig zwischen Rolle und Realität zu verorten versuchen. Zudem studierte sie unter Joachim Blank, Korpys/Löffler, Clemens von Wedemeyer, Agnieszka Polska und Candice Breitz (in chronologischer Reihenfolge).

Chloé Macary-Carney © Chloé Macary-Carney Chloé Macary-Carney, Frankreich
Chloé Macary-Carney ist eine franzözisch-amerikanische Künstlerin und Architektin (geb. 1994). Sie lebt und arbeitet in Paris. Im Februar 2021 erhielt sie die französische Architektenlizenz Habilitation à la Maîtrise d’Œuvre en son Nom Propre von der École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Paris La Villette in Paris, Frankreich, an der sie 2019 ihren Abschluss machte. Sie vertritt die Idee von Architektur als einer sozialen Kunst, in der ein Raum das Medium darstellt, das uns zugänglich ist und das wir tagtäglich auf unsere Weise erleben. Seit 2018 befasst sie sich in ihrem Projekt Woman Cave – einem nomadischen und experimentellen Raum – mit Genderthemen.

Alex May © Alex May Alex May, UK
Alex May ist ein britischer zeitgenössischer Künstler, der sich damit beschäftigt, wie unsere individuellen und kollektiven Erfahrungen der Zeit und die Entstehung von Erinnerungen und kulturellem Gedächtnis durch moderne Technologien vermittelt, erweitert und gesteuert werden. Seine Arbeit schafft mittels einer Reihe neuer digitaler Medien – einschließlich virtueller und erweiterter Realität, Fotogrammetrie, algorithmischer Fotografie, interaktiver robotischer Kunstwerke, Videoprojektionsmapping, Generativer Arbeiten, Performanz und Video- sowie Klangkunst  – kreative Verbindungen zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie. Zu seinem internationalen Ausstellungsprofil zählen Ars Electronica, LABoral (Spanien), IMPAKT (Niederlande), FACT (Liverpool), Furtherfield (London), WRO Media Art Bienalle (Polen), HeK (Basel), The Francis Crick Institute, Bletchley Park, Eden Project, Science Gallery in Dublin (Irland) und Bengaluru (Indien), ZHI Art Museum (China) und das Beall Center for Art + Technology, University of California, Irvine.

Marta Roberti © Marta Roberti Marta Roberti, Italien
Nach ihrem Abschluss in Philosophie in Verona absolvierte Marta Roberti ein Studium in Multimedialer Kunst an der Academy of Fine Arts in Brera. Ihr Hauptmedium ist das Zeichnen; durch Installationen und Animationsfilme erforscht sie die Beziehung zwischen Ost und West, insbesondere die Art und Weise, wie der Westen seine Identität durch das scheinbar ,Andere' formte: von Tieren zur Natur, bis hin zu allem, was als andersartig oder ,exotisch' angesehen wird. Sie nahm an internationalen Ausstellungen und Festivals teil, darunter I say I, Galleria Nazionale di Arte Moderna Roma (2021), Ladder to the Moon, Galleria Monitor Roma (2021), Visions in the Making, Istituto Italiano di Cultura di Neu-Delhi, (2020); Wall Eyes (Johannesburg, Kapstadt 2019 und Auditorium Parco della Musica di Roma (2020); Something Else Biennal Off Cairo (2019), Portrait Portrait, Taipei Contemporary Art Center (2017), Scarabocchio, Kuandu Museum of Art Taipei. Mehrere Jahre lebte sie in Asien, wo sie an Residenzprogrammen in China, Taiwan und Vietnam teilnahm. Mit ihren Workshops zur Technik des ,blinden Zeichnens' zeigt sie, dass das Erlernen des Malens gleichzeitig bedeutet, sehen zu lernen.

Anushree Ghosh © Anushree Ghosh Anushree Ghosh, Indien
Anushree Ghosh ist Schriftstellerin und Theaterkünstlerin. Sie hat einen Abschluss in Bioinformatik, entschied sich jedoch dafür, ihrer Leidenschaft für das Schreiben und Schauspielen nachzugehen. Als Redakteurin schrieb sie Artikel für Delhis ältestes Stadtmagazin Delhi Diary, zudem ist sie eine aktive Geschichtenerzählerin für Kinder, denen sie eine Mischung aus traditionellen und modernen Geschichten erzählt. Ihre Initiative ,Art Pickles' widmet sich der Diskussion/Debatte über Themen der Kunst/Kultur/Literatur und Philosophie und organisierte Veranstaltungen über Existenzialismus, LGBT und Literatur, Teilungsliteratur und vieles mehr. Sie beteiligt sich aktiv an verschiedenen sozialen Projekten bezüglich Gendergerechtigkeit, LGBTQ-Rechte und Bildung für Kinder.

Das Indo-Europäische Residenzprojekt Kolkata 2021 wird unterstützt von EUNIC - European Union National Institutes for Culture, dem europäischen Netzwerk nationaler Kulturinstitute und Organisationen, die im Bereich der kulturellen Beziehungen aktiv sind.


UNSERE WEBSITE IST JETZT LIVE: http://ieresidencykolkata.com/