Klaus von Bismark Prize 2020
Kolkata

KvB Kolkata small Ms. Leela Chinoy & Mr. Narayan Muhuri with Ms. Astrid Wege, Director
© Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata/Photo:Sharmistha Sarker

The most important award for employees of Goethe-Institut was conferred twice to India in 2020. Leela Chinoy, Head of Administration at the Goethe-Institut Kolkata, and Narayan Muhuri, Security Guard at the Goethe-Institut Kolkata, received the award for outstanding achievements, both jointly and individually. We interviewed both the awardees.

Today we present the interview with Narayan Muhuri.

KvB Narayan Muhuri © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata/Photo:Sharanya Chattopadhyay

Interview with Narayan Muhuri


Mr. Muhuri, how did you get associated with the Goethe-Institut?
Initially I had worked for ten years in a company as a messenger and buyer. After that, I started working for my current company, National Investigation Security. They hired me as a Security Guard at a famous primary school in Kolkata. I worked there for two years. The school and the company were very happy with my work. During that time, I also got occasional assignment to work as a Security Guard at the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata. And then I have been here since 2011.

What do you enjoy most about your work?
I am one who enjoys working. For me, the workplace is like an extended family. I particularly enjoy being the first point of contact and greeting all institute staff, students, visitors and guests right at the main entrance.

The jury's statement emphasizes, among other things, your special commitment during the Corona-related lockdown in India. How did you experience this time and what were the biggest challenges for you?
I spent eighty-five consecutive days alone at the institute when the lockdown began. That was a challenge. At the beginning, I was very worried about my family, who live in a distant village. I didn't know how to send them the money they needed. After my relatives took care of it for me, I decided to stay at the institute until the end of the lockdown. I kept receiving the necessary instructions and support from the former Director of the institute Mr. Friso Maecker and the Head of Administration Mrs. Leela Chinoy. In particular, I had to take care of the server room, IT room and air conditioning. Since I was the only person in the whole building, I sometimes felt very lonely, of course. But many institute staff members called me from time to time. Also, a former staff who was in the U.S. at that time phoned me from Philadelphia. All this helped me to regain my courage.

Over and above this dedication, you were instrumental in securing the Institute during Cyclone Amphan. How were you able to avert potentially major damage to the Institute?
As I said, I was responsible for the large three-storey old building. That was not easy. The day before the cyclone, I first removed all the plug connections. I covered the computer, the tables and the chairs in the Director’s office with plastic foil. Then I got wire strings and tied some of the latch-less windows all the way down. In the end, I closed all the doors and windows and rooms. During the storm, a big tree was uprooted. Fortunately, it fell across the field from the main entrance. Nothing was damaged. Only the institute’s motorcycle was in the water. I notified Mr. Maecker and Mrs. Chinoy about all this. This was the first relief for me.
Only after two days my family could reach me briefly by phone. On the day of the cyclone, they had to leave the house and stay with my uncle. Later, I was able to make a video call via a colleague's smartphone and talk to my daughter. This was the second relief for me.

The jury honours you together with Ms. Leela Chinoy. What, according to you, makes the team work?
It is a great honour for me. I have never received an award before. I like working in a team. It's also my daily work. I carry out the tasks together with my colleagues from National Investigation Security. During the lockdown, I realized even more, that trust and support are the most important. I am happy that I could fulfil the tasks for the institute.

What do you wish for the future of the Goethe-Institut Kolkata?
Personally, I like the atmosphere of an educational institution. I wish more and more students from other cities in India would come to Goethe-Institut Kolkata to learn the language or take the exams. It is a beautiful institute. If I may also express my own wish, I would like to work for the institute till my retirement.

Thank you very much for the interview, Mr. Muhuri. Once again, we all congratulate you for the award.
Thank you.

(Mr. Narayan Muhuri interviewed by Mr. Subroto Saha)


-------------------------------

 

KvB Leela Chinoy © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata/Photo:Sharanya Chattopadhyay

Interview with Leela Chinoy


Ms. Chinoy, how did you get associated with Goethe-Institut?
I learnt German at the Goethe-Institut in Pune. When I arrived in Kolkata after completing the course in Pune, I happened to meet the then Head of the Language Department of Goethe-Institut Kolkata at the airport. He made an appointment with me for the next day, and after talking to him and the Director of the institute, I was offered the position of an officer in the programme department.

Which positions have you held since then?
Officer in the Programme Department, Officer in the Language Department, Administrative Officer and, since 2002, Head of Administration.

You have been working at the Goethe-Institut - with a brief break - since 1980. What do you find particularly exciting about your work?
It's different at the Goethe-Institut than in a regular office. Here you are involved in organizing a wide range of events and activities, and the different experiences and adventures have always been very exciting for me. 
Especially exciting and the most thrilling experience for me was the relocation of the institute. Here I had the privilege of working closely with our former Director of the institute, Mr. Maecker - the task of finding a suitable location that met German and Indian requirements, where quite a few checks had to be done and reports submitted, getting final approval from headquarters, and being involved in the construction. It is now a great feeling every time to see the admiration of the visitors when they enter the "new" institute for the first time.

In the jury's statement, special mention was made of your commitment during the Corona pandemic and your quick action during Cyclone Amphan. What do you remember most from this eventful time?
The Goethe-Institut here is located in a large, approximately 110-year-old listed building. During the lockdown in West Bengal to contain the COVID pandemic, the institute was closed. Fortunately, Mr. Muhuri stayed in the institute during the three months of the lockdown. All windows and doors - there are more than 100 of them - had to be properly fastened, and the gap under the outer doors was stuffed with cloths. All plugs had to be pulled out of the sockets. We walked around the building together on the day of the cyclone to make sure every area in the house was protected. When the Amphan hit in the evening, I tried to talk to Mr. Muhuri on the phone, but it was difficult to understand him over the roar of the wind and the patter of the rain. So much was destroyed in the city that day. It was very reassuring to see that nothing was damaged at the institute.

The jury honoured you along with Mr. Narayan Muhuri. What, according to you, characterizes good cooperation with colleagues?
First and foremost, trust and good communication; also the belief that we are there for each other, and regardless of small differences of opinion, that we are a team.

What do you wish for the future of the Goethe-Institut's work worldwide?
The Goethe-Institut takes us into the world of German culture and language and enables us to experience it first-hand. I hope that this work - also because of its non-commercial character, especially in the area of cultural exchange - will continue to be valued and supported.

Klaus von Bismark Preis 2020
Kolkata

KvB Kolkata small Fr. Leela Chinoy & Hr. Narayan Muhuri mit Fr. Astrid Wege, Institutsleiterin
© Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata/Photo:Sharmistha Sarker

Der wichtigste Mitarbeiter*innenpreis des Goethe-Instituts ging 2020 gleich zweimal nach Indien. Leela Chinoy, Verwaltungsleiterin am Goethe-Institut Kolkata, und Narayan Muhuri, Wächter am Goethe-Institut Kolkata, erhielten die Auszeichnung für herausragende Leistungen, die sie gemeinsam, aber auch individuell vollbrachten.

Heute stellen wir Narayan Muhuri im Interview vor.

KvB Narayan Muhuri © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata/Foto:Sharanya Chattopadhyay

Interview mit Narayan Muhuri


Herr Muhuri, wie sind Sie zum Goethe-Institut gekommen?
Zunächst hatte ich zehn Jahre in einem Unternehmen als Bote und Einkäufer gearbeitet. Danach fing ich bei meiner jetzigen Firma National Investigation Security an. Sie stellte mich als Wächter an einer berühmten Primärschule in der Stadt Kolkata ein. Dort war ich zwei Jahre. Die Schule und die Firma waren mit meiner Arbeit sehr zufrieden. In dieser Zeit bekam ich auch gelegentlich den Auftrag, als Wächter für Goethe-Institut Max Müller Bhavan Kolkata zu arbeiten. Und seit 2011 bin ich dann hier.

Was macht Ihnen an Ihrer Arbeit besonders Freude?
Ich bin einer, dem die Arbeit Spaß macht. Der Arbeitsplatz ist für mich wie eine erweiterte Familie. Mir macht besonders Freude, dass ich gleich am Haupteingang für alle Institutsmitarbeiter, Studenten, Besucher und Gäste die erste Kontaktperson sein und sie begrüßen darf.

In der Jurybegründung wird unter anderem Ihr besonderer Einsatz während des Corona-bedingten Lockdowns in Indien betont. Wie haben Sie diese Zeit erlebt und welche waren die größten Herausforderungen für Sie?
Fünfundachtzig Tage hintereinander verbrachte ich allein im Institut, als der Lockdown begann. Das war eine Herausforderung. Ganz am Anfang machte ich mir große Sorgen um meine Familie, die in einem entfernten Dorf lebt. Ich wusste nicht, wie ich ihr das nötige Geld schicken konnte. Nachdem meine Verwandten es für mich übernommen hatten, entschied ich, bis zum Ende des Lockdowns im Institut zu bleiben. Vom damaligen Institutsleiter Herrn Friso Maecker und der Leiterin der Verwaltung Frau Leela Chinoy erhielt ich immer wieder die nötigen Anweisungen und Unterstützungen. Insbesondere musste ich auf Server-Raum, IT-Raum und Klimaanlagen achten. Da ich im ganzen Gebäude die einzige Person war, fühlte ich mich manchmal natürlich sehr einsam. Aber viele Institutsmitarbeiter riefen mich von Zeit zu Zeit an. Auch eine ehemalige Mitarbeiterin, die zu dieser Zeit in den USA war, telefonierte von Philadelphia mit mir. Das alles half mir wieder neuen Mut zu bekommen.

Über diesen Einsatz hinaus haben Sie wesentlich zur Sicherung des Instituts in Anbetracht des Zyklons Amphan beigetragen. Wie konnten Sie potentiell großen Schaden vom Institut abwenden?
Wie gesagt, für den großen dreistöckigen Altbau war ich zuständig. Das war nicht leicht. Am Tag vor dem Zyklon entfernte ich zuerst alle Steckanschlüsse. Ich bedeckte den Computer, die Tische und die Stühle im Büro des Institutsleiters mit der Plastikfolie. Dann holte ich Drahtsaiten. Damit musste ich einige riegellose Fenster ganz festbinden. Am Ende schloss ich alle Türen und Fenster und Räume. Während des Sturms wurde ein großer Baum entwurzelt. Zum Glück fiel er dem Haupteingang gegenüber auf dem Feld. Nichts wurde beschädigt. Nur das Institutsmotorrad lag im Wasser. Über das alles benachrichtigte ich Herrn Maecker und Frau Chinoy. Es war für mich die erste Erleichterung.
Erst nach zwei Tagen konnte meine Familie mich telefonisch kurz erreichen. Am Tag des Zyklons musste sie das Haus verlassen und bei meinem Onkel wohnen. Später konnte ich per Smartphone eines Kollegen einen Videoanruf machen und mit meiner Tochter sprechen. Es war für mich die zweite Erleichterung.

Die Jury ehrt Sie gemeinsam mit Frau Leela Chinoy. Was macht in Ihren Augen die funktionierende Arbeit im Team aus?
Es ist eine große Ehre für mich. Ich habe noch nie einen Preis bekommen. Mir gefällt die Arbeit im Team. Das ist auch mein Arbeitsalltag. Mit den Kollegen von National Investigation Security mache ich gemeinsam die Aufgaben. Während des Lockdowns wurde mir noch klarer, dass Vertrauen und Unterstützungen am wichtigsten sind. Ich freue mich, dass ich die Aufgaben für das Institut erfüllen konnte.

Was wünschen Sie sich für die Zukunft des Goethe-Instituts Kolkata?
Persönlich mag ich die Atmosphäre einer Bildungsinstitution. Ich wünsche mir, dass immer mehr Studenten aus den anderen Städten Indiens zum Goethe-Institut Kolkata kommen würden, um die Sprache zu lernen oder die Prüfungen zu machen. Es ist ein schönes Institut. Wenn ich auch meinen eigenen Wunsch äußern darf, möchte ich von diesem Institut in den Ruhestand gehen.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch, Herr Muhuri. Wir alle gratulieren Ihnen noch einmal ganz herzlich zum Preis.
Ich danke Ihnen.
 
(Herrn Narayan Muhuri interviewte Herr Subroto Saha)


-------------------------

 

KvB Leela Chinoy © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata/Foto:Sharanya Chattopadhyay

Interview mit Leela Chinoy


Frau Chinoy, wie sind Sie zum Goethe-Institut gekommen?
Ich habe Deutsch am Goethe-Institut in Pune gelernt. Als ich nach Absolvierung der Oberstufe am Goethe-Institut Pune in Kalkutta ankam, traf ich am Flughafen zufällig den damaligen Sprachabteilungsleiter. Er vereinbarte mit mir einen Termin für den nächsten Tag, und nach dem Gespräch mit ihm und dem Institutsleiter wurde mir die Stelle einer Sachbearbeiterin im Programmbereich angeboten.

Welche Stationen haben Sie seitdem durchlaufen?
Sachbearbeiterin Programm, Sachbearbeiterin Sprache, Sachbearbeiterin Verwaltung und seit 2002 Leitung Verwaltung.

Sie sind – mit kurzer Unterbrechung – seit 1980 am Goethe-Institut tätig. Was finden Sie an Ihrer Arbeit besonders spannend?
Es ist am Goethe-Institut anders als in einem regulären Büro. Hier ist man involviert in der Organisation einer Vielzahl von Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten, und die unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen und Erlebnissen sind für mich immer sehr spannend gewesen.  
Besonders aufregend und die spannendste Erfahrung war für mich der Umzug des Instituts. Ich hatte hier das Privileg, eng mit unserem damaligen Institutsleiter, Herrn Maecker, zusammenzuarbeiten - die Aufgabe, einen geeigneten Ort zu finden, der den deutschen und indischen Anforderungen entspricht, wo etliche Prüfungen gemacht bzw. Berichte vorgelegt werden mussten, die endgültige Freigabe von der Zentrale zu bekommen und am Bau beteiligt zu sein. Es ist nun jedes Mal ein tolles Gefühl, die Bewunderung der Besucher*innen zu sehen, wenn sie das „neue“ Institut erstmals betreten.
 
In der Jurybegründung wurden besonders Ihr Einsatz während der Corona-Pandemie sowie Ihr schnelles Handeln in Anbetracht des Zyklon Amphan hervorgehoben. Was ist Ihnen aus dieser bewegten Zeit besonders in Erinnerung geblieben?
Das hiesige Goethe-Institut befindet sich in einem großen circa 110-jährigen denkmalschützten Gebäude. Während des Lockdowns in Westbengalen zur Eindämmung der COVID-Pandemie war das Institut geschlossen. Glücklicherweise blieb Herr Muhuri über die drei Monate der Lockdown-Zeit im Institut. Alle Fenster und Türen - es gibt mehr als 100 davon - mussten richtig befestigt werden, der Spalt unter den Außentüren wurde mit Tüchern und Wischlappen ausgestopft. Alle Stecker mussten aus den Steckdosen gezogen werden. Wir sind am Tag des Zyklons zusammen durchs Haus gelaufen, um sicherzustellen, dass jeder Bereich im Haus geschützt war. Als der Amphan am Abend eintraf, versuchte ich mit Herrn Muhuri zu telefonieren, aber es war schwierig, ihn über das Rauschen des Windes und das Prasseln des Regens zu verstehen. So viel wurde an dem Tag in der Stadt zerstört. Sehr beruhigend war es zu sehen, dass im Institut nichts beschädigt wurde.

Die Jury ehrt gemeinsam mit Ihnen Herrn Narayan Muhuri. Was zeichnet in Ihren Augen eine gute Zusammenarbeit mit Kolleg*innen aus?
In erster Linie Vertrauen und gute Kommunikation; auch der Glaube, dass wir füreinander da sind, und unabhängig von kleinen Meinungsverschiedenheiten, dass wir ein Team sind.

Was wünschen Sie sich für die Zukunft der Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts weltweit?
Das Goethe-Institut führt uns in die Welt der deutschen Kultur und Sprache und ermöglicht es, diese hautnah zu erleben. Ich hoffe, dass diese Arbeit – auch wegen ihres nichtkommerziellen Charakters insbesondere im Bereich des Kulturaustauschs - weiterhin wertgeschätzt und unterstützt wird.