German and Beyond
for German teachers

German and Beyond

Current Narratives in the German Lesson —
Online Seminars for Teachers of German

The necessity to look beyond your own classroom is self-evident to most German teachers. In the year 2020, teaching languages is more than transmitting linguistic knowledge and communicative competences. The world language classroom, like few other subjects, serves as a perfect environment for integrating exciting content with language learning. However, it is this integration of content and language that poses the biggest challenges: For how do we include content in which we lack expert knowledge?  How do we integrate complex thoughts and debates in our lessons for beginning learners of our language?  

The Goethe-Institut Boston invites German teachers from the US to participate in our virtual seminar series ''German and Beyond: Aktuelle Diskurse im Deutschunterricht'' this fall. In 90-minute virtual seminars, experts will allow us glimpses of the great narratives and debates of our time. Together, we will look for connections of theses topics with German lessons at High Schools.
 
Program:

10/21/2020, 7:00 pm EDT
Decolonizing the Curriculum (Prof. David Gramling, University of Arizona)


David Gramling © David Gramling David Gramling (he/they) is a member of the Steering Committee of the Diversity, Decolonization, and the German Curriculum Collective (DDGC, @DDGCTweets). He is author or co-author of several books, including The Invention of Monolingualism (Bloomsbury 2016), Linguistic Disobedience (Palgrave 2019), and Germany in Transit: Nation & Migration 1955–2005 (University of California Press). He teaches at the University of Arizona, on the current and ancestral land of the Tohono O’odham Nation.
 
His brief talk will focus on three issues: a) the diverse places the conversation on decolonization comes from, b) the work being done currently on decolonization initiatives in German-speaking territories and the local historical rationales for doing so, and c) the implications of decolonial thinking for the teaching and learning of German and other languages. 

11/3/2020, 7:00 pm EST
Anti-Racism (Prof. Priscilla Layne, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)


Priscilla Layne © Priscilla Layne Priscilla Layne is Associate Professor of German and Adjunct Associate Professor of African, African American and Diaspora Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She received her PhD from the University of California at Berkeley. Her research and teaching draws on postcolonial studies, gender studies and critical race theory to address topics like representations of blackness in literature and film, rebellion, and the concept of the Other in science fiction/fantasy.
 
The term race has long been taboo in Germany, due to its legacy during the Nazis’ murderous regime.  Many Germans may believe that rejecting the biological category of race would be enough to remove the problem of racism from society. But this has not been the case, in part, because for so long Germans have associated national identity with whiteness; an assumption that translates into language and behaviors which continually exclude Black people and People of Color. African American activist Angela Davis once said, “In a racist society , it is not enough to be non-racist, we must be anti-racist.” In this presentation I will discuss what it looks like to adopt an anti-racist pedagogy in the German language classroom.

11/17/2020, 7:00 pm EST 
Intercultural Competence (Prof. Manuela Wagner, UCONN)

Manuela Wagner © Manuela Wagner
Manuela Wagner is a specialist in the integration of Intercultural Competence and Intercultural Citizenship in world language education. She is particularly interested in the interplay of theory and practice and has co-edited Teaching Intercultural Competence Across the Age Range: From Theory to Practice (2018) and Education for Intercultural Citizenship: Principles in Practice (2017). The co-authored book Teaching Intercultural Citizenship Across the Curriculum: The Role of Language Education appeared with ACTFL in 2019.

After an introduction to the concept of intercultural citizenship (Byram, 2008) I will address the following questions: 1) Why should we teach intercultural citizenship in language education and beyond?,  2) What are the connections of teaching for intercultural citizenship, anti-racism education, and decolonizing the German language and culture curriculum?, 3) What are some examples of intercultural citizenship education, and 4) What are some challenges and criticism of teaching languages through intercultural citizenship?

12/3/2020, 7:00 pm EST
Media Literacy (Prof. Anke Finger, UCONN)


Anke Finger © Anke Finger Anke Finger is Professor of German Studies, Media Studies and Comparative Literary and Cultural Studies at the University of Connecticut. Among other positions, she currently serves as the Director for High School Outreach (ECE) in German Studies and co-directs the dual degree EUROBIZ. Her research focuses on German modernism, media studies and intercultural communication, and she is developing a course on “Media Literacy and Data Ethics” for the General Education program at UConn.
 
This presentation on media literacy in the German-speaking classroom concentrates on 3 questions: what media? which data? whose ethics? We will explore these questions on the background of German cultural and media history and what students might need to know to navigate today’s media and data landscapes in German-speaking contexts. Importantly, media are directly connected to everyday cultural techniques such as writing or reading or using social media and other platforms. As such, media literacy, in the language and culture classroom and beyond, becomes a vital skill set for our multimodal and multilingual world.

Certificate 
For teachers who attend at least three of these events, we are happy to issue certificates of professional development. 
 
Registration:
Participation is free. To register, please send an email to Kerstin Hämmerling from the Goethe-Institut Boston: kerstin.haemmerling@goethe.de.

German and Beyond

German and Beyond

Aktuelle Diskurse im Deutschunterricht —
Online-Seminare für Deutschlehrkräfte

Der Blick über den Tellerrand des Deutschunterrichts ist für die meisten Deutschlehrkräfte eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Anno 2020 ist Fremdsprachenunterricht mehr als die Vermittlung sprachlichen Wissens und kommunikativer Kompetenzen. Der Fremdsprachenunterricht eignet sich wie nur wenige andere Fächer dafür, aktuelle und spannende Inhalte zu integrieren und mit dem Spracherwerb zu verknüpfen. Gerade diese Verknüpfung stellt uns allerdings regelmäßig vor Herausforderungen: Denn wie vermitteln wir Inhalte, in denen uns selbst das Expert*innenwissen fehlt? Und wir integrieren wir komplexe Sachverhalte und Debatten in den Sprachunterricht für die niedrigeren Niveaus?
 
Das Goethe-Institut Boston lädt Deutschlehrkräfte aus den USA in diesem Herbst zur Teilnahme an unserer virtuellen Seminarreihe ''German and Beyond: Aktuelle Diskurse im Deutschunterricht'' ein. Gemeinsam mit Expert*innen präsentieren wir in 90-minütigen virtuellen Seminaren Einblicke in die großen Diskurse und Themen unserer Zeit und suchen gemeinsam nach sinnvollen Verknüpfungen dieser Themen mit dem Deutschunterricht an High Schools. 
 
Programm:

21.10.2020, 19:00 Uhr EDT
Dekolonisierung des Lehrplans (Prof. David Gramling, University of Arizona)


David Gramling © David Gramling David Gramling ist Mitglied des Steering Committee im Diversity, Decolonization, and the German Curriculum Collective (DDGC, @DDGCTweets). Er ist Author und Co-Author verschiedener Bücher, u.a. The Invention of Monolingualism (Bloomsbury 2016), Linguistic Disobedience (Palgrave 2019) und Germany in Transit: Nation & Migration 1955–2005 (University of California Press). Er unterrichtet an der University of Arizona, auf dem Land der Tohono O’odham Nation.
 
Sein Vortrag fokussiert auf drei Themen: a) die unterschiedlichen Ursprünge des Diskurses der Dekolonisierung, b) die aktuelle Arbeit im Bereich der Dekolonisierung im deutschsprachigen Raum und die historischen Einflüsse, die dabei eine Rolle spielen, und c) die Implikationen von Dekolonisierung für das Lehren und Lernen von Deutsch und anderen Fremdsprachen.

3.11.2020, 19:00 Uhr EST
Anti-Rassismus (Prof. Priscilla Layne, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)


Priscilla Layne © Priscilla Layne Priscilla Layne ist Lehrbeauftrage für Deutsch und African, African American and Diaspora Studies an der University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill. Sie machte ihren  PhD an der University of California in Berkeley. Ihre Forschung und Lehre fokussieren auf postcolonial studies, gender studies und critical race theory und auf Themen wie der Repräsentation von “Blackness” in Literatur und Film, Rebellion und dem Konzept des “Anderen” in Science Fiction und Fantasy.

Der Begriff “Rasse” war in Deutschland lange Zeit tabu wegen der Verbindung dieses Begriffs mit den Gräueltaten des Nazi-Regimes. Viele Deutsche sind der Meinung, dass eine Abwendung vom Begriff der biologischen Kategorie der Rasse genug sei, um das Problem des Rassimus in der Gesellschaft zu beseitigen. Dies ist aber nicht eingetreten, zum Teil deswegen, da viele Deutsche nationale Identität schon seit langer Zeit mit “Whiteness” assoziieren; eine Annahme, die sich in der Sprache und in Verhaltensweisen wiederspiegelt, die kontinuierlich Schwarze und Menschen anderer Hautfarben ausschlieβen. Die afro-amerikanische Aktivistin Angela Davis sagte einmal: “In einer rassistischen Gesellschaft ist es nicht genug, nicht rassistisch zu sein, wir müssen anti-rassistisch sein.” In diesem Vortrag werde ich zeigen, wie eine anti-rassistische Pädagogik im Deutschunterricht aussehen kann.

17.11.2020, 19:00 Uhr EST 
Intercultural Competence (Prof. Manuela Wagner, UCONN)

Manuela Wagner © Manuela Wagner
Manuela Wagner ist Expertin für die Integration von Interkultureller Kompetenz und Intercultural Citizenship im Fremdsprachenunterricht. Ihr besonderer Fokus liegt auf dem Zusammenspiel von Theorie und Praxis. Sie war Mitredakteurin von Teaching Intercultural Competence Across the Age Range: From Theory to Practice (2018) und von Education for Intercultural Citizenship: Principles in Practice (2017). Das Buch Teaching Intercultural Citizenship Across the Curriculum: The Role of Language Education, das sie mitverfasst hat, erschien 2019 bei ACTFL.

Nach einer Einführung in das Konzept der intercultural citizenship (Byram, 2008) werde ich die folgenden Fragen behandeln: 1) Warum sollten wir intercultural citizenship innerhalb und auβerhalb des Fremdsprachenunterrichts lehren? 2) Welche Verbindungen existieren zwischen intercultural citizenship, anti-rassistischer Erziehung und der Dekolonisierung des Lehrplans im Deutschunterricht? 3) Welche Beispiele für die Einbettung von intercultural citizenship education in den Fremdsprachenunterricht gibt es? 4) Welchen Herausforderungen und welcher Kritik begegnet das Konzept der intercultural citizenship education im Fremdsprachenunterricht und wie gehen wir damit um?

3.12.2020, 19:00 Uhr EST
Media Literacy (Prof. Anke Finger, UCONN)


Anke Finger © Anke Finger Anke Finger ist Professorin für German Studies, Media Studies and Comparative Literary and Cultural Studies an der University of Connecticut. Sie ist unter anderem Direktorin für Verbindungsarbeit mit High Schols für German Studies und Ko-Direktorin des dualen Studienprogramms EUROBIZ. Ihre Forschung fokussiert auf der deutschen Moderne, Medienwissenschaften und Interkultureller Kommunikation und sie entwickelt einen Kurs zum Thema “Medienkompetenz und Datenethik” für das allgemeinbildende Grundprogramm an UConn.
 
Dieser Vortrag über Medienkompetenz im Deutschunterricht konzentriert sich auf drei Fragen: Was für Medien? Welche Daten? Wessen Ethik? Wir werden diese Fragen vor dem Hintergrund der deutschen Kuktur- und Medienlandschaft untersuchen und prüfen, welche Kenntnisse Schüler*innen brauchen, um aktuelle deutschsprachige Medien und Datenbestände nutzen zu können. Dabei müssen wir realisieren, dass alle Medien heutzutage direkt mit Kompetenzen wie Lesen, Schreiben oder der Verwendung von Social Media verbunden sind. Medienkompentenz wird somit innerhalb und auβerhalb des Klassenzimmers ein essentielles Instrument, das uns zum Leben und Funktionieren in einer multimodalen und multilingualen Welt befähigt.

Teilnahmezertifikat
Für Lehrkräfte, die an mindestens drei der Veranstaltungen teilnehmen, stellen wir gerne Teilnahmezertifikate zum Nachweis Ihrer professionellen Entwicklung aus.
 
Anmeldung:

Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos. Zur Anmeldung schicken Sie bitte eine Email an Kerstin Hämmerling vom Goethe-Institut Boston: 
kerstin.haemmerling@goethe.de.