Concert HANOI ° BERLIN - EXPERIMENTAL MUSIC ENCOUNTER

HANOI ° BERLIN - EXPERIMENTAL MUSIC ENCOUNTER © Viola Förster

Sat, 22.10.2016

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58-60 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str.
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

The Ensemble with 10 musicians from Hanoi and Berlin is playing their own compositions and improvisations. In the framework of the Vu Dan Tan exhibition.

Musicians from Berlin Musicians from Hanoi
Mike Majkowski
double bass
Michael Vorfeld
percussion
Burkhard Beins
percussion
Boris Baltschun
analog synthesizer
Andrea Neumann
inside piano, mixing board
Nguyen Thuy Dung 
dan tranh
Ngo Tra My
dan bau
SonX
percussion
Nguyen Do Minh Quan
electronics
Kim Ngoc Tran
vocals


10 musicians, 2 capitals from 2 continents: Hanoi ° Berlin are a unique gathering of kindred spirits from Vietnam and Germany who are playing experimental and improvised music, together they are exploring these genres. Their focus is set on string and percussion instruments which are combined with analogue and digital instruments and techniques that promise a fascinating sound experience in total. Electronic and acoustic sounds meet each other and are formed into an experimental symbiosis in which Western and Vietnamese as well as customized instruments are made use of.
 
The ensemble is playing two concerts in Vietnam in the end of October which are set in the framework of the Vu Dan Tan exhibition at Goethe-Institut (8.10. - 28.10.2016). The group will do collective improvisations as well as perform three pieces which Tran Kim Ngoc, Andrea Neumann and Burkhard Beins developed for this specific context. They are based on compositional sketches made by Vu Dan Tan. On 22. October 2016, the ensemble will play the first concert at Goethe-Institut. The second concert takes place on 27. October 2016 in Hoi An.
 
Concert in the Acker Stadt Palast, Berlin, July 2016
The ensemble Hanoi ° Berlin is coordinated by Burkhard Beins and Kim Ngoc. The composer and performer Burhard Beins already performed experimental and New Music at the end of the 1980s. He developed his own techniques and is therefore one of the most renowned contemporary German percussionists. He does solo shows as much as ensembles and by now recorded more than 40 CDs, he gives workshops and holds speeches.
Program
Burkhard Beins/Andrea Neumann: Slow Waltz (for Vu Dan Tan)
Andrea Neumann: Sonic Gestures II
Kim Ngoc Tran: Journey No. 5
Collective Improvisation


Hanoi-based music composer and improviser Tran Thi Kim Ngoc studied music in Vietnam and Germany. Starting with composing contemporary music for orchestra and ensemble, Kim Ngoc recently put her major efforts in the discovery and fostering of an interdisciplinary language of art. In 2012, Kim Ngoc founded DomDom – the first hub in Vietnam devoted to the development of contemporary experimental music and cross-disciplinary art. She is also the founder and artistic director of the Hanoi New Music Festival. Kim Ngoc’s works are performed worldwide.

In cooperation with:

domdom © domdom
 

Back

Konzert Experimentelle Musik Hanoi ° Berlin

HANOI ° BERLIN - EXPERIMENTAL MUSIC ENCOUNTER © Viola Förster

Sa, 22.10.2016

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58-60 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

Das 10-köpfige Ensemble mit Musikern aus Hanoi und Berlin spielt eigene Kompositionen und Improvisationen. Im Rahmen der Vu Dan Tan Ausstellung.

MusikerInnen aus Berlin MusikerInnen aus Hanoi
Mike Majkowski
double bass
Michael Vorfeld
percussion
Burkhard Beins
percussion
Boris Baltschun
analog synthesizer
Andrea Neumann
inside piano, mixing board
Nguyen Thuy Dung 
dan tranh
Ngo Tra My
dan bau
SonX
percussion
Nguyen Do Minh Quan
electronics
Kim Ngoc Tran
vocals


10 Musikerinnen und Musiker, 2 Hauptstädte auf zwei Kontinenten: Hanoi ° Berlin ist eine einzigartige Zusammenstellung von Gleichgesinnten aus Vietnam und Deutschland, die gemeinsam experimentelle und improvisierte Musik spielen und das Genre erforschen. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf Saiteninstrumenten und Perkussion, die wiederum mit analogen und digitalen Instrumenten und Techniken kombiniert werden und so ein faszinierendes Klangerlebnis versprechen. Elektronik und Akustik treffen aufeinander und gehen eine experimentelle Symbiose ein, in der traditionelle westliche und vietnamesische, sowie spezialangefertigte Instrumente ihren Platz finden.
 
Das Ensemble gibt Ende Oktober zwei Konzerte in Vietnam, die im Rahmen der Vu Dan Tan Ausstellung im Goethe-Institut stattfinden (8.10.-28.10.2016). Neben einer Kollektiv-Improvisation präsentiert die Gruppe auch drei speziell von Tran Kim Ngoc, Andrea Neumann und Burkhard Beins für diesen Zusammenhang erarbeitete Stücke, die auf Kompositionsskizzen von Vu Dan Tan basieren. Die Stücke sind in Berlin entstanden und wurden dort im Acker Stadt Palast im Juli 2016 mit großem Erfolg aufgeführt. Am 22. Oktober 2016 gibt das Ensemble das erste Konzert im Goethe-Institut Hanoi. 

Konzert im Acker Stadt Palast, Berlin, Juli 2016
Koordiniert wird das Ensemble Hanoi ° Berlin durch Burkhard Beins und Tran Kim Ngoc. Der Komponist und Performer Burkhard Beins gilt aufgrund seiner individuell entwickelten Spieltechniken als stilprägender Perkussionist. Seit Ende der 1980er Jahre spielt er regelmäßig auf internationalen Festivals für experimentelle und Neue Musik. Er tritt sowohl Solo als auch in Ensembles auf, veröffentlichte mehr als 40 LPs und CDs und gibt darüber hinaus Workshops und hält Vorträge.
Programm
Andrea Neumann: Sonic Gestures II
Burkhard Beins/Andrea Neumann: Slow Waltz (for Vu Dan Tan)
Kim Ngoc Tran: Journey No. 5
Collective Improvisation


Die Komponistin und Improvisationsmusikerin Tran Thi Kim Ngoc lebt und arbeitet in Hanoi. Nach ihrem Studium in Vietnam und Deutschland komponierte sie zunächst zeitgenössische Orchestermusik. In letzter Zeit gilt ihr Interesse der Entwicklung einer interdisziplinären Sprache der Kunst. 2012 gründete sie DomDom – das erste Kreativzentrum in Vietnam, das sich der Entwicklung von zeitgenössischer experimenteller Musik und interdisziplinärer Kunst widmet. Sie ist außerdem die Gründerin und Intendantin des Hanoi New Music Festivals. Kim Ngocs Musik wird auf der ganzen Welt gespielt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit:

domdom © domdom
 

Zurück