Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
The Awardees 2021f.l.t.r.: Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell (Ausschnitt) © Max Mbakop, Toshio Hosokawa (Ausschnitt) © Kaz Ishikawa,Wen Hui © Richy Wong

Goethe Medal 2021

The winners of the Goethe Medal 2021 have been selected: The official decoration of the Federal Republic of Germany goes to the social economist and president of the cultural organisation doual'art Princess Marilyn Douala Manga Bell of Cameroon, to the composer Toshio Hosokawa of Japan and to the dancer and choreographer Wen Hui of China. The ceremony celebrating the awardees of the 2021 Goethe Medal will take place as a digital live stream on 28 August, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s birthday.

Digital ceremony for the award of the Goethe Medal 2021

Live premiere on 28.8.2021 at 11 AM. Subtitles available on Youtube: ENG, FR, JAP, CHIN.

Live-Streamings of the Framework Programm of the Goethe-Medal 2021

I am 60


7:00 PM | Dance

Stunden-Blumen | Vertical time Study


5:00 PM | Concert

Talk with the President Carola Lentz


12:00 PM | Talk

About the Goethe Medal

The candidates for the Goethe Medal are nominated every year by the Goethe-Instituts abroad in close collaboration with Germany’s diplomatic representation offices. The Goethe Medal Conferment Commission, consisting of persons from the fields of science, the arts and culture, pre-selects the awardees who must then be confirmed by the Board of Trustees. The chair of the Goethe Medal Conferment Commission is the cultural scientist and Vice President of the Goethe-Institut Christina von Braun.
The Goethe Medal was established by the Executive Board of the Goethe-Institut in 1954 and acknowledged as an official decoration by the Federal Republic of Germany in 1975. Since 2009, the award ceremony has taken place in Weimar on 28 August, Goethe's birthday. Thus, the ceremony fits seamlessly into the Weimar Kultursommer and one of its highlights, the Kunstfest Weimar. Together with the Kunstfest, the Goethe-Institut organises a fringe programme that rounds off the festivities for the conferment of the Goethe Medal and offers further opportunities to meet the awardees.
Since it was first awarded in 1955, a total of 357 people from 70 countries have been honoured. The awardees have included Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Bourdieu, David Cornwell AKA John le Carré, Sir Ernst Gombrich, Lars Gustafsson, Ágnes Heller, Petros Markaris, Sir Karl Raimund Popper, Jorge Semprún, Robert Wilson, Neil MacGregor, Helen Wolff, Irina Shcherbakova, Shirin Neshat,  Ariane Mnouchkine, Yoko Tawada or Sofia Gubaidulina.

Awardees 2021