Film + talk with the director A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces by Shengze Zhu

A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces von Shengze Zhu © BURN THE FILM

Sat, 03.07.2021

16:00 - 18:15

Bozar

+ Q+A afterwards with director Shengze Zhu

Three important German film festivals are guests in Brussels every year: the Berlinale Forum, DOK Leipzig and Duisburger Filmwoche. From this year's Berlinale Forum programme we present, among others, A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces by Shengze Zhu. Following the screening, the director will be available for a digital film discussion with Cristina Nord, director of Berlinale Forum. 

About the film: A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces 

(USA, 2021, without dialogue, subtitled: English, 87’) 

There are the images of before, the images of after and the letters. The images of after come first, they stem from the same surveillance camera in Wuhan, empty streets that only throng with people again on April 4th, 2020, when the siren also sounds and they stand in silence. The images of before form the rest of the film, the camera picking out scenes of unlikely, unostentatious beauty as it crisscrosses the metropolis, surveying each for minutes on end, like a city symphony without music. Wuhan hurtles ever further into the future, a hive of construction that births neon-lit bridges and buildings from the misty fields and rubble, even as water buffalo still graze. The four letters are addressed to a partner, a grandmother, a father and a daughter, all of them no longer here. Their words appear as text and the images they evoke settle over the ones on-screen, overlapping visions of the past of an equivalent melancholy: crowds on the banks, a submerged pavilion, the first trip on the metro that passes under the Yangtze, a life swimming in the river, which blends with the hazy sky in the distance. So much water under the bridge, but the river keeps flowing. It doesn’t forget. (James Lattimer) 

About the director: Shengze Zhu 

Born in 1987 in Wuhan, China. She works as a filmmaker and producer in Chicago. She made her debut, Xu jiao, in 2014. A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces is her fourth feature-length film. 




“PERSPEKTIVEN – Berlinale Forum, DOK Leipzig, Duisburger Filmwoche“ is an initiative by Goethe-Institut Brussels and BOZAR Films, programmed with Le p'tit ciné asbl, in cooperation with the Berlinale Forum, Arsenal – Institute for Film und Video Art, DOK Leipzig and Duisburger Filmwoche. The series is kindly supported by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.  

Back

Film + Gespräch mit der Regisseurin A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces von Shengze Zhu

A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces von Shengze Zhu © BURN THE FILM

Sa, 03.07.2021

16:00 Uhr - 18:15 Uhr

BOZAR

A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces von Shengze Zhu

+ anschließendes Q+A mit der Regisseurin Shengze Zhu

Drei wichtige deutsche Filmfestivals sind jährlich in Brüssel zu Gast: das Forum der Berlinale, DOK Leipzig und die Duisburger Filmwoche. Aus dem Programm von Berlinale Forum präsentieren wir in diesem Jahr u.a. A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces von Shengze Zhu. Im Anschluss an die Vorführung steht die Regisseurin für ein digitales Filmgespräch mit Cristina Nord, der Leiterin von Berlinale Forum, zur Verfügung.

Zum Film: A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces

(USA, 2021, Ohne Dialog, UT: Englisch, 87’) 

Bilder von vorher, Bilder von nachher und vier Briefe: Zuerst sehen wir die Bilder von nachher, aufgenommen von einer Überwachungskamera in Wuhan: leere Straßen, die sich erst am 4. April 2020 wieder füllen, mit Menschen, die innehalten, als die Sirenen zu heulen beginnen. Die anderen Bilder stammen von vorher: lange Einstellungen von unaufdringlicher Schönheit, aufgenommen mal hier, mal dort, die Symphonie einer Großstadt ohne Musik. Wuhan rast der Zukunft entgegen, ein Gewimmel aus Baustellen, das aus dunstigen Feldern neonbeleuchtete Gebäude und Brücken gebiert, während unweit Wasserbüffel grasen. Die vier Briefe richten sich an einen Partner, eine Großmutter, einen Vater, eine Tochter, sie sind alle nicht mehr da. Die Worte werden sichtbar, die Bilder, die sie hervorrufen, legen sich über die Bilder auf der Leinwand, melancholische Visionen der Vergangenheit, die sich überlagern: Menschenmengen am Ufer, ein überschwemmter Pavillon, die erste Fahrt in einer U-Bahn unter dem Jangtse hindurch, Leute, die im Fluss baden, der in der Ferne mit dem dunstigen Himmel verschwimmt. Es ist viel Zeit vergangen, aber der Fluss fließt immer weiter. Und vergisst nicht. (James Lattimer) 

Zur Regisseurin: Shengze Zhu 

Geboren 1987 in Wuhan, China. Sie ist als Filmemacherin und Produzentin tätig und lebt in Chicago, USA. Ihr Debüt Xu jiao entstand 2014. A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces ist ihr vierter abendfüllender Film. 







Die Reihe „PERSPEKTIVEN – Berlinale Forum, DOK Leipzig, Duisburger Filmwoche“ ist eine Initiative vom Goethe-Institut Brüssel und BOZAR Films, programmiert mit Le p'tit ciné asbl, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berlinale Forum, Arsenal - Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V., DOK Leipzig und Duisburger Filmwoche. Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa des Landes Berlin. 


 

Zurück