Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

For George Floyd, against Racism

George Floyd Special
© Froukje Akkerman

Starting in the neighboring cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota, and later around the world, street art was created in response to the death of George Floyd on May 25, 2020.

 

All over the world, people continue to react to the death of George Floyd caused by police in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

From taking to the streets in protest to re-examining long-held beliefs about racism and the justice system, a global movement is demanding social justice and equality.  Street art has played an important role in this movement - as an outlet for citizens to express their grief, outrage, and hope about the future. This street art has grown on the sides of local businesses, street corners, plywood covering broken windows, and more, from neighborhoods in Minneapolis to countries around the world.  

A team of scholars and students at St. Thomas University in St. Paul, Minnesota, has created the “Urban Art Mapping George Floyd and Anti-Racist Street Art database,” which seeks to document examples of this street art from around the world. With submissions continuing to come in daily, this database will serve as a resource for communities and scholars around the street art and the issues it explores for years to come.  From breathtaking murals created by teams of professional artists to poignant graffiti, this collection captures the breadth of street art that has been created in response to this moment. The gallery below represents a selection of street art curated by the Germanic-American Institute in St. Paul, Minnesota, in cooperation with the George Floyd Anti-Racist Street Art database. This online gallery includes works by local street artists and community members in Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota. To learn more about the street art database and most recent submissions, please visit 
  • Truck Angel © @antione_jenkins3 @antz_creationz @yungjustinanderson @wousart, Photo: minneapolismurals
    "Truck Angel" by @antione_jenkins3 @antz_creationz @yungjustinanderson @wousart
    This mural was a collaboration among local artists in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area who were protesting peacefully on the interstate I-35 bridge the day a truck came barreling into the crowd. Fortunately, no one was injured in the incident, which inspired the artists to create the mural above. The mural was located at Spyhouse Coffee, 2404 Hennepin Avenue in Minneapolis.
  • Stronger Together © Siglind Dial
    Stronger Together by @sig.natur
    This composite puzzle portrait of George Floyd has pink text reading "Stronger Together". It was painted by a 22 year-old woman artist called SIG, who witnessed the rioting and burning of the third precinct police department in Minneapolis. She wanted to donate some beauty to her boarded-up community.
  • George Floyd “Crowned in Glory” © Grimmz River
    "George Floyd Crowned in Glory” by Grimmz River
    This stencil of George Floyd embellished with a gold crown, streams of color, and musical notes, was found on the wall of a business on Lake Street in Minneapolis. It is signed by “Grimmz River.”
  • “Flowers For Floyd” Photo: Froukje Akkerman © Andres Guzman and Jose Dominguez
    "Flowers For Floyd” by @Hozay_dmngz and @andresitoguzman
    The Flowers for Floyd mural began with a black and white portrait by artist Andres Guzman. Jose Dominguez added artwork depicting three people holding flowers in raised fists and a woman making a heart with her hands. The mural is on the wall of an independent Hip Hop retail store in Minneapolis.
  • Blues 4 George © Seitu Jones
    "Blues 4 George" by Seitu Jones and collaborators
    Gordon Parks High School students, staff, and community members, including artist Seitu Jones, gathered to paint murals on the plywood boards protecting the windows of the school. Jones made his stencil of George Floyd’s face available for any artist to download and many examples of the image were seen on University Avenue in St. Paul. Stencil created by Seitu Jones: https://seitujonesstudio.com/blues4george/
  • Many Colored Fists © ArtCrop and Seitu Jones
    "Many Colored Fists" by @helloartcrop and @seitujones
    Seitu Jones's "Blues for George" stencil is superimposed on colorful raised fists standing in a field of yellow. The mural was created by members of ArtCrop, a collective that uses art and food to pay tribute to the Hmong cultural experience while supporting Hmong farmers.
  • I am not a threat © PiM Arts High School
    "I am not a threat" by students from PiM Arts High School
    This composite mural was created by students from the Performing Institute of Minnesota (PiM) Arts High School. An empowered black woman raising her fist wears a face mask and a shirt that says “MELANIN”. Next to her are portraits labeled with the names of five black men and women who were killed by local police in the United States.
  • Red Roses © #ral86, #miskitoos, #joyspika, Wanisin, Thomasina Top Bear, #yazziz, #froriginals, #sotalettersco, and others.
    "Red Roses" by a group of mostly women artists
    A woman surrounded by large red and white roses holds a sign with an image of the state of Minnesota and the words “George Floyd” and “#We need justice”. Visitors to the site where George Floyd was killed continue to leave flowers of all kinds as a tribute.
https://georgefloydstreetart.omeka.net/ Dr. Todd Lawrence, University of St. Thomas Dr. Todd Lawrence, University of St. Thomas | © University of St. Thomas

Über die Kuratoren

Dr. Heather Shirey, University of St. Thomas Dr. Heather Shirey, University of St. Thomas | © University of St. Thomas Dr. Todd Lawrence, University of St. Thomas


Dr. Todd Lawrence teaches African American literature and culture, folklore studies, and cultural studies. His research and teaching areas include the Black Arts Movement, James Baldwin, racial passing, black speculative writing, and ethnographic writing. Dr. Lawrence's work straddles a number of areas but generally sits at the intersection of identity, narrative, community, and culture. 

Germanic-American Institute Germanic-American Institute | © Germanic-American Institute Dr. Heather Shirey, University of St. Thomas

Dr. Heather Shirey’s research and teaching are shaped by the idea that as art historians and citizens of the world, we must all engage deeply and analytically with visual culture, both in the classroom and in our everyday lives. Her teaching and research are focused on the African Diaspora in Brazil, the Caribbean, Europe, and the United States. Dr. Shirey also has a strong interest in the history of photography and the development of street art. 

The Germanic-American Institute (GAI) is a non-profit organization located in St. Paul, Minnesota whose mission is to connect people to a broader world through German language and culture. As a Goethe-Institut “Kulturgesellschaft” the GAI has been a close collaborating partner of the Goethe-Institut on this #artbits project and a wide array of educational and cultural programs


 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Pro George Floyd, kontra Rassismus

George Floyd Special
© Froukje Akkerman

Zunächst in den Nachbarstädten von Minneapolis und St. Paul in Minnesota, später auf der ganzen Welt sind Street-Art-Werke als Reaktion auf den Tod von George Floyd am 25. Mai 2020 entstanden.

 

Überall auf der Welt hat der gewaltsame Tod von George Floyd, verursacht durch die Polizei in Minneapolis, Minnesota, anhaltende Reaktionen ausgelöst.

Mit den Demonstrationen und der wieder aufgenommenen Diskussion um Rassismus in der Gesellschaft und im Justizsystem ist eine globale Bewegung entstanden, die soziale Gerechtigkeit und Gleichberechtigung fordert. Street-Art spielt in dieser Bewegung eine wichtige Rolle – als Möglichkeit für Bürger*innen, ihre Trauer, ihre Entrüstung und ihre Hoffnung für die Zukunft auszudrücken. Die Werke finden sich an den Wänden lokaler Geschäfte, an Straßenecken und auf Spanholzplatten vor zerbrochenen Fenstern: in den Stadtteilen von Minneapolis und in Städten auf der ganzen Welt.

Ein Team von Lehrenden und Studierenden der St. Thomas University in St. Paul, Minnesota, hat eine Datenbank aufgebaut, die „Urban Art Mapping George Floyd and Anti-Racist Street Art“, die einschlägige Street-Art-Beispiele aus der ganzen Welt dokumentiert. Diese Datenbank dient als wichtige Ressource für lokale wie internationale Lehrende und Communitys, die sich mit Straßenkunst und den damit verbundenen Themen befassen. Von atemberaubenden Wandgemälden professioneller Künstler*innen bis zu ergreifenden Graffitis anonymer Schaffender zeigt diese Sammlung Street‑Art‑Werke, die als Reaktion auf diesen Moment geschaffen wurden.

Unsere Online-Galerie zeigt ausgewählte Werke lokaler Straßenkünstler*innen und von Gemeinde‑Mitgliedern aus Minneapolis und St. Paul, Minnesota: eine vom Germanic-American Institute in St. Paul, Minnesota, in Zusammenarbeit mit der George Floyd Anti‑Racist Street-Art-Datenbank kuratierte Auswahl. Weitere Informationen zur Street‑Art‑Datenbank und weitere aktuelle Werke gbt es hier:
https://georgefloydstreetart.omeka.net/
  • Truck Angel © @antione_jenkins3 @antz_creationz @yungjustinanderson @wousart, Photo: minneapolismurals
    „Truck Angel“ von @antione_jenkins3 @antz_creationz @yungjustinanderson @wousart
    Dieses Mauerbild war eine Zusammenarbeit lokaler Künstler*innen in Minneapolis / St. Paul, die gewaltfrei auf der Autobahn I-35 protestierten, als ein Lastwagen in die Menschenmenge raste. Glücklicherweise wurde bei dem Vorfall niemand verletzt, was die Künstler*innen zu dem Werk inspirierte. Das Bild war auf Spanplatten beim Spyhouse Coffee, 2404 Hennepin Avenue in Minneapolis zu finden.
  • Stronger Together © Siglind Dial
    „Stronger Together" von @sig.natur
    Dieses zusammengesetzte Puzzle-Porträt von George Floyd hat einen rosa Text mit der Schrift „Stronger Together" (Zusammen sind wir stärker). Es wurde von einer 22-jährigen Künstlerin namens SIG gemalt, die die Unruhen und das Abbrennen der Polizeiwache im 3. Bezirk in Minneapolis miterlebt hat. Sie wollte ihrer verbarrikadierten Gemeinde etwas Schönheit spenden.
  • George Floyd “Crowned in Glory” © Grimmz River
    „George Floyd Crowned in Glory” von Grimmz River
    Diese Schablonenzeichnung von George Floyd ist mit einer goldenen Krone, Farbströmen und Noten verziert und wurde an der Wand eines Geschäfts in der Lake Street in Minneapolis gefunden. Die Signatur stammt von Grimmz River.
  • „Flowers For Floyd” Foto: Froukje Akkerman © Andres Guzman und Jose Dominguez
    „Flowers For Floyd” von @Hozay_dmngz und @andresitoguzman
    Das Mauerbild „Flowers for Floyd“ (Blumen für Floyd) begann als Schwarz-Weiß-Porträt des Künstlers Andres Guzman. Jose Dominguez fügte eine Illustration hinzu, die drei Personen zeigt, die mit erhobenen Fäusten Blumen halten, und eine Frau, deren Hände ein Herz formen. Das Mauerbild befindet sich an der Wand eines unabhängigen Hip-Hop-Geschäfts in Minneapolis
  • Blues 4 George © Seitu Jones
    „Blues 4 George” von Seitu Jones und Kollaborateuren
    Die Schüler*innen, Mitarbeiter*innen und Gemeindemitglieder der Gordon Parks Highschool und der Künstler Seitu Jones kamen zusammen, um Mauerbilder auf die Spanplatten zu malen, die die Fenster der Schule schützen. Jones stellte seine Schablone von George Floyds Gesicht allen Künstler*innen zum Download zur Verfügung, und viele Abbildungen sind auf der University Avenue in St. Paul zu sehen. Die Vorlagen von Seitu Jones gibt es hier: https://seitujonesstudio.com/blues4george/
  • Many Colored Fists © ArtCrop and Seitu Jones
    „Many Colored Fists" von @helloartcrop und @seitujones
    Die Schablone „Blues 4 George" von Seitu Jones überlagert die bunten, erhobenen Fäuste, die in einem gelben Feld stehen. Das Mauerbild wurde von Mitgliedern von ArtCrop erstellt; einem Kollektiv, das mit Kunst und Speisen die Kultur der Hmong würdigt und gleichzeitig Hmong-Bauern unterstützt.
  • I am not a threat © PiM Arts High School
    „I am not a threat” von Schüler*innen der PiM Arts Highschool
    Dieses kombinierte Mauerbild wurde von Schüler*innen der Kunst-Highschool des Performing Institute of Minnesota (PiM) erstellt. Eine schwarze Frau, mit erhobener Faust, trägt eine Schutzmaske und ein T-Shirt mit der Aufschrift „MELANIN“. Neben ihr befinden sich Porträts mit den Namen von fünf schwarzen Männern und Frauen, die von der örtlichen Polizei in den USA ums Leben gebracht wurden.
  • Red Roses © #ral86, #miskitoos, #joyspika, Wanisin, Thomasina Top Bear, #yazziz, #froriginals, #sotalettersco, and others.
    „Red Roses” von anonymen Künstler*innen
    Eine Frau, umgeben von großen roten und weißen Rosen, hält ein Schild mit dem Bundesstaat Minnesota und den Worten „George Floyd“ und „#We Need Justice” (#Wir brauchen Gerechtigkeit). Besucher*innen der Stätte, an der George Floyd ermordet wurde, hinterlassen weiterhin Blumen.

Über die Kurator*innen

Dr. Todd Lawrence, University of St. Thomas Dr. Todd Lawrence, University of St. Thomas | © University of St. Thomas Dr. Todd Lawrence unterrichtet afroamerikanische Literatur und Kultur, Volkskunde und Kulturwissenschaften. Zu seinen Forschungs- und Lehrgebieten gehören Black Arts Movement, James Baldwin, Rassenidentität, spekulatives Schreiben aus der Schwarzen Perspektive und ethnografisches Schreiben. Todd Lawrences Arbeit erstreckt sich über eine Vielzahl von Bereichen, befindet sich jedoch hauptsächlich an der Schnittstelle von Identität, Narrativ, Gemeinschaft und Kultur.

Dr. Heather Shirey, University of St. Thomas Dr. Heather Shirey, University of St. Thomas | © University of St. Thomas Dr. Heather Shireys Forschung und Lehre basieren auf der Prämisse, dass sich alle Menschen als Kunsthistoriker*innen und Bürger*innen dieser Welt intensiv und analytisch mit visueller Kultur beschäftigen sollten, sowohl im Klassenzimmer als auch im täglichen Leben. Ihre Lehre und Forschung konzentrieren sich auf die afrikanische Diaspora in Brasilien, der Karibik, Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten. Heather Shirey interessiert sich zudem sehr für die Geschichte der Fotografie und die Entwicklung von Street-Art.

Germanic-American Institute Germanic-American Institute | © Germanic-American Institute Das Germanic-American Institute (GAI) ist eine gemeinnützige Einrichtung in St. Paul, Minnesota, deren Leitspruch es ist, Menschen durch deutsche Sprache und Kultur weltweit stärker zu verbinden. Als Kulturgesellschaft ist das GAI ein enger Kooperationspartner des Goethe-Instituts. In der Zusammenarbeit einer Vielzahl von Sprach- und Kulturprogrammen entstand der Artikel für das #artbits-Projekt.




 

Top