Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
New Nature Vitrines© Suzanne Kite

New Nature Vitrines is an exploration of all that lies - unknowably, irreverently, monstrously - beyond the human notion of “nature”.

We still do not know one thousandth of one percent of what nature has revealed to us.

Albert Einstein


Trailer


The Program

The series assembles audiovisual and sound works by contemporary artists, filmmakers, technologists, and scientists, foregrounding stories and scales that interrogate the inherent anthropocentrism of images, often by riffing on the codes and conventions of nature films, or subverting them altogether.

The artists, based in Germany, Canada, Mexico, and the United States, propose intricate soundscapes, airborne and microscopic perspectives, images imprinted by lichen, dirt, fur, and bacteria. Their works excavate complex biological, interspecies, and computational systems, all in a constant state of becoming, flickering with realities beyond our consciousness and invoking idiosyncratic reinventions of our relationship to the natural world.

The works are presented in the vitrines of the Goethe-Institut Montreal from November 16 to December 6, as well as exhibition spaces in three different Berlin neighborhoods – Berlin Weekly (Mitte), feldfünf (Kreuzberg), and goeben berlin (Schöneberg) - and Goethe-Institut New-York (December 15, 2020 until January 8, 2021).

Their placement in windows across the city diverts the restrictions of our COVID times to present decentralised and unexpected, emotional and visceral encounters with nature, springing forth from the quotidian facades of our cities.

The public is able to watch the moving image works from outside all venues. Stereo sync audio is made accessible for the Berlin venues through the visitors’ smartphones. More info here: www.newnature.live

In Berlin, selected works by Jenna Sutela are featured at feldfünf; Joan Jonas’ “Waltz” is presented separately to the works in the vitrines at goeben berlin.


SCHEDULE AND PARTICIPATING VENUES

Montreal
  • Goethe Institut Montreal, November 16 to December 6
Berlin
  • Berlin Weekly, November 16 to 22 
  • feldfünf, November 23 to 29
  • goeben berlin, November 30 to December 6
New York
  • Goethe Institut New York, December 15 to January 8

New Nature Vitrines is a programme by the Goethe-Institut Montreal, curated by Samara Chadwick and Sandra Teitge, and produced by Retune - Creative Technology Platform.
 
New Nature is a series of encounters over the course of 2020 between contemporary artists, filmmakers, immersive and VR creators, technologists, and climate scientists from Germany, Canada, the US, and Mexico. The project is an initiative by the Goethe-Institut Montreal, realized with the support of the Federal Foreign Office of Germany, in partnership with the National Film Board of Canada, Centre Phi, Milieux Institute at Concordia University, Museum of the Moving Image, Massive Science, XR HUB Bavaria, UnionDocs Center for Documentary Art and Retune - Creative Technology Platform.


The Works

Lichen © Lisa Jackson

Lisa Jackson
Lichen

This otherworldly short film takes a deep dive into lichen, a species that confounds scientists to this day. Lichen offers us a look at this remarkable life form and asks what we might learn from it. Ancient and diverse, both an individual and a community, lichens can live in the most extreme environments, including outer space. This meditative film bridges science and philosophy, and the words of lichenologist Trevor Goward illuminate the terrain in poetic and thought-provoking ways.

Parallele I © Harun Farocki GbR

Harun Farocki
Parallele I

Parallel I opens up a history of styles in computer graphics. The first games of the 1980s consisted of only horizontal and vertical lines. This abstraction was seen as a failing, and today representations are oriented towards photo-realism.

New Maps of Hyperspace_Test_01 © Doireann O'Malley

Doireann O'Malley
New Maps of Hyperspace_Test_01

Explore a post-human environment where several abandoned experiments to sustain life: beehives in incubators, 3D models of bodies, plant and insect colonies lie empty. The work is set in a liminal time after a climate disaster destroyed life. The work dwells on systems theory, climate care, digital consciousness and data mining.

Stones make birds make stones (inyan/zintkala/inyan kagapi) Courtesy of the Artist © Suzanne Kite

Suzanne Kite
inyan/zintkala/inyan kagapi

(stones make birds make stones)
In response to Martha Tuttle’s installation, A stone that thinks of Enceladus. StyleGAN manipulations show photographs of stones trying to reassemble birds. Sounds include recordings of a Hudson River estuary, the river lapping at the feet of poet, the Taos hum, a Jacob's Ladder electrical device, the rehearsal of a conch shell sextet, a harp excerpt from a previous work, and the artist's voice.

Europium © Lisa Rave

Lisa Rave
Europium

Using various levels of imagery, the essay film Europium weaves a narrative around the rare earth element europium; named after the European continent, the material will be culled from the ocean floor to ensure brilliant color images on smartphone displays, and to guarantee the authenticity of euro bank notes. The film describes this seemingly mundane fact as a return and repetition of history, exposing the invisible ghosts of the past as they appear in the modern objects of our lives.

Parallel III © Harun Farocki GbR

Harun Farocki
Parallele III

Parallel III seeks out the boundaries of the game worlds and the nature of the objects. It emerges that many game worlds take the form of discs floating in the universe – reminiscent of pre-Hellenistic conceptions of the world. The worlds have an apron and a backdrop, like theatre stages, and the things in these games have no real existence. Each of their properties must be separately constructed and assigned to them.

Still Life © Florian Fischer, Johannes Krell

Florian Fischer, Johannes Krell
Still Life

The video work reflects the relationship people have with their environment and questions the genre conventions of the classic nature documentary. The animals looking directly into the camera, which is usually forbidden in nature documentaries, is almost aimed at and the animal is established as a part of the recipient as well as their counterpart. What starts as a landscape and nature documentary turns into an experimental essay film that transcends genre boundaries, and thus undermines their predictable narratives. A hitherto familiar environment takes on strange characteristics and oscillates between stagnation and movement, realism and hypnosis, naturalness and artificiality. 

Estanque Lunar (Lunar Pond) © Colectivo Los Ingrávidos

Colectivo Los Ingrávidos
Estanque Lunar (Lunar Pond)

Lunar Pond is part of an audiovisual series about lunar cycles and rhythms in an attempt to evoke, integrate and develop the mythical presence of the Aztec lunar goddess Coyolxauhqui, thus evoking the eroded contemporary landscape of our time.

A Demonstration © Sasha Litvintseva, Beny Wagner

Sasha Litvintseva, Beny Wagner
A Demonstration

A monster film without monsters. Inspired by the existence of taxonomies of monsters at the heart of Early Modern European science, the film explores and reinterprets a way of seeing the natural world that is almost impossible to imagine from today’s vantage point. Early Modern naturalists were guided by a logic in which scientific truths were discovered through visual analogy. The word “monster” comes from the Latin “monstrare”, meaning to show, to reveal, to demonstrate. A Demonstration picks up on these themes in a poetic exploration of the boundaries of sight and the metamorphosis of form.

Fracking © Colectivo Los Ingrávidos

Colectivo Los Ingrávidos
Fracking

A fracture runs through the image. Hydraulic pliers and drills ready the filaments of Capital for the great industrial ordeal. The strata, black holes, begin to crack. There is a battle: who has stolen the earth?

The Inhumanities © Aljumaine Gayle / Ladan Siad

Aljumaine Gayle / Ladan Siad
The Inhumanities

Inhumanities is a projection mapping video that uses the form of technological abstraction to explore Black feminist ecological responses to narratives on the Anthropocene. Via abstraction, these videos ask how the Human is constituted by nature (and vice versa), towards planetary repair.

Holobiont © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela
Holobiont

Holobiont considers the idea of embodied cognition on a planetary scale, featuring a zoom from outer space to inside the gut. It documents Planetary Protection rituals at the European Space Agency and explores extremophilic bacteria in fermented foods as possible distributors of life between the stars. Bacillus subtilis, the nattō bacterium, plays a leading role. The term 'holobiont' stands for an entity made of many species, all inseparably linked in their ecology and evolution.

The Infernal Grove © Duke and Battersby

Cooper Battersby, Emily Vey Duke
The Infernal Grove

The story is: we love the thing, we take the thing and move it to a different place, so it will be closer to us and we can look at it, and then we kill it. We have made a movie of its death, so we can watch it again and again, faster, slower, backwards.


Berlin Featured Works

Nam Gut © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela
Nam-Gut

Nam - Gut (the microbial breakdown of language) presents a homebrew computer operated by a symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast and producing a new kind of language. A text about code laws and the gut brain, inspired by an ancient Sumerian incantation, is processed by tea,sugar,acetobacter, saccharomyces, brettanomyces, lactobacillus,pediococcus, gluconacetobacter kombuchae,zygosaccharomyces kombuchaensis, and Jumbo.

Waltz © Joan Jonas

Joan Jonas
Waltz

Jonas's performance piece, an homage to 18th-century French outdoor theater, incorporates mythology as well as spontaneously occurring events into the narrative.

nimiia cétiï © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela
nimiia cétiï

nimiia cétiï (2018) is an audiovisual work by Jenna Sutela using machine learning and the movement of Bacillus subtilis nattō, to generate a new written and spoken language. The machine, in this project, is a medium, channeling messages from entities that usually cannot speak.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
New Nature Vitrines© Suzanne Kite

New Nature Vitrines ist eine Untersuchung all dessen, was jenseits der menschlichen Vorstellung von „Natur“ liegt - unfassbar, ehrfurchtslos, monströs.
 

Wir wissen immer noch nicht ein tausendstel eines Prozents von dem, was die Natur für uns bereit hält.

Albert Einstein


Trailer


Das Programm

Das Programm versammelt audiovisuelle und Sound-Arbeiten zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen, Filmschaffender, Technolog*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen, wobei Geschichten und Perspektiven im Vordergrund stehen, die den inhärenten Anthropozentrismus von Bildern hinterfragen, häufig indem sie die Codes und Konventionen von Naturfilmen aufgreifen oder sie ganz untergraben.

Die in Deutschland, Kanada, Mexiko und den USA ansässigen Künstler*innen schlagen komplizierte Soundscapes, sich in der Luft befindende und mikroskopische Perspektiven sowie Bilder vor, die von Flechten, Schmutz, Fell und Bakterien geprägt sind. Ihre Arbeiten graben komplexe biologische Systeme, Interspezien und Computersysteme aus, die sich alle in einem ständigen Zustand des Werdens befinden, mit Realitäten jenseits unseres Bewusstseins interagieren und eigenwillige Neuerfindungen unserer Beziehung zur natürlichen Welt hervorrufen.

Die Arbeiten werden vom 16. November bis 6. Dezember im Goethe-Institut Montreal sowie in den Vitrinen von ausgewählten Ausstellungsräumen in drei verschiedenen Berliner Stadtteilen – Berlin Weekly (Mitte), feldfünf (Kreuzberg) und goeben berlin (Schöneberg) – sowie im Goethe Institut New York (15. Dezember 2020 bis 8. Januar 2021) präsentiert.

Die Platzierung in Fenstern quer durch die Stadt verteilt nutzt die Einschränkungen dieses von COVID dominierten Jahres, um dezentrale und unerwartete, emotionale und instinktive Begegnungen mit der Natur auf alltäglichen Fassaden unserer Städte darzustellen.

Die Film- und Videoarbeiten sind bei allen Ausstellungorten von außen zu sehen. In Berlin wird Stereo-Sync-Audio über die Smartphones der Besucher*innen zugänglich gemacht. Mehr Informationen hier: www.newnature.live

Ausgewählte Arbeiten von Jenna Sutela werden zusätzlich bei feldfünf gezeigt; bei goeben berlin wird Joan Jonas’ “Waltz” separat zu den Arbeiten in der Vitrine präsentiert.

Zeitplan und Ausstellungsräume

Montreal    
Goethe-Institut Montreal, 16. bis 30. November

Berlin

  • Berlin Weekly, 16. bis 22. November
  • feldfünf, 23. bis 29. November
  • goeben berlin, 30. November bis 6. Dezember

New York
Goethe-Institut New York, 15. Dezember 2020 bis 8. Januar 2021
 

New Nature Vitrines ist ein Programm des Goethe-Instituts Montreal, kuratiert von Samara Chadwick and Sandra Teitge, und produziert von Retune - Creative Technology Platform.

New Nature ist eine Reihe von Begegnungen im Laufe des Jahres 2020 zwischen zeitgenössischen Künstler*innen, Filmemacher*innen, VR-Gestalter*innen, Technolog*innen und Klimawissenschaftler*innen aus Deutschland, Kanada, Mexiko und den USA. Es handelt sich um eine Initiative des Goethe-Instituts Montreal und wird mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes der Bundesrepublik Deutschland realisiert. Zu den Partnern gehören das National Film Board of Canada, das Centre Phi, das Milieux Institute der Concordia University, XR Hub Bavaria, das Museum of the Moving Image – Science on Screen sowie UnionDocs Center for Documentary Art, Massive Science und Retune-Creative Technology Platform.
 


Die Werke

Lichen © Lisa Jackson

Lisa Jackson
Lichen

Die oftmals wenig beachteten Flechten spielen eine wichtige Rolle in Lisa Jacksons mystischem Film. Er legt uns nahe, von Organismen zu lernen, die in einer derartig dynamischen Spannung mit ihrer Umgebung leben.

Parallele I © Harun Farocki GbR

Harun Farocki
Parallele I

Parallele I eröffnet eine kleine Stilgeschichte der Computergrafik. Die ersten Spiele in den 1980er Jahren kannten nur horizontale oder waagerechte Striche. Diese Abstraktion wurde als Mangel empfunden und heute herrscht eine am Fotorealismus orientierte Darstellungsweise vor.

New Maps of Hyperspace_Test_01 © Doireann O'Malley

Doireann O'Malley
New Maps of Hyperspace_Test_01

Explore a post-human environment where several abandoned experiments to sustain life: beehives in incubators, 3D models of bodies, plant and insect colonies lie empty. The work is set in a liminal time after a climate disaster destroyed life. The work dwells on systems theory, climate care, digital consciousness and data mining.

,,Stones make birds make stones'' (inyan/zintkala/inyan kagapi) Courtesy of the Artist © Suzanne Kite

Suzanne Kite
inyan/zintkala/inyan kagapi

 (stones make birds make stones)
Als Antwort auf die Installation “A stone that thinks of Enceladus” von Martha Tuttle zeigen diese StyleGAN-Manipulationen Fotos von Steinen, die versuchen, Vögel wieder zusammenzusetzen. Zu hören sind Aufnahmen von einer Mündung des Hudson River, das Plätschern eines Flusses zu Füßen eines Dichters, das Brummton-Phänomen, eine elektrische Jakobsleiter, die Gesangprobe eines Muschelschalen-Sextetts, Passagen von Harfenspiel aus einer früheren Arbeit sowie die Stimme der Künstlerin.

Europium © Lisa Rave

Lisa Rave
Europium

Auf unterschiedlichen Bildebenen verflechtet der Essayfilm Europium die koloniale Vergangenheit Papua Neu Guineas und den Fetischkult mit Plänen zum hochtechnologischen Rohstoffabbau in den Tiefen der Bismarck See und den profanen alltäglichen Konsumgütern. Die einzelnen Bilder und Narrative verwebt der Film um das Seltene Erden Element Europium, das nach dem europäischen Kontinent benannt und in der Bismarck See gefördert werden soll, um das Material für eine brillante Farbbilddarstellung bei Smartphone Displays und anderen Flat Screens zu liefern oder durch seine natürlich fluoreszierende Eigenschaft, die Echtheit der Euro-Banknote zu garantieren. Diese scheinbar profane Tatsache beschreibt der Film als eine Rückkehr und Wiederholung der Geschichte und verweist dabei nicht nur auf die Komplexität der menschlichen Kultur, ihrer Ökonomien und Tauschsysteme – er lässt in scheinbar so profanen und alltäglichen Dingen wie Flat- Screens die unsichtbaren Geister der Vergangenheit sichtbar werden.

Parallel III © Harun Farocki GbR

Harun Farocki
Parallele III

Parallele III fragt nach den Grenzen der Spielwelten und nach der Beschaffenheit der Objekte. Es zeigt sich, dass viele Spielwelten die Form einer Scheibe haben, die im Universum schwebt. Eine Erinnerung an vorhellenische Weltvorstellungen. Die Welten-Scheiben haben eine Rampe vorne und einen Prospekt hinten, wie Theaterbühnen. Und die Dinge in diesen Spielen haben kein Für-sich-sein. Jede ihrer Eigenschaften muss gesondert konstruiert und ihnen zugewiesen werden.

Still Life © Florian Fischer, Johannes Krell

Florian Fischer, Johannes Krell
Still Life

Die Videoarbeit reflektiert das Verhältnis des Menschen zu seiner Umwelt und befragt die Genrekonventionen des klassischen Naturfilms. So wird der für Naturdokumentationen verbotene Blick des Tieres in die Kamera geradezu angestrebt und das Tier als Teil und Gegenüber des Rezipienten etabliert. Was als Natur- und Landschaftsdokumentation beginnt, wandelt sich zu einem experimentellen Essayfilm, der zwischen den Genregrenzen changiert und deren vorhersehbare Narration unterläuft. Eine vertraute Umwelt bekommt befremdliche Züge und mäandert zwischen Stillstand und Bewegung, Realismus und Hypnose, Natürlichkeit und Künstlichkeit.

Estanque Lunar (Lunar Pond) © Colectivo Los Ingrávidos

Colectivo Los Ingrávidos
Estanque Lunar (Lunar Pond)

Lunar Pond ist Teil einer audiovisuellen Serie über Mondzyklen und Rhythmen und der Versuch, die mythische Präsens der aztekischen Mondgöttin Coyolxauhqui zu evozieren, zu integrieren und zu entwickeln, um and die von Erosion gezeichnete Landschaft unserer Zeit zu erinnern.

A Demonstration © Sasha Litvintseva, Beny Wagner

Sasha Litvintseva, Beny Wagner
A Demonstration

A Demonstration ist ein Monsterfilm ohne Monster. Er wurde inspiriert von Monster-Taxonomien, wie sie die europäische Wissenschaft der Frühen Neuzeit entwarf.

Fracking © Colectivo Los Ingrávidos

Colectivo Los Ingrávidos
Fracking

Ein Riss zieht sich durch das Bild. Hydraulikzangen und Bohrer bereiten die Fasern des Kapitals auf die große industrielle Tortur vor. Die Schichten beginnen aufzubrechen und schwarze Löcher hervorzubringen. Es findet eine Schlacht statt um die Frage: Wer hat die Erde gestohlen?

The Inhumanities © Aljumaine Gayle / Ladan Siad

Aljumaine Gayle / Ladan Siad
The Inhumanities

Inhumanities ist ein Projektionsmapping-Video, das anhand von technologischer Abstraktion die ökologischen Reaktionen schwarzer Feministinnen auf die Narrativen des Anthropozäns untersucht. Mittels Abstraktion stellen diese Videos die Frage, wie der Mensch durch die Natur (und umgekehrt) zum Heilen des Planeten eingesetzt wird.

Holobiont © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela
Holobiont

Holobiont zeigt, wie sich das Konzept der eingebetteten Kognition für Planeten darstellt, und zoomt dabei vom Weltraum in den Darm.

The Infernal Grove © Duke and Battersby

Cooper Battersby, Emily Vey Duke
The Infernal Grove

Die Geschichte geht so: Wir lieben etwas, nehmen es und bringen es an einen anderen Ort, damit es näher bei uns ist und wir es anschauen können. Und dann bringen wir es um. Wir haben einen Film über seinen Tod gedreht, damit wir das immer wieder ansehen können, schneller, langsamer und rückwärts.


Berlin Featured Works

Nam Gut © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela
Nam-Gut

Nam-Gut (der mikrobielle Abbau von Sprache) präsentiert einen selbstgebauten Computer, der von einer symbiotischen Bakterien- und Hefekultur betrieben wird und eine neue Art von Sprache erzeugt. Inspiriert von einer antiken sumerischen Beschwörungsformel wird ein Text über Kodierungsregeln und das Darmhirn verarbeitet mithilfe von Tee, Zucker, Acetobacter, Zuckerhefen, Brettanomyces-Hefen, Lactobacillus, Pediokokken, Gluconacetobacter kombuchae, Zygosaccharomyces kombuchaensis und Jumbo-Milchsäurebakterien.

Waltz © Joan Jonas

Joan Jonas
Waltz

Jonas' Performancekunst ist eine Hommage an das französische Freilichttheater des 18. Jahrhunderts, das Mythologie ebenso wie spontane Ereignisse in sein Narrativ einbaut.

nimiia cétiï © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela
nimiia cétiï


„nimiia cétiï“ (2018) ist eine audiovisuelle Arbeit von Jenna Sutela, die maschinelles Lernen und die Bewegungen des Bacillus subtilis natto verwendet, um eine neue geschriebene und gesprochene Sprache zu entwickeln. Die Maschine fungiert bei diesem Projekt als Medium, das Nachrichten von Einheiten kanalisiert, die normalerweise nicht sprechen können.

Top