Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

New Nature
Research + Development Grants

​As an adaptation to COVID restrictions, the Goethe-Institut created New Nature Research and Development Grants.

The Next Billion Years© schnellebuntebilder | LATLONG by schnellebuntebilder Part of the public art project ‘Virtual Depictions: San Francisco’ by Refik Anadol

Existing New Nature Participants were invited to submit proposals, in which they outlined collaborative research projects across disciplines and countries. Twenty-one grants of €2,500 per participant were awarded non-competitively to a total of 6 projects.

The proposals were evaluated by an independent jury, composed of:

Seeing the imperceptible© Bacterial Ecology Lab., UNAM

Projects and Grant Recipients

The following projects will receive the New Nature Research and Development Grants:

LA Birdwatchers (US/CA)

Suzanne Kite, Aljumaine Gayle , Ladan Siad, Nick Shapiro

Seeing the Imperceptible: Visualizing Microbial Communities in Bacalar Stromatolites (DE/US/MX)

Tamiko Thiel, Luisa Falcon, Peter Graf

The Next Billion Years - an immersive experience (DE/US)

Johannes Helberger, Felipe Sanchez Luna, Sebastian Huber, Robert Koch

Symbiosis/Dysbiosis (DE/CA/US)

Sara Lisa Vogl, Tosca Terán, Lorena Salomé, Brendan Lehman

Synthetic Messenger (DE/US)

Tega Brain, Simon David Hirsbrunner, Sam Lavigne

Forager (US/CA)

Winslow Porter, Elie Zananiri, Hugues Bruyère

The works-in-progress will be presented to New Nature participants, partners, and potential funders in early December.

The Jury

Christina Landbrecht © Axel Mosch Christina Landbrecht is the director of the art program at the Schering Stiftung. Born in Munich, she moved to Berlin to study art history and business administration at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. She subsequently worked as curatorial assistant at the Berlinische Galerie – Museum of Modern Art, where she later took the position of assistant to the director, Dr. Thomas Köhler. When the excellence cluster “Bild Wissen Gestaltung” (Image Knowledge Gestaltung) was established at Humboldt-Universität, she returned there as a research associate and to write her dissertation. Entitled “The Problem and Potential of Artistic Research,” the PhD-thesis deals with the relationship between the natural sciences and the visual arts since the 1990s. 

The Schering Stiftung promotes the life sciences, the contemporary arts, as well as scientific and cultural education. A key focus of the Foundation’s activities is on projects at the interface of science and art. This includes exhibitions and dialogue formats that bring together scientists, artists, and the general public. 
 

Marie-Pier Gauthier is a producer at the NFB’s Montreal Interactive Studio and has been contributing to Marie-Pier Gauthier © Marie-Pier Gauthier this rich narrative laboratory for the past eight years. Whether it’s digital creation on mobile phones or on the web, interactive installations or virtual or augmented reality projects, she supervises the execution of projects by innovative creators working at the crossroads of different disciplines. She produces projects using a range of storytelling tools, including social networks, code, design, artificial intelligence, and conversational robots. With degrees in journalism and interactive production, Marie-Pier has collaborated on more than 100 interactive works (including The Enemy, Do Not Track, and Way to Go) which have received more than 100 awards in Canada and abroad.

The National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is one of the world’s leading digital content hubs, creating groundbreaking interactive documentaries and animation, mobile content, installations and participatory experiences. NFB interactive productions and digital platforms have won 100 awards, including 18 Webbys.
 

Paola Santos © Museo Experimental el Eco Paola Santoscoy is a curator and writer on contemporary art based in Mexico City. She is currently director of the Museo Experimental el Eco in Mexico City. In 2013 she co-directed with Brazilian curator Marcio Harum the 11th edition of SITAC (Simposio Internacional de Teoría de Arte Contemporáneo) in Mexico City, titled Being-with-one-another. In 2011 she was adjuct curator for the 8th Biennial of Mercosul, Porto Alegre, Brazil. In 2010 she curated the exhibition The Nature of Things for the 1st Biennial of the Americas in Denver, CO. She holds an MA in Visual and Critical Studies from California College of the Arts in San Francisco. She has worked in various exhibition spaces and institutions in Mexico City: La Panadería (2000-2001), Museo de Arte Carrillo Gil (2001-2003), and Museo Tamayo Arte Contemporáneo (2004-2007). 

Conceived by the German artist Mathias Goeritz and the Mexican businessman Daniel Mont, Museo Experimental el Eco first opened in 1953 as a visionary project dedicated to show the art of its time. A museum with no collection, El Eco was itself an “experiment” of what Goeritz called Emotional Architecture. Since 2004 it is part of UNAM (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México). As a university museum, El Eco is a space where artistic practices are activated around a site-specificity. It operates as a resonance box and tension between the artistic legacy of modernity and the problematics that emerge form the contemporary art practice. As a university space, it also works as a platform for knowledge that favors experimentation, critical freedom and diversity.  

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

New Nature
Stipendien für Forschung und Entwicklung

In Anpassung an die durch COVID notwendigen Beschränkungen hat das Goethe-Institut Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstipendien im Rahmen des Projekts New Nature vergeben. 

The Next Billion Years© schnellebuntebilder | LATLONG von schnellebuntebilder | Teil des öffentlichen Kunstprojektes „Virtual Depictions: San Francisco“ von Refik Anadol

New Nature-Teilnehmer*innen wurden aufgefordert, Projektvorschläge einzureichen, in denen sie gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte über die Disziplinen und Länder hinweg skizzierten. Einundzwanzig Stipendien in Höhe von 2.500 € pro Teilnehmer wurden in einem nicht wettbewerbsorientierten Jury-Verfahren an insgesamt 6 Projekte vergeben.

Die Vorschläge wurden von einer unabhängigen Jury bewertet, die sich aus folgenden Mitgliedern zusammensetzte:  

Seeing the imperceptible© Bacterial Ecology Lab., UNAM

Die Projekte und Stipendiat*innen

Die folgenden Projekte erhalten die New Nature Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstipendien: 

LA Birdwatchers (US/CA)

Suzanne Kite, Aljumaine Gayle , Ladan Siad, Nick Shapiro

Seeing the Imperceptible: Visualizing Microbial Communities in Bacalar Stromatolites (DE/US/MX)

Tamiko Thiel, Luisa Falcon, Peter Graf

The Next Billion Years - an immersive experience (DE/US)

Johannes Helberger, Felipe Sanchez Luna, Sebastian Huber, Robert Koch

Symbiosis/Dysbiosis (DE/CA/US)

Sara Lisa Vogl, Tosca Terán, Lorena Salomé, Brendan Lehman

Synthetic Messenger (DE/US)

Tega Brain, Simon David Hirsbrunner, Sam Lavigne

Forager (US/CA)

Winslow Porter, Elie Zananiri, Hugues Bruyère

Die Projekte werden Anfang Dezember den New Nature-Teilnehmenden, Partner*innen und potenziellen Geldgebern vorgestellt. 

The Jury

Christina Landbrecht © Axel Mosch Christina Landbrecht ist Programmleiterin Kunst der Schering Stiftung. Sie ist in München geboren und kam nach Berlin zum Studium der Kunstgeschichte und Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Im Anschluss daran absolvierte sie ein wissenschaftliches Volontäriat an der Berlinischen Galerie – Landesmuseum für Bildende Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur und übernahm dann die Stelle als Referentin des Direktors Dr. Thomas Köhler. Mit der Eröffnung des Exzellenzclusters „Bild Wissen Gestaltung" wechselte sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an die Humboldt-Universität und promovierte zum Thema „Problem und Potenzial der künstlerischen Forschung". 

Die Schering Stiftung fördert Lebenswissenschaften, zeitgenössische Kunst sowie die wissenschaftliche und kulturelle Bildung. Zentral für die Stiftungsarbeit sind Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Kunst: Dazu zählen Ausstellungen und Formate des Dialogs zwischen Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und der Gesellschaft. 

 

Marie-Pier Gauthier
Marie-Pier Gauthier © Marie-Pier Gauthier ist Produzentin des Interactive Productions Studio des National Film Board of Canada und trägt seit acht Jahren zu diesem reichen Labor für innovatives Erzählen bei. Ob es sich um digitale Kreationen auf Mobiltelefonen oder im Web, interaktive Installationen oder Experimente mit virtual oder augmented Realität handelt, sie leitet und überwacht die Produktion innovativer Projekte von Autoren an der Schnittstelle der Disziplinen. Soziale Netzwerke, Code, Design, künstliche Intelligenz, Konversationsroboter sind ihre bevorzugten Ausdrucksmittel, um Geschichten zu erzählen. Marie-Pier Gauthier hat einen Abschluss in Journalismus und interaktiver Produktion und hat an mehr als 100 interaktiven Werken (The Enemy, Do Not Track, Way To Go) mitgearbeitet, die in Kanada und international über 100 Preise gewonnen haben. 

An der globalen Schnittstelle digitaler Inhalte erstellt das National Film Board of Canada (NFB) hochmoderne Animationen und interaktive Dokumentarfilme, Inhalte für mobile Geräte sowie partizipative Installationen. Die interaktiven Produktionen und digitalen Plattformen des NFB haben 100 Preise gewonnen, darunter 18 Webby Awards.

Paola Santos © Museo Experimental el Eco Paola Santoscoy ist Kuratorin und Autorin für zeitgenössische Kunst aus Mexiko-Stadt. Derzeit ist sie Direktorin des Museo Experimental el Eco in Mexiko-Stadt. Im Jahr 2013 leitete sie gemeinsam mit dem brasilianischen Kurator Marcio Harum die 11. Ausgabe von SITAC (Simposio Internacional de Teoría de Arte Contemporáneo) in Mexiko-Stadt mit dem Titel Being with one another. Im Jahr 2011 war sie stellvertretende Kuratorin für die 8. Biennale des Mercosul, Porto Alegre, Brasilien. 2010 kuratierte sie die Ausstellung The Nature of Things für die 1. Biennale of the Americas in Denver, CO. Sie hat einen MA in Visuellen und Kritischen Studien vom California College of the Arts in San Francisco. Sie hat in verschiedenen Galerien und Institutionen in Mexiko-Stadt gearbeitet, u.a. La Panadería (2000-2001), Museo de Arte Carrillo Gil (2001-2003) und Museo Tamayo Arte Contemporáneo (2004-2007). 

Das von dem deutschen Künstler Mathias Goeritz und dem mexikanischen Geschäftsmann Daniel Mont konzipierte Museo Experimental el Eco wurde 1953 als visionäres Projekt zur Präsentation der Kunst seiner Zeit eröffnet. Als Museum ohne Sammlung war El Eco selbst ein "Experiment" dessen, was Goeritz als „Emotionale Architektur" bezeichnete. Seit 2004 ist es Teil der UNAM (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México). Als Universitätsmuseum ist El Eco ein Raum, in dem künstlerische Praktiken um eine ortsspezifische Besonderheit herum aktiviert werden. Es fungiert als Resonanzkörper und Spannungsbogen zwischen dem künstlerischen Erbe der Moderne und der Problematik, die sich aus der zeitgenössischen Kunstpraxis ergibt. Als universitärer Raum fungiert es auch als Wissensplattform, die Experimente, kritische Freiheit und Vielfalt begünstigt.

Top